paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Barrel Tagger Tuesday, September 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1.super unreliable had to get spring clipped first time
Marker Setup: 98 custom, CAR stock , 20" Smart Parts Tacticle Barrel, Double trigger, 20 oz. Co2
remote(sometimes)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel!!!!!! Cannot stress enough!!!!! Stock is not very good.
Stock. makes the weight feel like less/ makes more maneuverable.
Double Trigger helps rate of fire
Hopper upgrade not needed unless you have e trigger or you shoot to fast (not a problem for me)
Strengths: Reliable!!!!!!
No internal Maitenance
upgradable
cheap
Weaknesses: Bad stock barrel
hard to get to internals
small parts
Review: First let me say this gun is great! It is cheap and reliable.
I have never chopped a ball in this gun, even using the stock barrel. I never even had to maintain it. No oil or internal cleaning. But if you do have to do internal mantenance or an upgrade it is annoying. The gun comes in two shells and to get to the front you have to deal with parts in the back and visa versa. Taking it appart is terrible esspecially because of some of the tiniest parts can fly and are quite hard to see.

You can get this gun for as cheap as 120$ with the ACT which is a must because this is what makes it so reliable. I would nonetheless pay 200 for he stock gun.

The gun will reach any noobs needs right off. Add a good barrel, doubble trig, and stock ;and it would satisfy an intermediate player such as myself. Add the cyclone or another nice hopper and the e-trigger..... Then a pro would most likely be satisfied by the quality and price.

I started off with an MR1 because everyone said it was better than the tippmann. Soon I found i needed my drive spring clipped and the gun needed alot of maitanence. Once fixed not horrible but not as good as 98.

Then I swiched to the Tippmann, got some upgrades and havn't looked back.
The stock barrel is not very good although it is proficient in CQB so you should get another barrel.

I thought the stock and double trigger are also cheaper ways to make the gun alot better. The cyclone and e-trigger are a little bit more expensive.

Conclusion: This gun is well priced and very reliable. It will do wonders for noobs and can easily be upgrayded to fits a better players needs for reasonable prices. Although it does have some small problems it is still a 10-10 Don't get me wrong, there are much better markers out there. But for the price tag, it's king. That's why I still use mine Thoough I could have purchased another. Truly the Kalashnikov AK of paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 22nd, 2009 at 3:58 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Eldedu Wednesday, August 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra (looks better, performs about the same...maybe more chops)

Only tried electrical markers except for the 98 and the Xtra, and it wouldn't be fair to compare the Tippy to an Angel.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Eos Blue/Black
Empire Reloader II
DXS 68/4500 HPA, proto blue/black cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Honestly, if you wanna play anything other than basic basic woodsball, buy another marker. If money's the issue, buy a vibe. But if I were to upgrade this I would probably put a double trigger on it, upgrade it to electronic (you can snipe with an electronic but you can't hit 17 bps with a mechanical), better barrel maybe freak, and a q-lock.
Strengths: Price
Durability
Sights (also indirectly a con)
Weaknesses: Accuracy (see below)
Mechanical (possible pro)
Too many upgrades necessary
Review: Ok guys. First out let me say that the rules written above mention the line "Be critical. Nothing is perfect." So before I start out, I want to say that every gun I've ever seen reviewed on this website has an 8.5 or higher. EVERY SINGLE GUN. Come on guys. 10 is an Eclipse 08 or SL74, an Angel A1, because they are the pinnacle of paintball guns (it just doesn't get better). 9 is a Bob Long Timmy, a Smart Parts Shocker (maybe), a Dye DM9. You get the point. Great guns, but not quite an eclipse or an angel. I love the hell outta my Eos, but I gotta be realistic. It's a 7 or an 8, tops. Hey don't get me wrong. I know the rush you get when you try out your new gun for the first time. It seems like the greatest thing ever. Heck, thats one of the things I love about paintball. I'm just saying don't jump on pbreview and give your new Brass Eagle a 10, cause some people don't know anything except what they read here, and we need to be reliable. Just to be clear and all so you see I'm not trying to be mean, just to help out.

