paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
kokoklownanr Friday, February 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro Lite

Marker Setup: 2001 STO blue autococker (completely stock)
12 ounce Co2
sport shot gravity hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
NOTHING
Strengths: Durable
Accurate
Simple to maintain
Did i say it was durable!!!!!
Weaknesses: Heavy
Loud
Ugly
Awkward to shoulder with a 20 ounce tank
Review: I traded my Sector nine Nosewalker longboard for my bros tippy 98, and im not saying 98's are bad but i think i prefer tippmanns older stuff like the pro lite and the sl68, idk if its me or if i dont know what im talking about but older tippys seem like stronger more reliable guns, even the internals seem better, but overall it is still an awsome gun and i would prefer this over any other gun on todays market.
Conclusion: Buy this gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pauljr1283 Sunday, February 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro/carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
cyclone feed
mad dawg designs aluminum power tube
howitzer bolt
double trigger
remote line
18" ops gear interceptor
14" 32 degrees whisper
5.5 jcs
Recommended
Upgrades:
aftermarket barrel
aluminum power tube
aftermarket front bolt
Strengths: Relatively low cost, easy to maintain and clean, very rugged gun, variety of available upgrades
Weaknesses: Springs can pop out when disassembling
bit of an air hog
Review: Got addicted to paintball about two years ago playing at my college, we use all tippmans, mostly 98s and pro/carbs, with a few pro/lites. Decided I needed my own gun and the 98 was highly recommended. I put in an aluminum power tube because I've heard that the factory plastic ones can crack fairly easily and didn't want to have to worry about that happening during a game. Also installed a howitzer bolt, I had actually debated for a while between the howitzer and the Shocktech Superfly, and ultimately went with the howitzer simply because a friend had one and really liked it, but i would recommend either because of the dual o-rings that increase accuracy and decrease the amount of air usage. I had no issue with my howitzer but I've heard in some cases they do need a break in period in the gun before it will fire properly. I also had a starfire bolt in it for a little while, but i DO NOT recommend this at all, I got very poor accuracy and extreme variation in the velocity with the starfire. Also recommend the 32 degrees whisper barrel, it is relatively inexpensive and also very accurate as well as a very quiet barrel.
Conclusion: Overall I highly recommend the 98 either stock or with various customizations, I currently work at a rental place and we use 98s, 98c, and 98 rentals for speedball and woodsball, and rarely have any major problems with them and even if we do it is usually a very simple fix.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Littlebighorn Thursday, January 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 slightly better
spyder victor-not close
Marker Setup: 98 custom
richocet apache
14" whisper barrel
response trigger w/ double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel
response trigger huge increase in firing speed
Strengths: Indestructible
Reliable
Generally accurate
Weaknesses: Loud
Cant keep up with other guns(fixed with response trigger)
Review: I got this gun 4 years ago. Has NEVER not worked. I dumped it in dirt went through mud and it still shot. Doesn't chop balls unless you have bad paint or to big. Got new barrel to increase accuracy and make less noise. When i added response trigger this gun became a beast. Great gun
Conclusion: Perfect first gun can do anything
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CockerKiller520 Wednesday, January 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
older 98c
older A-5
Marker Setup: 08 Tippmann 98 w/ ACT, psychoballistics 5" drop, 16" empire barrel kit

and

08 psychoballistics lightning cocker project
Recommended
Upgrades:
R/T, double trigger, new barrel and some sort of drop if not using a stock

there are a lof of upgrades you CAN get for this marker but you do not NEED all the upgrades you can find for this marker
Strengths: Durable as all hell!
Weaknesses: Kinda large, bulky and heavy
Review: Tippmanns have never disappointed anyone i dont think, this marker certainly didnt disappoint me, i am planning on doing more work to the marker but so far it holds its own pretty well just stock. great marker for woodsball, not so great for speedball, this is the marker that i would suggest anyone get if they are thinking about getting into woodsball or just screwing around here and there...it will not let you down and you can do massive amounts of upgrades to it and its simplistic design makes it so that you'll most likely never ever run into problems with it

