paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Rambo jr Monday, September 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, bt 4, tippmann pro carbine
Marker Setup: I have a SP vibe with a proto barrel and electronic hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response trigger (if doesn't have one already), longer barrel for accuracy
Strengths: Reliable, easy to take apart, doesn't chop very much paint, cheap
Weaknesses: Weight, slow rate of fire
Review: I used a tippmann 98 custom at my friends house and it is a very good starting gun to have. For woods ball, this is a very good gun to have because it is reliable. these markers are practically indestructible. My friends use these markers all the time where i go paintballing. All the local paintball rental stores have these guns because there easy to clean and thay are reliable under any condition.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun for anybody who doesn't mind the weight and if your a woods baller. Great beginning gun for anybody.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cadgear Sunday, September 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro/Carbine, stock. Brass Eagle Raptor XTreme, stock as well. Tippmann A5, stock.
Marker Setup: Pro/Carbine, all stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Perhaps a better quality barrel. Remote line and HPA is a good idea, but not required.
About the only thing I'd even consider is the E-grip.
Strengths: Durable. Easy to field strip, easy to replace parts. Did I mention durable?
Weaknesses: Definitely the feeder elbow/spring. Powertube can crack if you drink too much liquid CO2.
Review: I bought my 98 from a retail store and was horribly confused when it arrived. I believe this was around the time the ACT technology came out, because the first thing I did was take it apart and..what's this? The marker has the millings for the ACT linkage and springs. I converted it to ACT right away.

First thing's first: The clamshell halves make me feel like this marker would fall apart if I looked at it wrong. Even though the body is metal, the important parts are not. The plastic powertube can crack if you like to drink liquid CO2, hence why HPA (or at least a siphon tube) is a good idea. A CVX valve can only keep out so much. Upon disassembly, the first thing to fly out was the hopper elbow release latch spring. Bad place, bad idea.

Taking it out for a few test shots, I love the feel of the marker. Solid, easy to handle, and balanced. The stock barrel isn't the worst, but you can do better. Accurate to a point, once I passed 100' I could barely hit anything on purpose.

On the field, it runs like a champ. With the ACT parts in place, I only chopped one ball out of a case of 2,000. Bad paint, perhaps, because the ACT is truly something to see in action. I can't lay down the lines of fire like some of the better markers, but the incredibly light trigger pull (especially when compared to my Pro/Carbine!) keeps me going at a steady rate of fire.

This thing can be upgraded out the wazoo. RT, E-grip, drop forward, LP kits, expansion chambers, cyclone feed, barrels, grips, sights, rear cock..a VERY versatile marker. At the going price, around $120, you can afford to mod one and keep one stock.

Oh, and did I mention it's durable? I don't think I have. I've run my 98 through the dirt. Swam with it, ran with it, dropped it, thrown it, stepped on it, left it out in the rain..it's like watching the Terminator. I can't seem to kill this thing. The all-metal body extends into the grips, which is an annoyingly nice feature. Annoying in the sense that mods require more disassembly than most guns, but nice in that it gives the gun a VERY nice feel.
Conclusion: Everyone says the Model 98 was the best marker Tippmann ever made; I've seen some downright disturbing setups using the Model 98. Overall, it's a great beginner's marker, and even up to the amateur circuit. I wouldn't try any fancy speedball with it, since you just can't get the paint output of a higher end marker, but for woods and rec play, it may be all you need. For rec play, I use my 98 Custom almost every game.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 28th, 2008 at 11:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Yosarian Saturday, August 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you want to upgrade to cyclone feature i would suggest just buyin the A-5
-barrel for accuracy
Strengths: -Indestructible
Weaknesses: -Not too fast (to be expected)
Uses up air fast
Review: Tippman is the way to go for new players, no worries about maintenance this gun is easy to disassemble and clean (aside from a few small parts that can be a pain). and its very rare for this product to have any issues.

I personaly had a problem with the guns valve and with one email to tippman they sent me a new valve right away with no charge.

Tippmans do tend to be air hogs though this shouldn't be much of a problem if your using tanks bigger than 12oz or if you use compressed air

Of course don't expect this to be good for speedballing but what do you expect tippmans are mainly woodsball guns.

This is a gun you can count on
Conclusion: Tippman offers you a no wories marker built to take a hit and at least able to keep up with the average rental marker. This marker does what it needs to do get you out to the field to play, don't expect high performance, what makes this gun so good is how little bad their is with it. this is definately a gun that i would recommend for those entering into the sport.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Slippy Saturday, August 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT-4 only difference is cosmetic, Pro Carbine, same action just less upgrades and better grip. BT-16 Field, better closed action than 98
Marker Setup: 98 custom, specops saw stock, RAP raptor barrel with apex tip, 32 degrees rail with simmons red dot on top
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel for sure, stock barrel will get you by for a few games but inside coating wears quickly

Cyclone feed, or rip drive
Strengths: Durability, accuracy, upgradeable
Weaknesses: A little on the heavy side, that stupid front grip,
Review: Bad news first. Get a better barrel. the stock barrel is accurate for sure but it can wear down really fast. Mine wore down after one day. This thing does get a bit heavy after awhile especially after you attach a stock. My saw stock adds about a pound to the gun. If you get a stock you have to play remote. otherwise your accuracy starts to suffer because its too heavy on the back end. I don't know about most players but me personally I hate that foregrip on this thing. BT had a much better idea with the adjustable one. The only other problem I've had with it is that the top rail is not a picatinny. but they fixed that with the new 98 platinum or whatever that is.