Ok now (finally) the review. I play with a bunch of friends who don't own guns, so to even it up I bought myself a 98Custom to use against their rentals (98Cs and Xtras). Maybe my Eos has spoilt me, but at first I couldn't believe my eyes. I was using Draxxus Basic Training paintballs, and they were going all over the place. Sometimes I'd pull the trigger and nothing would happen, then I'd move the gun and watch the paint fall out the end, whole. So no chopping at least, :P. I discovered that literally the only way to eliminate someone with this marker (stock) is to bunker them, which makes the sport entirely different (pretty fun though lol). Also, the sights make life a lot easier (well they would, if the paint went where you shot it), but the side loading gravity hopper was looking weak as hell. One hit to the feedneck and I was gonna have to get me a new hopper.

The next week I brought a case of Marballizers, and accuracy was only marginally better. So yeah. If you've got the money to buy this and you aren't a woodsball junkie, get a vibe. You'll thank me later. Now don't get me wrong, I mean you gotta remember this is a hundred and seventy buck gun, but still...it's ridiculous. $170 isn't easy to get your hands on, and the vibe proves that you can get more value for money.

However, if its purely low-end mechanicals, tippmann 98 is king. At least it didn't chop. The Xtras were making paint smoothies. :(
Conclusion: If you want a woodsball styled marker, you only got 200 bucks and you know you'll never need anything more than 3 BPS, this is the gun for you. Otherwise, get a vibe. Or an Eos. Or a Planet Eclipse Ego 08. It gets a six for the reasons I explained above, which seems bad compared to other ratings but hey, thats about 30 bucks a point which is a much better price to quality ration than you get with higher end electricals.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 19th, 2009 at 8:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Patatoehead13 Wednesday, August 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tac-5 recon
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom,21'' barrel,evolution 2 hopper and 20ounce co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and hopper
Strengths: Fast and Accurate
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: It is a great woodsball gun and very dependable shoots fast and very accurate and durable works great no problems at all and its a great woodsball gun and maybe a back speedball player it shoots fast i love it wouldn't choose anther woodsball gun at all its perfect.
Conclusion: Great woodsball gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vertigo_07 Wednesday, August 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various Spyders- Not bad beginners guns, but they lack that solid, heavy, dependable feeling.

Tippmann X7- this thing's big, badass brother. Great marker.
Tippmann A5- Very similar in operation to the x7.

Various higher end spools (Shocker, Ion, Rev-i, DM9) and poppets (EGO8, EGO9, and SL8R). Comparing these to a blowback are like comparing fighter jets to race cars.
Marker Setup: Stock White/Blue Planet Eclipse SL8R, DYE Rotor, DXS 45/3000 N2 tank w/proto tank cover.

Backup marker:
Tippmann X7 w/ Vortex mod, E-grip, 1x30mm Red Dot Scope, 14" Inch DYE Ultralite barrel, G36 folding stock, and vertical grip.

Backup back up marker:
Tippmann 98 Custom w/ autococker->98 barrel adapter, DYE Ultralite 12" barrel, DYE rotor loader, DXS 45/3000 N2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel is a must
Compressed air tank will greatly add to your shot-to-shot consistancy. You can get one at 40 bucks, and this will allow you to play just about any time of the year. Shot to shot consistancy= more consistant ball placement, or accuracy.

If you are in the mind to add a response trigger, do yourself a favor and buy a good loader. Should you decide to buy another gun, you can carry this over and save yourself some cost, unlike the cyclone feed, which is gun specific.
Strengths: DEPENDABLE.
Reliable.
Simple.
Indescribeably fun to shoot.
see review (too many to list)
Weaknesses: First field strip is daunting
It has some kick
Review: Oh, the custom 98. When I first got into paintball in august of 2003, I'd made the decision that I wanted my own gear. So I journeyed to sports authority to seek out a weapon befitting of my anxious, un-tested hands.

Though the tippmann A5 caught my eye, the 98, with its full starter's package and 100 dollar price tag, caught my mother's. That, coupled with a 1000 rounds of Zap tork paintballs, got me started on a long and epic journey. I had my first gun in my hands, and a whole, wooded world to conquer. life was good.

For four years, I played sporadic outdoor games (there were times when I didn't play for ages, hence the reason why I have before listed my paintball experience as less than five years) with this marker. For four years, I never touched a thing except the safety and the trigger. This gun is DEPENDABLE. no matter what you do or don't do to it, it will shoot when you pull the trigger.

