paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  50  |  51  |  52  |  53  |  54  |  55  |  56  |  Last
        Next Page
retardwithagun Tuesday, March 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: check it drop
response trigger
extreme rage overdrive hopper
14 inch smart parts progressive
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Very durable
Cheap
Easy to up grade
Weaknesses: HEAVY!!!!!
every one has one
stock barrel inaccuarate
cheap
Review: Its a great starter gun out of the box it was awsome . Then i started to up grade her
it started to get heavier and hevier.the gun gets allot of leaks. Easy to maintain .If oiled allot can be very quiet . nice gun for beginers .If your looking for speed get a different gun. I have watched people throw it against a tree and it still fired .
Conclusion: Its ok if your looking for a second or third gun go elsewhere but if you are just getting into paintball buy it.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Cire Tuesday, March 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
68 Classic Automag - closes marker I have used but kinda out of a tippy's price range and it shows.
Marker Setup: DM3, Tadao 5.0 w/M6, CCM No-Pro, Torpedo Reg, Dye LPR, Toxic Spikes, CP Rail and On/Off, JT 2-Piece barrel, Ricochet Apache and PMI 68/45.

68 Classic Automag, PF Left, Intelliframe w/Blade Trigger, SP All-American Barrel, CP Micro Drop, Ricochet AK and AA Armageddon 68/45.

Tippman Model 98C, Dead-on Double Trigger, Lapco Bigshot, Madmann Spring Kit, Lapco Drop Forward, Ricochet AK and 20oz CO2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double trigger (lightens trigger pull) & a drop (shortens marker)
Strengths: A great starter marker
Takes a beating
Many upgrades
Weaknesses: Long
Heavy trigger pull
Heavy kick
Upgrades don't pay back enough
Review: I have waited a few years of using the marker and using other markers to try to give a fair review. This was my starting marker. It worked well playing woodsball and just screwing around with friends.

I though it was a super marker until I decided to stop upgrading a blowback and put my money into a Automag. I still remember my amazement at the difference which leads to the main weaknesses of this marker: heavy kick, heavy trigger pull and lower overall accuracy.

This marker has it advantages also. If you are only going to play a couple of times per year than this is the marker for you. It requires no maintenance, it takes a beating and the low initial cost is great.
Conclusion: If you do decide to get a tippy, play as much as you can and enjoy the experience of playing.

I would not recommend spending a lot of money upgrading this marker, if you decide to keep playing, save you money and upgrade to a better marker.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ion-user Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
custom pro
a-5
vexor
brass eagle pump gun if you want to count that
shot my ion with just air(yet to shoot it with paintballs and very exited)
Marker Setup: all stock 98 custom and a custom pro with all the stuff below
tippmann custom pro
flatline barrel
cyclone feed
6 possition stock
expansion chamber
20 ounce co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber if u use co2
low pressure kit and regulator if u wanna use nitrogen(way better ofcourse but really expensive:about $400)
maybe cyclone feed unless electric trigger
electric hopper if you have electric trigger
definitely a new barrel (probly a 16') DO NOT GET A FLATLINE(i had a bad experience)
Strengths: Best non electric gun maybe beside an a-5 which just has cyclone feed
Weaknesses: Shoot slow
Doesnt get too many shots from nitrogen (unless regulator and low pressure kit)
Review: Well i tryed my friends 98 custom for a whole day and i didnt like it so much.(I did have everything stock) I also bought a custom pro with some upgrades(mentioned above). im pretty sure it wouldnt have been so bad with nitrogen and a better barrel. Im also not into the looks up tipmann guns and army looking guns so i dont like the look either.anyways its a good gun for a non electric so thats all you need to know.
Conclusion: If you want a non-electric gun then get this I gues. or the a-5. I really recomend getting an ion because they are $280+$70 to $200 depending on nitrogen tank+ $70 to $150 depending on the hoper and your good to go. + get new barrel and regulator when u have the money and maybe even a new board if you want and it will beat a lot of stock timmys
Heres what im getting or already have
Ion+45ci /4500 psi nitrogen tank+empire reloader b+ dye rhino tank cover+new reg+maybe new trigger+stiffi barrel+new board+on/off and im pretty sure it will beat any stock intimidator. So what im saying is if your gonna get tippmann with all those upgrades then simply buy ion+hopper+tank and it will be better =)
Sorry for getting really off subject and repeating a lot of stuff
Oh yeah and ill give the 98 custom a 9 for non electric guns and a 5 compared with electric guns or better yet a 2 10 being a angel or a dm6 or something else thats really good
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Slinky17 Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor 2 - faster, lighter, more compact, almost as good
Tippmann Pro Carbine - older, slower
Marker Setup: 98c
14" J&J Ceramic
Trigger spring mod
20 & 12 oz. CO2 tanks
gravity feed hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
x-chamber
Rocket Cock 2
Strengths: Folding feed neck
reliable
costumer service
upgrades
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
openning at cocking mechanism
loud
Review: First off, Tippmann Pneumatics has great costumer service. The 98c is also so reliable you can shoot just about any type of paint. Mine has NEVER chopped and only jammed once. No barrel breaks either. I really like the folding feed neck too. It makes it really easy to clean. The gun is pretty loud though because of the stock barrel and the openning at the rear bolt (striker). The stock barrel is ok for a while, but then you start to notice a lack of accuracy. Dirt and oil from paint tends to get in that opening that I mentioned above. It's really not that big a problem and it can be easily fixed w/ a variety of aftermarket accesories. Trigger pull is a little heavy, but a trigger spring will more take away more than half of the original pull weight. There's not a whole lot more to say about such a simple and effective marker. It was my first and I'm happy w/ my decision. I plan on using it, even after I get other markers, until it craps out for good.
Conclusion: Probably one of the best blowback mechs. Great for rec veterans and beginners. Definitely need to check this one out.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 6th, 2007 at 5:56 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

