paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2

Kingman Spyder MR2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR2
[ View Photos (68) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first military style, electronic paintball marker released by Kingman.

Features removable stock, scope mount and double trigger.

Built to withstand the toughest scenario play.

Comes with anti chop bolt, a rechargeable 9.6v battery and a range of firing modes.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
thoffman49 Thursday, February 10th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: Rap4's M4/M16-
Butt-stock
Carry handle and scope mount
Tasco red dot
M16 assault rifled barrel
Apex barrel tip
Getting Bob Long Detents
Had Co2 hose line, broken
Viewloader electronic hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new hopper that is electronic
a new barrel, J&J is good, I use to use one, I would recommend a 14 or 16in.
a new stock or cutting the top off the stock one is needed to see down the sights
a co2 hose line helps to take some off the weight off the gun


Strengths: Looks great, 3 modes of firing
Weaknesses: Heavy, once the Co2 and hopper is added
chops a lotta paint
Review: Ok here we go-

I started this gun with a 14in J&J, worked great. Once I got the money, I bought the new Rap4 barrel and butt stock. Over this past summer I played quite a bit of woodsball. This gun is great at woodsball gun and can compete with 98c and A5.

This past Christmas I bought the carry handle/ scope mount and APEX. The gun with all these upgrades has good distance and accuracy. However the gun stills chops a lot of paint. Every third or fourth ball chops, so I'm getting some new detents. I really can't complain tho about the chopping, it never really bothered me in the summer. However living in the north makes the cold hard on the gun. When my gun wasn't chopping it was as good as any gun out in the cold, bad. However once i started to chop, it chopped a lot, The barrel would clog up and the paint would freeze very quickly. Heard the detents can help this problem so i'll give them a shot.

Conclusion: Overall this gun is good for people wanting to get into paintball, or want a good woodsball gun that is still cheap. This gun isn't perfect, but with a little time and money you can turn this stock gun into a pretty mean killer in the woods or in the field.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.Jigglybeans Tuesday, January 18th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 w/MR3 Assault Body
Tadao Circuit Board w/ Ramping
Warsensor Elite Tac Vest
Ricochet Hopper
Lapco 14" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lapco 14" Barrel
Spyder Fasta 18v Hopper
any hopper 20+bps
Folding Stock
Remote coil w/Lapco Slide check-this gun is already heavy enough. You dont need a tank on it too!
WRAP AROUND GRIP! Stock grip sucks! its very rough and doesnt seal well around the electronics inside.
Strengths: Built like a tank
Looks
Anti Chop Bolt
Fast ROF
Decent variety of upgrades available.
Weaknesses: Expensive hopper required!
Review: Im not going to complain about the fact that there are limited barrels out there for this gun because of the shroud the barrel goes in. There are plenty to chose from if you actually try looking. Not to mention, you shouldnt even question not getting a Lapco, and they fit on it. If you dont go Lapco, get a J&J Ceramic 14'' because theyre awesome and fit as well.

This gun is tough, and i mean very tough. Very rugged and built solid as can be. It looks sweet and can look even better with the right mods.

The only down side is that with the hoppers ROF maxing at 25bps, youre going to need an expensive hopper to keep up. If youre shooting fast with a hopper that cant keep up and a ball is halfway in the breech when you fire, the anti chop bolt CAN cause the gun to de-cock which WILL screw you over if youre in a firefight. Usually the antichop bolt will force the ball into the breech without firing it, then next trigger pull itll fire. Or it will push it out back into the feed neck.

I have my gun tuned down to only 15bps with a Tadao Ramping Board and im still looking to spend $70 just to get a hopper to keep up with that.

But all in all this is a cool gun and if you take the time to learn how it works and make sure you ahve the right hopper and possibly a few other parts added on, itll keep up with and Tippmann.

