paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
tacticaltippy Wednesday, January 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used a few of my friends tippmanns
a spyder
and a B2K
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
20" Smart Parts Tactical Barrel(best barrel ever)
Remote Line and 4+1 pod Pack
Daisy 4x15 scope (mostly for seeing ppl from a long ways away)
Stock soon to come
Recommended
Upgrades:
Smart Parts tactical barrel...they are $50 so they are not that expensive but have amazing preformance....just make sure ur air is turned up more than it came stock it wont shoot to its greatest extent.....
Remote Line
Stock
Strengths: In the review
Weaknesses: In the review
Review: Strength:

General:

So just about everyone knows that this is the probably the most upgradable paintball marker ever.

Workmanship:

You can throw this gun over top of a bunker(not recominded) and it would most likely be fine u might F!ck up ur barrel but the gun itself would be fine. Its also the easiest thing in the world to take apart and work on/oil it. unless ur playing in the middle of a west virginia(yes i live in WV) winter then nothing will go wrong...

Accuracy:

Well this gun has amazing potincial(misspelled) for great acuracy...the barrel it comes with stock is about the same as not having a barrel on the thing at all....i recomend a freak(150$) or my barrel the SP tactical 20"(45$).either of these barrels are able to position a ball right on a guys mask.....dont worry about that....


Upgrades:

there are more upgrades for this gun than i can count on all my fingers and toes.....Firstly there is the RT Trigger.this is a trigger upgrade that resets the trigger faster.
there are also body kit upgrades
also barrel upgrades
buttstock upgrades
drop forwards
scopes/sight rails
and so on and so forth....


Weaknesses:

Sorry haters but there are no defects to the amazing marker



Conclusion: This is the absolute best woodsball gun out there.....if ur a woodsball get it....speedballers i wouldnt...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sab541 Sunday, January 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann pro-lite (great but hard to find replacement parts)
Spyder TL (great but hard to find parts as well)
Tippmann A-5 (excellent marker but I prefer electronic hoppers over the cyclone feed)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with ACT
Smart Parts 14 in Linear Barrel
BT Rip Clip (98 Custom version)
Double Trigger kit
Remote Coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
See Review
Strengths: Reliable, consistent, inexpensive, durable, tons of upgrades available, parts easy to find.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel loud and inaccurate
Certain upgrades required to be elite
Review: About 2 years ago I was introduced to paintball and I immediately wanted to get my own equipment. I asked a few veteran friends of mine and I looked through the web for reviews and I came to the conclusion that Tippmann was the way to go for my intended use (recreational woodsball). I bought mine used from a friend and I ended up using it for the whole spring and summer of 09.

Here are my experiences:

When I first bought my marker the only upgrade it had was the double trigger kit (nice but not a necessity) while everything else was stock. The first problem I encountered was that once I was engaged in a firefight I would find that my marker would fire when I squeezed the trigger but wouldn't fire a paintball every shot. It was also very loud and lacked the range and accuracy of some of the other markers out in the field that day. I did however have zero breaks and zero issues aside from the ones I just mentioned.

After the first outing with my new marker I want to the local paintball store and bought a barrel upgrade for the marker (wow what a difference). Accuracy and range were no longer issues for me after that but I still had issues with the marker not firing a ball with every trigger squeeze. It's sooooo much quieter now as well.

After the second outing I bought an electronic hopper, which took care of the misfiring issues. After both of these upgrades I can honestly say that this marker gives me zero issues while I play. I like the fact that there are so many options to choose from when it comes to upgrading this marker. Replacement parts are a cinch to find locally or on the internet (not that I've ever needed any) and the reliability of this marker is unsurpassed. Yes if you try to do a field strip you might want to be careful not to lose some of the small parts on the inside of the marker, but I have a hard time believing that will ever be happen since I do all the all the maintenance at home before I go.

If I were to go the speed ball route I would definitely look for a different type of marker but as far as woodsball goes I think this marker is as good as anything out there. If you wanna go full auto the E-Grip and Response trigger are available so there really isn't any instance where you'd be "out gunned".

I've never had any mechanical issues with this marker and zero ball breaks (use good paint) I bought this marker because their durable and reliable.

If you use Co2 you might want to get an expansion chamber upgrade as this will allow space for the Co2 to convert to gas form from the liquid form in the tank. This also is supposed to help with accuracy too or you can do what I do and use a remote coil which kinda does the same thing along with taking the weight of the tank off your marker.

