paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  36  |  Last
        Next Page
ittalianstalion Saturday, November 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann custom pro, A-5
Marker Setup: Tippman custom pro, longbow barrel. halo b with rip drive, response trigger, ion pro halo b, red and black ion pro freak barrel egg 3 z board hopper flame drop rampage board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Theres so many great upgrades to be added
Strengths: Reliable, strong, the gun will last longer than you will
Weaknesses: Not a fast gun but who cares!
Review: Tippmanns are the best guns ever made, they are hard core woodsball guns, with the hundreds of upgrades you can buy for them it is definitely more than worth it. plus the gun is gonna keep shooting like the day you bought it forever.

I have used these guns in woodball alot, there absolutely great. there so simple to use and easy to fix and sort of problemdefinitely worth buying
Conclusion: My last words are if you ever have some extra money and are looking to but a good wooball gun, Tippmann 98 custom is the perfect gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xKillerx5 Friday, November 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
vl orion, piranhas, these are ok guns but do not compare to the tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, 12v VL revolution hopper, 12' lapco bigshot barrel & lapco barrel adaptor, 16 oz. co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL everything else is alright for a while. As you play more with it you should get a newer, faster hopper if you are trigger happy
Strengths: Durable, Customizable, Accuracy(with upgraded barrel)
Weaknesses: A little heavy for smaller kids but i dont mind it at all.
Review: This marker is truly amazing. I bought mine used off eBay for $175 with the lapco barrel and adaptor. I absolutely love it. I just got in today from target shooting and i have to say, it is very accurate. At close distances with the stock barrel it hits the same spot repetitively. Unfortunately as you increase your distance from the target the shots begin to curve of slightly. That is why i highly recommend a better barrel. Other than the barrel factor it is an amazing paintball gun. Taking it apart is fairly easy. It does require an understanding of the layout however. it as a cheap purchase but watch out. At many stores such as Canadian tire and wal-mart, they try to over price the tippmann 98 custom dramatically because so many people are buying it. So if you can order it online that would be best. Happy Shooting!
Conclusion: Buy this gun. It is highly customizable and is well priced. Pereforms just as good as many fo the 300 dollar guns out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Robathome Wednesday, November 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
Smart Parts 14" Rifle Barrel
20 oz CO2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Stock (user preference)
Trigger System (user preference)
Strengths: Easy to use / maintain
Very inexpensive
LOADS of upgrades available
Beginner-friendly
Weaknesses: Doesn't have ACT
Loud
Stock barrel is inaccurate
Heavy
Review: I played paintball a few times before I purchased the marker, and found it very user-friendly right off the bat.

Tippmann includes a full schematic of the marker, making assembly and disassembly very easy. It requires virtually no maintenance, I've found that a few drops of lubricant on the ASA and dry-firing a few times is plenty, provided any paint is brushed off. I use an old toothbrush, you don't need anything real fancy. The powdercoat on the exterior likes to hang on to dried paint, so it's always best if you can get the paint while it's still wet.

This marker is bare-bones, nothing fancy, it shoots paint and does it well. My COP* from 50' (1/2 maximum range) was aobut 24 inches, which is pretty terrible, even for a tippmann. IMO, the stock barrel is pretty short / rough, so that should be your first upgrade. I picked up a Smart Parts 14" barrel for about 40$CDN, and right away I noticed a difference. My COP went down to about 12-14 inches, and it reduced the noise greatly. It's not as easy to clean as the stock barrel, and for playing indoors the 8" stock barrel is much easier to maneuver.

Also, if you like to hail paint onto the enemy, you might want to consider the E-Trigger upgrade or the Response Trigger. I was really gung-ho about the RT, but then I found out that a lot of fields don't allow it, since there's no way to turn it off, aside from physically removing the hose. (Author's note: Don't let people tell you that cyclone feeders and response triggers reduce gas efficiency, there's NO CONSISTENT PROOF that this is true!) Also, a double-trigger might help some, I personally prefer the single-trigger style.

Finally, the hopper is perfectly capable of feeding the marker when it's STOCK, but as soon as you start upgrading the trigger you might want to consider a faster hopper. I haven't skipped a ball yet, and I LOVE the hinged feeder elbow, which allows you to clean a chopped ball on the field in a FLASH. I don't, however, like the right-side-feed, since I'm right-handed and my hopper announces my presence as I start to lean out from behind the bunker. A centre-feed hopper would be much better, and there are upgrade kits available for that, too.

For indoor play, you might want to consider a low-range electronic marker, since there are some restrictions to the available upgrades. However, for outdoor play, you can't kill a Tippmann, and I've already seen its vast numbers in the forest.

