paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  280  |  281  |  282  |  283  |  284  |  285  |  286  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Wednesday, July 18th, 2001
Strengths: For the good...
Well first off the gun is really durable. I've pretty much beat the hell out of mine and I've got all kinds of scratches but it still works like it were new but it may not look like it.
The distance is pretty good and its rather accurate also but it can't compete much in those catagories compared to an autococker or Mag or those high end electros but thats why it costs 125 bucks compared to the 350 - 1.3 k of other guns.
Another good thing about it is there are a ton of upgrades for it including Double Trigger, Reactive Trigger (very nice), LCD (thats expensive and if your planing on doing that you mine as well buy a bushmaster or some other electro for just a few more)
Weaknesses: Well paintblal isn't a beauty contest but I can't say this is the best looking gun I have ever seen but it does perform very well.
The stock barrel isn't to great it tends to break balls. I immediately upgraded to a All American barrel and I can now get my gun up another 50 FPS which is around 330 and before with the stock barrel it would top out at around 280. I haven't broke a ball with my new barrel yet (about 3 cases) but ball breakage is sort of an issue with the stock barrel.


Conclusion: Its a nice gun for a beginner (like i was when i bought it) and if your just playing rec ball you don't really need something much better. There is no immediate need for upgrades when you buy it stock. You probably are going to want to get a new barrel and I recommend a Aggitated hopper. Those are the only upgrades I have so far besides a new bolt and a double trigger I put in my custom.
Overall its a really durable begginner gun that doesn't take much maintenence besides oiling every once in a while and if your really lazy you don't even have to do that but I recommend it.
I'm giving it a 10 for being excellent for a beginners Semi-Auto and not a very good comparing it to E-Mags, Cockers, Angels and the likes because they aren't really comparable but its still a great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, July 18th, 2001
Strengths: i think its the best semi u can get after u buy the flatline.
*its accurate
*VERY durable
*easily upgradable
*ive shot about 800 balls through it and i havent broken 1 yet
*the sites are rite on on the flatline i barely miss (and when i do its because im usually getting shot at so i just shoot)
*i love the pistols grip its awesome and the second grip whatever u call it is smooth the grips rule
Weaknesses: ok i can only think of 3 things that r bad
*the barrel you need to get the flatline it makes it so much better
*its loud but i dont really care some people do
*u can run out of co2 fast but u get a few hundred shots out of a 9oz
Conclusion: best gun out there get it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, July 17th, 2001
Strengths: This gun rocks! It is very durable, and, if the proper upgrades are made, can shoot very far and fast. I put a 32 Degrees Ice Cold 16" barrel, Model 98 Custom double trigger, drop foward, and TASO rear velocity adjustor on mine, and it can outperform all of my friends' guns. I would only suggest these upgrades to a big guy, as they make the gun heavy and long(about 36"). I like the feed design, and the 45 rubber grips are a nice touch. Also, all of the upgrades(response trigger,flatline,LED,double trigger, and nitro kit) make it a very versatile gun.
Weaknesses: It can be loud, but thats nothing a nice ported barrel can't solve. Velocity seems inconsistent at times.
Conclusion: A very nice gun for beginners wanting a semi. The price is great for such a great gun. If all of your friends tell you to get something else, DON'T LISTEN!!!!!!!!!!! This is such an awesome gun. I'll be getting a Dark Raider sometime in the near future, but ill still use my 98 very often.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, July 16th, 2001
Strengths: THIS GUN IS AWESOME!!! It is so accurate! I snipe people with cockers and angels through holes in bunkers (pisses the hell out of them) all the time especially since i got my new barrel (stock is ok; new one is 12" nightstick, $45). So many upgrades and accessories to give to this gun. foregrip looks cool and stabalizes gun when shooting, and it is durable as hell
Weaknesses: -Stock Barrel ok... need upgrade
-kinda heavy
-loud
-taking it apart is kind of a nuisance, i got the hang of it though
-only broke balls when i used brass eagle paint, once i started using zap and pmi no breaks whatsoever

Conclusion: this gun is so worth the money go get one if your starting out dont make the mistake of buying a spyder or pyranna (they are ok markers but 98s are way better)
AND DONT BUY BRASS EAGLE CO2 TANKS!!!
I was unscrewing the tank from my gun the other day and i screwed the tank off the valve instead of the tank and valve off the bottomline! The valve was still on and the tank was off and all the gas blew out like crazy and scared the crap out of me

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, July 13th, 2001
Strengths: Accurate because of my dye 12" ss and phyco ballistics billet powertube and front bolt
Co2 efficient because of my ACI 6 stage expansion chamber and my low pressure chamber
Fast because of my double trigger, proteam products powerfeed, and pb powertube and front bolt
Quiet because of my full boar rc/rva with side cover
Ballanced becaus of my phycho ballistics drop forward
What can I say it's just an awesome gun
Weaknesses: taking the gun apart it takes to long but I would rather have the clam shell style over anything else.
not enough upgrades................YEAH RIGHT!!!!! Upgrades galore!!
It's ugly stock but with upgrades this thing looks tight.
Other than that absolutely NOTHING!
Conclusion: Does it perform well stock or are upgrades nessecary?
It performs alright stock but I would most definetly say upgrades are for sure needed, plus it's fun to upgrade your gun to see what you can do to it. Comparing my gun now to when it was stock now I'de say it's 30 times better.

