paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2

Kingman Spyder MR2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR2
[ View Photos (68) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first military style, electronic paintball marker released by Kingman.

Features removable stock, scope mount and double trigger.

Built to withstand the toughest scenario play.

Comes with anti chop bolt, a rechargeable 9.6v battery and a range of firing modes.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
HybridSoldier Wednesday, September 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo, Spyder Aggressor, Tippmann A-5, Tippmann 98/Custom
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 with Rochochet G2k hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger. Definately want a good hopper to help feed this beast of a gun.
Strengths: Solid construction. Easy to take apart. Fast ROF. Reliable. Compact.
Weaknesses: Kind of heavy (although I like the heavy feel).
Review: Overall a great product. Very reliable and well built. It looks bad As$ and this thing can take a beating. It shoots fast and accurately with very few ball chops. I love this gun and would recommend it to anyone who wants a good reliable gun for a reasonable price. Did I mention it looks cool?
Conclusion: Get 'em while they're hot.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nax_a_mack Wednesday, September 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Custom Pro
Marker Setup: '06 MR2 w. VL eVLution 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Need a hopper capable of 15 bps+
Strengths: Really Durability, Size, Affordability, and it just looks sweet.
Weaknesses: Weak feedneck, need to buy fast hopper
Review: This marker is the first one i have purchased, and i was totally satisfied. With a fast hopper, it is just wicked. The one thing though is that i needed to buy an expensive hopper, but the guns features totally made up for it.

It simply blows away all my friend's guns by far.
Conclusion: Works like a charm, good for your money's worth, great gun for everyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thedeuce Sunday, August 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine - doesnt compare...mr2 has twice the bps and this thing is built like a tank
Marker Setup: mr2 - stock; empire b reloaded, pmi n2 tank and remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
none so far, the only barrell i have visually tested to fit on gun is the J&J ceramics
Strengths: Stock included, built like a tank, very reliable
Weaknesses: Alot of barells don't fit, heayv -but I like them heavier, needs highend hopper
Review: I was very mixed up when I was purchasing my gun, i was on the market looking for a gun for about 6 months. I hate cheesy looking guns - aka the ion (i know its a great gun, very upgradeable but i don't think i would of been happy with it) and my friend hotlinks this gun to me. I couldn't find to much information about this gun, except that people that liked this style of gun snatched it up right away. I almost even changed my mind and bought an ion, but finally, after long deliberation i chose it and haven't looked back once. If ur not gonna be a speedball fanatic, and your looking for a more real military style gun, this is the one. Don't get me wrong either, it kept up pretty good in speedball (i'm still learning the tricky fingers and i need to make the trigger more sensitive).

In addition, i shot 2500+ balls, and not one chopped (using a empire b reloader) and my barrel was spic and span! I had no mechanical problems. Lastly, buy a remote to make this gun more fun....it'll be very heavy with out it.
Conclusion: At the end of 7 hours with this gun, it met my expectations and more

I'm going to give it a nine, cause its a great, durable gun for the price. The minus one off the ratting is because I never used high end equipment.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

holysoldier707 Tuesday, August 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing Really
Marker Setup: MR-2 Stock
Adco Red Dot Sight
20 oz
Egg w/ y board
Trinity Sick Blade Trigger

Spyder Pilot SE Camo
Custom Products 16 in
Custom Drop
12 oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket barrel
Air
Hopper
Strengths: Removeable Stock
ACS
Bps
Weaknesses: Barrel Shroud
No Front Block
Trigger
Review: The MR-2 is a great mil sim marker for the rec woodsballer. It has a nice feel, but is relatively heavy weighing at over 4 lbs. The bps on this gun is great even if you don't go 25 balls per second. Even going that fast the ACS on the gun stops the chopping of balls. I have experienced this first hand. The removable stock is great for accuracy on the field when you're dialing in on your moving target. Probably not the best choice for (because of the weight) speedball, but the stock can be removed for a significantly greater amount of maneuverability on the field. There is no front block for the addition of a volumizer or low pressure chamber. The double finger trigger is a little unusual and can take some getting used to if you are used to rocking a blade trigger. Finally, the barrel shroud is a major downgrading part of the marker as it prevents the usage of barrels that fatten at the base of the barrel thus limiting the field of aftermarket barrels.
Conclusion: The MR-2 is a great marker for the paintballer that plans to be a woodsballer. Other than weaknesses this gun has, this gun is a great one right out of the box. I give it an 9 because I don't like the shroud preventing the barrels.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 10th, 2006 at 5:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

