paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  46  |  47  |  48  |  49  |  50  |  51  |  52  |  Last
        Next Page
afstrong Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Expansion Chamber
20 oz. Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel is a must
Strengths: One word: Simple

See body

Weaknesses: Tiny stock barrel
Review: This gun is great for beginners, There isn't any fancy electronics so there is less of a chance of broken parts. I work on real guns in my spare time and this marker is a great design. This gun if tough, I fell I don't know how many times and the gun took a beating but its still works fine. The fact that the gun has many accessories is also a plus.

Conclusion: This gun is great, it's tough and reliable. You will never have a problem with this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kevin121212 Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
orion-not crap compared to this!!!
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom with a 14" nightstick barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel-nightstick is good for me,,thats all you really need for this gun,everything works just fine for me.
Strengths: Durability,no ball breaks,sniper like
Weaknesses: Doesnt shoot fast(who cares,i dont waste my paintballs)
Review: Personally,i think this is a really good gun.i use it because,you dont use up very much paintballs,,you dont need to when you have a good barrel that is accurate.some people say this gun isnt good for speedball,but where i play,i have not got hit once,and i have eliminated 3 people.
Conclusion: Get this gun.it is good if you want to use sniper-like tactics
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nt4109 Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder rodeo
spyder xtra
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
response trigger
double trigger
expansion chamber
viewloader revolution
14 in. all-american barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
response trigger
new barrel
Strengths: Customizable, price, looks, accurate
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is definately a great gun to buy. The a-5 is much better, but the price is a little too much. The 98 custom is so easy to customize and is excellent for any beginner. This marker is very tough and will last forever. The errors that other people may find will be able to be fixed. There are thousands of parts for this gun.
Conclusion: I would definately recommend buying this. A good gun that can be made better easily
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 17th, 2006 at 3:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CrotchSnot Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tipmann 98 Custom
14" JJ Ceramic
Expansion Chamber
Tippmann Drop Forward
Response Trigger
Double Trigger
20 oz Pure Energy Tank Co2
Full Boar Rear Cocking
Viewloader Revolution X-Board Hopper
Dye Sticky 3 Grips
Adco Sure Shot Red Dot Sight
Chrome Sight Rail
Stainless Steel Screw Set

Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrell
Cyclone Hopper
Tippmann E-Grip
Stock Barrell (Sucks)
Pro-Dot Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
1st - Barrel
2nd - Response Trigger
3rd - Expansion Chamber
4th - Put something u like on it
Strengths: Cheap
Durable
Very Upgradable
Easy to clean
Beginner Gun
Weaknesses: Loud
Stock Barrel
Field Strip
Cold Weather
Needs a lot of Modifications to be competitive
Review: -This is a great gun if your a beginner or want to spend some money modifying it. Don't get me wrong with the right modifications this is one of the best guns out there. There are also plenty of fancy little gadgets to put on the gun to make it sweet looking

- I know guys that spent close to $1000 on a gun and get blow away by very little modified tippman 98's. You just need to learn your gun and don't be fooled by unnecessary modification. I'm not saying don't buy stuff like a Laser Sight, because they look cool, i got one. But don't depend on them. Practice on squirrels or your neighbors dog just learn what your gun can and can't do. If you can hit a squirrel running up a tree a guy trying to run behind a bunker is a breeze..

- The 1st mod should be a barrel i have good luck with JJ ceramics and tear drops. Some people hate them. The flatline i feel is the most overated barrel for this gun because yeah it shoots further then the other barrels but what good is it if you can't aim it. 100 feet further sounds great but consider wind or any outdoor elements. This barrel was tested inside with no outdoor elements. When picking a barrel consider one with lots of holes in it. It has a tendency not to be as loud as others barrels.

- Next you need to speed up your rate of fire (RESPONSE TRIGGER). Then you might wanna get a "ELECTRIC" HOPPER. But not the best or fastest. The Viewloader revolution is a good one any electric hopper that cost between $50-$80 should be fine. Anything to fast like the HALO or EVOLUTION 2 "THE EGG" is overkill you don't need something that fast. A Hopper like the one that comes on the A-5 is great. But there is only one problem, it gets it power supply from the CO2 that means it's taking power away from your Response trigger. The MOD 98 is a gas guzzler to begin with.
.
- Stuff like a DYE sticky grip is good, more comfortable to hold.

- I like the Rear cocking myself ( hey i see u laughing not like that). The rear cocker covers up the side where the other cocker is. Very easy to get dirt and other debris in there, but the rear cocker covers that hole up.

- In the long run it's all how well u know your gun. . .
Conclusion: Good gun to have.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 16th, 2006 at 3:27 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

my opinion Saturday, April 15th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, stock barrel and 9oz CO2 tank, fresh out of the box
Recommended
Upgrades:
14 inch teardrop barrel
Strengths: Reliable, Durable, good value
Weaknesses: Stock barrel, consistancy of ball velocity
Review: I bought a Tippmann 98 Custom after a bad experiance with a Brass Eagle. It broke alot of balls at first, this was because of the low velocity, at higher velocities (250fps+) i have had no problems breaking balls, if the field acually enforces the velocity rules set it to an average of about 300 and then keep track of how far you turn the screw when you bring it down to the limit. The inconsistent velocity isnt too bad, about 15fps, and if you set it up to a higher velocity you wont have a problem. The stock barrel makes the marker inaccurate past about 50 feet, i added a 14inch teardrop barrel and increased the effective range to about 80 feet. I had trouble diassembling the marker due to the bad instructions given by Tippmann which lead to the marker going almost a month and 2 days at the field without being cleaned, however the marker worked very well despite my mistreatment of it. disassembly was easy after i was instructed on how to properly do so.

