paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  76  |  77  |  78  |  79  |  80  |  81  |  82  |  Last
        Next Page
not cool guy Tuesday, May 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intimidators
Cockers
Spyders
Many more
Marker Setup: 14 in. tear drop barrrel
DOP drop foreward
ACI 68/45000 tank
double trigger
20 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately get a drop if you like speedball. Also get a new barrel.
Strengths: Very dependable
Decent air efficiency
Works well with co2 or high pressure nitro
Weaknesses: Trigger is kind of firm
Kind of heavy
Not vey compact
Review: This is a great and very dependable gun. I have never had any problems with it. The stock barrel is nowhere near accurate. It comes out of the box ready to shoot. I have bunkered many people with this gun (believe me they don't suck). This gun gun can only shoot 11bps :( It is very accurate with a new barrel. Co2 works great with this gun. The only reason that I am using nitro on it is because it shoots a little straighter, has more consistent velocity and it doesn't give off that white cloud when it is cooler. THe trigger is kind of firm, but that doesn't really matter. This is not a crappy gun!
Conclusion: I would recommend this to any new players It is definitely the best bang for your buck in this price range.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

soldier1137 Tuesday, May 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5,Spyder Rodeo
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom,double trigger,RT(responce trigger),rocket cock, 32*rear velocity adjuster,expansion chamber,shockteck bolt,hybrid contract grips(blue),32*drop(blue),16"AllAmerican(blue),Halo B with ripdrive(blue),crossfire 68ci tank with dye rhino tank cover(blue)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel,the rest depends on wat kinda game u play.
Strengths: Easy to maintain, Fun to upgrade, Good beginer gun.
Weaknesses: Valve assembly is a pain, Cleaning valve can get kinda difficult.
Review: I would suggest a tippmann 98 custom to anyone looking 4 a good beginer gun that is really easy to maintain and is realt reliable and is realy easy to upgrade.