badmagic Monday, August 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Prolite, 98, and A5
Numberous Spyders and Clones
Autocockers
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
APEX Barrel (match made in heaven)
Halo B Hopper (must have to keep up with high rate of fire)
Intimidator Ball Detents (must have for force driven hoppers)
12 oz. CO2 Tank or
Compressed Air 72/3000 psi tank with Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
The APEX barrel is a must have for any scenario or woods ball player. Adds insane range and the ability to make tricking shots.
Must get new ball detents if you plan on using a force loading hopper.
Maybe new grips too.
Strengths: Comes with stock
25 pbs
ACS bolt
Sigth rail
Low Cost
Weaknesses: Loud (ok for woods ball)
Heavy (ok for woods ball
Review: I have always played woods ball and scenario paintball ball but I never had the gun for it. I was using a basic speed ball gun instead. I always got by but was never really happy with what I had. My friends and family had tippmann's all decked out and looking real so I wanted something similar. Even though my gun shot fast and I could shoots ropes of paint that they couldn't I always wanted a more real feeling gun. Since everyone had Tippmanns and I thought Tippmann was the only ones who produces good woods ball guns I figured I get one. However, a couple months ago, Kingman had ads in every paintball magazine about their new line of MR guns. I did some reading and research on them and was very interested in getting one. I had owned many spyders and spyder clones before and was happy, plus I didn't want to get the same gun everyone else already had. So I sold my speed ball gun and got the MR2. I decided to go with the MR2 over the MR3 because I felt the much higher price of the MR3 was justified for only a couple changes.

I bought my MR2 off of ebay for $150 brand new in the box. I had already purchased a APEX barrel for my lost gun so I just added it to the MR2. What a match made in heaven! Short APEX barrel with the Uzi like body of the MR2, awesome combination! Since I already owned a HALO B hopper from my speed ball gun I decided to purchase new ball detents. I read online in many review here that the stock ball detents were weak if using a force driven hopper and that new ball detents would need to be purchased. I bought some and replaced the detents and I'm very happy!

The gun shoots great, fast, accurate, and feel amazing! With the added APEX barrel and HALO B hopper I've never been happier!
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this gun to anyone looking for a low cost and high performance scenario gun. The tippmann 98 and A5 have nothing on it, the MR2 cost less and comes fully upgraded.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Extropian Thursday, July 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
Pro-Carbine
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder MR2
Empire Reloader
50ci 3000psi JT HPA tank
14" J&J Performance Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
* Aftermarket barrel that fits such as J&J Ceramic or CMI Tru-Flight
* Fast Electronic Hopper
* New Feedneck. CCM is releasing a feedneck adapter for the MR series.
Strengths: * Built like a tank
* High rate of fire
* Ergonomic Mil-Sim look & feel
* Versatile performance
Weaknesses: * Heavy vs. all plastic markers
* Volumizer shroud limits barrel options
Review: The first thing I noticed while handling the new MR2 is the ergonomic design. With one hand on the triggerframe and the other on the foregrip the weight of the gun balances nicely between the tops of my two hands (with or without the included stock) and it feels natural to hold and aim. The MR2 is almost entirely metal and has a very solid feel to it. I mention this because I notice that many guns bred for mil-sim are replicas of guns that were never meant to be rigged for paintball so end up feeling awkward. The MR2 is a paintball marker first and a milsim second.

I've tried running the MR2 on both Co2 and HPA and it functions fully with either, though I would recommend using HPA if you plan on firing quickly. After a volley of quick shots testing out the burst and auto modes the metal was frosted over and sweating, though the gun never froze up on me (I did this test on a hot day). With HPA I was able to fire with impunity and at times outran my hopper, forcing me to recock. I test-fired a case of Brass Eagle Monster Balls and did not chop or break any balls with either Co2 or HPA.

One problem I had was when bringing the gun into the local field to be chronographed I could not adjust velocity beneath 300fps. I ended up trimming the spring to get it to code which wasn't a problem but I had to order a spring kit so that I can swap it out in colder weather. After the quick snip the gun adjusted fine.

At the field I used about 1500 rounds of the brass eagle paint (it was on sale =)) and again had no breaks or chops throughout the day. On the field (woodsball and speedball) I did not outrun my hopper and fired bursts pretty consistently throughout the day. The shoulder stock is comfortable and aids aiming in woodsball fields but got in the way during speedball. It is held in with a single screw that is quickly detachable with the allen wrench. The field was predominately Ion and other E-spyders as well as a few higher-ends like shockers and the MR2 held its own very well.

The MR2 comes wil a relatively good 12" stock barrel but like any stock I was quick to seek a replacement. The volumizer shroud won't fit fat end barrels, like other reviews have mentioned, so it can take a bit of research to find what barrels will fit. I equipped mine with a 14" J&J Ceramic which dramatically increased accuracy and reduced sound (the stock barrel is quite loud). I'm also told that the barrel self-cleans through breaks but I've yet to see this since I've not chopped or broken a ball yet with this gun, despite only buying the cheapest paint I can find. Another friend of mine with an MR2 has opted for a CMI Tru-Flight barrel.






