paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2

Kingman Spyder MR2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR2
[ View Photos (68) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first military style, electronic paintball marker released by Kingman.

Features removable stock, scope mount and double trigger.

Built to withstand the toughest scenario play.

Comes with anti chop bolt, a rechargeable 9.6v battery and a range of firing modes.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
new_Faction64 Sunday, July 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-R
Marker Setup: MR2
J&J Ceramic 12" Barrel (NO LONGER IN USE, DEFECTIVE)
20oz CO2
Ricochet Apache
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Fast hopper
Strengths: -See Below
Weaknesses: -See Below
Review: Overall excellent gun. It easily beats out any gun in it's price range because of it's features, looks, and tough design. A-5's got NOTHING on this! It comes w/ an e-trigger, so you don't need to pay $100 more for one, unlike the A-5.


Strengths:
-Great looks, fun to shoot
-Stock e-trigger, and FAST
-Accurate out of the box
-VERY fast, 13BPS in full auto, 25BPS (max) in semi
-very light trigger, easily adjustable, easy to walk!
-VERY long battery life.
-ACS bolt, delrin, very light bolt! ACS works.
-Stock comes w/ gun, very strong and nice stock.
-Sight rails
-easy maintinence, as in don't need to oil bolt!!
-Easy firemode switching
-Many removable parts if you want less weight, like the side panels, the foregrip, and the shroud.
-THIS GUN ROCKS, so fun to play with.

Weaknesses:
-Heavier, I gotta admit, it's a heavier marker, BUT once I buy a remote, and use my stock more often, I expect the weight to be easier b/c of the stock.
-Exposed area behind bolt (ONLY WHEN STOCK NOT ON)
-First few times I put the stock on, peices of paint or coating came off of it, and went into the marker, that was annoying
-Stock spring was too tight, velocity came out to be too high, but I got a differnet spring for cheap
Conclusion: I honestly love this marker. I had problems at first, but later discovered it's because I had a defective J&J Ceramic barrel on it, that made PBs catch on the back end of the barrel and burst. Now I have 0 problems. This gun rocks, read the strengths in my review.

Great marker, I'd encourage others to seriously compare it to the A-5, it's got the goods.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow_Lang Thursday, June 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
NOthing but the Imgane.
Marker Setup: Ion
Stiffi
Blue Body Kit
Blue Halo B w/ rip
Blue CP reg
Blue Q Lock
Blue Line/hose
Virtue + Membrane
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel. Scope.
Strengths: Fast, Durable, easy trigger pull.
Weaknesses: Not much. Weight.
Review: This is a very good gun but the weight makes takes the raiting go down because it really is that heavy another good gun like thiis but not as heavy is the Imagine. This is a good gun don't get me wrong but if you are looking to be fast don't get this.
Conclusion: Just heavy wich makes me give it an 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dan_O Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98/ No comparison
Marker Setup: MR-2 /Revvy, Gravity Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast Hopper that force feeds
Strengths: Accurate, Fast, Looks Cool, Easy access to E-Grip controls, Perfect for woodland enviro
Weaknesses: Have to remove stock to clean
Review: Awesome for woodland, Milsim type games. I found that for burst fire just a simple gravity Hopper was sufficient. In full auto however after about 10 or 15 balls, you had to
give a little shake to fire full out again. After playing a full day I came to realize that man
this is an awesome gun. A little loud but I kinda liked it.
Conclusion: Overall good marker, good enough barrel, and the best part you don't need to buy any
upgrades except for a good hopper wich you should have for any gun you may own.
I definitely recommend this Marker to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

G.H.O.S.T Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
MR1
Marker Setup: PRIMARY: Spyder MR2, Armotech tactical sling, new feeder neck, Extreme Rage 180 rnd. hopper, 48 ci 3000 psi air tank

SECONDARY: Warsenor WSP paintpistol, Armotech tactical holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feeder neck, the stock one is to big and the hopper will sit way to high on the gun,
remote coil if u r using HPA cuz' the tank will be longer than the stock, fast loader to keep up w/ the speeds of shooting
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review:
STREGTHS:
great air efficiancy
cool looks
really fast
stock barrel is good enough
ACS bolt (delrin)

WEAKNESSES:
stock feeder neck
lot of time to take apart to fix (bad for u people who like to play 24/7)
trigger wobbles from side to side
u have to take apart the whole gun and tighten everything because the machines that made this gun put them to loose
not alot of upgrades 4 it (yet)







