paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
MERCIANARY98 Saturday, December 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann sl-68II-good, but a pump
Spyder victor-not as good
Spyder rodeo with upgrades-very close
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98C.
16" jj ceramic
Rufus Wicked Bolt&Powertube
Collapsible Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
JJ ceramic 16"-1st
Derlin bolt( i'd go with wicked bolt)-2nd
Stock(makes you shoot tighter patterens)-3rd
Strengths: Tough as nails
Accurate
Good service& support
Very upgradable
Weaknesses: Time consuming to take apart. Thats all.
Review: Out of all the guns that I shot before I got this gun, none of them came close. This is one of the most dependable guns sold. The quality of this gun is amazing, except for the plastic fore-grip. Everything else is made very good. Very dependable, it would shoot rocks! ( Don't try this at home, as damage may occur to the marker and others) I would recommedn this gun to anyone, as it is the ultimate woodsball/ scenario gun.
Conclusion: Great Buy, last forever
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thecraiger018@h Saturday, December 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stryker str1, zap marker
Marker Setup: 98 custom stock
c02 tank
gravity hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, e-grip trigger
Strengths: Extremely durable, accurate, easy to find, not expensive {$180]
Weaknesses: Single trigger, bulky, heavy
Review: I had a 98 custom for a year and I never chopped a single ball. Its it shoots nearly laser straight and dont dive much. Its slow cause it only has a single trigger and its extremely heavy. and the size of it is why got got ride of it.
Conclusion: Great woods gun for the average man but its a big no for speed ball. I give it a seven because nothings perfect and this isnt even close. BY THE WAY why is there so many 10s on this site somebody gave a brass eagle a 10.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DaManZach17 Thursday, December 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Um not much.
Marker Setup: - Marker
-Co2 tank 9oz
- 200 round hopper
-Oil
-Mask
-Squeegee
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel. Trigger. Maybe unless you like the single trigger like me.
Strengths: Accurate,Not Loud,Easy to take care of,.
Weaknesses: Um i would say changing the O rings.
Review: This is nice very nice easy to clean. Very cheap, very reliable, NOT LOUD. I would recommend this to any person just getting into the sport. It is the best gun you can have if you play woods ball. This gun might feel weird to people but you will get used to it. If you don't like it then just but a new trigger. Or just new grips.
Conclusion: Get this it is very cool and very nice.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintball4chili Tuesday, December 16th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder mr1
spyder tl-r
spyder tl
tippmann model 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Double trigger frame
Strengths: Short trigger pool
They make a lot of upgrades for them.s
Weaknesses: Expensive for what it is.
Review: Overall i don not really like this gun. I mean its ok and i would take it but i would rather have my mr1. I don not know if i just like spyders but i think that you can get more for your money if you get a spyder. My friend is getting one because its the only gun that he has ever really heard of and he likes the tippmann name.
Conclusion: I would recommend this to a friend that is just getting started and has money. But not for somebody who has experience.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PugPaintball68 Sunday, November 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom Platnuim Edition ~ Just as Good.
Some Different Spyders... ~ 98 is Better.
VL Triton II ~ Pretty Good, 98 Is more customizable.
Marker Setup: Realtree Camo Tippmann 98 Custom A.C.T.
16'' Tippmann Sniper Barrel
Cyclone Feed System
Quick Aim Red Dot Sight
M249 Saw Stock
Double Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock, Larger Tank [or better yet, a Compressed Air Tank], Remote Coil
Cyclone Feed
New Barrel
Strengths: Strong
Easy To Take Care of
Easy to Customize
Cheap to Customize
Cheap in General
Weaknesses: Can't Remove Entire Front Grip
Review: I've had my 98 for 2 years, and it still packs a strong punch. It has never failed me, and it is awsome for beginners, who want a marker that can be customized to play with the big dogs like the A-5 and X-7, or if the player just wants to play an every-other weekend type of thing. The only thing I don't like is that you can't remove the entire front grip, but I think nothing of it when I'm playing because it feels/fits good in my hands.
Conclusion: I would give the Tippmann 98 a 9/10 due that it can be a very flexible marker and would fit great in a Newbie's hands, or a Pro's. It is very customizable, and can transform from a beginners starter marker, to a main Scenario Marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 30th, 2008 at 6:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Backman89 Friday, November 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pro Carbine, A-5, and the plethora of spyders in the low end mech field.
Marker Setup: 05 Prostock
E2
Besales .44 Ram and QEVs
Nexus LPR
Nexus internals
Evil Pipe kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel is Needed, the stock barrel is one of the worst ive ever experienced.
Strengths: This marker is STRONG. You cannot break a 98 custom.
Weaknesses: Long and awkward to use untill you get used to it.
Review: This is a good marker for people who have never owned a marker. It is durable, low upkeep and dependable. however, those things come at the cost of raw preformance. short and sweet, once you are ready to elivate your level of play you will see the shortcomings. The marker is inconsistant. on a stock 98C do not expect to crono +/- 20 or less. Stock rate of fire is dreadfuly slow. Now, when i say slow, I mean SLOW. prehaps it is a good thing, as you wont run one case of paint dry too often. Cleaning the marker can be aq hassle, field cleaning should be highly discouraged. you actually have to take the frame apart to properly wipe down/oil/clean the mechanical components of the marker. One good thing is it doenst need cleaning too often.
Conclusion: With all things considered, this marker is a decent starting platform to enter the paintball world. I recomend it to the type of player who just wants to play without worrying about thier equipment breaking down on them. With this marker you sacrifice preformance for longevity and durability.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nato80 Tuesday, October 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder mr1
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c with
12" smart part barrel
Remote
Red dot
Archon 200 loader
Camo stickers