*COP = Circle Of Probability... if 100 shots are fired at the exact same place, 50% of them should land inside the COP (common military measurement of accuracy).
Conclusion: All in all, this marker is great for beginners, it allows for plenty of modification and upgrades, and reaches right up there with the midrange markers in terms of performance and reliability. This marker should last you a while before you out-grow it.

If we start with an average rating of 5, then this marker gets +1 for above-average reliability, +1 for available upgrades, +1 for ease of use, and +1 for performance out-of-the-box.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 1st, 2006 at 12:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

derek61718 Thursday, October 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: tippy 98 custom
revvy hopper with x board
double trigger
shocktech super fly bolt
14" proto barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL - the stock one sucks
Shocktech superfly bolt - quties it down, makes it shoot alot srtighter
Strengths: Very Durable
Easy to clean
Easy to take apart
Very Upgradeable
Weaknesses: SO common
Can't get a E trigger for a 98 custom
Review: I really like my 98 custom, for alittle while i was thinking about upgrading but then i bought a shocktech super fly bolt and that really helped changed my mine. With the Upgrades you see up there, i can hit around 8 bps (without RT) and with the bolt and barrel it shoots very accurate, pretty much dead on stright.

* update about the weakness - you actualy can if you have one of the newer ones, you can check by takeing off 1 of your grips and looking for a square hole.
Conclusion: I would for sure recommend this to anyone new to paintballing, simply cuz its a beast (with a few upgrades)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 26th, 2006 at 7:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WoRrGaMeS32957 Wednesday, October 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i hav a Pro Stock 05 now but i am getting a Shocker NXT
Marker Setup: Stocky everything
Eggy
3000 psi notrogen
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really, if u want a new trigger
Strengths: Everything except trigger
Weaknesses: Trigger, thats it!
Review: This gun is great to the new paintballer, though if you play speedballl i would go with sometihng else. This gun is great when i had mine it NEVER broke down, never even leaked. But when i got into paintball i got a spyder Pilot, hated it. Then i got a pro stock 05 autococker. Since i have a team i am getting a shocker NXT. If you love woodsball or scenario games this is probaly youre best bet. The only upgrade i would get is a new trigger. GET THIS GUN!
Conclusion: You cant go wrong with a Tippmann
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jckdarippr Tuesday, October 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
Cyclone Feed System
Dye Ultralite 12" Barrel
Double Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (J&J, CP, LAPCO, Dye)
Cyclone Feeder
Larger Air Tank (HPA or bigger C02)
Double Trigger
Strengths: Durable
Versatile
Easy to Maintain
Beginner Friendly
Good price/performance value
Upgradable
Weaknesses: Slow rate of fire

Not very Field strippable

Stock barrel

Gas hog
Review: This gun is the perfect solution for beginners who are unsure what gun to get and are on a limited budget. When I first started looking into markers with a budget of under $200, the tippmann was at the forefront. I was able to get the entire power pack bundle (marker, mask and gas tank) for $100 off craigslist. That left me with $100, so I upgraded the hopper to a cyclone and a dye ultralite barrel (which i also got off craigslist for $50). When i picked the gun up, immediately I could tell this was a solidly built gun, and I've only been playing for less than 3 months. A paintball store owner told me he used his friend tippmann which was sitting around for more than 3-4 years unused and un cared for. He cracked it open, cleaned the gunk out, threw it back together, and fired like it did as if it were brand new (slight exaggeration). That in itself speaks for the long term investment that this gun represents. I've never seen the insides of a marker, must less understand how they works. The tippmann 98 is a very very easy gun to understand in terms of where the parts are suppose to be and what function they serve. I was able to take apart and reassemble the gun by myself as a complete noob, and learning is half the battle (GI-JOE). The cyclone feeder is a must. Many will tell you to get a Halo B, reloader or any other $100+ hopper, but the tippmann isn't the greatest speed ball gun out there. Even with a double trigger, 15 bps is max and that's already stretching it. Which is perfect since the cyclone feeder is spec ed to 15 bps. With a cyclone feeder, ball chopping is almost non-existant...almost. The stock barrel is only 8.5 in, so the accuracy is a bit wanting. Upgrading to a Dye Ultralite barrel I immediately noticed a different in my accuracy and range. Which brings me to the speed ball vs. wood ball controversy. The tippmann can hold it's own against the best guns out there in speed ball. Is it faster than an Ion/Wrath/ProMaster/EVO? No...it is not. For sure the tippmann 98 isn't going to take you very far in a tournament, but for recreational speed ball, I was able to hold my own against ions and autocockers. I did notice that the gas was consumed rather quickly. They say you can get 400-500 shots for a 9 oz, but my figures were closer to 350-375.
Conclusion: I definitely recommend this gun to any newcomers/beginners who are just coming into this sport. Many will recommend getting a spyder imagine right off the bat or an ion. But in terms of cost to performance ratio, tippmann is better. With a Spyder imagine, sure it's electric and it shoots faster, but you'll have to invest into a better hopper than a gravity feed or you'll risk chopping the ball, then a mask, gas tank. Jus the essentials for an imagine is as much as my upgraded tippmann. Ions are probably the next step I will take, but since I'm a beginner and learning the ropes on how this game is played, the tippmann is my gun of choice. I'd give it a 9.5 if i could, but i can't.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

