paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  88  |  89  |  90  |  91  |  92  |  93  |  94  |  Last
        Next Page
Uma-PumaRasiu Friday, February 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Model 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
16 inch Empire Twister Barrel
32 degrees Remote coil
PMI 4+1 harness
Response Trigger (Rarely use it)
Recommended
Upgrades:
NOT Response Trigger thats for sure
New barrel
expansion chamber
Strengths: Tuffness
Durability
looks
sound
speed
Weaknesses: stock barrel (YUCK!)
wieght
Review: This is bye far the tuffest marker I have ever used. I have hit mine up against logs, dropped it, its been under water and it still works like new. This is the best, yes, I said THE BEST mechanical marker you can bye for rec/scenario ball. The A-5 is way overrated. This is the true marker of champions. This puppy shoots Ten times faster than I ever thought it would you can really spit em' out of ther. And I bet with a double trigger your could go even faster. Of course there are a few flaws to having such an awsome gun. This thing is heavy. I put a 12 oz on mine when Im not using the remte and it kills your arms. It's gotta weight like 5 puonds. But that doesnt matter because its awsome. It looks cool and is loud. It raelly scares people when there getting shot. I love mine I totally recoimmend this to anyone for rec ball.
Conclusion: THE BEST mechanical marker!!!! I'd give it an 11 out of 10 if I could
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

iliveforthis99 Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Modal 98, A-5, and Semi-Auto Spyders.

Marker Setup: 98 Custom w/
16in. Twister barrel
Car Stock
32 Degrees gel grips
Hyperstar bolt
Crossfire 68ci-4500psi
Custom trigger pull
Premier Pro Drop Froward
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, drop forward, grips and double trigger kit.

Strengths: Cheap, very durable.

Weaknesses: A bit on the heavy side, air hog.

Review: I have broken down this review in parts so as to go though some of the details better.

1. The 98 Custom:
The 98 custom is a low-end mechanical marker that uses the old but reliable blow back bolt design. In which case excess CO2 or Nitro gas recocks marker.

2. The Stock Parts:
The grips are made of hard rubber-plastic and a bit uncomfortable. I would go and get some gel or sticky grips to make it more comfortable.

Barrel: Two words, it stinks. You couldnít hit the broad side of barn if you were standing in it. The barrel is the first thing Iíd get rid of.

Internals: The internals are ok and not really necessary to upgrade. But if youíre thinking of using your 98 in any tournaments you might want to invest in an e-bolt. However, most tournaments donít allow full auto and some do not allow 3 and 6 shot burst . And if you canít afford an e-bolt, try a titanium rear bolt or a response trigger to be able to fire faster.

3. The Upgrades:
There are a lot of upgrades available on the market anywhere from stocks, barrels, grips, sight rails, triggers and many more. If you arenít going to upgrade this gun go and get a spyder instead.

4. Maintenance:
The 98 is very low maintenance, just a little oil here and there. Field striping is fairly easy, just unscrew the screws on the left side and lift the left panel up. I have never had to take mine apart at a field.

5. Durability:
You canít break these unless you try to.














Conclusion: For the price, durability and the almost unlimited upgrades you can put on it, makes this gun perfect for the beginner starting out playing out in the woods. Iím giving it a 9-10 just because you have to upgrade it to make it worth the buy.

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mazzlex Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine, Diablo Mongoose, Tippmann A-5, Diablo Wrath, Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: 2003 Tippmann 98 Custom
14" 2-piece barrel
Nitro Tank
Double Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everything Possibe
Strengths: Durability (wow, I've ran this thing over with a car)
Cheap
Weaknesses: No quality
Inaccurate (even with new $85 barrel)
WAY too popular
ALL STOCK PARTS SUCK
Review: Alright, when I was just getting into the sport about 8 months ago, I got a 98 Custom because I was told that it was the best begginer marker available. NOT TRUE AT ALL!! The first time I gased this thing up (with my 2-piece Xcel, because don't even bother with the stock one) it chopped like heck not even shooting that fast and it made me look like a complete idiot the first time I took it out to the field. Trust me, if you have the money to buy this, I STRONGLY incourage you to buy a Spyder, Piranha, Diablo (they're pretty much all the same) instead. You will be much happier with your purchase.

