paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  42  |  43  |  44  |  45  |  46  |  47  |  48  |  Last
        Next Page
trayll Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5
Marker Setup: Basic set-up, but I am adding a stock and a 14 inch sniper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel, probably a stock added as well for better stability
Strengths: Easily upgraded.
Weaknesses: The initial reliability is a problem.
Review: I like playing with this marker, I just wish it would be more reliable. My wife bought it for me as a Father's Day present last year. It came in a sealed package from Wal-Mart as a starter kit with all of the different accessories. The tank was immediately faulty, and I had to throw it out. The gun had leaking problems from the start, and it did not matter how much oil was put into it. Right now it is being fixed for all of the leaks. All of the o-rings were bad, and there were some missing screws inside. If it wasn't for that it would be much better. The repairs that I'm finally having done to it will cost about $40, but if they work then it will be worth it. It is a good marker, and with the potential upgrades can be as good as most of the other higher end markers. I got the chance to play with a couple different variations, and I think it's a really decent marker to break in initially. I will probably drop a lot more money on my next marker in a couple years, but this one will definitely suffice for the time being.
Conclusion: I would say to buy it, because it is very versatile, and I would imagine it can be very reliable after some work, if yours experiences problems.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbplaya_7 Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14-inch custom barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel
Double trigger
Response system
Strengths: Accuracy
Reliablity
Weaknesses: Speed
Wieght
Review: This was the first maker that I got when I started and I still use it. I'll give it that it has some accuracy, but that's about it. What I saw that was a problem was that it was heavy. As I started to plat at parks more I realized that i needed more speed than accuracy. So I still say that it is a goo marker to start with, but if you decide to really play at parks more I suggest that you get a faster marker.
Conclusion: This is a good marker to start with, but should get a better marker for faster play.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Rand al'Thor Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Icon E, regular hopper for now, and 9oz. CO2
I have used it with an evo hopper and I have to say...wow ...I can shoot pretty fast
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tippmann sniper barrel
Strengths: Durable
more accurate than my Icon E
rifle sighting
upgradable
Weaknesses: Short stock barrel
Review: two of my friends have one of these, both guns are stock
I have compared this to my Icon E...and it performs better...even though the guy at paintball palace said the Icon E is better
the 98C has nice accuracy with the STOCK barrel....good Lord...what'll the Sniper barrel be like?
the gun is VERY upgradeable....it is insane
Conclusion: Buy this gun...be smarter than I was...
I am gonna get the A-5....that's even smarter
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

canadian=killer Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
other tippmanns
Marker Setup: tippmann c98, J&J 14 inche,RT,cylone hopper,drop forword,xspation chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL first, then xpantion chamber,then a good hopper and a e-bot or RT then ur drop forword. maybe even a new gun bye the time you upgrade it its a 10lb 800$ gun.
Strengths: Strong as a rock,lots of UPS price.
Weaknesses: Ugly,heavy,its a woods gun,BIG.
Review: Yes i was a BIG noob when i got this gun i was out for the looks of a woodsballer and not how my guns shoots i had all the woods stuff but then a year ago i played a speedball game and i was like HOLA!! woods sucks then i got some speed gear (saveing for the angel speed) now i go and play a woods game i fall asleep couse its boring then i play speed i suck at woods and i rock at speed but this is a good beginner gun tho but if you like speedball wen ur a noob then ur a smart noob and you will go and get a ion or spyder or a wrath and then wen ur more better at paintball get something good like a angel or a dm6.
Conclusion: I wood recommend it for beginners that like woods but not to a speedballer.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 16th, 2006 at 2:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

clogik Sunday, May 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: Stock Tippman 98 custom, polished guts and #30 drill bit shank trigger pin.
Recommended
Upgrades:
JJ Full Tilt Ceramic 14" barrel
PTP Intruder vertical foregrip
Rocket Cock 2
Dark Horizon Lite Titanium hammer
Dead On Pro-seal
Shocktech Super Fly bolt
Maddman spring kit
maybe some kind of electric rat tail hopper
Strengths: Durable, simple design. quick release elbow and customization options, accuracy and price!
Weaknesses: Open bolt, loud, wobbling elbow, the insides can be confusing for a first timer.
Review: Went out and picked this up at walmart for $170, which included a Tippmann mask (which is actually very nice) a 9 oz co2 bottle, all the tools, barrel condom and hopper.