So when I started getting really into paintball in early 2008, you can imagine how field stripping this thing for the first time was. To say it was daunting would be an understatement; I was suddenly confronted with a whole array of parts, and I'd long ago lost the owners manual. As daunting as this was at first, after about ten minutes of fiddling with things, I had it down. It's like working on your favorite old car; yea, the first time you open up the hood, it'll be confusing. but with two hands and some common sense, you can figure it out in no time. And if, by the end of the first field strip, you still find it daunting, think of it this way. By the time your 98 needs another field strip, you probably won't remember how bad it was the first time around.

Operation is simple, and shooting this thing is just... fun. Despite being the proud owner of an Eclipse SL, I still shoot this every now and again. There's just something about flipping a manual safety off, pulling back on the charging lever, and feeling that kick against your shoulder, that unmistakeable loud pop, every time you pull the trigger that reminds you of why exactly you first started playing paintball. It's very much a "grab and go" kind of marker.

Yea, it has some kick. This might bother some, but to anyone that's ever used a real firearm, you'll barely notice it. As a shooting platform, the 98, with its built in front grip, is very stable, allowing you to get a good feel for the marker. The iron sights are a joke, but you can use the front sight as a sort of landmark for where your shots are landing. There are any number of things you can do to a 98 nowadays, so for those of you that want more, you can get it.
Conclusion: The tippmann 98 is the perfect beginner's marker. It is high quality, extraordinarily dependable, and equally low maintanence. It's a gun that doesn't need to be babied to work well, and can afford the common mistakes new players make in maintaining their markers.

In closing, if you're considering getting into the sport, and are wondering which of the many "beginner's" markers to get, wonder no more. The 98 is, in my humble opinion, one of the best paintball markers ever made in terms of value, reliability, and ease of use. Six years after buying this marker, I still hold every other paintball marker to its standard of durability and quality. It still rides in my gearbag, right alongside my SL8R. That should tell you something.

Go with a tippmann. You might just get hooked. 10/10 for being everything a marker should be and for getting me addicted to paintball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hpc Tuesday, August 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom, smart part barrell
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrell
Strengths: Durable
Weaknesses: Heavy, slow rate of fire, hard to field strip
Review: Bought this a few months ago, shoots good not great, way too heavy, shoots slow, not easy to strip. Went to a spyder extra, much better, very light, accurate, easy to take apart. They cost less as well, a much better way to go. I got the tippmann just because everyone else had one, not the way to go.
Conclusion: Get a spyder!
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Majorskidmark Sunday, July 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 98c/14'' sniper barrel/ R-trig

Recommended
Upgrades:
Response trigger; if adjusted just right this is an awesome full auto shooter. I had it adjusted to a double and triple round burst; now full auto. The trigger piston just keeps bouncing off the trigger at half pull and it is very fast!
Strengths: Tough
Reliable
Compact
Upgradable with many options
Weaknesses: Bolt jams,
Hopper sits very high,
Hard to upgrade, opening the gun is not fun.
Review: Very good gun for people who want to start playing paintball. I have seen them at local fields as rentals, so that goes to show on how reliable and tough they are. With a response trigger add-on, this little guy scares everyone I play with because I have adjusted it to be a pretty much full auto gun.
Conclusion: I have an x7 with several goodies on it and I can say I still enjoy playing with my little custom.
Great gun for all!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 19th, 2009 at 5:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

andrewt1001 Sunday, June 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, 98 custom with a flatline
Marker Setup: 98 custom