If you are willing to save up a bit more (or already have the $$$) I definately reccomend the brand new Diablo Wrath marker. This thing is just magic. It shoots 20 bps, it's totally beautiful and it has great eyes. It's just as good as any marker double it's price. The new Ion by Smart Parts is not close behind, but I would still reccomend the Wrath.
Conclusion: Don't waste your money. There are WAY better guns than this at its price and even better at just a few bucks more.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
23 Comments - Add Comment

i_lovesniping Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a5s, auto mags, spyders.
Marker Setup: Diablo wrath,crossfire 47ci 3000psi hpa tank and a richochet apache 2005 hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
basicly whatever you can afford or what fits your preferance example new barrel.
Strengths: Reliable
fairly accurate
nice looks
good upgrades
good durability
Weaknesses: Not that good with all stock parts
This is a rental gun on most fields.
Review: This marker is a good reliable marker. You can upgrade it very easily and it is very cheap, i got a power pack deal for $240 canadian. It came with a V force armor mask a 12 ounce co2 tank tools oil and a hopper.

If you want to really make this thing good you will need the following
-after market barrel
-compressed air
-maybe a new bolt
-electric hopper
-rt trigger

And if you really like shooting far you can get a flatline barrel and a stock and scope.
You can pretty much do anything with the gun. I highly recamend this gun to others.
You cant go wrong
Conclusion: a good reliable marker.
I hope this review will help you make up your mind of what marker to buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 15th, 2005 at 4:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

drum man 12 Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Victor 2 - around the same
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor II
Blitz 22" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
probably a new barrel
Strengths: Great quality, sight rail, very upgradeable
Weaknesses: It isnt heavy, but its bigger than others,
Review: This is a great gun, mainly because tippmann makes great guns. They're well assembled, and have some negatives, and some pros. I'll start w/ the pros - it has a sight rail w/ an offset feed, which says alot more than most of the guns on the market. It is quality, and it can take relentless beatin. Some of the cons are - it is bigger than most of the modern guns, but its managable. It really isnt compact either, ur arms are kinda far apart, but again, its managable. The worst thing about it id say is that its just kind of clunky. Im not saying that its a piece of crap or anything, it just could've been worked on a little. Thats the worst thing that i found. I can deal w/ these things though, and i hope other people can too. Its not a bad gun.
Conclusion: This is a great gun. It is kind of expensive though, so buying a spyder for the equal price instead wouldn't be a bad buy. It can handle alot of crap, n w/out a doubt id say its one of the most reliable guns on the market. Its very upgradeable, so probably any level of player could use it. Another thing i forgot to mention in cons would be the lack of a double trigger, and a longer barrel. For these reasons, ill give it a 9. Get it, the worst of this gun isnt bad at all. And with its ability of upgrading, this gun is simply amazing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fuerer325 Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-99, syder imagine although they're both better
Marker Setup: Automag everything chrome
X-Valve
all the ULE stuff
custom AGD frame with double trigger
forgrip
flame drop-forward
12rvy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new gun--it's not the worst gun but well i'll talk abaout it more
Strengths: Itis tough you can customize it but
Weaknesses: A lot of things i'm going to talk about it in my review
Review: All right this gun isn't the worst gun but for the price you can buy a better gun the price (130) isn't really bad the price but you have to immediatly have to upgrade: a new barrel the worst barrel i have ever had the displesure to use--------i was once ten feet away if that and just about hit my friend who was a little diagonal to me----- a new double trigger most guns that is stock but not on tippmans---- you could play like this but most people like dropforwards so get that----- then your ok but the peson who wrote the review under mine said they are accurate but not compared to a lot of guns he said there tough no tougher than a mag---- mag are like really really really really really nice tippmans but i would never compare my gun to them (i am not ripping on the guy below me if i came across like that)
Conclusion: Don't buy it, it perrty much stinks if you acctually get into paintball and play others with good guns you'll see that your gun will get ripped to shreds
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 8th, 2005 at 6:05 pm PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

