paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  44  |  45  |  46  |  47  |  48  |  49  |  50  |  Last
        Next Page
jwh_319k82 Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C
Double Trigger
32* Nite Stick Barrel 16"
Rocket Cock II Bolt Cover
Tapco Folding Stock
32*Remote coil w/slide catch

Spyder MR II Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Double Trigger
Rocket Cock bolt cover/cocker
Strengths: Very dependable
Well built
Feels right for woodsballer
Weaknesses: Loud
Stock Barrel
Exposed Bolt
I would not recommend field stripping!
Review: I couldnt be more impressed by this marker. I used mine for the first time recently because for the longest I didnt have a ball latch for mine and it sat up for a good time while I used my Spyder. So dont lose your ball latch. I finally ordered two more and played with it. Not before I upgraded though with a new barrel and double trigger. It can hang with the best of em. It has to be one of the most reliable paintball guns on the market. A recent post stated it s like the AK47 of paintball guns with its reliability and easy functioning. This couldnt be more true with its distinctive sound compared to other markers.
Conclusion: Great beginner or novice woods baller gun. Easily maintained and upgradable. Though when taking apart the gun, be careful of the tedious small parts like your ball latch and front sight spring. If you get popped on the bolt, look forward to having to spend some time cleaning the guns internal parts, though you could keep on going even if it had dirt, water, or paint inside the bolt, you wouldn't want to do this to your 98C. It will take care of you out on the field if you take care of it. I would highly recommend investing in a bolt cover like the one stated above. To tone down the noise level, get you a longer barrel with a lot of muzzle holes at the end of it. This added with the bolt cover you will see a significant noise reduction. I am still toying with mine with upgrades until I find the right nitch for my game. Go get yourself a 98C if your looking for a reliable upgradable marker. Id recommend all of Tippmann's products.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 8th, 2006 at 11:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniperd12 Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippman98 with J&J S2 barrel and a clapable stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
none!!! this gun is peferct except the barrel
Strengths: There isnothing wrong with this gun
Weaknesses: Wieght
Review: This gun is so good and so power ful that i respect the tippmnanns more than my Girl friend. Every one should buy this gun. When there is a problem you can fix it right away with the easy alen keys. This gun is the best on the market! There is no use for a spyder or a tac one when you have a tippmann. There is no compasion with which gun is the best. Tippmanns will allways win. Best of all It's a Tippmann!!!!
Conclusion: Everyone should have one. Its peferct!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rockee712 Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intimidator
Ion
Shocker
Angel
Spyders
Marker Setup: 2k2 Intimidator
CP Adjustable Ram Cap
CP Flame Drop
SP Progressive 14" Barrel
WAS 2.7
CP Clamping Feedneck
Egg II
HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Cyclone
HPA
Strengths: Cheap?
Weaknesses: BPS is low
Review: My friend owns a 98c and I play with it often. From the times I've used it, I think its an okay gun. I really don't like mechanicals.... I am all about the e-grip. I like to play speedball and rain the paint on peoples faces, but this gun is really not my style. The few times I borrowed it for woodsball play, I liked my timmy better. Sure the grip on the 98c is very comfy and his stock makes for more realistic play, but it doesnt put out paint when I need it too.
Conclusion: I give it a 6 because it's got a nice feel to it, but it's definitly not my style. I think getting an ion would be a better option then the 98c. Even for woodsball. In paintball, its all about playing smart and putting the paint down when you need to. The 98c with the mech trigger doesn't put out paint fast enough to keep up with the other guns out there. Although it's never about how much paint you rain, its more about playing smart and making that one shot kill, but lets be serious, snap shooting 5 balls with a timmy is better then the 2 with the 98c. In the same amount of time you get off more shots with an egripped gun, which leads to higher chances of a hit. Well, I am very biased in my opinion because I am a speedball person and I like function more then feel. I would rather shoot more and hit more, then have a realistic marker.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nitro xx pat Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: tippmann 98c
tippmann double trigger and trigger mods
tippmann expansion chamber
tippmann sniper barrel
on/off co2 valve
daisy airsoft red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber
double trigger
sniper barrel
Strengths: Hopper is off to the side
Weaknesses:
Dirt and paint can enter and mess up the gun through the cocking slot
Review: I love this gun. I used to play with a spyder sonix pro, untill the handle completely fell off. I got a tippmann and bought some upgrades and the gun works perfectly , i never have had a problem with it. All of my friends use a 98 c, my one friend has the apex barrel and the barrel is amazing
Conclusion: I would recomend this gun to a new player who wants a good gun for not too much money. It can also be upgraded to be an insane gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ZelosXT Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra 05 With ACS
Marker Setup: Marker Setup #1

Tippmann 98 Custom Silver
Custom Products One Piece Classic Barrel Black
BT Double Trigger
Extreme Rage Hopper
Pure Energy 20 oz Co2 Tank
Nxe pro 4 pod harness
Scott Voltage XP Thermal Black Mask (Goggles)

Marker Setup # 2

Spyder Electra 05 ACS Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel of course (me perfer Custom Products "14 Classic)
A new trigger will make the trigger pull lighter
Strengths: Great for Noobs
VERY upgradeable
Weaknesses: Takes forever to field strip
a little heavy
Stock trigger is a little "hard"
Review: This was my first gun and it was great untill I got a Spyder Electra. However I will not compare these 2 guns because that would make it a bias review.

