paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  45  |  46  |  47  |  48  |  49  |  50  |  51  |  Last
        Next Page
Norcross Friday, April 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: -Tip 98
-BP Folding Stock
-Tip Exp. Chamber
-SP 14" Progressive Barrel
-Kingman Remote
-Home-made mods out the wazoo
Recommended
Upgrades:
Take your pick. Well, start with a barrel. The rest is up to you.
Strengths: Durable, Not expensive
Weaknesses: -Won't let you waste 20+ balls per second.
-That *$#($% front sight spring.
Review: Nevermind the nay-sayers. If you're just starting out, get this gun. Sure you won't be able to let 32 BPS fly. But you will be able to do just about everything else:
-Upgrade it to however fits your fancy
-Trip, fall over, and slam it on railroad tracks, then pick it up and just keep going
-Pick your spilled ammo up off said railroad tracks, throw it back into the gun, and get back to racking up kills.
-Make your friends wish they had bought one, instead of that piece of crap they are trying to fix right now.

OK there are a few flaws with this gun. It won't break any world speed records. It can be a pain to put back together until you get the hang of it (see: weaknesses). And it can be a little loud to shoot, especially when its all stock.

But aside from that, this gun is everything that a marker should be. Particularly when you are talking woods/scenario games. Its design lends itself to mil-sim, it is reliable, it is the most customizable gun out there.
Conclusion: Yeah yeah yeah I know what youre saying: "uhhh why would this idiot pick up balls off the dirty dusty railroad tracks and put them back through his gun?"
Answer: Cause I did. And my gun went ahead and did its job anyway. And I'd do it again, without even thinking about it. and thats why this gun earns itself a ten.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rarmy Friday, April 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
a stock spyder victor and a samurai the spyder was a great gun until it had to many rounds put through it not as good as the tippmann though
Marker Setup: 98c with a 16 in j&j ceramic barrel and a cyclone feeder soon hopefully
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better barrel before anything else the stock barrel sucks especially in the rain
Strengths: Reliable
Strong
Lots of aftermarket parts to choose from
Weaknesses: That damn elbow that broke the first time
Review: This gun is great it is a lot better than allot of other guns i have used. Manly it dosn't crap out when it gets through in the dirt and mud. Also it is a great marker for anyone who wants a good reliable performance marker for cheap. There are very few guns that i have seen besides maybe the spyder which have as many aftermarket accessories as the 98c but if you get anything for it start with a better barrel or you will waist allot of paint and never hit what your shooting at after that there are allot of choices it all depends on your game. Also it's made in the USA.
Conclusion: This is a great gun if i had a choice between it and an expensive eltric marker i would still choose the tippmann.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MalariaMan Monday, April 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 pro Custom with 14" barrel and m4 stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Stock with a 20 oz. co2 canister.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New barrel
-Stock
if you get a stock you might also want a raised sights system
-remote line
Strengths: -Durability
-Prize range
-Customizable
-Easily repaired and cleaned
Weaknesses: -Chop Rate
-Tank Angle
Review: -First off, this is my very first gun and I will be retiring it soon. I got it from a buddy of mine who didn't want it anymore. Being a big gun buff as I am, I looked at the internals and found that it was very well oiled, maybe a bit too much. Nothing was wrong with it, infact, it was in better shape then some you find in the stores. The gun itself is relatively light, just about maybe 3-5 pounds, i don't have a scale or manual, so I couldn't tell the real weight. This gun take a beating, to my surprise, I dropped it alot. You can easily hold 2, one in each hand. My is completely stock, no job, no money deal. But it can stand with the best. The accuracy I found to be a little off, but then again, I hate the handles on it, it feels like it should fired from your gut area, not from the shoulder. So feel and weight is about a 4/5.