This is a great gun overall. it has a few weaknesses dragging it down but some more to bring it up. This thing has remarkable air efficiancy (can't say how many shots i got from my tank but i had 2000 psi left and it dropped down to about 500 psi after 2 hours of shooting) plus it shoots around 25 bps if u have a fast hopper. the manual isn't all that descriptive, it just shows u some of the parts and doesn't show were to put them (most don't show). the stock barrel is near perfectly milled and spot-free, and in mine i couldn't notice any machine marks on the inside. this gun is very accurate if ur using some fair paint, (i use the $50 cases) plus it won't chop any paint because of the anti-chop bolt(i stuck my finger in the breech and shot a few times and nothing happened.) The 1 really weird thing about this gun is that my freind bought one after i did and our barrel plugs were completly different(all though it wasn't that bad because the still both work.) This gun is great for woodsball(just don't go near any water-like substance or air-born particles because it will go into your grip frame do to lousy grip frames(get new ones as soon as they come out or when the're available) but this gun isn't all that great for speedball, it's insanly huge and renders as a huge target, but it still works if u get a small hopper and remote coil to reduce size.
Conclusion: This gun is greatfor any woodsball fan (and speedball if u got some extra $$$) that is a low cost marker(i found it for $280 canadian) that still is very high quality and comes with alot of great features and a high ROF. I'm giving this gun an 8 because it's not insanly great and nothing's perfect.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

DarkRifleman Saturday, June 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
72/3000 Pure Energy HP Tank
Halo B Electronic Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, HP Tank, Loader capable of 20+ bps, New Ball detent
Strengths: Easy to use
Cheap
Relatively fast
Uses both CO2 and Nitro
Plugs into the wall
Weaknesses: Heay as a blue whale
Stock detent is horrible
Eyes are better than ACS
Review: Ive been paintballing for almost 2 years now. The Spyder MR2 was my first E-Marker, and i was very impressed with it. The MR2 comes with a detachable stock, which only adds to the weight, but still a nice little upgrade anyway. There are 3 firing modes on this marker. Semi automatic, 3 shot burst, and Full automatic. The full auto is capable of 11-13 bps. And in Semi, it is capable of 25 bps but there is no way you can pull that fast. I can get mine up to about 15-16.
This gun fires fairly well. I have shot about 2.5 cases with this marker, and I havent had any balls chop yet. Yes, one or two have busted in the barrel, but its not really chopping.
There is, however, the problem with the double feeding. With the stock ball detent, this gun will double feed once or twice out of every hopper. I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THAT YOU GET A NEW DETENT. You will thank me. Also, this marker is extremely heavy. i think with a full hopper, tank, and the stock, This gun will end up weighing anywhere between 7-10 pounds, depending on your hopper and tank. But once you get out onto the field, you dont notice the weight very much.
And also, this gun has sort of a tactical feel to it. It looks like an assault rifle. How can you not love that? Its even got the M16 style cocking bolt.
Conclusion: This is a great marker for anyone. Woodsballers and Speedballers alike can use this marker. besides the weight, there isnt much you can hate about this gun. I would reccomend this gun to everybody. you wont be dissapointed. I give the Spyder MR2 an 8 out of 10
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

guitar_kid99 Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
bt-4 combat
98 custom
Marker Setup: MR2, Eggy, jt usa elite mask, 4+1 harness, indian trails pods, smart parts progressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel
remote line (get one that works
fast hopper of 15+ bps
better elbow
Strengths: Durable.
Sweet look.
The stock can be taken off for speed ball.
Stocked sight rail.
Weaknesses: Weight.
Detents can be wrong at times.
Barrel shroud.(can be taken of though)
Review: Great gun all around. The stock is detachable for speed ball. It is durable for woodsball and scenario games. The weight is a pain. I recommend a remote line that works. An after market barrel is nice too. Trigger has a sensitivity adjuster. But one bad thing is that kingman doesnt send an allen wrench big enough to fit the screw for the stock. So be prepared to buy some allen wrenches too. And many people will say this gun chops even with the anti chop bolt, but out of 6000 balls I have chopped only one and that is because my hopper wasnt on. Other people have complained about there barrel not fitting right though the shroud and how they wasted there money. The shroud CAN be UNSCREWED form the body and this DOES NOT void the warranty.
Conclusion: Great product for its price and durability is great. This is a great starting gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 17th, 2006 at 7:37 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Angel7723 Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have only used this and the Imagine as a low end electronical marker.
Marker Setup: Ion
Blue Body kit
Blue Ion Q lock
Stiffi barrel
Halo B w/ Rip drive Blue (had an Empire reloader not the reloader B)
Blue CP reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much but a scope if you play woods ball
Strengths: Almost everything
Weaknesses: Nothing much
Review: This is a good gun when I tested it at a store with my friend when he was getting his MR1 I tested the MR2 and the MR1 and the Tippman 98 Custum even though I used it when I rented. This is a very good gun all you need to do is modify the trigg. and you will do good with the gun. You should anly use the stock if you play woods ball if you play speed ball don't use the stock it really gets in the way. My other friend told me that and when I tested it in action but my other friend bought the MR1 and this other guy bought the MR2 and I tried it in action and I tested it in the store.
Conclusion: Good
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

