paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  89  |  90  |  91  |  92  |  93  |  94  |  95  |  Last
        Next Page
evancooper Tuesday, February 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
angel speed, nexion, other stuff
Marker Setup: tipp all stock except a expansion chamber
j&j ceramic 12 coming soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
expansion chamber,
j&j ceramic
Strengths: Customizability
Pro shops knowledge
Well known
Weaknesses: None
Review: The gun is amazing it is so customizableI love it It is crazy soo liud that it scares people.
it is accurate but some people say they know stuff when it messes you up totaly the gun is allover geat the price is good but dont get the package the mask is crummy i would get a proto el switch mask 12 oz c02 and a gravity feed hopper
Conclusion: Get it and buy a expansion chamber it will save u 30 pucks each time u play it pays for it self within 2 times playing
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBX720 Tuesday, February 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
BE Avenger3
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Avenger3 (Stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
None i only tested it
Strengths: Most upgradeable gun ever!
Weaknesses: none that I saw.
Review: I only used this gun as a rental at Paintball Planet, but i liked it alot. This gun is the most customizable thing i have ever seen. I like how the feedport is at an angle so you can actually sight the gun, which doesnt help much in speedball but is a nice thing to have. I personally loved the gun. i think it may need a longer barrel but this gun was awesome.
Conclusion: This is a great gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

toy soldier Monday, February 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
marauder
Marker Setup: 98 custom and soon to be shoulder stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
any kind of shoulder stock
Strengths: It is simple to use, conserves everything that goes into it, it is relitivly light
Weaknesses: It needs to have its velocity a bit up for it to be deadly accurate
Review: I think that this gun could be used by a vetran or a newb but it is awsome if u get the right upgrades to go along with it. this gun never jammed up on me once (good buy if u ask me.) i figure if ur looking for a good gun and not spend alot this is a good choice
Conclusion: I think that this is a very good gun for any one it is very simple and deadly
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Evilcatt09 Monday, February 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rental Gun - Tippmann Pro Carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
32 Degrees Terminator 16" Barrel
Empire Reloader Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Defidently a new barrel 8 inch barrels are very unaccurate
Strengths: Cheap
Durable
Weaknesses: Have to completely take it apart to clean it
Review: Overall its a pretty good gun for beginners but it seems that you have to spend a lot to get it to shoot at a descent rate of speed at accuracy. When I play for a long time I get paint all over the insides of my gun and I have to clean off every part of it, and when you clean it all of it falls out instead of just being able to take out the bolt like other guns.
Conclusion: Overall its a pretty good gun for beginners but it seems that you have to spend a lot to get it to shoot at a descent rate of speed at accuracy, so you may just want to spend the extra money to get a better gun if you plan on playing a lot.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

speedy2k4 Sunday, February 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just about everything, low or high end
Marker Setup: Cobalt dust dm4, shocktech micro drop, cp on/off, steel braided line, 70/4500 crossfire lp, clear halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good barrel, like an all american or even just a cp, get a revy hopper and an expansion chamber will help alot
Strengths: Nearly invincible, decent speed and accuracy, has alot of options
Weaknesses: Not very consistant or efficiant, very cheaply made, kick
Review: First off this is a great gun for any beginner. it is hard to break and easy to maintain. has good performance for the price.

on the flip side.... it is around +/- 13fps over the chrono, it goes through much more air than similarly priced guns, it has more kick than other guns and it is very cheaply made and by this i mean the paint wears off quickly, the parts are of very low quality and not so great materials, not smooth on the inside, stuff drags and wobbles, etc. but despite this it still works and because of this there isn't much you need to do for maintenance. it's kinda like starting out with something that is already torn up, and because of that it won't get any worse i guess.
Conclusion: Well i would take a spyder over a tippmann any day because better looks, speed, efficiancy, just as many options, less kick, more consistant and nearly as reliable and low maintenance. but that is your decision. this still makes a great rental gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Revenge_kills Sunday, February 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, this is my first and only gun.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom w/ 32 degrees 16' terminator barrel, apache deflector hopper, and adco hot shot red dot sight.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recomend te 32 degrees terminator barrel because the stock barrel on the 98 custom is not so great. The other stuff on my gun is not need because the tippmann 98 custom comes with a pin sight which is great and the tank i got just for good looks.
Strengths: Accurate(even w/ stock barrel)
Lightweight
Doest break paintballs
no loading problems
great for beginners
Weaknesses: Loud
balls shoot allover in cold weather
stock barrel is hard o clean
thats it
Review: I think this gun is great. It is my first gun and i have not brought it back to tippmann yet. I got mine at a special store with a life time free repair guarantee. I paid about an extra $50 but i dont need it? This gun is great because you can put it on the shelf for a bit and when you pick it up and play it is a good as you left it. The stock barrel is probably one of the worst barrels that come stock. It is 9.5 inches and can bevery innacurate in cold weather. Also if you take a long distance shot it tends to curve at the end. The stock barrel almost never breaks paintballs, but when it does(about 1 in 40 shots) you can keep sooting great. The bad part is that it is very hard to clean. If you have a gravity hopper( non electric) it always loads through the elbo just fine and there are no problems. The sight rail on it is great because it can fit 90% of all sights! It is not the lightest gun but allot lighter than other gunns my friends have. This gun is great for beginners because it is a simple gun and it is easy to repair(if needed) I have had my gun for two years and i have only had to fix it once because my dad dropped it on a rock. I didnt even have to send it back to tippmann or go to the paintball store that i go to. If the gun gets shot it still performs great. My gun has been hit dozens of times and it still has not had a proble. I shot my dads gun once and he had to fix it. But hisgun was a fifty dollar gun at Wally world. The first thing you might think you need with this gun is a new barrel. You dont. The stock barrel is good enough for beginners. Even if your friends have 21' sniper barrels you dont need it. I got my barrel about 3 weeks ago and the gun worked just fine when it was stock.
Conclusion: I think this is a great marker and i would reccomend it to any one so i will. Every one must have a tippmann 98 custom, its on of the best guns ever.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jr4241 Saturday, February 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A5, syder victer 2, a couple of piranhas