I play on a team with guys that only use Tippmann based guns. 98 Customs A5's X7's and I still take them out.
Conclusion: If you can get a good deal on one do for it. As far as I know they dont sell new anymore because the MR4 just came out. But this is a cool gun and I get a lot of compliments on mine. Its kinda cool rocking a gun that not many people have, only because everyone and their mothers own a Tippmann.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer1182 Wednesday, November 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT4 combat- rental
Marker Setup: spyder mr2
empire reloader b
custom duct tape grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote line or this gun is heavier than an elephant.
Barrel. and a quiet one. its a pretty loud gun.
electric hopper
metal feedneck or you will be buying a new plastic one every game.
Strengths: Firing modes, price, durability, looks
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is CRAP (imo)
need to buy a feedneck
The shoulder stock
Review: This gun is my first gun, and its pretty darn good!! I took it out for the first time last weekend after buying it used. It performed great. My only complaint about this gun is that you need an after market barrel to make it shoot farther. The stock barrel is pretty crappy... In my opinion. You will definitely want an electric hopper. Overall, great gun! Will update review when I play with my new 16 inch barrel on Dec. 4, 2010.
Conclusion: I would recommend it to a friend. 9/10 because stock barrel isn't very good.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 4th, 2010 at 11:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ryancichocki Friday, June 25th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used to use a spyder sonix as a beginer and boutht the sonix as a replacement for both speedball and woodsball.
Marker Setup: I have an evloulution 2 with a 20oz tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
red dot sight
Strengths: Rate of fire and looks
Weaknesses: It jams a lot if you dont properly clean and oil. You shouldnt use CO2
Review: I bought it off ebay for a good price and loved it. I used it on three seperate ocassions but on the fourth it jammed regularly. After I cleaned and oiled it it worked fine. The fivth time I used it though either the battery or charger failed so I have to use nine volt batteries and it works fine again. I would like to get a red dot sight for it and if you decied to do it to then make sure it mounts on a 3/4 dove tail mount or you will not be able to use the sight with your mask on.
Conclusion: I would buy it again but next time I would buy it new and make sure to maintain it after every use.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

reaptheharvest Tuesday, December 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS - This gun was more of a speed ball type, however it had just as many features as the MR2 (ie. burst fire, full auto, semi). Barrel upgrade was a must.
Tippmann A5 - From only using it a couple times, I love the A5, especially for the versatile mods. With a Flat Line Barrel you'll be laughing.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 with Eyes
-------------
Trinity Angled Clamping Feedneck
Spyder Wrap Around Grips
Viewloader Electric Hopper (Soon to be QLoader)
Pure Energy 48/3000 HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel,Feed Neck, Grips,Electric Hopper/QLoader ,HPA Tank, Stock
Strengths: Tough as Bricks
Very Well Balanced
Affordable
Easy to Clean
Side Feed
ACS/Eyes
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: I absolutely love this marker! I had a great first year with my MR2, ready to add some more upgrades to the gun.

Of course like most markers, the MR2 was shooting hot right out of the box. I played with it completely stock for about 3 times before I started looking into upgrades.

A must have for any marker I think would be a High Pressure Air Tank , you will have consistent shots fired off every time. A fast hopper and a new barrel would be the top other upgrades I would recommend for anyone looking to purchase the MR2.

Weaknesses
Without the right type of hopper, balls will get destroyed.

Tournament jumper on board may become loose which will inhibit your burst, and full auto.(This is a quick fix)

Stock restricts you from looking down the sights of the marker. ( Either buy a different one or hack off the cross piece on the stock.)
Conclusion: Great MilSim Marker for the price, the look of the marker will make your opponents fear you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ropeytwo Sunday, December 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
Completely Stock
Empire hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Faster hopper
New plastic feed elbow. Stock one isn't durable enough
Strengths: Durable, easily cleanable.
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: I bought this gun as my first marker. I got it all set up and fired a few in my backyard at a tree. It's loud, in my opinion. Due to the paint I was using, I had quite a few breaks. The gun was easy to disassemble and I was quickly back to wasting paintballs on a tree. I went paintballing at my local field the next weekend. The gun fired great all day. That night, I disassembled the gun to wipe off all the splatter. I went to tighten the feed elbow, and easily snapped it. Fortunately, I was able to go pick up a new one at my local paintball store. Again, back to wasting paint on trees.
Conclusion: I love this gun. It's so durable, if you took the feed elbow off, you could chop down a tree with it and it'd still shoot fine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bad_Company1 Tuesday, July 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
MR1 MR3
Marker Setup: 09 Proto SLG
Halo V35 w/rip drive
68/4500 Pure Energy Carbon Fiber
REDZ4+1 vertical harness woodsball
Karnage 3+4 harness speedball
Kingman Java Remote coil hose
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel and stock.
Strengths: Speed. its a Milsim marker with a trigger you can walk!
Weaknesses: Barrel ,Stock
Review: I used my brothers MR2 at my last game to try it out and was amazed at its speed on semi. I can walk this gun on semi faster than my 09 Proto SLG. The barrel is not very good it has ok acuraccy but not enough porting for those that like it quiet. I think the loudness of the barrel on a Milsim marker makes it seem more realistic and bada$$.The stock is pretty much useless because it isn't angled so you can't use the sights with a mask on so i just took it off and took my tank off the remote. Its is heavy for a paintball gun but it is VERY balanced out in weight. I would rather hit the field with this thing a 72ci steel tank and my halo than an unbalanced marker.
Conclusion: Get it but if you have enough money get the MR3 because it has an angled adjustable stock.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