The cool thing is that none of the upgrades need to be done immediately, they can be done as you have the money, but in the meantime you still have a great marker to go out and use. It's all about customizing it to a point where it fits your style of play...this marker can do it all as long as you have the money for the upgrades.
Conclusion: If you want a quality built durable marker for a low price than this is the one for you. Yes their are cheaper markers but this marker is the cheapest I'd go if you want to ensure that you don't have any huge issues down the road. It's ready to go and very good out of the box but with a barrel and hopper upgrade you will go from very good to excellent when it comes to woodsball. You don't have to spend a fortune on the upgrades either, but like most things you get what you pay for (check reviews and ask around about these accesories before you buy them). Since I had to do a few upgrades to get this marker to the level I wanted I'm giving it an 8 but with my current upgrades it's a 10. The maker doesn't make the player but it sure as heck shouldn't hinder the player, and I have no problems with this baby. Hope this helps.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 3rd, 2010 at 4:08 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

KBug Sunday, December 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Slayer, Spyder Sonix
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom, Two Finger Trigger, Response Trigger, Adjustable Stock, VL 200 Stock Hopper, Empire 7 Piece Barrel Kit, JAVA Paintball 12oz CO2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Durable, Upgradable
Weaknesses: Not the fastest gun stock
Review: I have been using this gun for about two years and it has been a very good gun for me. I have only used the stock barrel to shoot in my backyard and it seemed to do good then but I would still recommend a new barrel. This gun is a great woodsball gun and is also a good gun for a rental or a backup gun. It does not cost a lot of money and is very reliable and easy to use. It is very easy to work on even though you hardly ever have to work on it. I have not had any problems with this gun ever and it seems like it can take anything.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun to anyone who plays paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 19th, 2010 at 3:01 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

xpbsnypa Saturday, December 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder
Ion
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
3 position car stock
20 in. barrel
bi-pod adapter
bi-pod
sealed bolt system
daisy scope
raised sight rail
custom mag kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel
Upgrade To Compressed Air
Strengths: Durability
Many Upgrades
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: When i first bought this marker i was amazed at how well it was made, how well it felt in my hands and how it shot... as a gun tech i've done everything i can think of to it...and it still runs as smooth as the day i picked it up...and five years later i am still proud of my purchase
Conclusion: This marker is great for the beginner player, yes it's price may scare you, but i recommend it to anyone who wants a marker that will last them a long time
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Roctronic Thursday, December 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra '05 w/ACS
Piranha GTI Plus Rampage
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra '05 w/ACS, DXS Pulse (V2), Pure Energy HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgraded Barrel, Proto 2-Piece is wicked.
Strengths: Comfortable
Simple Process
Easy to Clean
Power
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Speed
Size
Maneuverability
Customer Service
Review: This marker is said to be one of the most reliable and accuracte in the business. I beg to differ. I only tested it for a few games and in my opinion, its not that great. Many of the shots I took went 50 ft in the air, even after holding it as close as possible, it was still 2-10 ft off any target the sight showed as hitting. For the price, for a beginner I guess it could be worth it, but in my opinion...just rent. This marker is not worth more than $60, and I wouldn't pay a dime over it.
Conclusion: I wouldn't purchase this product. Get a Piranha GTI Plus Rampage, cheaper and much much better marker.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DJ_Eclipse Sunday, November 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom ACT
Invert Mini
Marker Setup: Double Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double Trigger
Strengths: -Lots of upgrades
-very very very reliable
-pretty much never chops
-range
Weaknesses: -None that i can think of
Review: I have the Tippmann ACT (Anti Chop Technology) and by ACT it really means it I have shot about 5 cases of paint (10000 paint balls) and I have only ever had one of them chop and the chop was pretty minor. Its very reliable, very accurate. I recommend it to any beginners as a first gun.
Conclusion: Highly recommended
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilevil Saturday, November 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any Mech. Spyder - because its in the same price rang
Brass Eagle Sting Ray - an "Ol reliable" gun just like the 98. i have 2 stingrays, they
were made in 1990, EVERY part (including o-rings) is original and there is no leak,
shoots consistantly every time.


Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
~J&J Ceramic 14"
~Crossfire 68/45
~QEV
~Empire Reloader B
~TechT L7
~Clamping feed-neck
~NDZ trigger
~NDZ drop w/ screw on/off
Proto Matrix 7
~Red Virtue Eyes
~7 piece Empire Barrel Kit
~Crossfire 68/45
~Empire Reloader B
Tippmann 98 custom A.C.T.
~Tippmann Sniper Barrel
~A.C.T. Bolt
~Red Dot Sight
2 Brass Eagle StingRays
~Brass Eagle Sniper Barrel
~Red Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
TechT zero kick hammer
CAR Stock
Hopper
Strengths: The A.K. 47 of paintball
will fire under ANY circumstance
Customizable
Parts always available
Weaknesses: Barrel
Tiny parts
Plastic feed neck and front grip

Review: i found this marker, included with a sniper barrel on criags list for 75 so i broke down and bought it. and im glad i did. several of my friends have this marker so im familiar with it, how it works, and how it feels. thats also one of the strengths of this marker. everyone knows it. you can't go anywhere with someone having one, or at least knowing a thing or two about it. once i got home, i loaded a hopper up with camo paintball from wally-world (surprising really good balls) and shot at my shoe-box sized ply-wood. fist i shot with the stock 8 in barrel and at 40-50 yds, the shots were hit or miss, generally had to place my shot off the previous. after about a half-hopper, i switched to the sniper barrel and what a world of difference. every shot was ball on ball. i never missed the ply-wood once i switched. if u only choose one upgrade, get a new barrel. its almost a necessity. since this 98c had the A.C.T. bolt, i wanted to test its ability. and... it works, you can put your finger in the breach and the bolt will just absorb the force. after that i test a few paintballs and they just got a little squeezed, and because of that, they flew a little crooked, so if one of ur shots fly off in a random direction, thats the reason.

that following weekend i went to my local field (M.V.P) and played a few games with it. i was shocked with the consistency of this marker. of course the years past of me playing with this marker were with the stock barrel, so i accredit the performance to the barrel. i know blow-back designs are on the air hog side, but after 5 games, i still had 2k left in my 88ci/3k tank. so not to bad for an all internal stock marker. i do however recommend a stock, the marker can get a little tiring on a longer game and a stock can aid in that. plus add accuracy.

~PROS~
-reliable
-idiot proof
-tried and true design
-indestructible
-customizable

~CONS~
-there are several tiny parts in the marker (a spring on the trigger and sear - will fly off if not carefully when taking apart)
-barrel is just a joke the only positive to this barrel is if u wanna test something, u have a barrel u can use
-single trigger (depends tho if you wanna snipe or use for faster paced games)
-kinda hard on air if not properly adjusted, or using a better barrel
Conclusion: I highly recommend this marker. Its the iconic marker, its reliable, extremely customizable, will never break, and idiot proof, hence the reason why field use them as rentals. With a few upgrades, u can have a deadly sniper marker for woods games, a rope shootin gat for speed ball, or just an ol reliable gun for ur buddy to use. Get this marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

XBall09 Friday, November 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: A Stock tippmann 98 custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel definately
Strengths: Pretty good fps but nothin too great
Weaknesses: Barrel sucks and chops paint, single trigger
Review: It is an ok gun. I mean paintball blaces use it as rentals so that right there tells you its not a great gun. If you got a new barrel and if it as a double trigger then itwould be a bit better. But in the end I really did not like this gun and would not reccommend it.
Conclusion: Its ok but I would not reccomend it for how much it costs
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Jesse_G Wednesday, November 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 with 4000psi Compressed air tank. 14" Smart Parts Linear
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is too small
Strengths: Very Durable, Great for Beginners. Definately a woodsball gun.
Weaknesses: NOT FOR SPEEDBALL! The barrel.Trigger not that fast.
Review: This is a great gun I got it last christmas. It is very accurate and durable. Something you would want if your just starting out! Probably THE best gun in that price range! This gun will get the job done! Easy to maintain, easy to follow instructions and easily upgradable!
Conclusion: Fantastic gun for beginners and woodsball
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ASNY123 Monday, October 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Alpha Black, Tippman A5
Marker Setup: Collapsable stock, 16 inch barrel, and soon a flatline
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel, E-trigger and a cyclone feeder. The stock isn't necessary.
Strengths: Durrable, powerful (415 fps), accurate, easy to fix!
Weaknesses: Heavy, Thats really it!
Review: I got this gun and it is amazing. It is so durable. You can drop it and throw it and it wont break. And even if it did, you yourself can fix it. It's so easy to work and maintain. With a longer barrel, it will be the most accuarte gun you can get.
I played at afield and I used radar on it and it shot at 415 fps. Thats fast! You can upgrade and modify it with ease, and there are sooo many choices. Definalty get this gun.
Conclusion: Get it. It wont let you down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media