Is it worth how much it costs?
Ummm. stock I would say yes but some of the upgrades could get pretty expensive, but if you install them yourself I say it isn't that bad. My will and has beat guns costing twice as much. I'de say it's worth every penny.

How does it compare to similar guns?
Spyders...Pirhanas...you name it they don't stand a chance...High end electro guns though could be a threat but put and electro kit in your gun and you're good to go. Upgrades allow you to compete with the absolute best of markers. My gun's name is the spyder squasher cause it totally dominates over spyders.

Would you reccommend it to someone?
Hell yeah! If you don't have the money to get all kinds of upgrades.....wait and buy the stock gun and upgrade as you get money...trust me you won't be sorry.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, July 12th, 2001
Strengths: its durrable, reliable, and accurate. I had a tough time taking it apart the first time, but after that it was a breeze! I love the WWI trench sweeper style front handle for 2 reasons, incresased stability and looks. I have never had a ball break in my gun (big change from by crappy spyder compact 2000!) This gun is ideal if you are like me and like to sit back, find a good cover place and hold a flank all by yourself because it is just that accurate, by the time anyone finds you they are dead!
Weaknesses: umm....not much really, a new barrel prehaps. Im about to get a new one, probably a flatline, gotta read others reviews first tho.
Conclusion: if you got a little cash to spare this is deffinately a GREAT way to spend it! like i said before...esp. if you like to sit back and snipe people from a distance. Tippman has been around a long time and they know what they are doing, if you need anything call them they can fix it! Great gun, get it, thats all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, July 12th, 2001
Strengths: Lets see, where do I begin?...
* Extremely durable
* After the purchase of a new barrel it is very accurate
* The fore-hand gives you a stable and correct shot at your target.
* Not expensive
* Gas effencient
* ROF is pretty good
* A lot of upgrades available.
* With the Flatline installed, it is the farrest shooting gun out there.
* A very light trigger pull.
* It looks very aggresive.
* It's a rare thing for this to break paint
* Easily modified
* Great modifications
Weaknesses: Ouch...
* Stock Barrel (All the stock barrels of almost every gun are F*ckin' bad and should be replaced!)
* It's loud! (I care very little for a quiet marker... by the time my opponents hear my marker go off, they're already marked...)
* Takes too long to take apart but it's a breaze the second time
Conclusion: This marker will always be there for you. Ball breaks will become something old. you'll begin to miss ehm. Tha's of course if you don't shoot Brass Eagle or any other cheap paint but then again your just asking for it when you buy crappy paint no matter what barrel you use. This thing is accurate, strong and built to outlast any gun out there. Think about why Field owners use Tippmann and you'll realise that these markers are built to be able to take a beating. I heard that some guy even ran over his M98 by accident and it still worked! A guy dropped his from a platform 5 feet of the ground (concrete), picked it up, gassed it up and still worked like new... except for the scratches to the paint job. I dare you to drop your Spyder (Don't get me wrong, there excellent markers)from 5 feet of the ground on the sidewalk and see if it works like before. I love this gun alot. Buy a Tippmann, you won't go wrong.. Buy one and enjoy it to your heart's content. Get it, love it, good...

Ps. If you ever have a problem... contact Tippmann and they'll either fix it or replace the marker entirely. Now that is great customer service... Oh yeah and Brass Eagle sucks the big one...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, July 11th, 2001
Strengths: - Trigger pull feels effortless.
- Add-ons galore.
- Have not experienced any paintball breakage or splitting....yet.
- The addition of the flatline barrel makes balls fly unbelievably straight and long.
- Reasonably priced.
Weaknesses: - Field stripping and upgrading can be time consuming and very difficult to do, especially for a newbie.
- Stock barrel definitely needs to be upgraded.
Conclusion: Very reliable. This gun has so many add-ons, which is really cool. I find that I am obsessed with upgrading the gun. So far I got a couple of my friends to buy a custom 98. They are just amazed at my gun with all the add-ons, they felt that they had to get a tippmann. A great marker for any player.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, July 10th, 2001
Strengths: -accurate
-reliable
-powerful
-stable
-price
-looks
-why do you think they always have 98's at paintball ranges? because they wont fall apart like compact 2000's, which are cheaper.
Weaknesses: Who can honestly say the balls break in the barrel? What kind of balls are you ? 10 year old brass eagles? then, yea they will probebley break, just like in any gun. Notice how the reviews that give the gun a 1 are the shortest reviews? dont come on the site just to get off lowering a gun's score
Conclusion: Get this gun, you wont be dissapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb4lif Monday, July 9th, 2001
Strengths: this gun does not break balls a whole lot.
it is easy to take apart and clean.
many upgrades for it.
Weaknesses: it is very loud.
it has a short stock barrel.
not very accurate with stock barrel.
Conclusion: I think this is a great gun for starters and backyard players. If you think you might go further with the sports you might want to upgrade it. It is not bad for the price. I think that you can get better guns for the same price. i would reccommend this to people who just want to go play for fun and not in tournaments.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  280  |  281  |  282  |  283  |  284  |  285  |  286  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media