snow white paint job
20oz CO2
everything else stock
a new 16 inch barrel is coming soon!
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (16+ inches)
or a flatline
Strengths: reliable,
fairly consistent,
gentle on CO2,
Great feel/ mobility,
easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: none that I have experienced,
could use a new barrel
Review: I bought my gun a year ago used off of ebay for $70 ($55 + $15 shipping). Over this time I have modded it, dropped it, somehow shot myself in the leg, played 12, 45 minute rounds, and used 1 1/2 boxes of paint. In a few rounds I would be running and I would drop the gun into mud or water. The gun wasn't as consistent as before but it would still fire. I also painted my gun snow white and did the pen spring mod to it.
Conclusion: This is a great beginners gun, it has so many upgrades and modifications on the market that will make it so much better than stock. This gun can be purchased for relatively low prices ($60- $150). And is incredibly durable. But because no gun is perfect and there is always a better gun on the market, I will have to give this gun an 8. Because I hate how people over score their gun Iwill give it a 7.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 23rd, 2009 at 4:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MONSTER BALLS Wednesday, May 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
have not used a similar product
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Custom Products barrel
Expansion Chamber
Response Trigger
Halo sound activated loader
Medal car stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion Chamber
Response Trigger
Custom Products or J&J barrel
Strengths: Dependable
Speed
Upgrades
Good for the price
Weaknesses: Heavy
Hard to install upgrades
Review: The Tippmann 98 Custom is a great marker for beginners and for people who are experienced. First I recommend upgrading the barrel to J&J or CP. When I played with the stock barrel I was having a hard time with accuracy. A barrel is a must need upgrade. The 98 is a little heavy but donít hesitate to add upgrades. For the marker to hit the best performance it needs upgrades. An Expansion Chamber is a great upgrade because it helps with accuracy and helps with co2 in cold weather. When I first bought the marker I saw that there was a serious problem with accuracy, an Expansion Chamber is a cheap and quick fix to the problem. When you want to add a upgrade to your 98 I suggest taking it to a paintball shop and having them install it because installing upgrades on this gun can be very
frustrating.
Conclusion: I recommend the 98 to anyone because its cheap and its upgradeable. Just make sure you get all the important upgrades for the best performance.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ironman289 Tuesday, May 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just about everything
Marker Setup: ~98c~
Flatline (old style)
body mount 9x32 scope w/ amber flip up
Rufus Dawg wicked bolt
Rufus Dawg double trigger w/ Tech-T hair pin kit
Rocket cock 2
Cyclone 200/400
R/T
"X"chamber -ya I run co2
JCS fully adjustable folding stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything you want, this is/was the most upgradeable gun on the market
but an electronc hopper or cyclone feed is a must if you plan on heavy rates of fire.
The stock gravity fed hopper will not keep up.
Rocket cock to cover the hammer.
Strengths: DURABILITY
Customizable
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Heavy
Ease of dissasembly
Inefficient (most blow backs are)
Review: I have used this line of guns for many years and have had no problems with it. In fact my entire team uses them and we love them. They are not great at speedball but will dominate in the woods. There are so many upgrades for this gun its unreal. You can do almost anything with it. If you are a mil-sim player then this is the gun for you. You can switch from sniper to heavy gunner in a matter of minutes. The flipdown feedport is nice when you need to run a squeege down the barrel. It will chop bad paint but we have run 100s' of cases of walmarts cheapest without a problem other than a few breaks here and there.

It can be a pain to disassemble/reassemble for beginers, but once you have done it a few times its easy. Just keep it oiled and it will last.

The stock barrel is good but could be better. I hate how exsposed the hammer is. It is very easy to get dirt into it, but you can put a rocket cock cover on it and your good.

It is a heavy gun but you get used to real quick and it has a better feel than a lot of other guns that lighter. You will not feel like your gonna break it if you use it.
Conclusion: It is a great gun for anyone of any level. Its more at home it the woods than on the speedball course. If you want a low cost of ownership gun that will last I recomend this one. In stock form this thing is hard to beat for durability. I give it a 9/10. Now go get one and get out and play!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 19th, 2009 at 7:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ozarkhills Saturday, May 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a5 (its my friends not mine)
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom w/ folding stock, m16 16 inch barrel, response trigger system, halo b hopper, custom foregrip
Recommended
Upgrades:
it depends what your doing
Strengths: Duribility, strength.
Weaknesses: Its purdy heavy.
Review: This is a gun can be your first and last. its duriblity is outstanding, theres no telling how many times i have banged up this gun and it still holds up. it has a great brand name backing it up. there are thousands of ways to mod this gun, which i think is great. the mods you should get really depends on what your doing with it. the stock barrel is actually not half bad cuz there was this one time i was sniping in a bush and all of a sudden i see a guy and i shoot and the ball goes through several bushes and hits him right in the face. great shot. if you want a stock get one that fold to the side so if you dont like it you can switch out. i dont have a real big review but this is basicly it.
Conclusion: Great gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media