paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  Last
        Next Page
bendude Friday, August 11th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha-Worse
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Response trigger
-BARREL!
-Double Trigger
-Bolt
Strengths: Never chops any balls whatsoever!
Accurate (Mostly)
Upgradable beyond recognition
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: On my first day of paintball I didn't know what to expect. So I got this one, since it's highly recommended and went to it. It did alright. I lost, but hey! It's really easy to upgrade and very easy to adjust. Perfect for a beginner, or a person who is creative! It's a great gun for pros and beginners alike! I had a lot of fun with it. I might actually get it!
Conclusion: Great first gun and last gun too! Buy it!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 20th, 2006 at 4:34 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

ndfreak2006 Thursday, August 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL orion (not all that great), Brass Eagle stingray, PMI Black Maxx (little bro's), Spyder Victor II (little sis's).
Marker Setup: 98c, 14" PMI razzor, GTO double finger trigger, gravity feed hopper, 20oz pure energy, 9oz tipp tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
double finger trigger, bigger barrel 14" or 12" is better, 16" scraps the ground and damages your barrel and it just doesn't need to be that long.
Strengths: This thing is hard to chop paint with, is completely upgradeable, and is near indestructible.
Weaknesses: Really long profile.
Review: I bought this gun @ wal-mart for $170. It came with a mask, tank, the basics right? The first time I used this gun was on a speed-ball field(bad idea) this gun is a rec ball gun. I really like this gun. I have only had 2 problems w/ this gun the valve leaked(got that fixed quick), and then the valve wouldn't release enough air(getting that fixed right now). but other then that it has worked beautifully. It also has a one year warranty(just in case). Also my cousins each have one and haven't had a problem.

*EDIT*
Okay, turns out my gun valve was okay. It was my sear and rear bolt which tippmann replaced for free. Amen for warranties.
Conclusion: It's a good gun for the rec-ball player and is a really good price. So if you are a rec-ball player get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 12th, 2006 at 5:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

akdew2 Wednesday, August 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
sheridan xts, entry level spyder
Marker Setup: everything stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
the barrel was fairly good, but I'd like to get a better one
Strengths: shoots fast for a mechanic gun, fairly accurate, NEVER chops paintballs
Weaknesses: All I can come up with is it was a little heavy.
Review: when i first played paintball, i used a sheridan xts. it was fairly decent all around, but chopped balls like crazy. it stopped working, so i wanted a gun that would work no matter what. so of course i got a tippman. when i first took it out of the box i was suprised at how short the trigger pull was, it's almost as fast as a electronic. i shot a few paintballs and was satisfied with it's accuracy. so I got hooked up with some of my buddies and played paintball on their property. i shot about 1000 shots at their place, and never chopped a paintball. i'm not talking about sitting behing a bunker playing speedball, i'm talking about running around on 40 acres of forest and playing scenario paintball. i was a little worried about the air efficiency, since it didn't have any expansion chambers, but my 20 oz tank didn't run out throughout the entire game. after the game i checked the barrel to makes sure it was clean, and their wasn't any paint in it at all.
Conclusion: I was completely satisfied with my gun. The only upgrade I want for it is a new barrel. If you want a fast shooting, mechanic, highly upgradable gun, then this is the gun for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fastfingers28 Tuesday, August 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used a lot of semis a while back, in the good old days, such as Brass Eagles, and Spyders. But I've moved on to high-end electros; mostly by smart parts (thanks guys)!!!
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
-All stock, baby! (old marker, mostly for rec-ball)
-Now I shoot all Smart Parts markers.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mine shoots fine without upgrades, so you don't need them for this marker.
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Reliability
-Amazingly low maintenance
Weaknesses: -Too slow for my taste
-(You forget how to clean your Tippmann.) lol.
Review: This marker has been reliable for a while. I like it for woods/rec-ball. If you're new to the sport, it's a nice marker. Personally, I started out with a Spyder Victor 2, but the 98c is a very reliable marker. It can take a serious beating.
Conclusion: I like it for the most part. But to me, its nothing special. But to a rookie, it might be a godsend!!! lol.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 9th, 2006 at 1:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

