paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
patsfan2468 Saturday, May 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: 98 Custom w/ 14 inch SP barrel, electric hopper, 20 oz. CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the Platinum or Platinum Pro Versions
Strengths: Accurate, Sights, Reliable, Doesn't chop, has many upgrades, cheap
Weaknesses: Hard to disassemble, Difficult to install upgrades
Review: This was my first gun and I would recommend it to any first-time players. It was cheap and had a reputation for reliability. I also wanted the sights so I could aim better. the ACT on this gun works well, but it is complicated to disassemble, and even harder to reassemble. If you are looking for a cheap and durable gun, this is it.
Conclusion: Great for recreational play and cheap.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lsmaverick Monday, April 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None Really
Marker Setup: 98 Custom Platinum ACT
APEX Barrel
NcStar Red/Green Dot Sight
G36 Folding Stock
Triumph SSL-200 Hopper
LAPCO Foregrip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel; Stock; Response Trigger
Strengths: Extremely Durable. Fully Customizable. Dependable. Easy to Repair Due to Popularity. Accurate
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel. Expensive to "Distinguish."
Review: The first time I took my 98 Custom paintballing was on a rather stormy and rainy day, at a woodsball field in New Jersey. The gun performed beautifully. Along with the Apex Barrel, I was picking off targets from a distance. The rain and mud were virtual non-issues. There is just nothing to complain about. Due to its high degree of customization, it is an ideal marker for both beginners and advanced players. It is, in my honest opinion, the epitome of a woodsball marker and perhaps the defining marker for the sport. You just simply cannot go wrong with the 98 Custom. The thing truly is "the AK of Paintball Markers."
Conclusion: Whether you are a beginner or a veteran, you simply cannot go wrong with this Marker. It is impervious to the elements and to the wear/tear of everyday use. The high degree of customization allows you to never get bored of it. Buy it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eyeball74 Tuesday, April 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: 98 custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, expansion chamber and a better drop forward for starters, these will make this marker perform just fine.
Strengths: Solid, reliable, black, easy to upgrade and comfortable
Weaknesses: The stock barrel sucks but most do, no other weaknesses at all
Review: If you are looking to get your money worth out of a marker then this is it, its very easy to upgrade, for the money its the best gun for woodsball especially. There are cheaper guns out there, Spyder for example is a good marker for the money but not as solid as the 98 and not as customizable.
Conclusion: If you plan to play paintball on a regular basis, especially woodsball then this is your marker, if you are thinking about buying a marker for your kids who tend to drop things alot then this is your marker because you won't have to replace it. If you filter the marker search by number of ratings, this marker will be at the top and for a good reason, people have been buying Tippmanns for years because of their reputation to be a reliable solid product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattguittar Sunday, April 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
piranha and spyder... lighter and faster
stingray... its a brass eagle...
Marker Setup: Custom 98 stock with VL hopper and 9oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Any that float your boat
Strengths: Reliable
Decent accuracy at mid ranges
Weaknesses: Heavy
Time consuming to disassemble
Review: I'm a very occasional player (once or twice a year) and I've had my 98 for nine years. I clean it and oil it after every outing and it stays in the box in the closet most of the rest of the year except for random target practice.

I am by no means an expert at paintball, but the 98 has done well for me.

I had intended to upgrade it when i purchased it, but as little as i use it, it performs well for me. I fired several upgraded 98's before deciding to purchase the custom.

I have not had a single ball break in it, but i'm more of the slow aimed shot as opposed to firing hundreds of shots at one guy trying to eliminate him. The stock barrel is decently accurate at mid ranges, but I have gotten the random long range tags with it. You will need a better barrel if you plan on being the sniper.
Conclusion: This is a great reliable woodsball gun. Great for occasional use or as a platform to upgrade.
This is too heavy to be a speedball gun, so if that's what you are looking for get a similarly priced electric gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

naterab Monday, March 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto 08 SLG- Exponentially better
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
14" Lapco Snapshot
New Designz Slik Trigger
New Designz Pro Clamp Feedneck
68 4500 DXS HPA
Evo III
Recommended
Upgrades:
Honestly, none. Good to start out, but save the money for a new marker after you get into the sport instead of upgrades.
Strengths: Cheap
Good for beginners
Durable
Upgrades
Weaknesses: Inconsistent
Loud
Kick
Inefficient
Inaccurate
Heavy
Upgrades
Review: I'm going to start off by saying that this is a GREAT gun for getting into the sport. It's perfect for the beginner.