magicman Saturday, October 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: I have a double trigger a 98custom car stock and a BT Apex barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
BT16 Apex barrel w/ bi pod, 98custom car stock
Strengths: It is great for beginner's and woodsballers alike. It is made of relay good.
Weaknesses: You have to be careful when taking it apart.
Review: I rember getting my first paintball gun it was a 98 custom. It was realy cool looking. At first when i shot it I was freaked out because of the velociy. but everything is just fine when I got use to it. It is great for woods ball but Idon't recomend it for speed ball. It looks great on the woods ball field but not on the speed ball field. This is a great gun.
Conclusion: Be careful when taking it apart because from experience I lost the front sight spring and had to order more springs. So the only advice I have is be careful when taking it apart.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 21st, 2006 at 6:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kinghorn54 Thursday, October 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts ion, tippmann a-5, brass eagle avenger, spyder imagine, spyder xtra, pirahna pro
Marker Setup: 98 custom
phyco ballistics double trigger
32 degrees whisper
32 degrees universal drop forward
32 degrees gel grips

just bought an 04 lasoya intimadator
techna trigger
hybrid contract killer grips
14" dye ultralite
cp hp reg
nitro duck 90/45 x-stream with tuff skin
empire reloeder b
ndz ul rail asa
Recommended
Upgrades:
After market barrel stock one is ok but a better barrel improves the accuracy a ton, maybe double trigger but thats preference.
Strengths: Durable
Easily costomized
Accurate
easy maintinance

Weaknesses: Not really a weakness but it gets pretty long with a aftermarket barrel
Review: This was my second gun i bout it after i had been in paintball not quit a year. its so durable it hardly needs alot of maintanence just keep it clean and it will keep working. with a double trigger it actually shots pretty fast for a low end gun. i can honestly say ive never chopped one paintball in this thing it feeds pretty good. its very easy to costomize to even the manufacturer has a ton of great parts. i like it way more than spyders or pirahnas. it is a great gun that is very durable.
Conclusion: If your looking for agreat gun to start out with or turn into a scenario gun this should be one you think about. its great value to you can pice one up for less than $200 easy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 18th, 2006 at 9:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thepipsqueak Thursday, October 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none....im a noob
Marker Setup: none..im still renting (planning to get a setup soooon tho)
Recommended
Upgrades:
all the kewl stuff!!!!!!!!w00t!
Strengths: seemed accurate......(I was renting it stock)
light
perrrrrrrty
Weaknesses: I guess the trigger grip/foregrip got kinda slippery after you started sweating.
Review: I rented this gun the first time I went paintballing and I think its pretty nice (it's the only gun I've ever used, I've only played paintball once). I guess I can't say much bad about it because I've never played with anything else, but I can say I had alot of fun while playing with this gun. Ya.....that's all I have to say about it I guess....everything else is in the strengths/weaknesses.....
Conclusion: It's nice...appparently cheep....and nice...get it if you want....
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IronSlacker Thursday, October 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5(slightly better)
Marker Setup: (Primary Setup)SP Nerve
-68/45 Crossfire Carbon Fiber HPA
-Evo III
-Freak back / All american front
-q-lock

(Secondary Setup) Tippy A-5
-J&J ceramic 14 inch
-Double trigger
-E-grip(dud)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Almost any aftermarket upgrade you want
Strengths: -Durable
-Pretty Accurate
-Warranty
Weaknesses: -Loud
-Needs a good amount of money to be put into it.
-Unremovable Foregrip
Review: This gun is the most famous beginner's gun.Shoots pretty good and is the most upgradable gun on the market.It hadn't failed me and it works nicely. Although I wouldn't recommend this thing to and more "Advanced" players because they'll be looking for accuracy,less weight or even a changeable foregrip.
Conclusion: Good for the new guy...Eventually get a new marker or put enough upgrades in this thing that it shoots better than high-end markers.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  30  |  31  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  36  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media