paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  77  |  78  |  79  |  80  |  81  |  82  |  83  |  Last
        Next Page
4tene Monday, May 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra 2004(TL-X w/ rear cocking) w/ Spyder Rocking Trigger, twisted volumizer, CP Medium Regulator, macroline fittings, Hybrid feed neck w/ adjustable collar and Delrin ACS bolt. Evlution II w/ Z-board, Bulldog 47 c.i. 3000k.
Strengths: Affordable, very upgradable, durable, reliable.
Weaknesses: Heavy, slow.
Review: I had to resort to using this once while I was awaiting my air tank. I don't really have any complaints about this gun, other then it's weight, and ROF(Rate of Fire) It was pretty heavy. But other then that, she was pretty good. She fired consistantly, never broke a single ball, pretty accurate, has a diagonal feed, so you can use the sights on it, open to countless upgrades, hence the name, CUSTOM 98, she was pretty comfortable, and doesn't look all that bad. I'm considering getting one just for the hell of it because of the physical upgrades for it. Make 'er look like a M16.
Conclusion: If you're a new comer, she's good for you. You can make her to how you like her.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 24th, 2005 at 9:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

98d Sunday, May 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other low end guns(spyders)
Marker Setup: 98custom
halo frontman LCD
Rufaus dog double trigger
pure energy n2
dye sicky grips
dye boomstick
warp feed loader
Strengths: The ease of customizing it,
Light,
Accurate,
Almost never chops paint,
Weaknesses: None
Review: I think the 98 custom is the greatest low end gun ever. I'v played in tournaments and anialated people with autocockers,ions,and impulses. I'v up graded it to where if i play woods ball it works great,and i play speed-ball it works better. the price is good. You can get a power pack for $170, or just the marker for about $140. Its a great gun for all levels.
Conclusion: GET ONE its well worth it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hilla16 Friday, May 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5>better
Spyder Rodeo>better
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine LED>
32 degrees 12 inch barrel
Kingman Delrin ACS bolt
Dye Sticky 3's
Tippmann 98>
Stock
Strengths: Solid build
Durability
Real looking
Many possibilites
Weaknesses: Too long
A little on the heavy side
Slow
Review: My friend gave me this gun to use, for about a month. I took it out and it was good, but at close range rec ball, it is kind of slow. Also, it was a little bit long. I just didn't feel that fast with it compared with other guns I have used. Other than that there were no major mechanical problems.
Conclusion: I think this gun is good over all and is a good buy, if you like the stlye of it.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 14th, 2005 at 9:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

set me free Friday, May 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
xtra a-5
Marker Setup: p8 zap mach 404 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
drop forward (exremely long) rocket cock , and definately a new barrel
Strengths: Well built and accurate , with the right barrel
Weaknesses: Slow and too basic for the price
Review: I have had it a while and im about to upgrade cuz i am not satisfied with this product . It is just to basic and by the time you upgrade you could have already bought an impulse or bko . It doesnt feed good at all and the single trigger is pitiful . its fun for a rec-baller that isnt obsessed with the sport but its my life and i dont think its all that great when you buy a brand new gun and you dont have the distance out of the box that an extra would and you cant even come close to shooting the 13 balls per second that everybody else can.
Conclusion: Ugggghhhhh get a rodeo or something you can play with out of the box , cuz you dont any distance out of it stock and stuff like that and after you upgrade it to where its decent you could have bought a high end marker.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

SlapshotXX Thursday, May 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders - cant even compare, spyders cant come close
Bruiser - not gunna even say it
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
J&J Ceramic 12in Barrel
Empire Reloader II
Psycho Ballistics Double Trigger
Psycho Ballistics Rear Velocity Adjuster
Response Trigger
PMI 68ci Nitro Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitro for sure, new barrel (the ceramic is NICE), response trigger (if you get the RT, get an electric hopper to avoid ball chops and a double trigger for convienience).
Strengths: RELIABILITY
upgradability
accuracy
consistancy
sipleness
RELIABILITY
comfort
RELIABILITY (seriously, its built like a tank)
price
Weaknesses: Not much, its not electric and cant shoot 30 bps, but who cares anyway.
Review: First of all, its my first marker of my own. Ive shot tons of stuff, and nothing compares. Sure, an angel will shoot with a higher ROF, but fields dont allow auto, and with response, it is faster than semi automatic. This gun has never jammed, and the above suet up has never broken a ball... EVER! The above set up is perfect. BUY NOW. im not gunna spend the time to write a long detailed review because there are already over 2200 of them, and you are not gunna bother reading it so.
Conclusion: IT IS SIMPLE!!!!!!!!!!!! BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!! and put in all the stuff thats in mine...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

igota98custom Tuesday, May 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
2k4 Bko
Brass Eagle Eradicator
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Eggy II, ups+
Recommended
Upgrades:
New hopper
New barrel
Double trigger