But as all markers do, they have their flaws, such as the weaknesses listed above which is why i would rate this marker for strictly woodsball and not speedball cuz ifyou do speedball you'll most likely not have fun at the end of the day.
Conclusion: If you are planning on doing woodsball, stick with tippmann, if youre unsure of what youre going to do (woods or speedball) i'd suggest shopping around more and looking into spyders as well.

great marker, its always dependable, always reliable, and never broken down....tippmann made possibly the perfect marker design for reliability, unfortunately that means that it is a bit large and heavy and not too great for speedball

i give it a 9 just cuz as great as it is, it does have its flaws, although they are minor, i have yet to find a marker that should be deemed as a perfect 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sollo44 Tuesday, January 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any Tippman out there.
Marker Setup: Evil Minion 07
J&J Ceramic 2 piece barrel kit
crossfire 68 4500
empire B reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL
Expansion chamber (if you are going to use CO2)
double trigger (actually makes the marker more comfortable to use)
Strengths: Rugged
extremely upgradable
Weaknesses: Not so much a weakness as an observation. Its a woodsball marker than anything else.
Review: This was the second Tippman I purchased my first was a ProCarbine, which i still bring out whenever I need the most dependable marker in my arsenal. I purchased this marker because of how upgradable it was. I ran into trouble because I upgrades faster than I learned the marker and so never got it set up quite correctly.
Since then i have purchased another 3 markers but still loan this one out first to anyone who needs one. The reason for that is now with some of the upgrades removed it has become, as Tippmanns are, a very reliable marker.
Now the 98 has had quite a few incarnations so I cannot speak for all of them but I can speak for mine when i say its a worthy marker for any backyard baller or scenario player. Though long for bunker play in the woods is where Tippmann has always been at home.
Even with my glowing review as it would be this marker really isn't better than a 7. Its a good marker but it does have its flaws/limitations and they are ones you feel when you play.
Conclusion: If you can get one cheap even used pick it up. It will be at the least a backup that you can count on.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

noob slayer43 Saturday, January 24th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
proto slg
Marker Setup: proto slg
stock
halo b hopper
(clamping feedneck on the way)

Tippmann 98 custom A.C.T.
Double trigger
JJ 16 inch barrel
Car stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel, I dont know about you guys but i liked the double trigger made the pull a little easier.


Strengths: Very strong, Affordable,Last a while,Customizable,Reliable,Light enough,Dont have to clean alot.
Weaknesses: A little loud no problem.
Review: I bought this gun about a year ago and i must say im impressed this gun has gone through some some pretty brutal drops its accurate with a new barrel not saying the stock one is bad but its not as accurate as another (of course) very nice gun easy to customize and very cool looking the noise isn't an issue it scares the noobies.
Conclusion: Love this gun good for all woodsball games i love it would recommend it to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gant12000 Friday, January 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Well, the A5 i didnt like as much, it was too rough on paint i thought.
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom w/ response trigger, 16 inch angel barrel, tippman 98 custom w/ flatline
DYE Dm8 w/ angel 14 inch barrel, through pure energy 45 4500psi N2.
at least thats what i have.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response trigger and any barrel that is a bit longer, i mean it is usually pretty good just out of the box.
a remote is also kind of nice to have just because of its weight.
Strengths: Durability, price. its the ak 47 of paintball
Weaknesses: Its weight, its size, its volume
Review: So i usually play front during speedball, and yet i still prefer the 98 custom to my nicer more expensive Dye marker. people think i am stupid, but it mostly has to do with my finances. with a nicer more expensive marker, i am afraid of breaking it. its like playing with a fabriche egg for me. its nice too look at and show off, but when i use a nicer marker on the field, i find myself hesitating and staying in the back because i am too afraid to slam my marker into the ground.
with a tippman i find myself just throwing it into a book bag along with my gas tank and going to the field. i dont need to tweak it too much to get it to work right. i can slam it into a hard wood barrier or tree and it still works (of course that might break paint).
a big problem i find with mine is that if i am playing a long game for some reason, the bold begins to have to be recocked after shots because it wont come back all the way.
The biggest thing i like about the marker though, which is what most people complain about it with, is that the trigger responds like an actual trigger. it isnt electric, on mine at least, so it doesnt feel like i am playing with a playstation controller, unlike my dye. i mean the light trigger is nice sometimes, but i find i have to turn the stupid break beam off so i can walk the trigger.
The 98 custom is the best gun i have ever owned. not the nicest, but it is the best.
The dye is the ferrari i keep in the garage and use to show off to idiots at the field, but the 98 custom is my piece of crap 1985 mazda that i drive everyday and never fails to get me where i am going.
Conclusion: 98 custom the best gun a person could ever own. not the nicest, but the best.
It can easily be modified and made to fire with the nicest of guns. the problem is most people will just buy a nicer gun, instead of putting the money into making the 98 custom nice. but i have to give it a 9 because, well, it is heavy still in the end.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jrodballin03 Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98
tippmann a-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c with e grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
a longer barrel, flatline or riffled,
if using an e grip get an electric hoppers
Strengths: Durable, shoots straight and fast.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel only 8.5 inches, still not a huge weekness.
Review: I love this gun. For the price you pay it shoots great. Very durable.The best gun ive used but granted ive never used a gun like a angel. for under 200 bucks best gun you can get besides the a-5 if you can find it that cheap. great for woods ball and with an upgrade to an e grip and a electric hopper can be good for speed ball.i love it.in my opinion better than most spiders, so wantingf something for under 2oo get a tippmann, theyre really awesome
Conclusion: Great gun. tippmann makes the most durable guns availible. the most reliable gun is tippman markers
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