Took it out today for the first time and it performed very well out of the box, the barrel was not that bad at all, at 40 ft i was able to nail a small tree nearly every time missing once out of every 10 shots or so.

The hopper did not starve my marker once, it delivered every time, I was moving around quiet a bit though. Also!, the elbow wobbles, but that is easily fixed with a rubber band wrapped around the bottom of the elbow were it connects to the gun.

I used the "cheap" balls you can get a walsmart, game-face scorch, 1500 for $32, which included a drybox that doubled as a toolbox with a small storage compartment at the top, Anyway not one ball chopped and I did very well hitting my targets (friends)

It was not until the end of the day that i noticed some problems, which were due to running low on co2, the gun started double tapping and jamming up, I had to reach out and jiggle the bolt the get it loose and in some cases re-cock it.


I think the best upgrades for this is going to be the titanium hammer available from Dark Horizons combined the the FullTilt ceramic from J&J with the DOP Pro-Seal & Shocktech Superfly bolt. these are the upgrades i want to make anyways.

I mentioned a spring kit above because the titanuim hammer is said to move TOO fast but can be fixed with the right tensioned spring.

I think the Intruder vertical forgrip will be nice too as long as the correct hex wrench is available to adjust it if it comes loose.

Anyway I will keep playing with it while it is stock as it does a great job without the upgrades.


*****UPDATE*****

IF you have this gun, then pull it all apart and get a dremel to polish the insides, you can read more about this at the www.model98.org website under the mods section, I did this and WOW what a difference, it is so much smoother now but it seems just a bit louder, nothing a rocket cock cant fix though, anyway it took me about an hour to polish the guts, both left and right side of the body, the website says to use just a polising wheel which is what i started out with, but i used a abrasion wheel, its like steel wool bot less dense. if you do use the abrasion wheel then dont get too crazy with taking the powder coat off, just hit the coating enough to get it down to a smooth surface, then hit it with the polishing wheel, use mothers aluminum mag polish and you wont regret it.

ALSO I removed the original trigger pin and replaced it with the shank from a #30 drillbit, which took away alot of the trigger slop also reccomended and very easy to do.

IF you do decide to do these mods, take care and make sure you do it right the first time, messing up with something like polishing can make the marker useless if you take away too much metal, just take your time and remember that good things come to those who wait.

dont do these mods because i suggested them, do it if you feel comfortable with the insides of the 98c, and use extreme caution, these mods are done at your own risk, it can be slightly confusing to piece back together.

IF you are considering a model 98 custom, take a look at model98.org to see all the mods that are possible, if you own a 98c, check out model98.org anyway.

I will update later when i get my barrel and rocket cock 2.
Conclusion: MY conclusion? well i went to sports authority to check these out initially, they had a tippmann 98 custom, the a-5 and some autocockers, originally i was eyeing the cockers simply cause it looked neat and fancy with all that good three way pressure stuff, then i thought, "the tippmann is not so fancy, therefore there is much less to be broken." the A-5 was out of my price range at $240 and the cocker was $200, same as the tippmann, some nice folks came by and we discussed the markers, and they all said to go with Tippmann, they also informed me that it was $30 less at walsmart for the same kit (minus the 9oz buttplate cap). they all were right, Tippmann rocks, for price and functionality.

I say go buy a Tippman 98 custom or if you can afford it, the A-5, you may want tom stay away from the flatline barrel though, they are nice but they are very picky about the configuration of the gun along with the paintballs you use.

I give it a 9 for;

GOOD; design, accuracy out of box, customization, price.

BAD; wobbling elbow, and noise.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006 at 10:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder424 Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other Tippmans i've used the a-5, a-5 response, a few others
Marker Setup: smart parts ion
halo b
freak back/teardrop forward
pure energy 72/3000
nxe cover
cp roller trigger
shocktech drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't own this gun have just played with it as a rental gun, and seen numerous paintballers use them so far this is what i see a lot of the guys have:

