paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98 / Tippmann Custom 98

Tippmann Custom 98 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98
[ View Photos (286) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 3018
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The main feature is the ease of customizing the marker. The 98 custom combines all the great features of the model 98 with the ability to accept drop in kits for the Response Trigger, Electric kit, Flatline Barrel System, Double Trigger and Low Pressure kit. All of these kits can be installed with same tools that you use to disassemble the marker. We are sure the 98 custom is the most customizable marker you can buy.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  93  |  94  |  95  |  96  |  97  |  98  |  99  |  Last
        Next Page
goldengun Saturday, January 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99, dragunfly LED and stock imp, all these guns are better but nowhere near as reliable or upgradable (well, the imp probably is as upgradable.)
Marker Setup: Dragunfly LED
Prototype T-board
JAM bolt
Dragunfly reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel,
expansion chamber or regulator,
anything else you wan't, there is an upgrade for.
Strengths: Super reliable, super upgradable, and a super cheap price!
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is eight inches of poopy.
Review: I use to have this gun and it is sweet! I never oiled it for 1/2 a year and it shot perfectly.
It is perfect with co2, N2 or compressed air, and it can accept almost any upgrade you can think of. Tired of any of your stock parts? Get upgrades! Seriously I have seen tippmanns with absolutely NOTHING stock except the bodies, but the body looks good anyway! I would recommend this gun to any scenario, rec, or woodsballer, because you don't have to worry about batteries(unless you have ebolt) and you can put it underwater, bury it, and set it on fire and it will still work!(maybe, im not quite sure. Every time I'm about to try, a little voice in my head says "This is a bad idea" and i listen to it) I would not recommend it to a tourney player(like I am know) because of its size and lack of speed, although it is pretty fast with the ebolt and double trigger. But, if you invest all that money into a tippmann, your crazy, because you could get a far better high end gun like an impulse, which is almost or more upgradeable than this. But if you want to stick with your tippmann, get a new barrel on this ASAP, the stock barrel doesn't deserve to be thrown at people, let alone have paintballs shot at people. This gun has an awesome specialty barrel that only fits on it called the flatline(the A-5 has one too) that really rocks, look into one if you have the cash. Get an expansion chamber, or if you use compressed air get a regulator. I cannot stress the importance in a double finger trigger enough, it is only like 15 bucks and helps out your speed so much. If you have lots of moola and you really want to stick with your tippmann, get an ebolt or response trigger plus the double trigger, and look out world, killer tippmann is here!
Killer tippmann setup-
Tippmann 98 custom with ebolt, double trigger, flatline barrel, low pressure kit, and a collapsible combat stock. BOO-YA!
Conclusion: Great gun for beginners, and can be upgraded all the way to pro!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 15th, 2005 at 8:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cenok is family Saturday, January 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann pro-carbine
spyder xtra
spyder compact
spyder shutter

none of these guns felt as solid/durable as either of my tippmanns
Marker Setup: Kameleon Tippmann model 98
JMJ dropforward/trigger guard
12" smart parts barrel
double trigger
rocket cock
starfire bolt
Lapco rear velocity adjustor
Lapco site rail
32 Degreez grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
definitely a better barrel and hopper, and also a double trigger. The stock barrel did fine during the initial testing of the gun, but a better barrel will only better the gun's accuracy and consistancy. A double trigger will help make your trigger manipulation a lot easier seeing as there is more leverage on the lower finger groove. With all that rapid firing the stock 200 round VL hopper isn't going to cut it. You're going to need to get an electric hopper. I would recommend either a revvy or a reloader. Or if you got the big bucks, Halo loaders are way nice. the rest of the stuff isn't really necessary but you know everyone likes seeing a big list of mods. I also dont like how long the gun is, especially with a longer aftermarket barrel, so a good drop forward so you can bring the gun a little closer to your body is always nice. If you can afford it, an R/T kit would be really nice as well if that's your kind of thing but i personally like doing some good ol' fashion trigger pulling.
Strengths: VERY durable, accurate, easy to work on/customize
Weaknesses: A little on the long and heavy side but you get used to it
Review: ++good++
Out of the box, you can tell this gun is durable just by looking at it. This thing could be completely buried in mud and you could pull it out and start firing away. Customizing this gun is insanely easy to do also...an infant could do it. I was really amazed with the accuracy of the gun, even with the stock barrel, and with an expansion chamber installed, it's pretty consistent as well. This is definitely a great beginner/intermediate gun and is easily upgradable to a very high-class marker. With this gun being less than 150$, i definitely think it's the best bang for the buck.