Tippmann 98 customs are amazing markers i highly recomend this to anyone who wants to have fun with their gun. Parts for this gun can be found almost anywear and decently priced. The only thing that is critical for this marker is a new barrel. the stock barrel is not accurate.
Conclusion: This is a great marker. Tippmann really knows how to make a reliable marker. ill give this gun a rating of 9 only because of the valve.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintBaller1818 Sunday, May 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 2004 ICD BKO
- WDP Mini Regulator
- MI 3-D Flame Drop
-Egg II
Recommended
Upgrades:
~Barrel
~Maybe double trigger
That's it don't pour too much money into these, it's a waste.
Strengths: Reliable
Easy to clean
Damn near indestructible
Weaknesses: Slow
Stock barrel is horrid
Review: This is the first gun that I ever bought. It has never crapped out on me. When my freinds wre fixing their other guns (spyders, rebels), I was playing. I love this gun. I got a 14" teardrop and the accuracy problem was gone. I was planning on dropping a ton of upgrades in to this gun, until I realized what a waste it would be. Just buy the necessary parts, unless you are 100% positive you are keeping this gun forever. This gun is great for woodsball, but horrible for speedball.
Conclusion: A great beginer gun. Great for even the most advanced woods player.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WOOpididoo Saturday, May 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing similar, its slow and heavy as hell
Marker Setup: 98c,dtigger,physco drop,48cu 3000 psi tank, freak kit, empire reloader b
Recommended
Upgrades:
EVERYTHING, double trigger isnt needed at all you cant walk on this anyways
Strengths: You can throw it agaisnt the wall and it will work even better than before!
Weaknesses: Not electric, no reg, heavy, not accurate.
Review: The 98c is pretty much the best non electrical starting out gun you can find that is under 200 dollars, wait its the only non electrical gun under 200 dollars besides a pump! But besides that it is the most durable gun on the market easily NO COMPETITION on the durability. You could throw this thing on the ground and run over it and it would work even better. It shoots pretty crappy with the stock barrel to say the least, so i got a freak kit, because i knew i would end up getting a better gun sooner or later so i decided that if i got a freak I could buy an adaptor and put the freak on almost any new gun i want to buy. I started out using CO2 for about the first 4 months of having this gun and i saw no problems besides that my gun got realllly cold if i was shooting fast and also started to condensate (for you idiots it started dripping with water) but then i got HPA and the accuracy improved a ton. But because the 98c doesn't come with a regulator each shot still varies where it is going so you will never get as an accurate shot as you would with a gun with a regulator. I play speedball and i have most of my paintball experience and this gun is not for speedball, even though i shortened up the enourmous length of this gun by buying a drop forward it is still quite big, you should stick to woods ball if you are going to buy this gun, if you are going to start off playing speed ball buy a spyder or a diablo mongoose they would be your better choice to start off playing speed ball. The side feed neck makes it quite slow feeding not that you will need to be shooting over 5 bps with this because that is impossible.
Conclusion: In conclusion for a starting gun your probly going to want this gun, the main reason for that is because its super reliable and you can learn how to clean and take care of a electric gun later, you just want to be able to play when you start playing paintball right? Yes so leave the real expensive guns for later. I give it an eight because it has only failed me about 1 time in the year i have had it. So in my opinion if you are gonna play woodsball go and get this gun it will definately be with you until you want to quit or get a new gun, but if your going for speed ball start with a pirhana evo or a spyder marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rattlehead22 Saturday, May 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
GTA Double Trigger
CMI Tru-Flight 14" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL!!!!!!!!!!!! I can't stress that enough stock Tippmann barrels are the worst barrels in the industry. Other than that it's all up to you.
Strengths: Durable
Very upgradable
Weaknesses: Their a pain in the @$$ to take apart.
Review: O.k. I've had this gun for a while now I've used it about 7 times so far I've only used it once with the double trigger and barrel. So far I've got 17 kills with this gun. Now that I have a double trigger I need an electro hopper. This gun is very depenable and durable where I play is right along a river and one time I tripped and fell in the river and as soon as I got up and grapped my gun I was able to return fire. Scince I play in the woods me and everyone else there tend to fall alot and this thing has taken a lickin but kept on tickin. O.k. if you don't want to deal with a bunch of small parts DON'T open this gun up if it needs to be opened up take it to a proshop.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you want somthing that will last through crawling through the mud to a nuculear war.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Prea Saturday, May 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder rodeo
pmi pirahna e-force vtl 2k3
viewloader orion
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom with:
double trigger
3a knock out 5-piece barrel kit
32 degrees drop forward with guage
riochet rhino hopper
20 oz. co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel- necccary to improve accuracy, 12"-14" for speedball, 14"-16" for woodsball
double trigger- if u want to shoot faster and just for a more comfortable trigger
electronic hopper-only if u upgrade ur trigger, otherwise u dont need one
low pressure kit- if u get nitro
expansion chamber- if u play in the cold with co2
response trigger or e-bolt-- for speedball in order to shoot faster
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: -strengths
accurate, even with the stock barrel
not too heavy(but is a little heavier then most guns, but not a big deal)
light trigger pull
u can get lots of upgrades
bolt will last a long time and not scratch because of the way the system is set up
gun is sturdy and well made
hardly ever chops paintballs

-weaknesses
cant quick strip the insides
comes with short barrel
comes with single trigger-(personal preference, i hate the stock trigger)
not a unique gun(everyone and their mom has a tippmann 98)