-Control: 4/5

-Next is the firing system. Its a open bolt system, so you can cock it without any gas. The bolt for me sticks a little too much out. If it was just a litlle smaller, it be no problem, but being as it it is diamond checkered and so big, it hurts my side when I fire it from the waist down. The shots are pretty good too, though, I am an extremely fast shot for a single trigger gun and some of the balls got chopped up before they hit the barrel tube. Messy situation. 4/5

-Firing:4/5

-And last but not least, the looks. Lets be honest, this gun is great looking on its own, only really needing a tommy gun attachments to make it any cooler. But I see people put crazy stocks and stuff on it that makes you say, bla? It's good, until you customize it. Not that It a bad thing, but do what makes sense. No Stocks that fold or ak looking barrels. there's no point. Looks 3/5

-Looks: 3/5

Conclusion: Lets add it up:

-Control: 4/5
-Firing: 4/5
-Looks: 3/5

-It is a good gun for newbs and practice, other then that, it's a decent gun. Not worthy of much praise or ridicule, but an average gun. I personally recommend this gun for people starting out. Its easy to use, clean and purchase. If you like it, you can move to another gun and get better, or if you don't and don't enjoy PB, you can stop and sell it. For people with tight wallets.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JGuitar033 Monday, April 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ION, pro carbine (tested), spyder Fenix (tested). spyder E-99 Advent (tested)
Marker Setup: ION (left it black so far)
White Body kit
Shocktech clamping feed neck
Egg w/ y board
68/4500 Crossfire tank w/ empire cover

More to come

98 Custom
Empire twister barrel
Stock
co2 tanks (12's)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
the stock barrel is ok though
stock if u like
Strengths: Price
See review for rest
Weaknesses: See review
Review: this was my first gun so i might be biased

STRENGTHS:
1. price
2. great for beginners
3. taking it apart isn't hard
4. VERY upgradeable
5. RELIABLE
6. over all great gun

WEAKNESS:
1. for beginners (if u dont upgrade)
2. Speed (not that big of a issue i guess) (for some at least)
Conclusion: I think u should get this gun if u are just starting out or if u want a great gun, that hasn't failed me yet
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

corona Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Spyder TLR
Tippmann A-5
and other spyders...
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom
J&J Ceramic Barrel 14 in.
Expansion Chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
-The first upgrade you ABSOLUTLY need is a new barrel, the stock barrel sucks. I recomend the J&J ceramic 14 in. barrel or a 32 degrees whisper.

-Then get an expansion chamber, it makes your shots way more consiistant and accurate...

-After that, it is up to you.... If your going to get a responce trigger also get a double trigger so you can finger roll. And an electric hopper.

You don't need to spend too much... performance wise, all you need is Barrel, Expansion Chamber. But these would really be nice too if your willing to spend the money, Respnce Trigger, Double Triger,compresed air tank, and electric hoper.
Strengths: In review body
Weaknesses: In review Body
Review: Strenghts-


-This gun will last a long time.
-It is very very customizable.
-Cheap.
-Great gun.....

You can customize this gun to specialize in speedball, woodsball, or both. Its a great gun to start out with, then when you want it to be better buy upgrades. It is Super durable... It will never break. It sounds really cool when you shoot it, some people say it is to loud, but i like it.


Weaknesses-

The only weakness is that it is a little heavy. But thats not a big deal...., you get used to it.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. I would recommend to buy this gun if you are a bigginner, or you want to spend extra money to upgrade it. This is not the best gun around, but for the price its worth it

