paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  281  |  282  |  283  |  284  |  285  |  286  |  287  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Sunday, July 8th, 2001
Strengths: This gun is very durable. and the triger pull is very light.
Weaknesses: ---this gun is a pain in the but when sand or dirt gets in it

---if you get a little paint in ur gun then it curves like hell

--- it is hard to take apart

---paint job on the gun is cheap

---and u need a lot of upgrades

-rocket cock ($25)
- 12in CP barel ($60)
-need nitro tank ($160)
-macro line with drop (and i put a duck bill with a low pressure gauge on it)($80)
-u really need a 12vt hopper or u chop a hell load of balls($70)
Conclusion: i think this is a great gun for the money but it comes cheep; but if u upgrade it the way i did then this gun will be great all u have to do is put about $400 and ur good! this is a great first gun for the newbies. i use this gun as a back up. my real gun is a auto cocker STO
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, July 8th, 2001
Strengths: Awesome sub machine gun looks
Durable
Doesn't break paint
Best gun you can get in the up to $300 price range, and its only $124
Simply awesome
Weaknesses: Some of my "bad" comments are pretty technical and some of the newer players might not understand it all.


* Not accurate..

*Paint and dirt can get in the bolt and reciever very easily. You'll wanna open up your gun and clean the reciever and bolt out after a day of playing... Unfourtunatley, opening up the gun completley is not a fun or easy task... MANY screws, and all look the same, so it will be hard to re-assemble

*Hard as hell to put the gun together after taking it apart. The saftey on mine is screwed up now, because it won't fit after I installed the double trigger.


Conclusion: Pretty good gun, but with ALOT of upgrades you'll actually have a gun I consider just as good as a mag or even a bushmaster or shocker.

Upgrade's you'll want if you want to make the gun perform like a top notch tourney gun:

*New barrel... Bigshot or Flatline if you got the money (Around $100 for either)
*Double Trigger
*D/F(Drop forward) or Remote
*RVA
*Rear cocking is optional, (it will help keep dirt out)
*Raised site rail
*E-chamber
*One of the new Electric upgrades they just came out with
*Nitro
*R/T, but i'm not sure if it can be used with the new electro mods. if it's a choice between R/T and electro, go with Electro