Spyder Rodeo
16" barrel?
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel(J&j or smart parts0
Exspansion chamber
Drop forward or remote
Stock
Strengths: Tough
Custimizable
Repairs or easy
Weaknesses: No Shrouds for body
Non custimizable fore grip
Gas hog
Review: What else is there to say that hasn't been said? Tough, cheap , upgradeable, and did I say CHEAP!!! Can be good speedball gun even with sniper barrel for fast quick sniper shots. Would not reccomend for serious speedball or close in bukering. Also is heavy for the little kids and wimps so some ppl might need to take this into consideration.
Conclusion: Very good for beginer and for mil sim player, HIghly reccomend
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

goatmouth Tuesday, October 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Stingray
Sypider Phoenix
Spyder TL
Marker Setup: -Smart Parts Ion (1st Gen)
-Smart Parts 360 QEV
-Smart Parts Fire Bolt
-Smart Parts Lo-Rise Feed Neck
-Smart Parts Freak Barrel Kit w/ All American Front
-Deadlywind Foehn B.O.B.
-Deadlywind Finger Lock Trigger
-Element V.2 Frame
-Virtue Board
-Virtue Membrane Pad
-Virtue Laser Break beam Eyes
-Virtue EZ On 2.0
-Virtue Argyle Bullets 45 Grips
-CP Shorty Regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
Smart Parts All American Barrel
Hammerhead Barrel
Strengths: Durabilty
Reliabilty
"Tippmann" product
Acurate
Weaknesses: Speed
Size
Review: Tippmann is one of the best paintball companies in the industry. There is a reason that a lot of fields run the Tippmann product as rental guns. I started playing in paintball in the mid to late 90's and played with cheap Brass Eagle guns. I leared quick that I needed to upgrade my equipment, thats when the never ending cycle started. I decided to purchase the Model 98 because of reliabilty, Wow was it ever. I played for 6 or 7 years with this gun and never had to replace a single part or had anything happen to the gun. I played woodsball and it took abuse too.

The gun performance was like no other during its time. I replaced the factory barrel with a Smart Parts All American. The only and best upgrade for this gun. I could hit a coke can at 35 yards almost shot after shot (take in mind friends it is the paint quality that matters).
Conclusion: If you are just getting into paintball and play woodsball, I would definintly recommend this gun. It should be a very cheap gun now with the A5 and other markers on the market. You could get this gun for nothing and start playing not having to worry about the gun breaking down. The gun also performs great without many upgrades.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

h3king085 Saturday, October 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman a5, bt-4, tippman carbine
Marker Setup: Red 2008 NXT Shocker W/ Virtue Board, Virtue Russian Legion Destroyka SoftTact .45 Grip, Smart Parts Shocker NXT Q Lock Feedneck, Custom Parts Shocker Bearing Trigger.
Smart Parts Micro Max Flo 4500 psi HPA Tank Regulator, Invert 56ci 4500 psi HPA Tank.

Recommended
Upgrades:
All-American barrel, E Trigger... not much else or you will end up putting too much money into a beginner gun.
Strengths: This gun is extremly durable, and can take a beating from new players.
Weaknesses: Has a low BPS, low accuracy, decently heavy.
Review: This is an excelent beginner gun. This gun is very durable, however its full metal body makes it quite heavy, especially with a 20 oz. tank on it, which is most common. This is an extremly easy gun to upgrade, because it has many bad stock parts such as teh terrible stock barrel that can easily be replaced. Tippman is a much better company than most of the other low end gun companies such as spyder, which is the main reason why i love this gun. I owned this gun for a year, and loved it. This gun is not what i would call easy to take apart however. The reason why this is ok though, is most likely a beginner is not going to want to field strip his gun, or even know how, so he will just bring it to a shop, where they can do it very quickly and efficiently. Beginners, if you are going to buy a gun buy the tippman 98 custom :).
Conclusion: Beginners, if you are going to buy a gun buy the tippman 98 custom :), and nothing gets a 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ABpaintballer Sunday, October 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
sar far this is my only gun
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom
Carbon 12 inch barrel
20oz pure energy co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ya, slap on a new barrel
Strengths: Very durable
accurate (with new barrel)
easy management
pretty strong
Weaknesses: Heavy!
Inaccurate with stock barrel
Review: My friend got me really hooked on the custom. It feels very comfortable in your hands, and you can really tear it up out on the field!! I wouldnt really prefer it to speedballers, but thats my opinion. This devestates out in woodsball, sniped about 5/8 guys.... Tippmann did a great job, big fan.
Conclusion: I would recomend this gun to anybody that is a begginner level.
Tight gun, but should be upgraded just a bit
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media