On the positive, aside from the first time i fired the marker i have never had a problem with breaking balls, i have fired over 3000 balls through it in the 2 months i have used it and have broken less then 10, not counting the initial problems i had. I have had even less instances if dry firing and have never had more then one ball come out from one trigger pull. The accuracy from the stock barrel is bad but it is barely 8 inchs long, an upgrade is a necessity. The marker is very durable.

Conclusion: Very reliable marker, an exellent choice for an ameture player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Pbdanman1212 Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ions
Timmys
Protos
Angels
Marker Setup: 98 custom stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Fast Hopper
Cyclone feed
E-Grip
Strengths: The most durable gun on the market!!
Weaknesses: Only a Good beginer gun, you will want a better gun.
Review: Great Beginer gun. you will like it until you want a new gun. I have never had a problem with this gun. I have droped out of a jeep and it still works great. also can run on Co2 and Nitro. I liked it until i wanted a new gun.
Conclusion: Great Beginer Gun!!
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ForceRecon LTC Friday, April 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Marker Setup: (Custom 98)Cyclone Feeder,Response Trigger,Whisper Barrel, Expansion Chamber,DOP Internals
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cyclone Feeder, Response Trigger,Barrel
Strengths: Very Durable,Accurate,Easy to tear down & clean. Not to expensive.
Weaknesses: Gas hog!!! This is not a gas saving gun.
Review: Very good gun love everything about it. Over 20 people on my team have Tippmann's & half are Custom98's.I have had nothing go wrong with mine. Have had it under water have played in the snow shoot's straight everytime! Love the on field cleaning. This gun is not to chosey of the kind of ball's you shoot through it. I.ve shot everything from Monsterballs to Hellfire's it don'y care!!!
Conclusion: Real good gun for scenario or wood ball! I would recommend it for anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SWMarauder Friday, April 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 - Not as good as the A5, 98c has many more parts and is harder to field strip. Flatline looks better on A-5 as well.
Tippmann Pro-Carbine - Not as many internals as 98c but still plentiful, no flatline, better accuracy.
Vector/Viper M1 - Different set up, but ultimetaly equal gun in my opinion (minus flatline)
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom
St!ffi 16 inch barrel
CAR Stock
Dark Horizon Titanium Limited Hammer
Lazer Sight (walmart special)
Remote Line

Vector/Viper M1
14 in upgrade barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel first priority. What barrel is up to you though.
Stock for Ergnometrics.
Nothing else is needed the rest is personal and what makes it your "custom" gun
Strengths: Strong, accurate, semi auto.
Weaknesses: Loosing parts, loose parts & replacing them. Somewhat heavy.
Review: Full metal body. The gun is rugged, tough and will last through almost anything. Shoots straight and accurately. Semi-auto so will shot as fast and your finger can move and the balls can drop. With the response trigger it more than doubles that if you want that speed. i don't want to shoot that much paint with this gun. If i want to my fingers can let a nice line of paint (nothing much but enough). It doesnt break many balls, if any, with an upgraded barrel. The air usage is somewhat high but its not a hog. I can use a 20 oz for a full day of play and then some.

Get what you pay for. I have had a few problems however minimal and easily fixed. Lost bolts, loose bolts, springs and such are a nuisance to replace but if you only take it apart in a contained area this problem is minimal. It also is a little bit on the heafty side.

This gun is very customizable so you can add almost anything you want to it. Its cheap so you can afford it and works great.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for any new player or for an old player getting a new gun. As you begin to play more you realize how you like to play you can throw stuff onto your gun to make it your gun. Its an inexpensive gun and very reliable. a nice gun for the money.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jkswims Wednesday, April 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
a victor but thats not even close to this gun
Marker Setup: night stck barrel
20 oz co2
response
Recommended
Upgrades:
response
expansion chamber
Strengths: Reliable never breaks a lot of upgrades
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have the 98 with the response trigger. This gun can play through any kind of weather. Me and my friends played in snow rain and below freezing temps and it still works great. It only had one problem with this gun and that was the thing that holds the feed neck to the gun broke off because i slid and fell on it. But that took like 2 min to fix. I would say get this gun if you are new or want a cheap reliable gun.
Conclusion: i say get this gun. you can do so much with this gun and its light. but if ypu do get the responce u MUST get the expansion chamber
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lawrenceli802 Wednesday, April 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle blade/ mauader and Aci Assassin
Marker Setup: tippman 98 custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: ok Accuracy
Simple
Good Rate of Fire
Upgradable
Weaknesses: They sell it at wallmart.
Review: OMG !! One of the greatest gun ever built selling at Wallmart and canadian tires.
It's not that bad but at Wallmart, Come on have some pride. with a really good rep and good reviews. its a really really good gun but Walmart!!!! I would buy it just make sure to upgrade so they people wont say wallmart gun.
Conclusion: Go buy it anywhere (including wallmart )but just upgrade and over all its a extremely good gun BUT IT.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 15th, 2006 at 10:28 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  46  |  47  |  48  |  49  |  50  |  51  |  52  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media