G100S Friday, May 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1
Marker Setup: Marker:Sartparts IonXE
Hopper:Extreme Rage Overdrive
Tank:78ci 3000psi
Strengths: Very fast,
Weaknesses: The sights.
Review: This marker was my first marker and I give it two thumbs up. Itís a good beginnerís marker to start with. Itís got Full-auto, Burst, Simi-auto, you can change modes fast. It has a Military look and feel. Fun to play with shoots fast, never jams, and never chops.
Conclusion: This is a good marker to start with. I approve it 100%. It is quick and reliable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tom j burke Friday, May 22nd, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
2 years5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder pilot , spyder mr 1 - these guns are blowbacks like the mr 2 , this means you will see alot of ball breaks or chopping.
Marker Setup: Invert mini
viewloader vlocity
68 4500 carbon fiber
Recommended
Upgrades:
Force feed hopper
high pressure air tank
new barrel or barrel set
Strengths: Very stong gun
price
full auto
Weaknesses: Blow back type gun ( more ball breaks )
heavy
very loud
bulky in size
Review: right out of the box i noticed it was heavy. i took this gun to my nearest field and began shooting with it, right away i realized that this gun was loud, really loud. second with a normal hopper (not force feed) the balls do not make it to the chamber fast enough, this is one reason the gun will chop paint or miss fire, the third thing i noticed was the amount of frost that was building up on my barrel and the amount of snow cominig out of my barrel, this of course is becuase of the c02, this gun has preasure spikes all the time with c02, it will shoot 300 then 255 then 265, it is impossible to crono this gun on c02. the chance of balls chopping is also increased with c02. another thing i noticed was the accuracy (or lack of) with the stock barrel, a new barrel is highly recomended.

about 1 month later i added a new force feed loader and a new .688 barrel and high preasure air tank, the gun seemed to perform much better than before, the force feed loader keeps balls in the chamber ready to fire ( as long as the loader can load balls faster than the gun can shoot them) so there wasnt as many ball chops or miss fires. As soon as i added the air tank as opposed to the c02 , the gun was easier to crono, there wasnt as much spiking in the preasure, also there was no more snow coming out of my gun and the barrel wasnt getting frosty, i did find that this gun used a huge amount of air. when i put the new barrel on it helped to reduce the amount of niose a little bit, but the gun is still niosy, and my accuracy was highly improved.
Conclusion: Overall, i would only recomend this gun to somebody who wanted to play woodsball or scenario ball over speedball this gun is heavy, and loud and it does break paint even with the acs bolt, i would have to say if you want to consider yourself a serious paintball player do not get this gun, instead save the money and move out of the blowback and low end guns , and get a mid range or better gun.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Hoov Wednesday, May 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tacamo 68 AK, Alpha Black, Custom 98
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 with Apex
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trinity metal elbow, apex barrel and a remote coil is always nice.
Strengths: Looks good and shoots good.
Weaknesses: A bit heavy and the elbow is very cheap.
Review: I've been playing with this gun for a while now and I'm still happy with it. The cheap plastic elbow broke last year and I had to change it for a trinity elbow. My friend has the same marker and he always runs out of batteries on the field so make sure you keep it fully charged (maybe his battery is getting old). The apex is a fun gadget that I think looks good on the MR2 and will give you range (especialy when playing woodball).
Conclusion: Pretty fine marker that's worth buying if you find a good deal.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media