dark_religion Sunday, March 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL orion
BE eradicator
ACI Assassin
Marker Setup: BE eradicator
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Durable
Decent Accuracy
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I currently use a Brass Eagle Eradicator, but the day before I go to the field it gets a CO2 leak. So I had to rent a 98 for the day. Overall it is a pretty good gun. I had been waiting to use one for the longest time and I was pretty disapointed. It had only decent accuracy. I was considering buying one but to pay over a hundred dollars for something thats no better than my Brass Eagle is crazy. Mine, I dont know if this happened to anyone else, but when firing rapidly, but actually not that fast at all, the gun would lose pressure and the balls would only go about 20 feet before falling to the ground. My brother was using a friends extra gun and it was also a 98 custom. The only diff was it had a smart parts barrel on it. Turned the decent gun into a sniper! Instead of having to unload on someone to hit them, he only had to shoot about 2 rounds! Lob shots are required for the use of a stock 98 custom.
Conclusion: Its a good gun but its crap until the gun is customized. Replace the barrel and you dont need much more. The only really bad thing about the gun is the fact that it doesnt perform much better than my BE that I bought in a kit for $60 than a gun thats according to pbreview nearly $170.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Mistabinxthinx Saturday, March 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I had rented a Tippmann Pro-Carbine about 6 months before I bought this gun at a paintball park. It was inaccurate and does not even begin to compare with this product.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom (Silver)
GTA Double Trigger
GTA Expansion Chamber
Extreme Rage Omega Timer Grip (Smoke)
32 Degrees Universal 7" Drop-forward (Silver)
Dead On Rocket Cock II (Hard Plastic)
Shocktech Supafly Front Bolt (Black)
Lapco Stainless Steel Screw Kit
8" Stock Barrel (Black)
12" Dye Xcel Barrel (Silver)
20" Smart Parts Tactical Barrel (Black)
VL Quantum Viewloader Hopper (Black) [130 round capacity]
Stock Gravity Feed Hopper (Black) [200 round capacity]
Pure Energy 16 oz. Co2 w/ Chrome Thread Saver
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::
Proto FS Switch Thermal Mask (Blue)
JT 2003 Protective Gloves (Blue)




Recommended
Upgrades:
NEED (In order of importance):
- New Barrel
- Double Trigger
- Electronic Hopper