New barrel
Low Pressure Kit
r/t, or another kind of trigger

theres others, but i'm not sure which ones
Strengths: This gun is really durable, its cheap, and can get anybody into the game
Weaknesses: It is a little loud, everybody has them, upgrades can be expensive
Review: Alright lets get started, I have seen this gun be shot by at least 100 people. True, most of the people are newbies, but if you are a newbie, this is the gun to get. My local paintball field uses them because of the fact that they are very durable, and are pretty easy to fix. When i used this gun (the few times i actually tried it) i noticed that it was fairly inaccurate with the stock barrel. I also noticed that it was pretty loud, but with my style of play back then, that wasn't that big of a deal. The rental guns that i used were very worn out (most are) but i've noticed that brand new 98 customs are fairly nice and don't wear out that fast. I've seen a lot of guys put r/t on them and even the fully automatic mod (can't remember what its called right now), and some just go with the double trigger. If you ask me the double trigger is a waste of money i would at least go with the r/t if you were looking to shoot faster to make it a decent upgrade.
Conclusion: My final conclusion on this marker is a great starter gun, but if your not a newbie and are trying to upgrade from your old mech spyder are another gun like it don't waste your time, also if you're looking to get into tournament style play at airball fields don't get this gun. Overall, a decent gun, and a great starter gun, it's durable, cheap, and a lot of people have them and could fix them if yours somehow manages to break.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

braxton94 Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel
ACI assassin
Brass eagle blade( Sucks )
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom
cyclone feed
barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel ( too short )
Strengths: Durable
Accuarate
Weaknesses: Barrel
feed system
Review: This gun is a good beginer because it is cheap and durable

the upgrades are not that much money

This gun is accuarate.

i shot a guy from a 100 ft away with out any problem

YOU probaly could hit a dollar bill from 50 ft away

you can buy this gun from walmart with a facemask for $120

ITs totaly worth it

low maitnance

The best beginer GUN everr
Conclusion: Very good beginer gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

triggapull Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Tippmanns
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with
flatline barrel and stock
viewloader quantum
daisy red dot sight
12 and 20oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
R/T
Cyclone feed or a electronic hopper
Regulator
Expansion chamber
Drop forward
New barrel
Anti-chop Technology
New internal parts
Trigger
Grip
Low pressure Kit
Bi-pod
Strengths: Accuracy(with new barrel), reliability, durability.
Weaknesses: Accuracy(with stock barrel)OK
Review: This gun is ok. It is more of a woods-ball gun than a speed-ball gun. The feel to it is very comfortable(even better with a new grip). On the inside the parts are strong but you will eventually need new parts. Tippmann is known for ther reliable products, and this does not change at all. It is just as reliable as the other products. You can leave it on your porch and it will stil work good.
Conclusion: This is durable, it can take one hell of a beating so why are you waiting
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tysmash Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Never used any besides this
Marker Setup: 98 custom with dye boomstick 18"
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and double trigger
Strengths: Very customizable. Get the power pack for 169$ contains mask, marker, tank, hopper
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is not great but isnt terrible
Review: This is a great marker to start with. I started with it and i have kept it. Any upgrade that you can think of you can get on this marker. The stock barrel it comes with isnt great but it is better than you would think. It is also very reliable, ive played with it over a year and nothing has gone wrong with it yet. Overall it is one of the best woodsball markers out there and its there for a great price.
Conclusion: This is a great if not perfect marker to begin with and its there for a great price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballller Monday, May 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
other tippmanns, and spyders
Marker Setup: tippmann98c,response trigger, egg ll, remote, dropforward, 14 inch snyper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, remote(get your tank off of your gun)
Strengths: Durable
Goodwoodsball
Not too loud
Pretty good rate of fire
Weaknesses: Bad stock barrel and trigger
Bad doubble finger trigger
Heavy
Review: This gun is AMAZING

it is a great woodsball gun, if you actually know how to shoot you wont have trouble. i am a little dissapointed with the doubble finger trigger. you can basically upgrade this gun into whatever you want, with all of the up grades avaliable.


i have a response trigger on mine and its just ok. it says it is supposed to get 15 bps
but it only gets like 6 round burst. you cant really use crap balls because itll break in the barrel.

this gun is heavier than comprable guns ive used.
Conclusion: overall this gun is great

it has an immense amount of upgrades avalable for this gun.
you can also fit pretty much any hopper on it

IT IS SO CUSTOMIZABLE ITS AMAZING
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  42  |  43  |  44  |  45  |  46  |  47  |  48  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media