Wow, alot of mods... and those are all FUNCTION addons, there are alot that they make to look nice too :) Needless to say, I don't have <all> those, but I wish I did.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, July 8th, 2001
Strengths: Extremely durable
looks cool
The Grip (I love the grip, it's so comfortable)
The best beginner gun you can buy
Cheap, I got mine for 124
Weaknesses: Heavy Heavy Heavy
Conclusion: The gun almost has to be the best beginner gun out there, the only reason I say it's a beginner gun is because of the price and the fact that it is heavy. The barrel is fairly accurate, I play against 3 guys that have stock barrels and they do ok. I bought a 16 inch armson stealth for mine. This gun is definitly worth what you pay for it. I play against spyders all the time and they usually end up breaking something or one of their o rings break and you can hear their gun hissing in the corner. I have had the gun for 2 months, shot 3000 rounds through it and have never had a problem or broke any paint yet.
I recomend this gun to anyone that is looking to start playing paintball. This gun is sooooo great and you can customize it so much. It's great, just go out and get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:12 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cat_daddy Saturday, July 7th, 2001
Strengths: Very tight! Feels very solid. Has great sites. as far as accuracy, I dont find the stock to be that big of a deal, either. I used to shoot a pistol, so I'm used to open sites and a short barrel. The accuracy of this thing blows me away. The other day I was nailing a softball EVERY time at about 25 ft.
Weaknesses: Nothing really major. The paint tends to rub off on skin easily, but its probably just a high grade aluminum. elbow rattle a bit, no big deal. One slight prob, though. It seems when I shoot very rapid at all the cocking bolt comes uncocked. I'm no expert, but I've heard its because I try to shoot faster than what the gun will do. If anyone can give a little advice on how to correct this ( or if I can), plaese email me.
Conclusion: Great gun. worth every penny.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, July 6th, 2001
Strengths: it is an AWESOME gun. very accurate, ESPECIALLY w/ the FLATLINE BARREL. it is also incredibly LIGHT and DURABLE. it may look a little untraditional but with the flatline, it looks somewhat close to an H&K MP5 or G3
Weaknesses: gr8 gun, but the barrel upgrade is REQUIRED, if you want MAX accuracy/range, not to mention that there are so MANY UPGRADES, it can become the ULTIMATE PAINTBALL GUN.
Conclusion: = )
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, July 6th, 2001
Strengths: This gun is great. It has a high rate of fire, good feel, not too heavy, and accurate (most people say that the stock barrel sucks, but my stock barrel, for some reason, is very accurate). It is also not too expensive, and has plenty of upgrades.
Weaknesses: There really isn't anything wrong with this gun, except that there are too many upgrades and i can't decide what I want next!
Conclusion: This gun is definetly worth the $125 I paid for it. I have found that it works great with all the stock parts. So far I haven't upgraded it because it is just fine with stock part. The high rate of fire really helps get people out. I would recommend this gun to beginners, or advanced players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, July 5th, 2001
Strengths: Tippmann makes all of there guns very durable. The 98 Custom is pretty acurate even with the stock. Tippmann will back up there gun if its broke. The 98 Custom is one of the most upgradable guns on the market.
Weaknesses: The Stock isnt too good but you can fix that with a new barrel.
The trigger pull is kinda hard but can be replaced by a double trigger.
Conclusion: A very very good and durable gun good for playing and playing good fopr players of all sorts.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, July 3rd, 2001
Strengths: So far in the past 2 months since Ive started playing paintball Ive gone through about 5 cases of paint.... I have yet to have a single malfunction with this gun. Some (most) people complain about the stock barrel, but with PMI (and Big Ball being a close 2nd) at 40FT I can get about a 5" group. Maybe I just ended up with a good barrel or found a good paint/barrel match. As far as being long, I dont find it a problem. I shoot highpower rifle in competition and with the length of this thing with a 20 oz c02 tank and butt plate nothing couldnt posibley feel better. The fastest Ive had it up to with a regular stance has been 8bps and 9 while kinda juggling the trigger. It can maintain that rate of fire just fine, and so far no problems with the stock hopper.
Weaknesses: At night here in GA, it gets REALLY HUMID and it tends to put out a large cloud of white, but that should be fixed here soon when I get my RVA and x-chamber.

NOT A SINGLE OTHER PROBLEM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: It performs top notch stock and doesnt need any upgrades, unless you want to play a lot at night in GA.

It is worth every penny, veterans with automags, cockers, and matrixs have come to respect this gun now at the field I play at.

I would definately have someone else buy this gun, in fact, I had to buy one for my wife!!! The only other gun that I would buy within the same price range as my gun would be the GT2000, an excellent gun as well, maybe not quite as accurate but just as flawless in design the 98C. I just prefer the feel of a rifle that the 98C offers. Ive seen too many kingmans fail to purchase one of them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, July 3rd, 2001
Strengths: Very accurate and reliable.very easy to hold with the foregrip.It also has a light trigger pull.This is an awsome gun for beginners and experienced palyers.And if u really want a good gun get a flatline with the farthest shooting gun on the market,people will respect you.
Weaknesses: the stock barrel isnt great.it is a little bit long with a new barrel.get a remote and its a lot better.
Conclusion: i highly reccomend this gun to everyone.i have outperformed people with shockers and angels in all my tournaments,get a flatline and even the worst will be unstoppable.a great gun for the $$$.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Raines8416 Tuesday, July 3rd, 2001
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I bought this gun awhile back. Great gun for a newbie or even a pro! It is very durable, and hardly any ball breaks, if you maintain it well. If you dont oil it, don't worry it will still work great! Has so many options in upgrading! Will run on Co2 or Preset Nitrogen! Too many things to name them all!
Weaknesses: Stock barrel isnt that great. I would recommend the first upgrade should be a new barrel. Leaks a bit with Co2. Needs antisyphon tank, or expansion chamber. Long with new barrel and Co2 Tank, Get a drop forward or an Intruder Assualt Chamber.
Conclusion: This gun could easily win a tourney! Very upgradable, but, I would reccomend this gun to someone who will upgrade it, if you don't plan on buying x-chambers, barrels, ect. then don't buy this gun. Get something that is already
upgraded when you buy it. Buy this gun! But dont be a fool and pay $200 for it like me! Get it online for $124 and buy a barrel at the same time!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  281  |  282  |  283  |  284  |  285  |  286  |  287  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media