paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  Last
        Next Page
sykoballer Thursday, November 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Spyder Tl-x
Spyder Tl-r
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Double trigger
E-grip
Dropforward
Strengths: Cheap
comfortable
upgradable
accurate
made well
Weaknesses: A little heavy
slow
Review: The 98 custom is priced low, but is actually a really good gun. It is comfortable, accurate, made very well, and easily upgradable. The only bad thing about it is that it is a little heavy and slow. This was my first gun and I have learned how to own everyone on the field with it.

Sight: there is a small sight and a sight rail that can help anyone aim and shoot more accurately. This is great for beginners, because they can look right down the barrel and see the enemy.

Trigger: is very comfortable to shoot with, but very slow. this is not a problem because it is inexpensive to fix, and is meant for woodsball, so you dont need to go fast.

Body/handle: The handle is far apart from the grip, so it is easy to steady and aim with.
i love this, it is very comfortable

Side feed: lets you look down the middle of the gun and helps you line up your shot

Barrel: very short, inaccurate

Gas efficiency: gas hog!!!

Overall gun: Extremely durable, comfortable, and easy to aim with.

The side feed and sight is great for anyone looking to snipe or aim carefully with. many beginners get the 98 custom for the ability to aim, unlike almost every other gun.
Conclusion: A very good gun that can easily be upgraded. Buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

youngjoc007 Tuesday, November 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom, custom pro
Marker Setup: tippman 98 custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
You will need a new barrel stock barrel sux
Strengths: Strength
Endurance
Accuracy (with new barrel)
Reliability
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is trash
Kind of a gas hog just a little though
Review: This is an overall good gun, it has good power- it packs a punch.

It has good endurance-this baby just won't break I got it from my friend and he bought it 3 years ago and it works awesome.

distance-this gun has good distance i could easily get some paint at least 80 yards down a field.

speed- the speed of this gun is ok, people say it sux but i can get about 8-9 rounds off with this beast. although I may get a response trigger.


ACCURACY-first off as u may know the accuracy of the stock barrel is crap i can only get an accurate shot of up to like 20 yards. 2 out of 6 shots would be accurate from like 40 yards or somewhere around that. so i recommend a aftermarket barrel to anyone who has this gun or will be getting one!!!!
Conclusion: This is an awsome gun I can't believe it still works so good after 3 years of use. This one can easily match up with my friends custom pro and he got his 2 weeks ago. Overall buy this gun its good and reliable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

godd1000 Wednesday, November 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
One of a kind
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom w/ Smart Parts linear barrel 14", response trigger, double trigger, Tippmann AL200 electronic hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
E-trigger, low pressure system
Strengths: Durability, A.C.T, reliability
Weaknesses: A little bulky
Review: My first gun and my work horse. I never leave home to play without this gun. It's easy to use and to upgrade. There are so many parts that fit this gun the potental is endless. For this type of gun, the only one better would be the Tippmann A-5
Conclusion: Great starter gun with plenty of room to improve.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cant dye dead Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DYE ULTRALITE, A-5, VARIOUS KINGMANS
Marker Setup: Dye Autococker Ultralite tricked out, Freak kit,Eclipse 2, Evolution 2, 4500psi Pure Energy tank .ect....
A-5 response co2, stiffy, flame drop forward, double trigger, pretty nice
Recommended
Upgrades:
Evolution hopper, uprgrade the barrel threads, the 98 custom threads suck, the upgraded barrels come out, double expansion chamber, a stiffi barrel and a on/off valved tank(to save o-rings)
Strengths: Pretty tough, very efficient, good grouping, very nice price, can be maintineced at every shop
Weaknesses: Recoil, loud, screws come out of the frame, too slow for speedball (stock)
Review: This is a beginner gun. This isn't a Dye or an Angel. You get more than what you pay for with this gun. It is very uprgradable, and has good potential. It isn't vertical feed which is prefferential to the user, do you want sights with slower loading speed, or do you want faster loading speed without the sight.?Without eyes this increases chops. If you like vertical feeds I would go with a Pirahna, which has better speed and is in this price range.
Don't plan to go in a speedball course with this (stock). It is too long and slow and is easy to hit the hopper.
It's great in woodsball because it is very comforatable and balanced with a 16 oz tank. Accurate shots are possible here with more time to sight.
Conclusion: If you are just starting out and want to just try paintball, this is the gun for you. But if you are already into it and want an edge in woodsball or speedball, upgrade to the A-5 and bring a bigger tank and a drop forward. You can upgrade the 98 but it won't beat the A-5 in speedball or woodsball as far as charicteristics go. TIPPMANN RULES!
Sorry KINGMAN enthusiasts.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