Good news. You can turn this thing into just about anything you want. an m82 or an mp5 anything is possible.
Accuracy is a dominating factor about this gun. The action is very accurate and the trigger is nice and smooth and light. Combine this with a stock and a decent barrel and you will be hitting bullseyes at 75 yds.

Durability, well its a tippmann for starters, this thing will operate with a pound of sand in it. I went to OK D-Day and played every mini and the Big one and never had to clean it and it worked just fine.
Conclusion: If you aint a sissy man that likes to spray and pray 15bps with a 2 lb marker, get this marker. You will have more fun on the field and less time in the maintaining room. Oh and did I mention that tippmann has a lifetime warranty on it!!! I watched a guy smack into a tree and it bent his 98 nearly in half, Tippmann gave him a brand new one
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

review Friday, August 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT 16 Field, BT 16 Elite, piranha, stingray all of these are worse then the tippman
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 with 32 degrees remote, and 16 inch stryker barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel.
Strengths: Litterally indestructible.
Weaknesses: Its no very gas effcient.
Review: this gun is indestructible. I have been useing this gun for 4 years i never had a problem.When the gun is low on air/co2 it doesnt shoot very far which is understandable.You should buy this if you are a beginner it is very upgradable and easy to use
Conclusion: Its not perfect but its sure is indestructible.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

incrediblebulk5 Monday, July 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
mechanical spyders
Marker Setup: spyder imagine, 48/3000 hpa, eggy 2 hopper, and 14. in. proto barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline barrel, anti-chop, nothing else is necessary
Strengths: -Consistency
-Customizable
-Sturdy construction
-Power
Weaknesses: -Everyone owns this
-Stock barrel not that good
Review: I picked this gun up so i could have a solid back-up gun. Since them i only got two upgrades. The flatline barrel and anti-chop bolt. I have not had any problems with this gun and i played probably 7 times with it or about 42 1 hr. games. It still works like new and is consistent also. This gun really has no performance problems just is very common. It is pretty cheap, a strong build, and is of course customizable.
Conclusion: I recommend this for a woodsballer but only if you buy the flatline. It is a very good gun but it is a very basic gun and for about 50 more u can get an slg which is a better gun but maybe not as reliable. So I would recommend this to a beginner.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Codysutton801 Monday, July 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1
BT-4 Assault
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT
Tippmann 98 Custom CAR 3 Postion Stock
Tippmann 98 Custom Platnium Series Flatline Barrel.
20oz Spyder Co2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tippmann 98 Custom Flatline Barrel
Adjustable Stock
Strengths: Gas Efficient
Solid
Light Weight
ACT prevents ball chopping
Weaknesses: Loud
Stock Barrel has weak range
Shots tend to curve on stock barrel.
Review: The Tippmann 98 Custom is my first paintball marker and was the very first Marker I used when I paintballed for the first time. The Tippmann name has been well known for its top quality marker and this one does not disappoint, although it is based off a marker design that its 10 years old the Markers solid performance makes it a perfect entry level marker.

The Marker itself weights about 2.9 lbs has a black finish, It comes with a foregrip which is quite comfortable. The barrel is 8.5 inches and from what I have found has terrible accruacy, the paintballs would curve and hitting targets even 50 feet away was a chore. The gun is also very loud when you dryfire it it was a very distictive "bark" to the gun which can be a blessing or a curse. It has a great fear affect scaring players who are new but also makes it almost impossible to play stealthy with the 98 Custom.

So far My 98 Custom has had kno problems at all. I have fired close to 8000 rounds out of it and it has never chopped a ball yet. The finish on the gun also makes it very durable and hard to scratch. There are hundreds of upgrades for the 98 custom and it can easily be configured to look and perform how you want it too.

All in all the Tippmann 98 is still one of the better Mechnical Markers.
Conclusion: For an entry level marker this is a hard gunto pass up on. The barrel and loudness of it might turn some away but for most this gun will do just about anything you want it too.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pntballer911 Saturday, July 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder fenix
spyder mr1
Marker Setup: spyder fenix
evil bolt
halo
PE 3000psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
get a new gun
Strengths: It wont break
Weaknesses: Slow
Inaccurate
Heavy
expensive for what its worth
Review: Do not buy this gun go but another one any other gun except this one me w/ a tippmann and my friend w/ a recon went out 2 shoot and we found out his is more accurate and faster im not recomemding a recon but its better then a tippmann save up your money and go get a mini or pmr
Conclusion: Do not get a tippmann of any kind
i would give it a 0 but the scale dosent go down that low
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

bearcat126 Friday, July 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
lots of spyders, and View loaders
Marker Setup: Spyder TL stock
spyder compact deluxe stock
java 200 round hopper and 9,12, and 20 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel
double finger trigger
Strengths: Very easy to customize
stoc sights accurate
Weaknesses: Stock barrel a little short for my liking
Single finger trigger
Review: I used them gun as a rental a few times and it was bone stock. for a new player gun it is very reliable and easy to use. Pearsonaly it was a bit heavy but its very durable so its ok. THe rentals were used in a lime stone mine with frequent temperature changes and still shot acccurate.
Conclusion: Overall a great gun, reliable and strong
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Nicholi Byron Monday, July 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Stock 98 Custom
Stock Spyder Pilot ACS '05
Recommended
Upgrades:
Customize it to the niche that your looking for
Barrel (Though there is no rush)
Strengths: Sturdy
Reliable
Accurate
Weaknesses: I dont feel special cause everyone else has one.
Review: This review is highly reduntant. However, here goes. Buy this gun. Even if you like fancy Ions, protos, angels, Matrix, ect, Get one of these. This gun does what it does under nearly any circumstances. Woodsball is where this gun shines but with upgrades this gun can do just about anything.
Conclusion: There is no reason NOT to buy this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media