paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palmers Pursuit Shop A-5 QEV Kit / Palmers Pursuit Shop A-5 QEV Kit / Palmers Pursuit Shop A-5 QEV Kit / Palmers Pursuit Shop A-5 QEV Kit

Palmers Pursuit Shop A-5 QEV Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palmers Pursuit Shop

Buy Palmers Pursuit Shop A-5 QEV Kit

Paintball A-5 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palmers Pursuit Shop A-5 QEV Kit
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 19
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $20

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Larger 3/32 ID hose with Locking QEV, 3/32 UEF and 3/32 hard line. Complete & ready to install

This product made to enhance the performance cycle rate in the cyclone feeder system
Product Availability 
The Palmers Pursuit Shop A-5 QEV Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
S.S.Mario Friday, May 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regular Cyclone - Can't keep up with my rampage board
Halo B on my 98 - I've only tested it, but I don't like that it has batteries. I don't like parts that can fail separately. Also, it was loud as hell, even when I wasn't shooting. The one I used (don't remember exactly) kept going off kinda randomly. Not great for stealth.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, Rampage, Air-Through Dogleg, QEV, Apex or J&J full tilt ceramic 14".
Tippmann CP, Response, Cyclone, QEV, Apex or J&J full tilt ceramic 14".
Both markers use the same barrels, courtesy of a lapco adapter for the A5.
Strengths: Faster. That's all it does, really.
Weaknesses: Somewhat expensive for it's size, but much cheaper than a Q loader.
Review: The QEV does what it says. It quickly exhausts excess air from the cyclone feed, so your gun can attain higher ROF without becoming a blender. If you use a RT, or an Egrip, get one of these. Now.
Be sure the install it correctly though, I didn't screw in the barb tight enough the first time and it wouldn't work. After a little twist, it worked flawlessly.
I would give it a 9 for function, but it's price leads me to give it an 8. It's not outrageous, but for a small metal valve it's not cheap either.
Conclusion: If you have an Egrip, or an RT, get it. If not, don't bother. Note that the cyclone is good for about 17BPS, and a QEV cyclone is good for about 22. I'd go 20, just to be safe. Pushing the cyclone to it's absolute limit can cause problems.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

punisher9233 Thursday, April 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: A5, flatline, 3A 5000, palmer reg, lp kit, egrip w rampage board, various custom mods, palmer qev
ion, sp qev, sp progressive 16", quantam VL, 3A tank and accessories
Strengths: Does what it says
Weaknesses: None
Review: It does speed the cyclone rate of fire up. I have alot of upgrades and recently got the APE rampage board. I add the the qev with the board and with no tinkering it worked great. Then I uped my rof to 25 bps and put it in rail mode and played all day-never chopped a single ball. (used Karnage and Cryptic paint). The rail mode is sic-but you must have the palmer to keep up or its just a margarita ball blender
Conclusion: Must have if you increase rof over 13bps.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ttobler Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: low pressure kit
smart parts progressive barrel
cp regulator
Pure energy 48/3000 tank
e-grip with WAS board
system x dropforward
JCS double trigger
Dead On Paintball Rear Velocity Adjuster
Palmer Qev high flow
Strengths: Cycles cyclone faster
Weaknesses: Cone
Review: I can set my WAS board up to shoot 20 bps fully automatic and I don't chop one ball. The first time I shot it with the Qev, I shot 2 full hoppers fully automatic at 20 bps then I unscrewed my barrel to see If I broke any balls and my barrel was completely clean. I then checked my cyclone to see if their were any broken balls and it was also clean. I have used my gun to play several times since and have not chopped one ball. I was skeptical to get this product cause I read the review from another guy that has a LPK and he said that he has had problems with the mod. However, I decided give it a try.
There is a video on the the Wicked Air Sportz that shows an a-5 shooting 20 bps fully auto with this Qev mod. I emailed WAS to ask them if the mod was the palmer qev mod and they said that it was. so if you want to see a video of an a-5 shooting 20bps with the palmer qev mod, here is the link. This mod really works http://www.wickedairsportz.net/videos/a5video.wmv
Conclusion: I highly recommend this product. It is a must buy if you want your a-5 to shoot faster
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 22nd, 2006 at 11:55 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ego99 Friday, April 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 06 EGO 70/4500, freak barrel
TIP A-5 All American, X chamber,double trigger, drop foward, rufus bolt, QEV, e-grip(APE board) or R/T
Strengths: Greatly reduces ball chopping at high BPS
Weaknesses: Directions would have been nice!
Review: I've had the QEV HP on my A-5 For a couple months and have zero problems with it. I did have to look up how to install the thing on the manufacturer's website. I think some of the problems others have had are purchasing the wrong QEV or improper installation. If you run CO2 get the HP, if you have a low pressure kit get the QEV LP. I have an APE board and have had the A-5 up to 20BPS numerous times which without the QEV I couldn't do without chopping.
Conclusion: If you are pushing the limits of your A-5 with an e-grip buy the thing. It is only 20 bucks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skiedge1 Thursday, March 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Cyclone fittings
Marker Setup: Dagger Mk I:

A-5
3" End Game Stub Nose
JCS Combat Stock
CP bottomline adaptor
CP pro-rail
CP asa
E-Grip (with Rampage Board)
QEV


Strengths: Solid.
Simple.
Increases cycle rate on Cyclone.
Weaknesses: Installation.
Review: This is a very simple product that is a MUST if you are trying to shoot above 15bps. It performs exactly as advertised and increases the upper cap on the Cyclone cycle feed rate to 22bps. I use a Rampage board, so for me, it is a necessity. Even though the QEV allows for up to 22bps operation, I keep my board at 20bps, just to be sure I don't chop anything.