^_^ Monday, August 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: I'm getting a Spyder Rodeo today or tommorow....
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better more accurate barrel
Strengths: Durable, low matinence, not super expensive
Weaknesses: Barrel is not that good, doesn't look very cool
Review: The 98 Custom is a very reliable, low matience, durable and rather inexpensive marker (compared to many other markers). It's great for rec players and beginning to intermediate pb players. Also its a great marker for fields to rent to people due to it's durability you can drop this thing all you want it's NOT going to break that easily!
Conclusion: Overall this marker is a great for rec ball and new to intermediate players! I would give it a 10 but I took off a point for looks it looksss....kind of dull.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

trigiani Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine, bt-4 combat, spyder pilot
Marker Setup: custom 98 ACT
smart parts 14" linear barrel
Pure Energy 12oz tank
basic hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
possibly a better barrel, but not urgent
Strengths: Very accurate, relatively lightweight, perfectly balanced, very durable/reliable,
Weaknesses: None
Review: From the first time I used it, I knew this would be my favourite gun. I liked the sights, and it is very accurate. Even with the stock barrel, and the cheapest paint available, every shot was dead-on, or quite close. Many guns I have used will go pretty much anywhere but what you want to hit, so I really liked the accuracy. Although not as fast as electronic guns, it still shoots quite quickly, and I've never chopped a ball. My friend has a spyder imagine, which makes an awfully loud "plink" sound every time it shoots. My Custom 98 has a nice, somewhat quiet sound to its shots, but that isn't very important. I stripped this gun right away, and while I had some trouble putting it back togeth, it was quite easy. This gun is indestructible! I could hit it around all day, and not get a scratch.
Conclusion: Pretty much any quality you are looking for in a gun, you will find it with a Custom 98, and for a great price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zambezzi Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Sonix Pro
A-5
Victor 2
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Pmi 20 oz
14" All american barrel
Revolutin X-board
32 degrees flame drop forward
Response trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Response trigger
Electro hopper(if you get a response trigger or double trigger)
Strengths: Great for woods ball...Doesn't chop...Awesome price...Fully customizable
Weaknesses: Barrel
Review: This is a great gun for beginners who don't want to spend alot of money...I got mine new for $140...Its performance...I go almost every weekend and its performan is just awesome...It is very good and it is durable..You dont have to clean much...It can go for a long time without being cleaned and still run like new
Conclusion: Great gun for beginning players because it is cheap and its great if you ike to get alot of upgrades...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CheeseKnight Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Vl Triad, not as rugged.
Marker Setup: Ion (stock) w/ Dynasty body
Pmi 68/3000
Vlocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Double trigger, E-frame
Strengths: Extremely rugged, takes abuse like no other, easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is terribly innacurate. pretty heavy, somewhat long trigger pull (for me)
Review: I dont really have a tippy 98, but i have used one on many occasions. the gun itself is extremely rugged, probably one of the most rugged markers on the market today. it is also much better than any other low end gun in terms of performance. The stock barrel is just bad, though. thats probably due to the fact that its only 8 inches long. the first upgrade you should get for this gun is a new barrel. another weakness is that the marker itself is somewhat heavy. the ruggedness makes up for this though.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this gun to anyone getting into the sport of paintball. If you do happen to buy this marker, i strongly suggest you buy a new barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

j05hu41990 Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Eradicator
Spyder Victor
Model 98
Tippman Pro Carbine
Marker Setup: Spyder imagine 04
12v revy with x board
shocktech feedneck
customparts flame sypder drop
smartparts progressive barrel 14'
Pure Air Nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Mechanical loader
E grip or RT
Drop forward
Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Rugged
Reliable
Relatively accurate
Cheaper
Weaknesses: Longer than most guns
Harder to customize
Review: This is my dads gun and it works great for him. Its very relaible and with is SP Linear barrel, its pretty accurate. Of course the rate of fire is a lot lower than electric markers so it definatley isn't the best tournament marker in the world. My friend has been paintballing with me for 4 years and has never cleaned his 98 because he is so lazy. It hasn't given him any trouble until a month ago. All he has to do is buy a unimount. This shows how reliable the 98 is.
Conclusion: If your a noob or just cheap this is a good marker to buy.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Carbon999 Tuesday, August 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 (better)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
-Evo II Hopper
-Pure Energy 72/3000
-Evil Driver 14"
-Psycho ballistics on/off bullet Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, maybe drop forward
Strengths: VERY Durable
Easy to disassemble
Reliable
Weaknesses: Slow, Heavy, Big, LOUD
Review: First off... THIS GUN IS BEST IN WOODS BALL. I hated using this gun for speed-ball...

This was the first gun iver ever had, and it was all i needed and more cause i was just a rec-woods player. I did fine with it without any upgrades. The only time i ever chopped a ball was using crappy paint, but barrel is easy to clean.

I wanted to try scenario Ball, so i bought a flat-line and M-16 stock... DON'T BUY THE FLATLINE!!! its a peice of dirreha...you have to get the exact right paint and velocity, and it still curved. But i i would still recommend buying a new barrel.
Conclusion: I would Recommend this gun for the recreational woods player. If your looking into speed-ball, i don't recommend it. BUT if its your 1st or 2nd gun.,,go ahead and get it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media