paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  282  |  283  |  284  |  285  |  286  |  287  |  288  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Tuesday, July 3rd, 2001
Strengths: Had this gun for some time. Never chopped paintballs. It is somewhat acurate
, suggest getting a better barrel. Very convient and very reliable. It also feels nice in your hands, the double grip is the best.
Weaknesses: A screw came loose. Get a better barrel.
Conclusion: This is my first gun. Works Great. I recommend this gun to anybody who is getting into paintball. Well worth the money.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, July 2nd, 2001
Strengths: DOES NOT BREAK PAINT!!!
You won't have a problem with it unless you never oil it and bang it on things.
Accurate.period.With a new barrel it is much better than anything else out there.
Nice trigger.
Very upgradeable.
Weaknesses: Very long.Buy a remote or a drop forward.
Conclusion: Very good gun you can keep for years.Just customize it and it won't fail you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, July 2nd, 2001
Strengths: I have owned this gun for about 6 months now and I have used it A LOT.....Me and my buddies play outlaw ball mostly out in some local woods near my house and I have never had any problems while playing and i have never had to disassemble it so the field stripping problem really isnt a problem because I have never had to field strip it. It shoots pretty accurate with the stock barrel as long as u keep the velocity down because if u shoot it to hot the paintballs will go flying everywhich way. Also very custamizable, i have a RT system in it new barrel 20oz co2 and am looking on getting a regulator or a double trigger system into it. I love this gun!
Weaknesses: The only thing i can see that is even close to being bad would probly be the stock barrel.....it is just crappy! lol If u buy this gun i highly suggest investing in a new barrel. I bought a 14" smart parts tear drop and now the gun shoots awsome! the paint never goes the left or right and it is very very accurate. I can keep the paint in a 6" circle from the center of the target from 20 feet.
Conclusion: I think that this gun is a very very good gun for any beginner yet it is good enough to perform well for amature players as well. I highly suggest buying it over anything else. Mainly because it is so cheap and can keep up with the autocockers and mags. In one game i took out 2 autocockers and 1 shutter and it was me and my friend and he had a brass eagle samuri so i know it is worth it. Like i said another thing that i would suggest buying is a better barrel because the stock one isn't all that great!

Oh yeah one more thing i thought i would add! All you older people out there just so u know us kids can kick your arse too! i am 14 years old and have taken out lots and lots of older people so you guys better watch out cause us kids are going to show u how to really play!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, June 28th, 2001
Strengths: I own a silver costom 98 myself and what I have learned is that it is a great gun. Everything you have heard about it is true. It is the most durable gun on the market, for example I was running from trench to trench and I tripped over a pile of sticks and fell straight on the gun and nothing happened to it, its great. some other great points about it are that it is very costomizable, all the spots for the kits are already bored out so all the kits are drop in.It also feeds paint very well and doesnt leek CO2 and i have had it for a long time and no paintballs have broke. The tippmanns 45 grip is awsome its very comfortable. The costom already comes able to hook up to nitro also unlike other guns, there is a kit for nitro but thats not just so you can use it, you already can. Its just so that it works more efficiently.
Weaknesses: The only thing that is bad about the gun is the stock barrell you might want to get a new barrell with it such as a dye exel or a flatline but the flatline doesnt live up to what it says (read my section about the flatline in barrells under Ted). It is to short and not constructed very well. It will curve in different dirrections somr times its not to accurate. But if you have a close bugget then that barrell will do for now.
Conclusion: I would recamend this gun to anyone out there it is an awsome paint gun, I have had great fun with it. Good luck. and have fun dudes.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, June 28th, 2001
Strengths: Well, first of all, I started out with that sorry Brass Eagle Krap and went throuht about three guns and decided that I needed to move up in the field of paintball. My friend bought a Tippmann 98 Custom and I really liked it. After playing a couple days against him with my Brass Eagle Samuri I bought a 98 custom Silver. It is a great gun for a beginner or someone with experience. It shoots fast, its accurate, and you can shoot practially anything through it. The only type of paint I have had trouble with is 32 degrees with the stock barrel. I solved that problem by buying a 16 in. barrel. I get more distance, more accuracy, and the gun is almost silent. I reccomend this gun for anyone interested in playing.
Weaknesses: I haven't discovered anything bad on this gun except a slight problem with the stock barrel. It is a little rough and has a hard time blowing 32 degrees paint through. But like i said buying a longer barrel will solve all those problems.
Conclusion: This gun is well worth the money and very tough. We play in some pretty thick brush and the Tippmann 98 Custom holds up great. Take my advise, if you're interested in purchasing a marker go ahead and get a Tippmann. You'll be very glad you did. Don't even think about wasting your hard earned money on Brass Eagle Krapp.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, June 28th, 2001
Strengths: fast firing, raelly not THAT loud, balls dont curve as much as the previous people say they do, at least not on my gun anyway, easy to cock durable construction, never jams. I have shot over 1000 balls with mine and have had not one ball break
Weaknesses: hard to take apart and put back together, smells like almonds when you take it out of the box
Conclusion: worth the money, good intermediate gun, not for puple fat men though
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, June 28th, 2001
Strengths: Made in the USA! Great gun for newbies or pros. Customizable with several kits from Tippmann. I use the Response trigger, flatline barrel, and the low pressure kit with the new Air America Messiah secondary regulator. Don't forget the Psychoballistics drop froward. The gun is awesome!!! Consistency is great. Tear down and rebuild might be a little rough the first time, but after that it's cake.
Weaknesses: The only thing is that it is pretty loud, even with the low pressure kit and it's a little longer than other guns. Also needs to be polished inside the covers where the hammer slides. You can do this yourself with some fine sandpaper.
Conclusion: Stock, the gun performs pretty well.

It is well worth the price.