daln-pb Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rental 98 C's
Marker Setup: Flatline
X chamber
RT trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel and for more accuracy an x chamber
Strengths: Durable as a brick outhouse
doesn't break balls
Weaknesses: Feild Stripping
But if your gun doesn't break balls what is the point!!
Review: I have had this for 1 year now and the durablity and reliability are awesome! the stock barrel is not that good, look down the barrel and it looks like the inside my grandads rusted out 57 studebaker muffler. What has to the best thing is going to the feild and seeing the guys and the rich kids with their angels and timmys and having them shoot at the chrono
and saying to me ohhh you have to rent a gun. ( I had the stock barrel at the time) And then
just cutting loose with the RT trigger and having them say,"Whoaaaaa Lemme see that again" All in all it is a very good gun for beginners and intermediates and a backup for the pros. The flatline looks kinda cheesy but hey how many barrels do you see that you can take out someone before they are even in range!!??
Conclusion: Great gun Buy today
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

freakballa Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, RT, 12v revvy, 20oz Co2, DOP Drop forward, DOP double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop Forward
RT
Double Trigger
Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Durable
Tons of upgrades
Accurate

Weaknesses: Taking apart is a pain
Stock barrel sucks
Review: After I got mine I shot it and I loved it, but the stock barrel wasnt all that great. So after I got some money I got the 14in Progressive. Then I got the RT. And then i got the Drop forward, and the Double trigger. Now the gun is awsome.
Conclusion: Stock or Upgraded, the gun is good, Sure there are better guns out there but if you dont want to pay $1000+ for a gun just get the tippmann 98 or the A5.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AngelinI Friday, February 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Angel 05 SPeed w/ Boomstick
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitro
Electro Pneumatic by PhsycoBallistics
Evil kit
reverse
hopper
Double trigger
Strengths: Great reliablility
Fantastic stock
durable unbreakable
goodlookin
Doesnt chop
Weaknesses: Dorky Trigger
Impracticle Trigger For The Tripper Happies
Review: Good looking nice handle in front for run and gun most cheapo guns dont have that. Very strong but takes a million years to take apart. drop this gun from 4 feet and its fine drop it in the snow drag it on the ground for a few days its fine. Theres nothing i dotn really liek about this gun its great.
Conclusion: I bought the gun used from my freind he used it quite a bit but it still gave me exxelent performance. Ide reccomend getting the gun used as many people sell these. GET THIS GUN FOR A STARTER GUN dont make a mistake by buying a piranah or spider get this


Fantastic begginer gun and higher level gun as well jsut needs upgrading. This thing barrely choped for me i did 900 rounds one day and it didnt chop once while my freinds guns where filled up to the brim with paint. Pretty good with the gas. Not too loud. Gravity feed hopper doesnt work to well when your walking this but of course you cant walk it until you get a double trigger . you want a good gun get this gun will last you long time give you fun days and sweet kills
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JimmyDean Wednesday, February 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
StringRay Ice II
Other BE guns
Shutter
Imagine
Victor
Marker Setup: Stock 98 Custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double Trigger
New Barrel = Stock is OK
Expansion Chmaber if you're wanting more shots per CO2/Nitro tank
Strengths: DURABLE above all
Very customizable
Nice dark finish
Easy gun to take apart
Price
Weaknesses: Not very many.....Stock barrel isn't great.
Review: I love this gun. Before, I had a BE Eradicator....... They don't even compare to each other - IN ANY FORM. I got my 98 from ActionVillage for $123.50 after my friend got his from the site. I was so excited to finally use my gun in a war. I picked off my friend (Yes the same one that told me about ActionVillage) as he was walking down a hill 20 feet in front of me...... The best part was: He didn't even see me! This gun is a very durable gun, like all Tippmanns. This is a huge upgrade over any BE gun! I'm getting ready to put aResponse trigger on this bad boy. The gun is very easy to dissassemble, and Tippmann provides all the tools required.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this gun to anyone who wants an upgrade to their game for a fraction of the price of a top-of-the-line gun. This gun will always be in my hands during any paintball war. VERY CHEAP.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  88  |  89  |  90  |  91  |  92  |  93  |  94  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media