I agree with others that the QEV does its job well, and consistently. I don't worry about it breaking since it is solid metal, and the macro-line hose is much shorter and less vulnerable than the stock line. I also agree that installation could have been made easier, but they give you like 6" of macro-line, so I don't see how you could go through that much and still not get it right.

A couple of reviews state that it just plain didn't work; that it made the Cyclone not cycle. I think I may know why. The QEV is offered in both HP and LP models. I'm guessing they may have accidentally bought an HP model (800-900psi operating pressure) but were using LP (300-400psi) compressed air and the LPK. Therefore, the standard QEV (HP) would not cycle, since there just wasn't be enough pressure. This is such a simple, basic part, that I think this may be the best explanation as to why it didn't work for some people.
Conclusion: Very solid and well-put-together, installation wasn't really bad, I just think Palmers could have been a little more courteous to its customers and sent the part assembled.
Overall, if you have an E-Grip, even just a stock E-Grip, buy the QEV.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

InFeStEd Friday, February 17th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
68/4500 Angel air A.I.R Electronic Reg
48/3000 PMI Pure Energy
Egrip
Flatline
JCS Double Trigger
QEV mod
Strengths: Increased cyclone speed
Weaknesses: Confusing
Review: For those above who could not get it to work, had balls skipped and chopped, make sure you installed it the correct way

The QEV goes on the cyclone ram while the banjo end screws into your gun. If you do this, you should have no problems as all the qev does is release the air that is left over after turning the cyclone.

I installed mine and can now use my egrip at max speed with no worries of chopping. WIth the QEV, it is possible to get the A5 /w ape/was board up to 25 bps.

installation was confusing because it does not tell you which end to put it on and the macroline it comes with may be too long.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone wishing to increase their cyclones efficiency
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pobeshure Thursday, February 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock
Marker Setup: A-5, Low Pressure sys, Boomstick , Total Freak Kit, , WAS Equalizer board, JCS dual trigger, JCS red hot power tube, superfly bolt, Palmers Stabilizer W Lp kit, 68/4500 Crossfire on a Shockteck drop. Polished internals.
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Weakened performance
Review: Installation wasn't to bad. It would have been worth the time if it boosted the Cyclones performance, but it didn't. I was getting 17 bps while ramping with the stock LP fittings. After the QEV mod the feeder couldnt even keep up while in semi-auto (walking it around 15 bps).
I contacted Palmers by email about the problem, (to c if maybe I gotta bad QEV) but nobody answered my email.
Anyway I went back to the stock LP fittings, and are much better off.
Conclusion: I like Palmers other products, but not this one. I need to give them a call about this. Maybe I got a bad valve. Like I said nobody got back with me, so I gotta give it a 1 because it lowered cyclones performance... And yes the QEV is installed correctly.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 26th, 2006 at 11:10 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Sintek Wednesday, December 28th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5, E-grip, with Equilizer board. J&J Edge kit. Polished inside, with delrin internals. Tactical stock, F.O.G Specops quad rail foregrip. HPA regulator, 50ci 3000 psi HPA tank.
Strengths: Would be awesome if it worked?
Weaknesses: Doesn't work?
Review: Well, I got mine a day before I was going to play. I installed it, decided I should test it.
Got some air, threw in a few balls went outside, it worked flawlessly. Probably around 20 rnds through it? Put it away until the next day.

Went out to play the next day after conversing with my brother who I purchased one for as well on the installition of the little bugger. Was about to go on the field when my brother was test firing his A-5, and he stopped me and asked why the Cyclone wasn't feeding. I wasn't sure so I turned my grip on and fired a few rounds at the test sight. Shot, once, skipped two to three times and fired again. I wasn't sure, played with the velocity a bit, adjusted my reg, everything seemed fine. Took the Air off and dropped a few drops in my air line. I had recently cleaned my gun I knew everything was oiled, just wanted to make sure. Tried it again and pretty much the same thing happened.

I put my old banjo fittings on and she fired like a champ, not sure if I just got (two) bad QEV's or what the deal is, but it wasn't worth the time and money spent.
Conclusion: I would look elsewhere before purchasing one from here, or perhaps call and find out if there is technique to installing them and making them work? Your dollar, just here to help. Didn't work for me so it gets a 1.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

Hippiepower Thursday, December 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: A-5, palmer stabilizer and QEV, e-grip, relocator bar, r-5 hopper, 10" ultralight
Strengths: Increses cyclone speed by a lot
Price, its only $20 brings cyclone to 22bps
Weaknesses: None i've noticed except installation
Review: The QEV did its job well, it sped the cyclone up like it should have. There really isn't to much to say about it. The installation could have been easier. it was annoying to have to remove the cyclone and cut the macroline to install it. But the effort was well worth it.
Conclusion: This is a must for any electronic gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media