Well to get started This gun is great for Woodsball because of the looks and the upgrades you can do to it. As for Speed ball, it will get you through the game. Another thing good about it was how easy it is to maintain. But sadly it takes 5 to 15 minutes to take it apart. And the trigger could use a lighter pull but u can buy triggers for cheap that will lighten the pull (some will disable the safety button and you might need to cut your grips) One thing I also notice was when I was holding other ppls guns was how heavy it was compared to ION's and such. But in a way thats good because you will know that is sturdy.
Conclusion: Overall i rate this gun a B or 8 out of 10. Look at it this way....better then brass eagle.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chrisbo347 Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider Elektra - Prefer the 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Double Trigger System
soon ill have the 12', 14', or 16' Proto barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
double trigger
longer barrel
Strengths: good for beginners, will last you awhile. Its durable.
Weaknesses: Sort of clunky. Front grip to far forward.
Review: This is a really good gun. as i said before, you can be a beginner or a veteran and still use this gun. It is durable and doesnt feel week like some eletric guns. You can count on it to never brake or anything like that. If ur not sure what gun to buy, chances are you will want this one.
Conclusion: Get it, its good and u can always soup it up if u want.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

S.C. tippmann98 Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: drop forward
dye mini gauge (1500 psi)
armson stealth barrel 13"
double trigger
eVLution II black hopper w/ (y board)
20 oz. co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel
response trigger
a good hopper (eVLution II w/ y board)
expansion chamber kit
Strengths: Very durable and reliable
Many good upgrades
Price
Weaknesses: A little loud (but thats not really a weakness)
Review: This is a great gun. ive had mine for a year and its awesome. The best thing about it is that theres always an upgrade to make it better. Its the perfect gun for new players who won"t a durable gun that they can up upgrade when the time comes. It may not be the fastest gun out there but it will get u started.
Conclusion: Good gun. If your a beginner looking for a good gun that you can upgrade get it.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 30th, 2006 at 4:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

critic Sunday, April 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: dye invasion, pure energy n2 tank, halo with rip drive
Strengths: Cheap good gun, great for beginners the anti chop technology is great, acurate.
Weaknesses: Heavy, doesn't shoot fast, long bolt, and too hard to take a part.
Review: The gun is very reliable, but is too slow. The anti chop technology is a great setup, but the bolt is too long. The gun is also heavy for a tippman and is hard to take a part. This product is recommended for rental guns or for beginners. Most paintball places you go to they have tippman 98 customs. they are a great gun for and afordable price, and reliable, and great for beginners.
Conclusion: This product is recommended for rental guns or for beginners
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 30th, 2006 at 6:59 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintcan101 Saturday, April 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 Stealth, Pilot ACS, Victor II
Marker Setup: Double Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing realy mabye Drop Forward
Strengths: DURABLE
acurate
grips
Weaknesses: Guns is kinda long
can be solved with drop forward
kinda slow
Review: This gun (tippmann 98 custom) is the perfect gun for the weekend warrior and or woods baller. honestly you could be hiding behind one bunker, throw this gun to a different one, get and move to that bunker/tree, pick it up and keep shooting perfectly. it is the most durable gun i have played with. i played with mine for two years and prolly shot 20000rds through it and it still works like new. also it is very easy to take apart you just have to slowly take the frame off and be carefull that now springs or parts fly out but after that everything in the gun is right if front of you. the only downsize (as stated earlier) is that the gun can be kinda long. all you need to do then is go to the local shop and pick up the tippmann drop forward for this beast
Conclusion: Everyone should start with this gun. it can not be broken
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball8 Saturday, April 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Black
13" PMI Razzor Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double Trigger
Electric Hopper
Barrel
Strengths: Accurate
Cheap
Looks good
Comfortable
Easy to Maintain
Weaknesses: Heavy
Air Inefficient(after a few years)
Long
Review: I received this gun from my brother and it was already pretty old.. about 2 years. I didnt have a problem with it at all in the beginning, it shot well and accurate. So as time went on it began to get a little worse. First it started to chop balls, about 1 every 200 balls or so. Then my CO2 was leaking because the inside of my ASA and the threading of the ASA was defective and it busted my orings left and right. The gun is good now and you hardly ever have to maintain it. Its very accurate with the 13" barrel. The co2 seemed to like just get wasted in the gun. Its a solid gun for any beginner and can be a very good gun if you upgrade it a little bit.
Conclusion: Solid Beginner Gun and If upgraded a very good advanced player gun. I give it a 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  44  |  45  |  46  |  47  |  48  |  49  |  50  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media