paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  70  |  71  |  72  |  73  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  Last
        Next Page
ac/dcrules666 Friday, July 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-my younger brothers spyder victor - it works and is easy to clean....
-2k4 cocker lighter, quieter, 200$ more expensive
-
Marker Setup: -tpi 98 custom (2k3)
-16 inch werks barrel (should have gone with 14)
-revy 9v w/ x board
-double trigger
-20 oz co2
-jt mask
-back up stuff i gave to my other brother
Recommended
Upgrades:
-no brainer would be a barrel
-drop forward (my gun is uber long with 16 inch barrel and 20oz)
-everything else is for your prefference
Strengths:
Ups
Sexy
Reliable
The hopper thingy
Weaknesses: Perfect (more or less)
Review: this gun is awesome, the only problem ive ever had with it was because i put the ball stop in backwards (orange doo hicky that kinda looks like a rabbit - should be pointing to you with ear up) and my brother lost a part that allows his hopper part to be moved down ( btw this is my favorite part of the gun) i just jerry rigged it so it couldent open till i replace the part. but besides that, never had problems, and have never chopped once never ever. even when spazing out 11 bps to prove it was possible. its so pretty it bring a tear to my eye. if you are starting to play paintball, go right now and buy one. go now.
this gun is awesome ive used it many times and its helped me play with high end electros (bko s and impulses and what not) and kick there A$$e$ its made of metal on the outside and most of the enternals are high quality and is super rugged - you can treat it like poo and it will work great. grantet its not the best gun ive ever shot, but im sure if u spend alot on it you could play some touenys with it
Conclusion: what im trying to say here, is that this is an awesome gun thats not as expensive as it could be - kinda like the mustang of the paintball world- super poweful and well liked, but u wouldent use it to race a ferrari on nitro (angel(cost wise at least))(never shot one) but ya if you like paintball buy this gun,as a first gun, as a better gun as a back up, and if you hat paintball, you have a serious problem- whart is wrong with you and morso why would you be reading this reveiw? all in all this gun is perfect anyone who disagrees is a wino or a weakling or works for a differnt paintball company than tpi
Thanks for reading my review, i hope it helped
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wisdom21 Thursday, July 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5 - better looks and speed than the C98 but more fragile, CO2 eater and expensive
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Smart Parts Teardrop 14' Black Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (12'-16')
Strengths: - Durability
- Doesn't need so much maintenance
- Customizable
Weaknesses: - Stock barrel sucks
- Lots have the same marker
- Needs upgrading to play speedball
Review: If you play rec/woods like I do it is one of the best markers you can get. Actually is one of the 5-6 choices you have and certainly the less expensive one. It is very easy to field strip and clean. It is hard and you can feel it when you hold it.
The non-vertical feed is a problem when you are on the right side of a bunker. The rate of fire is slow but it can be easily upgraded with a good hopper and a response trigger, although I don't need it. Paintballs sometimes get stuck in the hopper causing dry-firing. This can be very annoying but it can be prevented either with a new electrical hopper or if you remember to shake the hopper every 4-5 shots.
You must get a new barrel because the inside of the stock one is not properly finished so you have a lot of ball breaks and zero accuracy. If you don't want to spend $20-$50 for a new barrel you can try to polish it yourself with a drill, a radiator roll and a polishing ointment. There is no need to buy the flatline barrel. It is very expensive, gives only range but not enough accuracy and it's bulky and very difficult to clean.
Try the marker first and then you will know your own needs for upgrading, if any.
Conclusion: Buy this marker if you are a beginner and you like to play woodsball. If you still want to play paintball after some months you can upgrade it to anything you can imagine. Don't buy right from the beginning an expensive and fragile marker.
On the other hand, if you want to play speedball go for a Smart Parts ION or something similar. If you like to play both you can get a Spyder Fenix instead.
I give a 9/10 because of the lousy stock barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 25th, 2005 at 3:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DiabloPaint3 Wednesday, July 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom w/ expansion Chamber, 14" J&J Ceramics barrel, 20 oz tank w/ butt plate, rt trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel and maybe an expansion chamber.
Strengths: It's Light and VERY upgradable. It's even great stock.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel isn't great, but there are like 30+ barrels to buy.
Review: The Tippmann 98 custom is a great gun! I spent about $160 for a package deal. The package came with :
*Tippmann 98 Custom
* 20 Oz co2 tank
* oil
*Squeegee

I think that's a nice deal....But if you want just the gun it is about $130! The day i got this gun for my birthday I set up coffee cans around my backyard and shot them from about 30 ft away. I nailed them all eventually but it took me a few minutes to get use to it since i never shot paintball guns b4.