Have fun...
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 20th, 2006 at 3:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintlust Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Imagine
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 E-grip
Tippmann 98c ( the works, flatline and stock)
Kingman imagine
32 degrees coiled remote w/ slide check
CO2 & N2 tanks
pro paint (too many kinds to name)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline for sure ( woodball/scenerio)
Adjustable stock for those that want line of sight
Rocket cocker 2
Strengths: Handling is superb
Very sturdy
minimal to no troubleshooting
CO2 & N2
Weaknesses: Nothing immediate
Price continues to go up (most widely sold, go figure)
Review: You hate buggy equipment? Get a tippmann, it speaks for itself the fact that nearly all gun rentals are ether a 98c or carbine tippmann. In my opinion this is the best way to start your paintball experience. You just want to see if you will enjoy the sport and don't want to deal with any equipment problems, this is a good choice. In any case, even after you have played a while, and decide you want a more powerfull marker, the upgrades never end with this thing. If you wanted to go electric, but love the handling of your 98c just get a 98c pro E-grip. If you are a military buff then get a stock and barrel system. Its hard to go wrong with this thing. The consistancy of all around good performance, is almost non existent with high-end electric markers.
Conclusion: Out of personal use of my flatlined 98c, i can (with a smug grin) tell you that NO other marker, not even that new 700 dollor Longbow sniper marker has the range of my flatline. The longbow may be the most accurate, but on a non breezy day i got 20 extra yards on it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 22nd, 2006 at 12:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gun_boy123 Friday, April 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98 w/ Double trigger
Razzor Barrel 14"
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Double trigger if you like it
Strengths: Looks
Durability
Shoots fast enough for me
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Review: I love this gun, its amazing. Buy a new barrel because the stock one is only 8.5" long. Its crazy how you can soup it up but, I like it to look like a paintball gun not a real gun. The off-set for the hopper is good but, it moves around and makes a sound.
Conclusion: This is a vey good paintball gun. Buy it!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 26th, 2006 at 6:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintball913 Thursday, April 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
9oz co2 tank (have 3000 psi tank)
all stock except the flatline barrel and the bolt and the cyclone feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
drop forward
bolt
cyclone feed
Strengths: ACCURATE
tough
simplicity to upgrade
Weaknesses: Hard to field strip
Review: well first off this gun is awesome I got it 12 to 14wks ago and it is very easy to use.
this gun is so easy to use and the trigger pull is super light.
I got the pro pack and its very cool. i also like the new cyclone feed kit which i have and its super cool
almost never chops a ball and if it does you can usually shoot it through.I like that you can add a scope on it. I play woodsball so this is good for me I can snipe ppl out and I love to see the look on their face when I peck them off nad they have no clue where the ball came from. I also like the fact it is avaible in black because you dont have to buy camo so its easy to hide. I have a 4X20 scope and a flatline barrel I have a pistol and a spyder victor II that i take wit me in case someone shoots at me I can let go of the 98 and shoot with my pistol or if in a fight i will whip out my spyder. this gun is highly recommended
Conclusion: great gun get it if ure newor a veteran but dont get it and expect it to preform like an ION on a speed ball course.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IeatEARwax Wednesday, April 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann98 Custom with A.C.S. , 20" smartpart tactical barrel, remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Everything lol
Weaknesses: None yet, weight might be a issue but nothing big
Review: I love this gun flat out. I have never had any problems with it yet. But i know i alot of ppl with the same gun And they swear by it also. Basically I tell ppl to get this as there first gun by far and some ppl that have one but looking for another one. It is very durable and reliable. The best is you can basically customized to fit any style of play. I just got one with the new A.C.S. And it works great other than i wanted to get a stock but i would have to modify it. But That aint no big deal just need to sit down and take the time to do it. I actually just talk to some guys at a paintball store and they swore by it so. Say it will last such a long time. Talked about it has one seal verse a gun we compared to it that 5 which means it could lead to trouble.
Conclusion: LOVE IT. I always say its the AK-47 of paintball lol just for the fact it can take a beaten and never miss a beat
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Raiders32 Wednesday, April 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Spyder Electra, E-99, Xtra, ect.....
Piranha EXT
WGP Prostock and Trilogy Comp
Marker Setup: WGP Prostock '05
Empire Barrel Kit
Pure Energy 3000 psi 48ci
Revvy 12v
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Durability, Dependability, Price
Weaknesses: Very basic out of the box.
Review: I live in the rainy, dank, and sometimes way to hot, Pacific Northwest were rec ball is 365 days a year. Were I live, this is by far the best marker for the price if your looking for a rec ball marker. Tippmanns are notoriously dependable. There is a reason so many people have them. The 98 requires very little in routine maintenance and can take a ton of abuse. A little tougher to clean do to the clam shell design, but with pateince, nothing that one can't deal with.

Tippmann doesn't put much into the barrel of this gun and it shows. Of course I can't remember the last time I knew someone using a stock barrel on any marker anyway. I have several friends that use the J&J ceramic to great effect with the tippmann 98. I currently have the flatline on my 98, which has its pluses (range) and minuses (accuracy is so-so).

Response trigger is always fun and the cyclone feed is also available for the 98.

Bottom line, the 98 is a tank, plays like a tank, handles like a tank. Solid is every way. Also, works out great for those players looking into the scenario line.
Conclusion: This, along with the A-5, are by far the best rec ball guns for the casual player in the tippmann price range. Not as fast or sporty as an Ion or a decent spyder, but pure durability and dependability. Again, there is a reason that the 98 is the best selling marker at the local paintball shops in the Portland/ Vancouver area.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  45  |  46  |  47  |  48  |  49  |  50  |  51  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media