paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  Last
        Next Page
Jeepeejeeps Thursday, July 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SL-68
SL-68 II
Spyder Compact
Marker Setup: Custom 98
Hammerhead BangStikxx w/ shroud and suppressor
Spec Ops Air Thru Saw Stock
Tippmann Cyclone Feed
A5 Richocett Hopper
Electronic Trigger w/ W.A.S Board
BT M4 Carry Handle
RAP 4 Sling System
RAP 4 Scope Mount
JCS Power tube w/ Delrin bolt

Recommended
Upgrades:
Cyclone Feed System (A MUST)
Upgraded Internals (Replace the Plastic)
Strengths: Durable and Dependable. There when you need it.
Weaknesses: Plactic internals wearout quickly. Parts a little expensive.
Review: I have owned Tippmanns for a vast majority of my time playing the wonderful sport of Paintball. In my opinion the 98C is just another in Tippmanns long line of quality guns that you can feel safe in purchaseing. Many upgrades available (Just watch were you get them from) to make your 98C what you would like it to be. Speedball or Woodsball. Highly recommended from a 13 year paintball vet.
Conclusion: Awesome gun. Buy with confidence.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Celticwarrior Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 98 custom with:
Smart parts All-American barrel
Halo Frontman hopper (with camo covering)
Tippman 98 custom camo sticker kit
32 degrees remote system
14 oz. CO2 tank
adjustable stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
all above
Strengths: Durable
Accurate (when upgraded)
Great for beginners and woods ballers
easy to clean
cheap
Weaknesses: Not for speed ball
Slow
Needs a lot of upgrades
Hard trigger pull
Review: This was my first real paintball gun. I had a lot of fun playing in the woods with it. After some crucial upgrades I had it firing accurate up to 70ft away. There is a reason that so many paintball places buy them for rental use. They are relatively cheap, they are very durable, and are easy maintenance. It's easy to memorize where everything goes when you take it apart.
Though I have played speed ball with it when my Spyder broke down, I wouldn't recommend it. It isn't as fast as the entry-level markers, but you can put an e-grip on it if you want. IT is upgradeable for good reason, and will need some work to get it in good shape. Compared to the Spyder Pilot and JT Proto, this marker has a very heavy trigger pull.
Conclusion: All in all, this is a great marker for beginners and salty woods ballers alike. If there is anything you don't like, you can easily fix it with an upgrade.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

manlady Saturday, July 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann M98 (virtually the same, but harder to upgrade)

Tippmann A-5 (the cyclone feed system is a good improvement, but it does make the marker a bit of a gas hog. It is also a lot easier to field strip. The A-5 is durable, but not as durable as the 98C.)

Spyder Winchester (not mine, but i tried to fire it once, and not one paintball came out of that gun intact lol)

A couple of Piranhas (good, but why do their hoppers tend to be on the top of the marker, blocking the sights?)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
red-dot scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
You should buy a better barrel, but keep the stock barrel as it shoots just about anything (useful if you are using cheap field paint.)
Strengths: Virtually indestructible
Easy to maintain
Upgradable
Relatively inexpensive
will shoot almost anything!

Weaknesses: Noisy when fired
Barrel
The owner is non-upgradable : )
Review: PROS

What can I say that has not already been said thousands of times before? The Tippmann 98C (and the virtually identical M98) are one of the best "low end" markers out there for several reasons:

Virtually indestructible- as you have no doubt read many times before, the tippman 98C is almost impossible to break. This makes it very useful not only for rec players but also field ownes, as God knows how much stress new players put on the markers.

Easy to maintain- the Tippmann 98C rarely, if ever, needs to be repaired. It is easy enough to clean and oil, but watch out when you take the marker apart as springs tend to go flying everywhere.

Upgradable- look up any paintball website (such as this one) about what you can upgrade this marker with. enough said.

relatively inexpensive- If you are a rec player, you may want to consider this. Would you rather spend a lot of money on a marker that you will hardly use? The money you save for buying a tippmann will itself pay for several games.

Will shoot almost anything- literally. although cheap balls may occasionally break in the barrell, this marker will still shoot them. I have shot brass eagle balls with the 98C, and lived to tell the tale. Actually, they are useful when trying to shoot an opponent behind cover. Just aim directly at him and fire, and the ball will curve around any obstacle, hitting him from behind. I have also shot cherry tomatoes (some of which i even loaded into the hopper first!) As long as it fits in the barrel, this marker will shoot it. I must warn you though that tomatoes hurt.

CONS

Not a whole lot, but it must be said. One thing tippmann markers are known for is their noise, and the 98C is no exception. In playing games where stealth is not necessary, who cares? However, it may be a bit of a nuisance if you are trying to keep your location a secret.

Also, while the stock barrel will shoot just about anything, it is not the most accurate one in the sport. An upgrade would be desirable.