The stock barrel on this gun isn't great but you can upgrade it, just like any other part on this gun. You have to remember that it is tippmann making this gun and noone can beat Tippmann quality! Here are some barrels recommened for the Tippmann 98 custom.
1. Flatline barrel
The flatline barrel is a nice barrel for Some people, but not all. It is great for woodsball and can travel quite a distance. I isn't the most accurate barrel but it is nice.
2. Thirty Two Degrees Black Night Stick Barrel
This barrel is affordable and accurate. It is also quiet....
3. DYE BoomStick
VERY nice barrel but it is about $100!!!! It can almost outperform any barrel for the Tippmann guns! You should get this barrel for your custom 98 if you are willing to pay $100.
4. J&J Ceramics barrel
A cheap price a great Barrel...It is quiet, lite, and accurate!

Those are four recommended barrels for the tippmann 98!!!

Great Gun
Conclusion: This gun is a great woodsball gun. It is so upgradable, light, well put together, long lasting gun. Great for anyone who wants to Play!!!!!
But Nothing is Perfect!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 13th, 2005 at 7:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

woodedsniper Monday, July 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5
Spyder 1
Spyder Fenix
Spyder Imagine (electro and machincal)
Tippmann Pro-Carbine
Marker Setup: Realtree Hardwoods Grey Tippmann 98 custom
14" 32* Terminator barrel
lightened trigger spring
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better barrel, the stock barrel is not a great barrel by any means, but will work until an after market barrel can be purchased. A regulator or expansion chamber is ok, but you don't need one.
Strengths: Durable
Design
Speed
Dependable
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Fairly heavy
Slow disassembly
Review: Alright, this is an outstanding gun. The frame of the 98c is caste alluminum, you ain't gonna hurt this gun. Also, the desigin of the 98 gives the gun an aggressive look, and alot makes it a very tactical gun when used in woodsball. When I stated earlier that you can't hurt this gun, unless you abuse this gun, and don't clean it in 3 years, it will shoot EVERY time you pull the trigger. The 98c is also a fairly fast gun for woodsball, which it is intended for.

The 98c also has a few flaws, like any gun. The stock barrel has a very rough bore, makeing paintballs fly in funny ways. The gun, being caste alluminum, tends to get heavy when playing all day, but most of the time the weight is just fine, an 8 year old kid can play with these. The slow disassembly is the major downfall of this marker, the first few times it takes forever, but eventually you get the hang of the breakdown.

Conclusion: This is an amazing marker for woodsball, and at about $130, a great price. I would recommend this to any player who whats a good gun that will shoot anytime you want it to.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

dazz951 Monday, July 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icon Z- same
Xtra- same
Triad- VL, 'nuff said
Marker Setup: Icon Z, 12''VL barrle, Halo TSA, Icon LED frame, custom trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, bolt, double trigger
Strengths: Durability(hey, its a tippmann)
Weight (it makes me feel manly)
Weaknesses: weight ( it hurts my arms)
Lack of features
Review: I used this in the snow the last time i played. I was amazed.This thing was my freinds. It shot lasers and NEVER chopped. We had a standard hopper and were shooting 10-11 bps. I used a stock one the other day and was not so pleased. The barrel was less than desirable and the single trigger hurt my shooting capabilities. I would definatley get a double trigger as my first upgrade because the barrel can wait.
Conclusion: Is it better stock than an Icon Z : no
Is it better stock than an Xtra : no
With ups can it keep up really good: YES
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tipmanboy Sunday, July 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder
Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: 98 custom with a z drop forward, expansion chamber, response trigger, dye sticky grips, empire reloader, and 14 tear drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Double trigger
Drop forward
Strengths: Durable
Consistent
Great beginer gun
Weaknesses: Some what heavy
Long and bulky
Review: It is the best beginner gun and most realiable gun out there for this price. Great gun. Alot more durable than the spider but it is heavier. I broke the vertical adapter for my gun when i was putting it in (my fault because i was in a hurry). I sent it to tippmann and they put a new vertical adapter in and tuned it for me for free. The only thing that cost me was the shipping which was like 5 bucks. My friend who has a spyder now wants to sell it and my a tippmann instead after seeing my gun.
Conclusion: It is must gun to buy if you are a beginner
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Paintballer3307 Sunday, July 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
pro carbine
Icons
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
Tippmann Flatline barrel
(2) 20 oz co2 tank
regular 200 round hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, i like the flatline
maybe a regulator
Strengths: Very accurate
doesnt chop paint
very comfortable
NEVER breaks
easy to clean
Weaknesses: Stock barrel sucks, get a flatline

Review: I got mine for christmas in 2004, the first time i used it: the good things i noticed was the range, it was quite far, it was very consistent, it never choped balls, and was easy to clean and take apart. The bads: the gun wasnt very accurate out of the box, but with a new barrel (i recomend the flatline) its very accurate.
Conclusion: I would recomend this gun to any beginner who want a very good priced gun, and also to people who have been playing for years, one of the best things about this gun is its very upgradable, you can get many different barrels, the response trigger, the E-bolt, the low pressure system, and many more upgrades. I have to give this gun a 9, if it was a bit more accurate with the stock barrel then it would get a 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Tippmann98C_000 Saturday, July 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Progressive Barrel
Reactive Trigger
Evolution II Loader (Egg)
2,5" CP Lightning Drop Forward

Expansion Chamber And Nos Tank soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Trigger, Better hopper once you get trigger, And Expansion Chamber once you get Reactive trigger
Strengths: In Review
Weaknesses: In Review
Review: The Tippmann 98 Custom is a good, strong durable gun for it's price.