Note: The hopper and double trigger is all personal, so if you don't like them, then don't get them. However the new barrel is a must, trust me.
Strengths: Reliable
DURABLE!
Cheap
Upgradable
Very good gun for new people getting into paintball
Weaknesses: Design
Stock barrel
Clam shell design
Review: First off, the strengths. This gun is very, VERY reliable and durable. You can get this muddy, wet, full of grass, dipped in cement, even ran over, and it will work the way you first got it. This is the mecca of paintball guns for people who enjoy playing in the woods, and diving for cover in a pile of sludge. It is also very cheap so newbies can enjoy a nice, cheap gun to start out with. Did I mention this is gun is slightly customizable? Yeah, just a bit. This gun is so customizable, you wont see the same 98 Custom twice. There are so many aftermarket parts for it, you can just spit and you'll hit a 98 Custom aftermarket part.

Now onto the weaknesses. Face it, for a fairly cheap beginner gun, there arn't that many bad things to say. The design, which isn't the best looking gun for sure, is kind of ugly and bland. It's just big and black. Well this gun is for those people who simply cant get their gun dirty. Then there's the stock barrel...Oh man, upgrade to a better barrel, PRONTO. This should be your first priority. Now that that's over with, lets move onto the horrid design...the dreaded clam shell...Sure it's nice on a GBA SP, but on the 98 Custom...No, me and my friend tried to take apart this gun and whoa Nelly, took us a good hour. Of course we also took a good look inside, but psst, it's still a nuisance.
Conclusion: In conclusion, I say if your new to this wonderful sport of paintball, be sure to get this gun. It is a wonderful gun for newbies, and there are many, MANY, upgrades available as of now. It is pretty cheap, and won't break down if it gets dirty, wet, or even ran over. Only thing I advise you to do is, get a new barrel. Also, this is probably one of the worst ideas for a body, EVER. A clam shell design...Sounds nice on paper, but man oh man, It is so hard to field strip this. Actually, the term 'Field strip' doesn't apply to the Tippmann 98 Custom. It took me and a fried a good hour to take this apart, look at the innards, and try to attempt to put it back together.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

farva_007 Tuesday, May 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
model 98
Marker Setup: 98c, egg with y board, 20oz on/off, double tigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel,drop foward, rt or e bolt
Strengths: Compact, good bushball gun
Weaknesses: Stock barrel has little range
Review: ok this is my first review so if its not perfect tell me what I should do next time.
It comes in a cool box.
when I opened it up it was all packed it there nicely.
so i put in my 20oz and slapped on my egg and filled it up with paint.
I shot the whole hopper and none broke.
I filled up my egg again and shot as fast as Icould. I broke 1 or 2 balls, that is sweet.
I took it to a war and i rocked! I shot every one on the other team.
That could be because they all had pumps lol
Conclusion: It is a cheep, good starter gun.
I would recommend it to any one that is starting bush ball.
I picked 9/10 because it is not that fast.
Get a rt or e bolt if u want fast.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

crookedrain Monday, May 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Prolite, Pro Carbine, Carbine 68, SL-68 (all tippmann), Autococker, a variety of spyders, Palmer Typhoon, Palmer Blazer, Automag.
Marker Setup: Nowadays I mostly switch between the Typhoon and The Blazer.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: The key strength to this product is its solid construction.
Weaknesses: Flimiser construction than previous Tippmann products. Poor barrel, proprietary hopper design, idiotic ball detent, size.
Review: OK. First of all, I started playing in the early 90s (something like 91 or 92). My first game was with a rental prolite that was a complete champ. Since that first game I have owned everything tippmann put out including the carbine models and the SL-68 pumpers. I, like most other Tippmann fans, were looking forward to the new Model98 and virtually camped out to buy them as soon as they came out.

Unfortunately, the model 98 is a step back in design quality for the venerable Tippmann company and I know that I am not alone in my thinking since none of my friends own the model 98s we had bought. Virtually every one of us has moved on to a different marker because of our dissatisfaction with this gun.