definitly a well made gun with an infinite amount of upgrades, accuracy is as good as any other gun right out of the box, and is even better with a longer barrel. There isnt anything bad thay really makes this gun worse then any other gun. One thing i dont like about this gun is that the front handgrip is far up, it makes it a bit less comfortable, and the gun is a little bit longer then most guns which makes it less appealing while being behind a bunker, but other then those things this gun is great
Conclusion: I would suggest this gun to anyone, especially woodsballers, but this is not much of a speedball gun right out of the box, but with some upgrades it can be.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 22nd, 2005 at 9:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmansrock Thursday, May 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann custom pro e
spyder pilot
Marker Setup: stock 98c
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber
new barrel
e-bolt - if you like to shoot fast
Strengths: Extremely durable
Many upgrades
Not too heavy
Weaknesses: The only weakness is the stock barrel
Review: Whether you're a newbie or a pro this gun is for you. This gun is impossible to break, that is why alot of fields use this as a rental gun. This gun is very durable. I think you could drop it off the Empire State Building an it wouldn't break. The 98c is very easy to field strip and clean. I would much rather have this gun than any spyder out there. Even for you people who are new to the sport and want to spend $50 on a gun, instead of $150. This gun is the most durable gun out on the field, so it's worth $150.
Conclusion: This gun is awesome, you won't be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zachs129 Thursday, May 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II- this gun was 1000% better
Marker Setup: i have a 20 oz co2 tank and a 12 in j&j Ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel, electronic hopper, response trigger
Strengths: Pretty fast
Acurate
Virtually indestructible
Weaknesses: A little loud
Stock barrel sucks
Chops ball every once in a while
Review: This is a great gun for a beginner. It is reliable and accurate. it will never fail to perform good. for the price it is well worth it and it is very easy to clean and maintain.nvjfoduifbguiguidfjg gngjdng dfg dgdf gd g dfg dg gd gdf gd gdf gd g dg dfg dg d gd g dfg df g
Conclusion: Get this gun if you are a beginner looking for a decent gun
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wrightusmc02 Thursday, May 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom silver
Collapsible stock
RT triger
Expansion Chamber
Progressive 14" barrel
BT fixed sight rail
NStar Red Dot sight
using a remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
-A new barrel..the stock one is ok but you can do better
-If using co2 get an expansion chamber to help consistency of velocity
-if using any kind of stock and sight system, you might want some sort of a raised sight rail. This will allow you to get your face behind the sight a lot easier.
Strengths: -DEPENDABILITY
-Easily customizes
-Light
-Accurate
-Elbow drops over for easy squeegeeing
-Shoots any paint
Weaknesses: -The gun is a little loud
Review: This gun is AWESOME!!! It is by far the most favorite of all the guns I've owned.

The 98 is a work horse. You could throw it down and stomp on it and it will still shoot great. Right out of the box you have got a real winner. It is the ideal gun for the beginning player. For those new to paintball the 98 Custom is a great gun that will NOT let you down, giving you YEARS of play time. And as you advance as a player you can very easily upgrade your gun to fit your style of play. There is no other marker out there(excluding the Tippmann A-5, which gives you the same great benefits) that allows you the diversity that this does.

My first time at a field (Painted Forest Adventure Games in Lynchburg,Va) I rented a Tippmann 98. From the first game I fell in love with this gun. I latter went to the shop and bought my own. I have owned this gun about 5 years. It's great.

I give it a big 10
Conclusion: Definitely a gun worth getting. There are those that believe that if your gun doesn't cost $1000 or more than it is crap. Well they are way wrong. I've shot several of those guys out and they got to watch the rest of the game from the dead box. Then when their batteries go dead and they are taking the gun apart to put a new one in...I'm out on the field playing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Adam49085 Thursday, May 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good for a beginner out of the box
Strengths: Insane reliability, Decent Accuracy
Weaknesses: Chops balls, difficult "field" strip
Review: I got this 98 as my first gun in the power pack. This is an awesome choice for beginners, but will need some mods if you want to compete with high end setups. The marker will chop balls at a high R.O.F. but I'm sure that an electronic hopper would help. Some people have problems with the stock barrel, but mine had excellent accuracy, better than my buddys 14" J&J. The only issue with the barell is if you chop a ball, you might as well quit if you dont have a squegee on you. Never try to strip it in the field, you'll never get it back together. The strip is no problem on a clean table with lots of tools, but only try it when you have a lot of time on your hands.
Conclusion: Exellent choice for beginners, worth the cash
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  76  |  77  |  78  |  79  |  80  |  81  |  82  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media