terrorizor Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann coustom pro
Marker Setup: BONE STOCK
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL
Strengths: It can be ran over with a truck and not be damaged its a tank
Weaknesses: Not accurate unless you put a barraell on it it is also slow
Review: I think we all started with this gun and still have it as our "spare" i dont think this gun can be broken if we tried to break it i have beat the crap out of it and it still works fine this is one of the best guns ever made by any coampany ever
Conclusion: Get one as your first gun than upgrade
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kaizer Kris Sunday, November 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armotech Wg-65 (if you read my review on it DONT BUY IT!)
Marker Setup: Ion Marker
Hybrid sticky grips
Halo hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Freak barrel (17 inch kicks ass)
-New grips (stock gets annoyn)
Strengths: -Reliable
-Gun is universally known
-Easy to maintain
-Durable
-Air efficient
-Cheap
Weaknesses: -Could be debated but id say range
-BPS
Review: For a new player this marker is excellent. It has a great feel, tons of upgrades, and easy on your (or your parents...lol) wallet. As i said the guns pros range from it being reliable and durale in the field. I tripped one time and smashed this on a rock & it was still shoot'n. This gun is easy to strip (i think like 4-5 screws) and i still regret selling it and losing the simplicity (well after shooting the Ion not really). The only problem is how fast you can shoot balls off. Using this in speed ball my first time i got fu@#n raped! yea... nice boby w/ the dual grippage and ability to do anything you want to this gun!
Conclusion: If you are a beginner and are new to the game this gun is great for woods ball and you'll have a blast. Its cheap, easy to maintain, and will not let you down.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 12th, 2006 at 8:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

draco_dragon Saturday, November 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
several spyders
rap4
newer 98c
Marker Setup: 98 custom with expansion chamber and flatline barrel system
Recommended
Upgrades:
upgrade the barrel as soon as you can
Strengths: -Durable this marker is built like a tank
-steel frame
Weaknesses: Heavy
Too long
Review: Oh my god this gun is sweet when my brother and I bought this gun there was no way we were returning it after we had seen it in use. It's a little heavy and too long to be used heavily as a speedbal gun but everytime i play woodsball i just dominate. It is a little hard to break down but after youv'e done it a few times it's not so bad. this thing takes a major beating everytime i use it (it gets shot more than i do) and i've had it for more than four years.
Conclusion: Buy this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rougen Friday, November 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Xtra
Kingman Electra
A-5
Impulse
Nerve
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Nerve
Halo B
68ci/3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
CP barrel
Strengths: Price
Reliability
Weaknesses: Size
Noise
Looks
Inconsistent Velocity
Review: True I've only tested this gun, but I have tested this gun more than 5 times, so I do know what I'm talking about. A friend of mine got this gun as his second paintball gun, he has used the gun for the last 3 years and it has treated him well. This gun is ideal for the woodsballer/ rec player but really can't be pushed very far. You have to get some pretty serious up-grades to make this gun shoot over 8 BPS...... because with the stock trigger, you can't hardly get like.....4BPS....... and even with the double trigger your pushing 10BPS, and with response you're getting somehting like 12BPS.....definatly not for the tournament course player, If your a Front/ Mid player or even a back player in a hyper ball/ air ball field you will find yourself very outshot and dissapointed. I'd give this gun a 8 3/4 becuase I don't really think it deserves a 9, but im going to give it a 9 to round it off I guess
Conclusion: Bad gun for the front/ mid style players and definatly not a gun for tournament type fields or close qauters
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Orionpaint Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader orion
Marker Setup: none
Recommended
Upgrades:
Camoflage
Strengths: Accurate
rarely chops
fast

fairly light for me
Weaknesses: Price if you buy it in a kit
the handle
Review: Ok i sold my orion to my friend for money to go towards this. so far i have had not problems and its paying off. But the handle took me sometime to get used to but after that is smooth sailing. It was good because i played in the rain but it didnt afect its mad skills. the final word its great
Conclusion: Buy it or be terminated
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

persony Sunday, November 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Now i have a promaster but it is not nerely the same thing.
Marker Setup: Warpig 14'' barrel
apache hopper
c02
hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is a must as like all markers
Strengths: This marker is extremely RELIABLE and UPGRADABLE also pretty light
Weaknesses: Slow shooting compared to eletronic markers
Review: This is a very good gun. It was my firstand sometimes i still use it today. It is reliable and light and you can find many upgrades for it. The only thing i disliked about it stock was that the stock barrel was extremely loud and had limited distance. This is a great first marker.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. The rating below is for stock and i am not rating against electros and high end guns
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media