I spent about 600 on my gun and mods, much cheaper than any electro.
Does not leak like the Spyders.

I would recommend the 98 custom to anyone that wants to play all day instead of working on the marker. The gun is very durable and I have never had a ball break shooting more than 2500 balls.

The mods were all fairly easy to install
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattdogg2455 Thursday, June 28th, 2001
Strengths: Great gun, I love it. I got a 98 Custom in silver and it looks pretty damn sharp. Great range, even with the stock barrel. Every one said that the stock barrel was horrible but it really ain't too bad. Plus it's cheap and comes with a 150 round hopper,9 oz.tank,barrel plug, and spare o-rings staright out of the box!. It can fire the fastest out of any gun and still not chop balls with the standard hopper. I shout out Zap Select paint(read that reveiw I wrote, you'll be surprised!), and I broke one ball out of 150 with the stock barrel at about 7 RPS(rounds persecond).I also shot out Vortex Quake paint and it worked better than the already good Zap paint. No breaks with Quake. The barrel isn't horrible even though it is loud and tails up and to the right. That's only because of the drop down hopper. Now getting on to the drop down hopper. It's easy to clean if you chop a ball doing 8 RPS without a revolving hopper. Just take the corny Tippmann squegie and clean it out after you dropped it down. It also has some bad characteristics of the drop down hopper(read "Bad"). It is also easy to customize if you want to buy and ART or electrics kit. Just out of the box, I recomend this gun to a newbie(like me), or to and experienced player. Just buy a '13 inch Armson Stealth barrel and your set to go! Buy the gun!


Weaknesses: Well I have to think long and hard to figure out whats wrong with this gun. There's not much except dissasembly. It's a 98Custom but it still is hard to take apart the first time. I got it apart and then knocked just about every pin that holds the trigger in place. It tought me though how to dissasemble the whole gun and build it back from scratch, a good thing to know when you need to field strip. However, its still a pain to reassemble. The drop down hopper "spring" (so to speak), kept flinging off and getting lost. I almost lost it twice and it really got me -Bleep-!(you know what i mean). Then after i fixed that problem the rear handle wouldn't close down right. But those are the only problems. Not too major because it works great on the field and it might have been a blessing for a newbie like me to know how to rebuild the gun. It works awesome on the Field and it is an awesome gun despite its loudness by the barrel(due to the little rifleing)! Buy It Now!
Conclusion: DOES IT PERFORM WELL OR ARE UPGRADES NESSISARY?
Wow, theres two answers to this one. If you are a newbie and just entering the sport, then the stock will treat you well. If you are an experienced player, then you should buy the following:
-Tippmann Power Feed($30)
-Assault Stage 1 Expansion Chamber($70)
-Armson Stealth(The Best Barrel In The World!)[$70]
-Small N2 Tank for Assault Chamber($89)
-Double trigger($25)
-Venturi Bolt($15)
With a Grand Total of.....Roughly $299(Not Bad)
IS IT WORTH WHAT IT COSTS
Hella Yea!Buy The Gun!
HOW DOES IT COMPARE TO SIMILAR GUNS?
I wreck people with Spyders so it kicks some @ss! Way better value than a Spyder!
YES I WOULD RECOMEND IT TO A NEWBIE OR AN EXPERIENCED PLAYER!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, June 27th, 2001
Strengths: I got this gun a week ago based on reviews on this site.
The gun is cheap, build like a tank and will spit anything out of the barrel. I tried all kinds of balls and everything works. It is very easy to clean and take apart. As a matter of fact I took it apart today and painted in killer camo colours.
Putting it back together was a snap 4 minutes. Some people stated it is hard to put together, but i guess they never played with LEGO before..
I also polished inside as well. It shoots pretty accurate for 124 dollar gun.
Weaknesses: -Internal frame are not polished at all, once you take black powder off it looks like it was stamped in some crazy aluminum press.
-barrel, i bought Tru-Flight/ThunderPig on Ebay and had to polish that barrel as well ( should saved 25 dollars and bought dye excel)
Conclusion: -Stock performance is ok in 30-50 ft range, balls curve at longer shots.
-stock barrel is raw aluminum, needs polishing and de-crowning if you plan to use it.
-Once you take it apart and see how it is made, you may wonder why did you pay 124 dollars, it looks like it made in trilrd world country by 10 cents anh hour worker.
-Good bullet proof design, Like Russian Rocket!
-I would consider Spyder TL or spyder extra as alternative for 50 dollars more.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, June 27th, 2001
Strengths: This is an excellent marker. A definate improvment over the oringinal. It is very accurate even with the stock barrel, just adjust the sight some and you'll hit almost anything. The range with the stock barrel leaves something to be desired though. this gun doesnt use a lot of CO2( 25 shots per 12 Gram). The rate of fire is good, faster than a Spyder Compact. The gun feels well put together, not cheap plasic like BE, and is very durable. Tippmann even added a feature where yiu can squeegie the barrel without removing it!( Although I've only got it to work with a Tippmann Squeegie). The gun comes wtih a Barrel Plug, 200rd Hopper, 4 Allen Wrenches , TPI Squeegie, and you can get a 9oz and Scott Mask package.
Weaknesses: The black finish scratches too easy
it's pretty loud ( not as loud as a Samruai though).
The manual's schematic isn't that clear( I eventually figured out how to put the gun together, but the first few times are tough).
Conclusion: You get your money's worth with this gun. The performance and line of upgrades are awesome, plus its backed by a Tippmann Warranty, one of the best there is. I've heard tha Tippmann will fix any problem for free or realy cheaply. I say buy this gun. After some upgrading you'll be kicking butt. The gun comes with almost everything you need to start out with.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  282  |  283  |  284  |  285  |  286  |  287  |  288  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media