Conclusion: Although some markers are better (especially the more expensive ones) dollar for dollar the Tippmann 98C is one of the best markers you can buy
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 15th, 2006 at 3:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Erazo14 Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, Tippmann A5, Commandos...
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, DOP double trigger kit, DOP aluminum power tube, custom trigger job, polished internals, Tasco colapsable 6pos stock, Tippmann expansion chamber kit, BT Apex Flatline barrel system
Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun definitely needs a new barrel, the stock one is crap. (u'll b lucky if u hit something 30 feet infront of u) A double trigger makes the trigger much more responsive.
Strengths: EXTREMELY DURABLE!!!, accurate, powerful, easy maintenance &disassembly. Amazing for the price, most customizable marker.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is an amazing marker, you will find no other gun as durable as this one, I've even played with it underwater. (Although i dont recommend it)- With the apex barrel that i have this thing shoots flawlessly. The gun never fails, after 2 years i have never had it break down on me on the field or off. The only downside i ever found on the gun is that it has a removable elbow feed as opposed to a cyclone feed as found on the A5 so as like any gun with a conventional gravity feed hopper every now and then a ball doesn't drop into the chamber but is easily fixed with a shake of the gun or a $10 or $15 agitating hopper as opposed to an extra $120 for an A5 and it does not weight as much as an A5. This gun is customizable to just about anyone's playing style, this thing has a million and one acessories to ensure you have the most comfortable gun possible. I have taken down a ton of people using guns that cost 2 or 3 times as much.
Tippmann customer service is great, they dont try to argue their way out of fixing your gun they just get the job done, quick and friendly service and support.
Conclusion: If you pick this gun you cannot go wrong, i have never met anyone who did not love this gun. You will have this gun for many years to come, with a new barrel you should be able to compete with people that own markers costing many times as much as a 98 custom.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 9th, 2006 at 11:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bcelos Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder tl-r
spyder tl-x
jt excellerator 5.0 w/ 16 inch PMI barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14 inch Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
12 oz. co2
BSA Red Dot Scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
14 or 16 inch barrel from Smart Parts or J+J
Strengths: Side feed
comfortable
decent price
easily upgradable
made well
Weaknesses: Terrible barrel
single trigger
not field strippable because of the side cocking system
Review: The 98 custom is a very nice marker for beginners or woodsball players looking to upgrade. The standard barrel on this chops balls and is inaccurrate. If you buy the 98 custom you MUST buy a new barrel.The side feed is very convenient because you can look right over the top of the gun without the hopper in the way. This will give much better accurracy. The side cocking system is easy to use, but it makes fixing your gun on the field nearly impossible. It is not a field strippable gun, but it rarely breaks so you don't have to worry about it. The 98 custom is meant to put upgrades like new triggers, barrels, hoppers, handles, drop forwards, elbows, sights, and stocks on it. Being so customizable is very nice and easy to do. The single trigger is comfortable, but slows down your trigger speed by alot. At most I can get in 5 per second.

Every weakness of the 98 custom can be fixed because you can replace it with a new part, since it's so cutomizable.

weaknesses: barrel, non field strippable, trigger
you can replace the barrel, buy a double trigger, but still is hard to be field stripped. But as i said before, the 98 custom is made so strong that you never have to take it apart.

Conclusion: Buy this or a cheap autococker. it is a great product and i recommend it to anyone who is willing to buy a new barrel for it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jitters93 Saturday, July 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
trilogy comp
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
16" stiffi mamba
vL gravity loader
9oz. c02 tank
---------------------------
WGP Trilogy competition
12" dye xcel
kingman java gravity feed
20oz. c02 tank
---------------------------
Smart parts ion
black body kit
14" all american barrel
halo tsa loader
20oz. anti-siphon c02
---------------------------
WGP 05 ProStock
Blue/Black
12" dye excell
20oz. c02
---------------------------
draxxus/diablo paintballs
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel- faltline, apex, stiffi etc
Strengths: Cheap
Upgradible
Light, About 2 pounds
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Inacurate at long distance with stok
Single trigger
Review: i got this gun at sports authority for 35% off and a starter kit with a 9oz co2 tank, squegee, mask and vl hopper. It was realy light with everything on it, about 2 pounds. I took it over to my grandmothers house to test it out and its pretty acurate for a stock barrell, good up to about 30 feet untill it gets off course and because of wind. At 120+ feet the paintballs will start to drop, shoots realy far and they will bounce at 115+ feet almost every time, the best sight position would be all the way back if u want to shoot far. Stock barrell shot to the right when there was no wind. the gun is very reliable, i shot 500 rounds untill i ran out of air and never choped once, It has a good bolt. I now shot a total of 900 rounds and its starting to leak by the cocker. If you hold it steady u can hit the same target almost everytime at about 25 feet. The tank started to unscrew one or two times from shooting fast. Theres alot of upgrades u can get for this marker to make it beter like an apex barrell or a double trigger if u want to rip or walk and shoot. Stock barrell is pretty loud and you should get a new one if ur not happy with the noise and performance, sights work pretty well and feeder is offset for aim. Feed wount get jamed. Easy to aim fast and shoot with out realy looking, awsome starter gun.
Conclusion: Excelent starter gun
Good to practice with
Fiarly cheap
Very reliable
Dosent chop