To start off this gun ain't that bad stock... The barrel is a misely 8 1/2" and it's loud... I don't really mind it scares my opposition =).. A new barrel is needed but no immediately. The gun is comfortable to hold... but i suggest a drop forward so you can bring you're gun in closer for better accuracy... Some people say the Tippmann has a slow ROF ( Rate Of Fire ) I suggest you get a double trigger but if you don't have the money I suggest you try shooting with the middle finger it takes some practice but I manage at least 8 BPS with a single trigger which really ain't that bad. If fire power is a must get a Reactive trigger capable of 17 BPS ( More fire power then needed ). This gun can be customized to any man or women's fantasies... You can easily add 500 - 700$ worth of upgrades on it from stock. The gun takes 5 - 10 minutes to Field Strip not to difficult to reassemble.

Strenghts

Sleek, Durable and Fully Customizable, Not to expensive and a Perfect Starter Gun

Weakness

Stock Barrel is loud, ROF is slow if you don't know how to shoot with the single trigger and for the newer Players it can be uncomfortable if you don't know how to hold it. Can be a little heavy will disappear over time ( you'll get use to the weight ).


Conclusion: The Tippmann 98 Custom is an all around good gun. It can be used for Rec Ball, Speed Ball ( With Reactive Trigger ), And Woods Ball perfect for the Flatline Barrel System. It's a perfect beginner gun and can be upgraded to you're hearts desire.
If you're just entering the sport of paintball and looking for a gun that can keep up with you at any level of play I suggest you give this gun a try for 150$ this is a perfect starter gun!!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

csichiro51 Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL Triad
VL Maxis
32 Rebel
A-5
Ion
Marker Setup: Ion ND roller trigger, WGP QEV, Hybrid Feed Neck, Evil Driver
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger, Regulator, Low-Pressure Chamber, Barrel
Strengths: Cheap
Looks
Ok Accuracy
Tippmann
Very Upgradeable
Durable
Weaknesses: Feel
Single Finger Trigger (Unless Upgraded)
Ok Accuracy
Review: I've used this gun once. It has a weird feel compared to an Ion's setup. This gun is great for beginners but when upgraded it becomes a good tournament gun.

If you use this gun in tournaments this gun will be needing several upgrades.

1. Double Trigger For A Higher BPS-ROF
2. Barrel For Better Accuracy
3. Regulator/ Low-Pressure Chamber For More Consistant Flow Of Air
4. New Bolt/ Electric Hopper for Higher ROF
5. Air Tank For More Consistant Air Flow
Conclusion: If you purchase this gun it is a pretty good beginner gun. If you enter tournaments this gun will be out-gunned without these upgrades. I give it a 8 because of all the upgrades needed for tournaments.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jay Lawrence Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None. This is really a great product.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Pi Drop Forward
Ricochet Apache
10' Braded Hose
Double Trigger
RT
20 Oz. Co2
CP One-Piece Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double Trigger
Different Foregrip
Drop Forward
Better Feedneck
Strengths: Tough
Looks Great
Small
Accurate
Comfy
Weaknesses: A bit loud
Weak Feedneck/foregrip
Review: This is truly a great marker. About 3 months into the game, I decided I wanted a new marker, so I kept my eye on this baby for quite some time until I finally got it for christmas. It was everything i'd hoped for if not more, and it actually shot alot faster than I expected it to when I went out in my back yard a few days later to test it. Being a mech marker almost totally reliant on its pneumatics makes it one efficient little tank.

It is also cool how many different upgrades are available for this marker. I mean you could install a double trigger, drop forward, and a good barrel to make this a pleasable speedball gun, or you could add a car stock and a sight to make it a good scenario machine.

And speaking of upgrades, the most helpful (IMO) for its price is a simple double trigger. The extra leverage it allows for your fingers can help you fire at least 2 more BPS than normal (i can probably get up to 13 or 14), and it's also more comfortable. If you have the money, though, buy a different foregrip and/or feedneck because they are both weak. Ive already had to replace my feedneck once, and my grip is starting to split.

So the 98 custom makes for a perfect beginner and/or moderate player marker, and will never let you down. At stock it may be less than great, but there are plenty of cheap upgrades you could buy that would increase its performance well.

I'm actually thinking about giving my 98 custom a female name because it's already impressed me so much, lol. sure I want a new Timmy or Karny, but this is doing me well as it is.

Have fun!
Conclusion: This is a wonderful marker for the beginning player or the occasional tourney-goer. Just slap a few new parts onto this baby and you've got yourself a ballin' machine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  70  |  71  |  72  |  73  |  74  |  75  |  76  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media