paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44  |  45  |  46  |  Last
        Next Page
bigsteve838 Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have a B2k and an ion
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
ewww alot... its a very durable gun but it lacks in all other catagorys buy a responce a rocket cock and a new barrel and u should b good to go
Strengths: Long Lasting
Weaknesses: Slow
heavy
loud
Review: Ok this is a great gun...for woods ball and i have no quams against it you should deffinatly buy it if you just getting into the sport...its durable as a chevy and long lasting like a toyota..but its loud as thunder,heavy as a big fat cow and slow as a turtle...but i still think it is a great gun it has never failed me
Conclusion: Its no comparision to my b2k or my ion but still is a good gun
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

newbienuker2 Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyer pilot, piranha gti, wgp pro stock
Marker Setup: tippmann 98, 14 inch progressive, custom titanium trigger, e-grip,shocker drop forward, 102ci hpa tank, remote coil, hyperstar bolt,halo b-drive hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel, double trigger, electric hopper, HP tank
Strengths: Lasts for years, dependable, accurate, quiet, high rof when upgraded.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I got this gun 4 years ago for christmas and was very impressed with how well it worked. It never chopped, it was very accurate, comparable to an impulse, fairly quiet, and somewhat gas efficient. A year later i poured 500 dollars in upgrades it fired faster, but thats it. great gun even without upgrades.
Conclusion: You cant improve upon perfection.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Silverfoxx Monday, June 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98
Werx 14"
20 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
without question get the Tippmann 14"WERX barrell
Strengths: Durable
Dependable
Easy to maintain
Affordable
angled hopper allows true down the barrel sighting
Weaknesses: Slight wobble to hopper neck
Stock squeegee
Stock barrel
And see below
Review: The Tippmann 98c is w/o question the best mechanical marker out there in its price range. The marker just keeps on working. I know you will see some reviews that complain about the stock barrel (see my review on the WERX barrel) but I have tested the stock and it shoots VERY well at 50 ft or less. But this is one of the things that makes this gun so great- it's built to be upgraded, so by all means get a better barrel and you will not be disappointed. You will also see some reviews that complain it can't stand up to the high-end electronics at the tournys. This may be true, but for the bulk of woods play, rec field speed ball, and scenario play with your friends this is the perfect marker. And remember: that high-end electronic comes with a high price.
As a life long hunter and ex-military I also like the fact that I can use the sights normally when aiming due to the angled hopper neck. And believe me, if you get that upgraded barrel you will be using those sights.

Some have complained that it is too heavy. All I know is that with a full hopper and a full 20 oz tank I can routinely one-hand it while firing without thinking twice.

Some have complained that it is too hard to take apart/put together. I would say that taking it apart is easy. The difficulty seems to be in the reassembly. Two things cause problems: the little spring for the hopper release, and the ball indent latch. Careful attention to the ball latch will solve that problem and not releasing the hopper neck when taking it apart keeps the spring locked down for you .

Two illustrations that help to point out its dependability: In March I was part of a 40 man woods ball day. Out of 40 guys about 30 of us had Tippmanns, the rest had various other makes from mechanicals to electronics. After EVERY battle at least one of the non-Tippmann types would have to make in-the-field-repairs. Tippmanns: not one problem beyond the occasional barrel swabbing. In May we had another big day with 34 guys. 28 were Tippmanns. Only one Tippmann had a problem; yet all but one of the other 6 had break downs and had to make repairs or go to "back up" guns. That should tell you something. It got so bad with everyone waiting for the latest non-Tippmann guy to make his repairs we joked that next battle we would only allow Tippmanns to save time between battles. Add to all this Tippmann's outstanding reputation for after sale service and you cannot go wrong with this marker.

One caveat: Tippmann changed the hammer/sear pin /spring set up (I'm not talking about the new ACT). They went from a sear spring that pulls to one that pushes. And a couple of guys with the new markers have had a problem with multi firing. Tippmann is really great about getting you the parts and or fixing it for you but I wonder if they have a small technical problem with the newest models since they made this change. I would appreciate any comments to that effect.

Lastly, I am a little disappointed with the squeegee that comes with the 98c. It seems to leave behind black streaks in the stock barrel. I bought an after market one right away.
Conclusion: The perfect entry level marker. Buy it. Unless you plan to go the professional tournament route you may find that, after a couple of small upgrades, it is the only marker you will ever need.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 8:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jeremyuelsmann Sunday, June 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a5
tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: stock everything
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline
egrip(if playing speedball)
Strengths: Everything the gun is great i own a Spyder tlx and the Tippmann weighs less
Weaknesses: Breaks cheap paint a little, stock barrel could be better
Review: This is gun is sweet becides the paint breaking because i have cheap paint but becides that it is the best gun ever i love the feel it is so nice with a flatline on the way i am so excited to get out and play this gun is sweet and when i sat customizable i mean the only thing you can not change is the body on it
Conclusion: Get this gun it is one of the best out there it is a good entry level gun for beginners and experts because this gun is fully customizable it is the best gun ever i reccoment this to everyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thetipman Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle pump, it was horrible.
Marker Setup: tippman model 98,(original)/w expansion chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, anti chop , expansion chamber
Strengths: Built like a tank
Weaknesses: Have to take it all apart to clean it
Review: You can take on any type of gun with the tippmann 98 it has a good cycling rate
and there are so many upgrades u can buy for the 98 but i say the best investment
would be the barrel. whith the 98 or any tippmann you know you have a good product.
Conclusion: This is the best gun you can buy for starting of for long term use and is a great price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmann Masta Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98
Lapco drop foreward
14" CP .689 barrel
Brass Eagle scope
200rd. Hopper w/hopper cover-camo