To being with, the model 98 has quite likely the worst stock barrel of any marker above $75. It is a piece of garbage and in terms of finishing and smoothness it resembles a piece of plumbing pipe. It is wildly inaccurate and stupidly milled. It is the very worst stock barrel I have ever seen on a decent gun. Thankfully there are plenty of aftermarket barrel choices for it so you don't have to suffer through the stock one. But why is it that a $150 gun come with such a lame barrel? especially when the previous markers didn't?

The next thing that stinks is the proprietary hopper joint system. Tippmann has done the paintballer a great disservice here. If you break the hopper joint, good luck playing again. You are forced to buy a model 98 specific hopper. That's not cool and I was expecting something much more "poor paintballer" friendly from Tippmann.

Next up - this gun has the dumbest ball detent you will ever see. it is a piece of salmon colored rubber that gets chewed up in action and is easily lost when you disassemble your marker. It is also a huge annoyance having to put it back in when you screw the gun back together. This is a poor design. For a fantastic and innovative detent design you should check out The Typhoon. Quite simply the best. Heck, even the spyders have a better ball detent system than this marker.

Next up is the weight and size of this marker. If you wanna play speedball, it's not for you. Its rate of fire is rather lame (although the trigger pull has been dramatically lowered than the old tippmann marker) and it really is too long for such activities. If playing rec ball and in the woods is where your're at, then it will suffice.

Now, after I mentioned the annoyances, I will also say this. Tippmann is still a good company. They tend to stand behind their product and they do make a solid gun. It just so happens that the model 98 is the poorest gun they've made and it's a step back from the prolites and carbines.

It is better made than the likes of Tritons, Avengers, Marauders, etc. But it is not a better gun than a bottom line Spyder (except the plastic spyders which are pieces of garbage) and it is more expensive.
Conclusion: My final recommendation is for you guys to shop around and play with a couple of markers. If you like the model 98 (and a lot of people do) then go for it. I just happen to think that the older Tippmann markers as well as most Spyders (Xtra, Java 2-in-1, Compact, Victor, etc) present a better value.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 9th, 2005 at 1:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nicky Sunday, May 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
havent realy
Marker Setup: everything that came out the box besides an ice cold barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
none realy
Strengths: Great warrenty and its made realy strong.
Weaknesses: The second grip is to far away for the first grip.
Review: this is a good starter gun. i wouldent recomend it to pros cause its VERY slow at shooting.
another thing i hate is the second grip is to far away from the first so it makes it realy hard to aim.some realy good things is it is realy fun to use and u can almost customize it into anything like assult rifles.
Conclusion: If u have a little more money save up for a Trilogy.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IrishPipe87 Saturday, May 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
http://www.freewebs.com/sinners_inc/thepaintballers.htm

Check Shaun's marker list at the bottom of the site.
Marker Setup: tippmann 98c for the time being till i get myself my shocker.

Tippmann is currently all stock, and even though its not important, 20oz Co2 and a Halo TSA
Recommended
Upgrades:
... Im thinking of going for a J&J Ceramic, the Flatline I didn't care for, I don't need it to go far, there is always something to be in the way of your paint when your in the woods, and its not gonna make it none-the-less. Thats how I feel personally about it.

From what I have researched...
J&J Ceramic 12"
Rocket Cock II (Aluminum)
GTA Inline Expansion Chamber
GTA Double Trigger Kit , removing the trigger gaurd if possible?
Strengths: See review...
Weaknesses: It can be modded to look like a real gun
Review: I see no weaknesses with it so far, stock barrel isnt of my liking, but not many stock barrels are.

It feels a bit bulky compared to other markers I've held, but its not the heaviest, nor the lightest. Doesnt tell you much does it? Well. I don't see myself using this for s/x but more of Woodsball, or run of the mill scenerio games that dont require being real tight. It seems to have a strong body, one you can probally toss around, though I advise you shouldn't. Im not too comfortable holding the front grip and using one finger on the trigger, so I would want to upgrade with the double trigger, because one finger usually clicks to me as Im playing with a pump. Dont know why, Im just that way.

I've seen other reviews where people who down the marker more than likely because they're spyder fanatics, or hate this marker because its not they're choice for spped/x ball but, I've kinda been around using alot of different markers and I've played alot of scnerio and woodsball along with speedball and pump. I love this marker, its part of my collection now. The only thing I don't actually like about Tippmanns is that ehy can be modded to look like a real gun.
Conclusion: If your looking for a speedball marker, I would not recommend this, but if your looking for a easy woodsball or scenerio marker; this one works pretty well for me. Just get a new barrel, extra 40$ or more depending on your tastes. Now Im off to play a game of "Protect the President" :p
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  77  |  78  |  79  |  80  |  81  |  82  |  83  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media