----bad----
The only things i really don't like about the tippmanns is the length and weight of the gun. The balance is decent, depending on the size of your tank. Like i said in the recommended upgrades section, this marker is really long, especially with a 12" or longer barrel and a 20oz tank. So i highly recommend a good drop forward to bring the gun closer to your body for easier stabilization and aim. Other than that, no real complaints.
Conclusion: Overall, I would recommend this marker to anybody looking for a gun, whether he be a beginner or advanced player. Mechanically, nothing but plus' for this gun. so save up $200 or so for the gun AND ugrades and blast on those little rich kids running around with Angels bought with daddy's money!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kingof thecourt Saturday, January 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
a-5 pro carbine
Marker Setup: stock 98 custom
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel r/t and low pressure set up
Strengths: Accurate, shoots far, not bad on gas
Weaknesses: None
Review: I love this gun it has worked perfectly for me. I have only broke 1 paintball out of 2000. Its stock barrel is not bad but i will eventually end up getting the flat line. It never freezes up on me also. My old gun the viewloader orion froze up all the time it was a P.O.S.. Well i am gonna go play now ttyl
Conclusion: In conclusiopn i recommend this gun to anyone whether your a begginer or expierenced because it is just an all around good gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JJaxx Friday, January 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
rebel Extreme '02 electronic Not even close
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
14" J&J ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Very durable
Nice Feel
Weaknesses: shoots a max 10 bps
Lots of small parts
Review: Over all the tippmann 98 custom is a very dependable gun. I bought mine used but it was like brand new! This gun has NEVER let me down! When i was ready to play so was the gun. The only major problems i have found with this gun is that it will shoot a max of 10 bps unless you modify it to a vertical feed. The only other problem with it is there are lots of small parts interaly. They can get lost very easily if your not carefull. Other than that this is a very good gun for begginers and intermidiate players.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a dependable gun then this is it! I like this gun so much that i have two of them! You just can't go wrong with a tippmann!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jed Rubbington Friday, January 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rebel Bottom Line
Gt-2000 gtv1
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
j&j cemamic, jcs folding stock, GTA Sight, GTA Double Trigger,
Remote Line, 20 oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Besides that it is up to preference
There such a wide range of upgrades you could go anywhere with it
Strengths: Reliability
Customization
Customer service
Weaknesses: None
Review: I think the 98 custom is a great begginer and intermediate gun.
With its wide range of custombility you can turn it into a scenerio or even a tourny gun with the the right modifications.
Backed by great tippmann customer servicem, this gun is a great choice for your first marker.
Conclusion: Buy this gun, you won't regret it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hunter19 Friday, January 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tip. Pro Carbine, Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: marker, Dye excel 14 inch,
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrle
Strengths: Very reliable
Not much maintenance
Lots of up grades
Weaknesses: Not fast
Not very light
Review: The tippman 98c was the first marker i bought. It shot very well but the stock barrel is not very accurate. unlike other markers, though, you do not have to clean it much. It can also take a beating too. You could drop it in a bucket of mud and it would still shoot fine.
Conclusion: Good marker, reliable in rough weather.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mfmmassacre15 Wednesday, January 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
32 Degrees Icon LED
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c Tear Drop Barrel 20oz CO2 Extreme Rage auto Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel-Stock is ok but to short
E Grip- Slow gun
Strengths: Very Accurate, Durable, Good for woods play, Very Customizable
Weaknesses: To many people have them, Doesn't shoot very fast, Not tournament quality
Review: This gun is great for its price range. I had bought an Icon LED and all it did was chop, break , and would always have problems. I traded my LED for a Tippmann and was happy the first time I used it. Of course it did not shoot as fast but it was much more accurate and reliable. I did not have one probem with the gun. This gun is great for a starter player and is at a great price. It will not get it done in a tournament because it isn't tournament quality. I was very happy with the Tippmann and I still am. It is great but later on you will need to upgrade.
Conclusion: This is a great gun and is awesome for the starter level player. I believe it is the best gun available in the price range.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fundusglobus Tuesday, January 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom Stock- Just as good, a little longer trigger pull
Brass Eagle Avenger- 98C is a lot better
Brass Eagle Raider- 98C pwns it easily
ViewLoader Triad- Triad has a lot longer trigger pull, doesnt really compare.
Marker Setup: 12" Dye Excel
Vertical Adapter
Double Trigger
Side Gravity Feed (soon getting an Eggy)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Double Trigger
(Barrel Seems Fine)
Strengths: Durable
Price
Nice Trigger Pull
No breakage of the ballage
Weaknesses: Sort of a gas hog
Review: Barrel
The stock barrel seems fine to me. I guess you could always get a new one if you find the stock barrel to be bad. It is small just like any other stock. I got a Dye Excel although I would reccomend a JJ

Trigger
Definently get a double trigger. It will save you a lot of time as the pull is not very long at all with it. It is fairly easy to install. I just love the double trigger and can not stand guns with single triggers.

Vertical Adapter
This is another great contraption that i have on my 98Custom. With this there is no need for a hose. Your Co2 or N2 will screw in right to the handle eliminating the need for a drop forward. It also makes your gun feel a heck of a lot lighter.

Overall
This gun is an extremely nice gun. Many people call this a newb gun because so many people own it. But why do you think so many people own it, because it stinks? No it is a very good gun. Many people own it so you can find upgrades and replacment parts anywhere. You can also find the "quote:Ghetto fix". I think I read somewhere that some dude made a Response Trigger with a lego. Quite nice!
Conclusion: Rather Cheap Price wise in the PB World
Light
Lost of people own it.
BUY IT!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 27th, 2005 at 8:07 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jltpaintball05 Monday, January 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98
Marker Setup: tippmann 98c
flatline
rocket cock
stock
remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
flatline and a electronic hopper
Strengths: It is really reliable.
Weaknesses: A5 has more accessories
Review: I love this gun its been so good to me. Even tho i haven't had it very long. If u have a stock 98c strap a flatline on there and ull be amazed.I know i was. If u wont a gun that will last a long time u got to go het this gun.....
Conclusion: This is an awesome gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 12th, 2005 at 7:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kohlboy Sunday, January 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A-5
Spyder X-tera
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Doubble Finger Trigger
16" 32 degrees whisper barrel
Car Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, stock
Strengths: *Distance
*accesseries
*Not a gas hog
Weaknesses: * No cyclone Feed System
Review: It good for woods,speedball and the scenario games. so i think that this should be the first marker a newbie should get. there are so many accessories that u can put on this gun and just like its bigger brother the A-5 its durable, reliable and well built.
Conclusion: If ur new or old to this great sport the 98custom is the gun for u. It has the most accessories and is really a good all around gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (302):  First  |  93  |  94  |  95  |  96  |  97  |  98  |  99  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media