Kingman Spyder Electra 05 ACS
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: It is very customizable
Weaknesses: The barrel is horrible
Review: The 98 custom is a great gun for woodsball. if you customize it good enough, you can make it into a speedball gun. I suggest that you buy a 14in barrel for it, because the 8in barrel IS HORRIBLE. Overall the 98 custom is great for woodsball, and scenario play. The 98 custom is basically the same as the model 98, accept you cant put a double trigger on the model 98.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for woodsball, and i suggest you buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

iPlayPaintball% Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Emagine-Only tested but close.
Tippmann A-5 (Better)
Impulse (Way Better, but more $)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
14" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (A Must)
RT or E-Grip (For Speed)
Strengths: Cheap
Easy To Maintain
Beginning Gun
You can throw it and it wont break.
Upgradable
Weaknesses: Not very Accurate
Kind of Heavy
Slow
Not too Good Stock
Breaks Paint
Review: This gun is very good for beginners. It will get you started off in a very good game. First off it is very durable and if you want to upgrade it is easy to do. It is not like expensive guns in that it is easy to clean and maintain and won't break if you drop it. (50 word min.)
Conclusion: If you are looking for your first gun, buy this gun. You will not break it and you will be able to play good with it at first and even better after you upgrade it. Over all a good gun.
(Make sure you get a good barrel)
I Give this gun a- plz Comment
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FA22RaptorF22 Saturday, June 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Factory F/A, Pro-lite, Pro-Carbine, Model 98, A5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom (black)
Ebolt, 2 wayed, custom hammer, qeved, alias noid
Aluminum power tube and delerin front bolt
Low pressure kit w/ gauge and c-clip
Palmer Fatty Stab.
Aluminum double trigger
Stainless hardware
2 Piece Dye IS Barrel
Dye Sticky 3
Dye Drop
Dye 68/4500 and cover
Halo B
Rufus center feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dye Ultralite / IS Barrel, R/T, Ebolt, Palmer Stabilizer, Etc...the list goes on forever........
Strengths: DURABLE!! Many upgrades. CVX valve take liquid CO2 with no problems.
Weaknesses: -Need many upgrades.
-Terrible barrel
-Gas hog
Review: Its stock barrel is so terribly inaccurate. The gun is built like a tank and the upgrades are infinite. This gun is cheap and could be used as a beginner gun or to be suped up for the extreme player. This gun is widely used in fields and as rentals.
Conclusion: I reccomend this gun to any beginner or anyone who wants a solid gun. 10+
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alexsharpe Friday, June 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II, Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: I'm still with the Victor II, 20oz tank and a 9oz tank (both CO2). Stock Barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A longer barrel.
Strengths: Hardly ever chops.
The elbow.
The other handle beneth the hopper.
Weaknesses: Some say the stock single trigger.
It's hard to feild strip.
Review: I don't own the marker myself but a few friends of mine do. I've tested one of them after seeing him in a very succsessful round of backyard ball. The thing that got me was that he didn't shoot much during the round, he's a sharpeshooter conserving his ammo as much as possible. But afterward he let me at it, I pulled that trigger as fast as I could and it didn't shop, not once. And I really enjoyed being able to see straight down the barrel with the help of the elbow. Also the handle beneth the hopper is a great toos also, it's made to fit your fingers and it's positioned directly beneth the hopper so you can easily absorb it's weight. It's easy upgrade feature helps a lot too for those looking at senario painting. Another great thing about it is that it's really durable. It's a rock. One concern we have had with it though it the feild stiping, the guy that owns it had a while getting it apart.
Conclusion: It is the best beginners marker to get.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 6:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Carnifex4u Thursday, June 1st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot, Spyder TL-R
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot with empire reloader II (I'm a woodsball player no speedball) I use CO2
Strengths: Upgradeability?, reliable, sights
Weaknesses: Takes too much air, innacurate, slow feeding, slow shooting
Review: I bought this gun mainly because I saw all the great pictures of how upgradeable it is and how you can make it look like a real gun. That is true but it is expensive $$$. I found this marker lacking almost completely in all catagories especially air wise. It does not feed fast either or shoot fast with only a single finger trigger. It is not a very good gun for the money compared to many others that have many things stock that the tippman 98 does not have.
Conclusion: I don't know why everyone likes this gun??? maybe it's just out weather up here but I could not hit anything with very good paint and the gun gets massive deductions for the amount of money it costs
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44  |  45  |  46  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media