foxrider3 Wednesday, December 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
*Tippmann model 98
*Tactical barrel 14 inch
*View loder hopper
Marker Setup: *Tippmann 98 custom
*14 inch carbon fiber barrel
* A view loder hopper
* Tactical stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
*E trigger
*Tactical accessories for comfort and sturdiness
*Parts that you think will look cool on your gun
Strengths: *Reliable
*Great price
*Sturdy
*Pretty accurate
*Could Perform in a serious game
Weaknesses: Heavy
Not a sniper gun
Review: YOU MIGHT BE THINKING WOW THIS GUY ONLY PLAYED FOR A MONTH. WELL I HAVE REASERCHED THIS GUN ALOT IN MY FREE TIME SO I WROTE THIS REVIEW FROM MY EXPERIENCE AND FROM OTHERS. Well all in all this gun is very good for a newb and a veteran. Also it will do the job well for almost anyone using it. it is hard to break and easy to use and thats why i chose it.
Conclusion: Well i love this gun and i have 3 so thats how much i recommend it to you. If you get the gun i think you willl enjoy it. So its reliable and accurate, and its hard to break, sounds like a good gun to me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

accuracy1 Saturday, December 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann triumph ext
ion xe-does really comnpare much(its a marker)
Marker Setup: i only used this gun as a rental but the setup was...
98c
12oz co2
gravity hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
barrel
Strengths: Extreamely reliable-this gun wont let you down
Weaknesses: Heavy
Uncomfortable
Accuracy is not that great
Review: Well, i used this gun as a rental and it works fairly well. it is a good gun for a beginner. it is very heavy. If you like lightness then this is not the gun for you. It is a very basic type of gun. not fancy or anything. It is tactical style which many people dont like. If i was to buy this gun because of its tactical style i would buy a smart parts sp-1 instead. If you are a woodsball player that is positive they will never get serious about playing then i highly reccomend this gun. Although most people(including myself) who said that they would never get serious about paintball ended up going to the field instead of the woods.
The reliability of this gun superb. It is simple and easy to care for from what ive heard.
Most people that owned one loved it.
The accuracy of this gun is relatively good but not up to standards if you want to plug people from all the way across the field. If you buy this gun buy a better barrel for it.
This gun isnt the most comfortable gun ever. The rear grip and the front grip are far apart. a gun should feel good in your hands. This one doesnt.
Conclusion: If you are a strict woodsball player then buy this gun and get a better barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media