i gave this gun an 7 sence the tank came unscrewd, stock is terrible, and i only shot about 1000 rounds and now its leaking co2
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 29th, 2006 at 5:15 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

piranhafreak01 Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A5
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO Detonator, Qlock, Boss blade trigger, J&J ceramic 20", Pure Energy Nitros 4500/88ci
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better barrel like a J&J
Strengths: Dependble, affordable, and powerfull.
Weaknesses: Barrel.
Review: When I first used a tippman 98 it was at a big game in VA we started out and i ran up to the front lines to take over the city . I took my first shot and was so happy it had so much power and dependebility . The first round that day I used it got my adrenline pumping like crazy but there was one thing missing a good barrel so I put a J&J 20" barrel with adapter and started owning. I was literaly picking of people one by one and waqs extremely happy. I became a serios threat to that enemy that day there was a group of people out to get me so I ran behind a log with my BDU's (Battel Dress Uniform) or camo any wase I was pined there for a while against 5 people. I found a crack in the log and stuck my barrel threw and started unloding onthem I took 4 out of the 5 guys out and the fith one ran away.
Conclusion: Get it put a J&J ceramic on and you will own so you try it out see if you will come back with a story like I did................
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nuclearllamas Thursday, July 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann a-5, which IMO isn't as durable as the 98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with a combat folding stock
Jt Excellerator 6.0
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel and perhaps a stock
Strengths: Durable
customizable
inexpensive
Weaknesses: Hard to strip
loud
Review: Tippmanns are very good guns. They have a reputation for their extreme durabilty and toughness. I have dropped mine numerous times or have wacked it against bunkers, etc. It is still in great working order. I rarely have to take it apart to clean it. This is a good thing because they have many small parts and alot of new players are scared to take them apart. I love the countless number of upgrades available for the 98 custom, ranging from barrels to response triggers. I have a stock for my 98 custom and it cost very little. Compared to alot of mechanical markers the 98 is fairly inexpensive. I think you get more than you pay for when you buy it. I doubt you will ever have to get it repaired. 98's are somewhat loud though, and I don't think it is that big of a deal but others do. All in All it is an exceptional weapon for veterans and newcomers to the sport of paintball.
Conclusion: I would say this is an great gun for any skill level; veterans of paintball will love the ability to upgrade and ot's ruggedness. New players will love rarely having to take it apart or get it repaired.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

andrewtyndall Wednesday, July 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Triton
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
9 oz. Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel(stock is fine though)
Cyclone Feed System
Response Trigger
Strengths: Durability
Weaknesses: None really.
Review: Mine never screws up and my only problem is I have a jammed safety. Otherwise it's a great starting gun. It's the rental gun at the local field, so that was the first I ever used and it has never given me any problems. Ever. It's fine without upgrades, but I would certainly recommend them.
Conclusion: I would recomend this for fellow new paintball players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PntballNoob4Now Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
FLATLINE Barrel System
32 Degrees Remote Coil Line
Expansion Chamber
Pro-Seal aluminum power tube and bolt upgrade
20oz CO2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
FLATLINE BARREL
Reomte Line
Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Accurate
Indestructable
Efficient
Weaknesses: Chops balls occasionally(See below)
Review: I played Paintball foor the first time several years ago. I rented a gu and it happened to be a Tippmann 98 Custom. I LOVED it. Not only was I hooked on paintball, but I knew I had to get a 98 Custom. I just recently decided that it was time to get my own stuff. The first thing i bought was a Tippmann. I have not been dissapointed.

The strengths of my gun come a lot from the Flatline barrel. it improves my game a ton. Not only does it allow you to reach the other side of every field I have played on, but it is accurate in doing so. The other wonderful thing about this gun is its durability. There is a reason these guns are used as rentals. And no, its not because they're cheap guns. THEY DON"T BREAK! I play mostly woods ball and but my gun through more beating than any gun shold be able to withstand. My gun still works perfectly.

The only problem is that the flatline barrel has a kinda big bore. I bought a couple cases of Empire Inertia paintballs and broke a lot(Probably 1 in 100). However, I used the same paint in my cheap Viewliader Orion, and they worked great. I am convinced that it is just the difference in size of the barrel and paint.
Conclusion: I suggest anyone who likes playing woodsball or rec ball get this gun. It doesn't shoot real fast, so i wouldn't use it in a tourney or anything
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media