PBfreakme Thursday, June 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo, Spyder Pilot ACS, Spyder compact, and lots of others
Marker Setup: Currently I use a Smartparts ION with aftermarket Bolt, Dropforward, and aftermarket Circuit board.
Strengths: Heavy duty, No external moving parts.
Weaknesses: Side feed problem, Ball detents no good.
Review: It's funny because I was sitting right where you were when I was thinking about buying the MR2, but I think you should hear some things first that you won't find elsewhere.
I purchased the Marker from an online site. Got it in 4 days (not bad). I opened it up and was very impressed with it's looks. I must say it really does look cool. So I put the buttstock in (you have to use an allen screw which in turn scrapes the buttstock) and I found out quickly that,though functional, it was not comfortable and I could not see myself using it on the field. Thats ok because it is not necessary to use the marker. I took it to the field that weekend using the halo B hopper, CO2 and Compressed air. I used Heat and Diablo paint. Well things were good for about 8 shots, then a ball broke. I cleaned it out and fired about 20 more rounds, all on semi, and broke another. I cleaned it out and thought I would test the hopper out and turned it to full auto. That was good for about 2 seconds and paint started shooting out everywhere. At that point I knew there was a problem. So I went home and did a thorough cleaning and inspected all aspects of the marker. Everything checked ok, so I went online and checked some blogs and found out that the ball detents were faulty. That would explain the barrel breaks. So I called kingman (several times) and was assured that I had the right ones. So I looked to aftermarket. Let me first say that this gun was not designed to be upgraded. The aftermarket barrels I had would not fit into the shroud and if you took the shroud off you had to take grip off too and now it does'nt look to "cool". You can't upgrade the Bolt because the MR2 uses a 2nd generation bolt that nobody makes an aftermarket for yet. So you can't really upgrade it without sacrificing looks. So I wanted to return the marker. MAKE SURE YOU KNOW YOUR STORES POLICY BEFORE BUYING THIS GUN. I had more problems then I can list with returning this marker and had no help from kingman either. Please think ahead before buying this marker. Maybe my particular marker was defective but doubt it after looking further into it.
Conclusion: Overall I do NOT recommend this product for anyone who wants to upgrade or aspires to be pro. I do however believe this marker is okay for REC BALL ONLY. Use high quality paint and a high speed hopper. If you have any problems contact kingman tech support. It is important for you to also choose a store with a decent reputation so they can help you with any problems you have.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 15th, 2006 at 5:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HavaBrew22 Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
Halo B with Rip Drive and Victory Board
Crossfire HPA 68/4500
Shocktech Spyder Striker Spring
Timmy Intimidator Rubber Ball Detent MEDIUM
Dye Sticky Grips
Atomic Elbow, it is indestructible
Recommended
Upgrades:
Must have a Halo B / Empire B / Eggie for full marker potential!
Strengths: Fast and Rugged, great for any scenario (Speedball or outdoor) and looks great.
Weaknesses: Stock hopper/loader sucks, and its alittle heavier than most markers.
Review: Great marker, great price. Very accurate, balanced perfectly. Looks good with or without the stock on. I am constantly getting compliments from the guys with the high end markers. For the price it can't be beat. Will require a loader/hopper upgrade but is well worth it. No matter if you are a woodsman or a tourney player this is a great marker.
Conclusion: 10 out of 10 - Can't be beat for its technology, reliablility, accuracy and ruggedness
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 at 10:59 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

woodsballcroak Sunday, June 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom Pro
Marker Setup: MR-2: I just bought this gun and havent had the time to upgrade anything yet
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Heavy gun, use a remote.
-Fast e-hopper for sure
-BALL DETENT!!

Strengths: -Excellent design
-Very Durable
-High rate of fire
-Reasonably accurate
Weaknesses: -Weak battery life
-Weight
-Expensive upgrades required to unlock full potential
-Weak plastic handle grips
Review: When I first got this gun I was very excited, it looked and felt beautiful. However when I started using it I noticed some problems. At first the gun was working great and I was very impressed, a little later though it started chopping paint like mad. However, after the necessary upgrades the gun is supposed to work perfectly. This is dissapointing because when I was trying to find the gun perfect for me this one was recommended to me. I was told that this gun is the absolute top of the line for the price range.
Conclusion: Despite the guns flaws out of the box I still recommend it, everything wrong with the gun at first is pretty easily fixed. The 25bps is kind of stretching the truth, in fully auto its actually closer to 13-15 bps. You can only fire 25 bps if you are fast enough to shoot that fast in semi-auto mode.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media