Pros: This marker is dirt cheap. For about $170 you get the marker, a mask, and a co2 tank. Again, wonderful for the person that is just getting interested in paintball. It's very nice for the beginner because he/she can take apart and put back together the marker with relative ease. It's nice to get to understand how a paintball marker works. This gun is also very durable. You could probably piss in it and it would still work. (Don't try it)

Cons: Now, what can you expect from a beginners marker? To start off, this marker is very inconsistent. Due to the fact that it is using unregulated co2, vs. regulated HPA, the velocity spikes and dips drastically based on the weather and the rate of fire. This gun used a spring to fire a paintball. Due to this fact, the gun is loud. There is quite a sharp report. Also because of the spring, there is quite a bit of kick. Nothing compared to a firearm, but it's considerably more than markers that I am used to firing. This gun is very inefficient also. The blow forward design of the Tippmann has never been accused of being air efficient. This gun is also quite inaccurate. Since unregulated co2 is so inconsistent, you will almost never be able to put ball on ball because the velocity is varied so much which affects the flight path of the ball. This gun is also quite heavy. It's durable, but the tradeoff is quite a bit of weight for a paintball marker.

Middle: You may be wondering why I put upgrades on both Strengths and weaknesses. The reason why I did this is because, while some may consider it a strength, I don't. I recommend purchasing this marker SOLELY to get into the sport and understanding how a gun operates, and then upgrading to a new marker. Don't waste money on trying to upgrade the marker.
Conclusion: I recommend this product for anybody that wants to get into the sport of paintball. It got me into the sport of paintball. It serves its purpose well; as an entry-level marker. Please, don't fool around with upgrades though. I will give this product a 6 out of 10, because it serves its purpose in the paintballing community as a beginners marker, nothing more.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 9th, 2009 at 1:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

camopaint0707 Thursday, March 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine
Spyder MR-1
Spyder Flash
Marker Setup: Car stock
Cyclone with squishy paddles
X7 hopper
Polished internals
Ported and milling
Response trigger
Starfire bolt
Wooden grip
Vertical tank setup
14 ceramic barrel
Rap 4 M203 grenade launcher with .43 paintballs
4x20 scope
Tactical foregrip with flashlight and laser sighting
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock, cyclone, flatline, electronic or response trigger,
Strengths: Very customizable like a honda civic
Weaknesses: None that i've found
Review: Great gun, worked great stock and then performed amazingly well after all the upgrades, I can shoot ropes of paint with no problem. The best upgrade would have to be a cyclone feed. It is pretty hard to chop balls so long as you are using decent paint. I got the squishy paddles just cause I pretty much wanted to mod everything. I have a lot of accessories on this gun and its got the weight of an actual M-16 now.
Conclusion: Very good reliable gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