Conclusion: All-in-All I am very satisfied with the MR2. If you want a dependable electro with a stylish metallic military body that can hold its own in any type of paintball game and comes standard with nice features so you don't have to sink an arm and a leg into upgrading it: try it out.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 27th, 2006 at 10:51 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

alex343 Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
viewloader orion, the mr2 is WAY better then the viewloader
Marker Setup: stock for now, extreme rage "overdrive" 11 bps, gonna buy a better hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
FASTER LOADER/HOPPER

red dot sight, scope, maybe a flashlight for fun

better elbow

remote air system
Strengths: fast
accurate
no moving parts on outside
acs is VERY GOOD
removable stock
Weaknesses: A little heavy, comes with cheap elbow but w/e
Review: this gun is amazing! the first time i used it in the backyard with my overdrive hopper on 3 round burst it chopped, but it didn't jam! IT EXPELLED THE BROKEN SHELL! i didn't have to clean it out! with my other gun i would have had to take the gas off and take it apart, but with this one you have to dry fire one or two shots! it was amazing...i shot at the tree on semi auto,15 yards away with the spring loosened all the way and it RIPPED OFF BARK! i think ill have to use the gun more to get the spring looser, but for the first several games you might have some trouble getting past the chronograph. and what more? you can tighten the spring another inch or so. o.O but the only flaw is that you cant adjust the burst or auto rates of fire. if you are going to use this gun, you HAVE TO HAVE a fast hopper. the manual even says to get a hopper that can go faster than 13 bps!

the way the electronics work on this gun is nice, the switch on the back of the grip has SEMI, BURST, and AUTO. on semi, you pull the trigger and it releases one round. on semi, it will only fire for however long you hold it down, enabling you to fire 1, 2, and 3 round bursts. on full auto you can also shoot 1, 2, 3, 4, etc round bursts.

it also has a field strip pin so you don't have to have a tool on you at the game to take it apart, but to adjust the spring and take the stock off you need one of the allen wrenches.

its nice because it comes with the three sizes of allen wrenches that you need, 2 or 3 o-rings, and two extra screws.

the manual is very helpful and tells you everything you need to know.

the rail on the mr2 is nice and can hold a sight or scope.

***UPDATE*** i found out how to make the trigger pull shorter, take the smallest wrench and look above the trigger. tighten it to where you feel its best. it takes some calibration work but when you get it right the normal 1 1/2 millimeter pull is reduced to a 1/4 millimeter pull! now the 25 bps will be easier to achieve.

***update*** i went to a field and rented a 3000 hpa tank and shot 10 bps on semi and the gun uncocked itself! its annoying when youre firing fast and have to recock. its also more accurate with hpa
Conclusion: this gun is almost perfect. ill give it a ten for ripping bark off the ugly tree in my backyard =D
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 31st, 2006 at 12:24 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dave33 Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader orion,Tippman A-5,Spyder e-99
Marker Setup: Spyder Mr2, 14 inch Trinity barrel, red dot, empire diamond shell black special edition,
Recommended
Upgrades:
should should play with nitro for this marker. You need an electronic loader and a new barrel
Strengths: Light,accurate,silent,3 mode shot(semi,burst,auto)never chopped a ball,very performing.
Weaknesses: There is not really a weakness but you need a loader to feed 25 bps.
Review: this product is astonishing. After playing with a viewloader and a a-5, this gun rocks. I played for about 6 month with an A-5 and i tried the mr2 and the mr2 is so much more exiting to play with. the stock barrel rocks and is accurate for a stock barrel. the gun is very silent. The mr2 weights like a feather beside the a-5. What is great about the mr2 is that you can play recball(it looks like a milsim) and you can play speedball(25 bps).
Conclusion: This product is so good nd looks like the best gun out in low end. Buy it cause you wont be deceive. This gun rocks. KINGMAN rules.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alex govo Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor 2
Marker Setup: MR2, halo B loader, and Hotshot red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B loader!!!!
Strengths: Very Durable, Affordable, Versitile, Efficient. Side Feed, and the ACS
Weaknesses: Requires expensive hopper to shoot the 25 ball a second limit
Review: The Mr2 is fun to use. i love this marker. it is my first e marker. When i first got it i shot 500 rounds threw it. my cuzz told me about it, i shot his and instently i loved it. i mainly use the full auto, but the 3 shot birst is awsom!!! when u shoot it its kind of like a shot gun, great for close range. i have been practicing with the semi auto and can get it going fast
Conclusion: i think if u want a fast and strong gun that does not cost too much $$. GET THE MR2
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 24th, 2006 at 11:23 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nightshadepaint Friday, July 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
piranha R6, viewloader evolution 2 hopper, brass eagle stingray
Marker Setup: stock spyder mr2, currently borrowing friends egg hopper,
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would get a q-loader system, remote coil, thats bout it
Strengths: acs, fast ROF, looks awsome, accurate for an electronic gun.long battery lenght
Weaknesses: You to break in bolt, You need a good loader to use fully auto
Review: This is the best thing i have ever used. since i have got it my paintball play has inproved much. i love this gun and i would recommend it to anyone who loves the sport of paintball esspecially bushball or scenario. the one thing i dont really enjoy about this product is that kingman has no support for this gun online. They dont say how to take the bolt assembly out of the gun because i would like to know if i did if the snap t would fall out
Conclusion: This gun is killer fast and it works .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media