NOT NEEDED BUT RECOMMENDED (NOT in order of importance):
- New Grip
- Some new type of a cocking system
- Response Trigger
- Expansion Chamber
- Some type of drop-forward
Strengths: - Accurate
- Powerful
- Highly Customizable
- Classic
- SO MANY OPTIONS!!!!
Weaknesses: - Breaks balls with the wrong barrel.
- Extremely hard to field Strip.
Review: When I first began to look for paintball guns to buy, this was the only one that I knew of. I then began to see many of my friends with expensive DYEs and Egos and grew jealous because they were so good. I wanted to buy a gun that would at least provide a challenge for my friends with the high-end markers. I began to remember all of the customizable options that Tippmann 98 Custom offered. I then decided (since I didn't know that much about paintball) to just go ahead and buy the Tippmann 98 Custom. After I bought it, I didn't look back. In over a period of about 3 months, I had put $150 into my gun. This gun is now amazing. The options that it offers sometimes overwhelm me. Make sure, when you buy accesories for this gun, to make sure that you and the seller know the difference between the 98 Custom and the M98. The only complaint I have about this gun is that even though it has an "easy clean" elbow detatchment, it still breaks paint easily. Be to check your barrel beofre you buy it because many break balls easily. Many types of paint are easily breakable too, so you have to be careful. As long as you don't do anything stupid while the gun is disassembled, and clean out the gun as soon as you get home after a day of 1 or more ball breaks or chops this gun will last you a long time without any major technical or mechanical problems.
Conclusion: If the Tippmann 98 Custom hadn't chopped broken paint into my barrel and caused me to leave a game, I would have given it a ten. But, because the paint I was using was flimsy, and I wasn't pulling hard at all on the trigger, I am almost certain now that my gun won't chop, burst or break balls for a long time. I am giving this gun a 9 out of 10 because it is what drew me to the amazing game (sport) of paintball and has provided me with countless weekends of fun. This gun is the most economical and durable gun on the market. This gun is a MUST BUY!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ptbl Xprt Monday, March 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: I had a Viewloader Tripod, PMI 20oz CO2 tank, and yeah, thats all that this thing really needs.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel is a good choice
A double trigger if you want to shoot fast
Strengths: Accurrate
Reliable
Great beginners gun
Quick (if you make it)
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Bolt (easily fixed)
Review: This was my very first gun (besides my very very first paintball pistol) until I grew out of it. But during that time, it was the best gun ever. This gun went through just about everything that nature could throw at it (big woodsball player). Mud, water,grass, trees, twigs, leaves, dropping it on the concrete, you get the idea. It held its spot for my needs and it did a great job at it. The stock barrel is a bit short (I never upgraded it) and can't throw paintballs all that far but I could still hit what i was aiming at from 40'. Its size makes it easy to clean if a ball brakes in it. Rare occurrence for me. The balls fly strait and fast, hitting whatever you want to hit. Even on a low velocity, this gun made the paint fly strait. The bolt is perfect but it can get a bit rough (mud, water + bolt = bad performance) but can be easily cleaned. Just oil up. Oh, and if you play with CO2 for a while (and I mean a WHILE) the bolt can freeze up and get hard, therefore making a "ching" sound each time you shoot. But I only had this problem once after using it for 3 years. The trigger has a light pull but if you go too short and light on it, you will chop balls. Just make even precise pulls. The gun was easy and comfortable to hold, even with a full CO2 tank (20oz). If you are new to paintball and have a few bucks laying around, buy this gun!
Conclusion: An excelent gun for all kinds of players whether Begnners, Intermediates, or Experts. Easy on the wallet and hey, its a Tippmann so you can count on quality all the time. Take care of it and it will take care of your competion...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cmbwhisper Sunday, March 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Talon, Brass Eagle Stinger, Tippmann SL 68
Marker Setup: Tippman 98, Tapco 6 pos. stock, 12 volt Viewloader, Expansion chamber, PMI razor barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Palmer Pursuit Stabilizer reg. (for those snipers who want high end consistent shot to shot velocity using CO2) A5 loader, react trigger.
Strengths: RUGGED RUGGED RUGGED!!! super reliable in all conditions User friendly. Highly Upgradale.
Weaknesses: Heavier when up graded, a little long .
Review: listen, cheap, strong, highly upgradable, and rugged. OK lets get to its ruggedness. this thing is like and AK 47. dunk it in water, bary it, slam it against a tree, IT WILL FIRE. and the indurstry has more upgrades for it than the automotive has for a old chevy. from high end low pressure performance upgrade, to tactical mil-sim upgrades its all there. and all the upgrdes are just as rugged. and if your one of those players who needs a gun to play on those really crappy this is it.
Conclusion: if anything, its the palmer stabalizer reg. its so reliable and the only reg i know that can regulate CO2 just like or better HPA,for those that shoot only CO2
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

egoman1 Saturday, March 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom with 2 piece all american barrel dy sticky grip auto responce double trigger 32 degrees drop foward and a halo b with a rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
long barrel and auto responce trigger
Strengths: This gun can play in the rain.
Weaknesses: Shots curve sometimes.
Review: the tippmann 98 custom is a great beginner gun.if you get serios with paintball get an electronic gun like a cocker or an ego. If you upgrade the tippmann it can be very good. it shoots about 17 bps with a responce trigger.but if you just want to start paintball get this gun.
Conclusion: The tippmann is a very durable great gun and I recomend it to every body.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Backman76 Friday, March 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Low Pressure Kit
Blade Trigger
Empire Barrel Kit
Dye Long Drop w/ On/Off
RD Centerfeed Kit
ST Supafly Bolt
Gel Grips
Crossfire 68ci 3000psi
Empire Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Low Pressure Kit - Reduces Kick Significantly
2 Finger Trigger - Faster Firing
Barrel - Increases Accuracy depending on type
Strengths: RELIABLE - IT FIRES IN ANY CONDITIONS
Upgradeable
Weaknesses: Can Get Heavy when loaded up
Review: This gun is one of the most reliable guns on the market. It isn't very fast unless you upgrade it. There are tons of ups for it considering it has been around for a few years now. One of the best markers I've ever used. I would recomend it to anyone wanting to break into the paintball scene.
Conclusion: BUY IT!!! It is cheap, and you can upgrade it as your skill level progresses
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  50  |  51  |  52  |  53  |  54  |  55  |  56  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media