I also have an impy which os way better then this gun
Marker Setup: tippman 98 custom whisper barrel and an impy
Recommended
Upgrades:
a barrel, like ........32 degrees barrels are awsome . i alos have a JJ barrel which is very good
Strengths: -Price
-Option to upgrade
-Durabillty
Weaknesses: -Accuracy
-Trigger pull
-Consistansy
Review: Stock barrel--The stock is really bad. It is inacurate, ugly, the inside is NOT smooth. That is the one upgrade the is a must.

Consistansy: is really bad (that is the main reason I brought an impulse) when ever I crony it the velosity can vary up to +or - 20 fps. Which is really bad.

looks - when I look for a gun I do not go after looks but I look for o good preforance. And this gun does not look that great.

durabillty is very good. And is is easy to get parts for it if ti breaks (mine never has broken)

speed - this gun is really slow. If you try to shoot faster then 2bps (which is prety had because the custom 98 trigger stinks !!!!) it chops balls espelly if you have a gravidy hopper like I did. This gun is super slow.
Conclusion: I'm going to give this gun a 9 because of its price (for me thats a big factor). I you have the money do not get this gun. For its price it is very good but like i said before get somethinkg nicer if you can. If you only have around $200 to spend on i gun then this is the one for you. But if you have more $$$ then get something else (like an A5 or a nice piranha or if really have lots of $$$$$ get a smarts parts gun they are really good.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cutom__98 Saturday, February 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann 98c with ,low pressure kit , dye excel barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Accuracity, durable
Weaknesses: Kinda slow, long
Review: This gun is great gun for beginers of all ages u can drop it , in water in the sand and it will still work great it has good accuracity with a new barrel and is very reliable it is simple a great gun works great with nitro or co2 and is good in woods ball and speedball
Conclusion: I would recomind this to neone starting out it is a great gun right out of the package
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Valde32 Thursday, February 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Smart part progressive 16" Barrel
R/T
Recommended
Upgrades:
Smart part progressive 16" Barrel
Strengths: Great for noobs
a lot of upgrades
Killer in the woods
Weaknesses: Eats Co2!!!
Review: I play in the woods. We all started out with VL's but we would have to stop becuse of problems with our guns. After a while we got tired of having to stop because of our crapy guns so we all got Tippmanns. Now since then no one has had a problem and we play for hours at a time. It will take a little bit more money then the average wal-mart gun but its well worth it. Its better to buy it now then later!!!
Conclusion: This gun is great for those who dont want to spend a crap load of money and want to keep up with the high-end markers. Remember better to buy it now then later!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SWAT2291 Wednesday, February 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
Angel Force 14" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Drop Forward
Strengths: Durability, Great Beginner Gun, Good Upgrades, Comfortable to hold, Balanced Weight, Good for woodsball
Weaknesses: Better For Woodsball, Long
Review: This was the first gun I own and love it dearly I even named it "Anglena: :P I usually play Woodsball and played a few times on speed its works well for both but better because of the length. But with a good drop it will improve speedball capabilities. I wouldn't recommend to get it if you already have a Spyder or something it would be better to get a higher end gun. Maybe an A-5 or something but I don't recommend the A-5. Because of the front grip it balances the weight on the front end. The upgrades are at a high number so I like it. Also great to make look like a real gun for scenario. Also very durable and can last with out a lube for a good while. I check my gun about every month though.
Conclusion: Beginner = Yes
Intermediate/Pro = No
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  89  |  90  |  91  |  92  |  93  |  94  |  95  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media