kornfr34k Wednesday, March 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
any other tippman
Marker Setup: i use my tippmann a-5 with 20' j & j and some other goodies
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel upgrade.
Strengths: Durable. looks good. shoots good. is tippmann so you no it is good.
Weaknesses: Loud. but all tippmanns are.
Review: So i bought this gun from my friend and i loved it. i truly believe in love at first sight. we went out to shoot it and even with the stock barrel those paintballs were flying far and straight. its nice and strong and feels really good when you hold it. i also like the elbow that you can put it sideways for cleaning.
Conclusion: Get it if you like woodsball. you will not be dissapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LeeAnderson Wednesday, March 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a stock 98 Custom with a rifled barrel and also a 98 Custom with a flatline barrel and they both performed very well.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, AK-47 kit, sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a better barrel than the stock one, although the stock barrel is useable. The other upgrades are numerous but they're also according to personal preference.
Strengths: Accuracy. Durability. Reliability. Not a gas hog. The name Tippmann.
Weaknesses: NONE. Haha.
Review: The Tippmann is a legendary name in paintball, and I have always wanted to own a 98 Custom. I finally own one, with a AK-47 kit to boot. I have only tested it so far but the accuracy is the same as advertised and you can roll that thing through mud and come up shooting great. I cannot wait to battle-test it on the field this Saturday. For all extents and purposes, I have to say that the Tippmann is probably the best woodsball marker you can get.
Conclusion: Buy it, upgrade it, enjoy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 11th, 2009 at 5:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jonp2x4 Thursday, March 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
bt4 and spyder mr1
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom 12 inch milsim silent tru flight barrel and egg2 loader and 24 oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel ,double trigger(personal preference) and an electronic loader
Strengths: 1. Durable
2. doesn't need frequent cleaning and oiling but its recommended
3. cheap
Weaknesses: Pretty slow gun
and also heavy
Review: I had this marker for 3 years it is a great marker its very cheap and very durable this marker can be dropped played with in the rain snow whenever theres paint to shoot the marker will perform i started paintballing with this marker and ive been playing ever since.
Conclusion: The marker is a great marker to get into the sport if you get it upgrade the barrel once you have a 20 or 24 oz co2 tank and an upgraded barrel thats as far as you would get as neccesary upgrades after that you you play and when you need a faster gun DONT GET AN E GRIP! just sell the tippmann and get a spyder or a proto or some other electronic marker.


DONT GET THE EGRIP JUST GET A NEW MARKER




Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Konk Monday, February 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Been around plenty of friends with other guns. Never cared to try them out, as the higher-end markers were too finicky and seemed to not work half the time.
Marker Setup: Drop Forward
Expansion Chamber
16' 32 Degrees 3-piece barrel
Double Trigger
Aluminum Power Tube
Upgraded Bolt
Filed down the end of valve passages
Dye Sticky Grips
Painted Olive drab
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good barrel is #1. Beyond that, pretty much what I have done. I hate the fact that the power tube is made of plastic.
Strengths: Durable
Simple
Accurate
Weaknesses: Shoots slow
A bit loud
Power tube is plastic
Paint chips off over time.
Review: I bought this marker in 2001. I played for a few years, then got out of paintball, into cars, real guns, etc. I had a friend invite me out to a Scenario game at Splat Brothers in VA, so I dug the old 98 out of the Attic. Last time I played, several years ago, it broke. The plastic power tube had cracked (houses the valve). I ordered a metal power tube off of along with a new bolt that went with it.

I walked out into the field that day with this old outdated marker, surrounded by these new ION's, Proto's, etc. (apparently, only the season players come out for winter scenario games). I held my own just fine, and I fell in love all over again with my trusty Tippmann. It shoots very accurate and consistent with the setup I have; although I'm sure the barrel hasn't been in production for years. Still, even without an electronic hopper (it seems like every gun has one of those these days, no?) I was easily able to shoot out players, not by raining down paint of them, but just by being patient and shooting some nice well-placed shots.

For those that complain about "kick", I'd like them to shoot a simple 12ga shotgun and get back with me. Also, this gun isn't that heavy, or at least not for a grown adult.




Conclusion: Getting out of paintball, into real guns, and now back into paintball I can truly appreciate why they call the 98 the "AK-47" of the paintball world. The gun has only failed me once, thanks to that plastic power tube, but back then I admit to not properly caring for the gun like I should have.

I guess for speed ball these new cheap-electro's reign king; but for me, I'm fine with my old 98. It shoots great, and best of all, I don't need to waste $5 in paint to get a single player out.

The stock setup isn't the greatest, but it's a great starting point. Plus now, unlike when I bought mine, you can pick up used 98's for really cheap. If I was getting into the game now, I'd fine a used one, repaint it, upgrade and refurbish the internals, add on a few extras (A DECENT BARREL!!!, double trigger, etc.) and you should have a decent setup.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media