paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2

Kingman Spyder MR2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR2
[ View Photos (68) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first military style, electronic paintball marker released by Kingman.

Features removable stock, scope mount and double trigger.

Built to withstand the toughest scenario play.

Comes with anti chop bolt, a rechargeable 9.6v battery and a range of firing modes.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
tendervittles Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Icon E
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: MR2
Red dot holosight
12v Revolution
Modified stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Red dot
new hopper
Strengths: Look, durable, offset feed, fast, bolt, price
Weaknesses: Detent, stock, shroud
Review: When I first saw this gun, I decided I was going to get it. It's a great gun, it comes with a stock, has an offset feed, it is fast, and comes with places to mount scopes. The price is pretty good for what you get. At first this gun chopped like mad, but I found out the problem and now the gun is great. All you need to do to fix this is replace the detent. It costs about $2 (some people call it a ball stopper). It rarely chops, and never double feeds. The stock is useless unless you do what I did and cut out the top bar. You can't use it if you don't. The barrel is pretty accurate, but not that great. I'm gonna get a new one soon. It's a really fast gun. Some say this gun is heavy, but not me. It weighs a little less than 5 pounds. I have used it several times, and it is great. I recommend it to anyone who has the money to buy it.
Conclusion: This gun is amazing, I love it. Get it because it's cheap, fast, and reliable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sonnislav Friday, May 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP-8 better shooting; smoother and a lot less kick but taking apart the whole gun to lube the bolt is a hassle for the SP-8 whereas lubing the Spyder MR2 is easier...
Marker Setup: DM3, LED Matrix, 2k2 Autococker mech, STO autococker e-blade, E-mag, Rainmaker, Warsensor Wg-47, Ion, SP-8
Recommended
Upgrades:
Low Pressure to reduce the very noticeable kick if you can but I don't know if all the LP mods out for Spyders apply to the MR2 because of the way the body is set-up
Strengths: Simple design equals simple maintenance and troubleshooting. Looks durable. Competitive pricing; changing modes is convenient
Weaknesses: Heavy with a big recoil... shroud may prevent the usage of certain barrels
Review: I convinced my friend to get the MR2 over the A5 that he wanted because it was cheaper than an A5 with an egrip. We went to play and I got to shoot the MR2 for several games. It is a decent gun with a lot of recoil. I usually shoot a Matrix or the SP-8 or the Rainmaker or the Emag or the Cyborg and all these guns have less recoil than the MR2. It is the most significant point that I noticed about the gun after using it. Some people who are used to the Spyders and Tippmanns that are unmodded don't complain as much as I do. The stock barrel is decent but as usual I recommend an aftermarket barrel. Becareful though because we tried using a '04 Freak kit and it wouldn't fit past the foregrip/shroud because the diameter of the barrel was too big. I was using my HALO but when my friend was using it he was complaining about recocking and jams; he has a Java 12v loader which I guess is too slow for this gun. In conclusion my friend has commented he wished he bought the A5 and may end up still getting the A5... he said I need to buy this off of him so he can get the A5... I might if he reduces the price by $75! :D
Conclusion: Decent gun that is comparable to the Tippmann A5 or 98 Pro. No 'must-get' advantage where I would whole heartedly recommend this gun over the others. My preference is still the SP-8 but you are not at a disadvantage going with this gun instead.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 26th, 2006 at 11:47 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Coinz Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Some other spyders I tried out.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2, VL Revy (soon to be HaloB w/z-board and ripdrive).
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stiffer ball detents
Fast hopper capable of 20+ bps
Stronger elbow
Maby a new barrel.
Strengths: Built like a tank
Shoots very fast
Stock barrle isnt bad
fairly accurate
Looks awsome
Weaknesses: On the heavier side
weak ball detent.
Needs fast hopper
A pain to disasembe.
Review: Im fairly new to paintball, so take all this with a grain of salt.

This gun is a very decent gun once you get all the kinks out of it. Many people have had problems with the ball detent being to weak and this double feeding. I didn't have this problem because the first time I played with it I was using a revy, and thus couldn't shoot fast. I will be selling my revy to a friend and purchasing a HaloB to enable this guns full abilities in terms of speed.

I did have a few problems with this gun on the field though. The gun jammed on me a few times, and I had to recock it several times (probably due to the slow revy). The biggest problem I had was an O-ring on the valve freezing. I had to take the gun apart and a few of the guys there were surprised at how much of a pain in the ass it is to take apart. This think has so many pieces to it its incredibly annoying. Though once you get used to tearing it down and building it back up it isn't as bad. Other than the average breaking in problems I had no other issues. THe Barrel on the gun is pretty decent, but I would recommend buying a J&J Ceramic barrel. Many people also complain about the shroud keeping the gun from using many different barrel types. All I have to say is take the shroud off. You don't need it on. It just makes the gun look cooler.


Edit: I recently found out that the earlier mr2s came with a weak orange ball detent, but later versions come with a black one. The back one is strong enough. CHeck your detent, if its orange replace it emmediatly.
Conclusion: A great gun once you get it up and running. Once you have a fast hopper, and a better ball detent installed this gun is well worth more than the 250 bucks it costs. Truly the toughest spider yet. Great for both speedball and woodsball. Initially I would have given this gun a 7, but after I broke it in I think for the price its worth a 10. But I have to deduct a point for the initial problems it comes with. So 9/10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 2:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder/DYE Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine
Marker Setup: MR2
J&J 14" ceramic Barrel
VL EVO II (eggy)
remote
------------------------------------
Spyder Imagine
J&J 14" Ceramic Barrel
VL Revolution
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately the Barrel. But be carefull only a few fit because of the shroud.
E-Hopper to keep up with the gun
and get yourself a remote, the gun is heavy enough as it is, this will releive some weight, while at the same time help prevent flash freezing your balls, which commonly happens with fast guns.
Strengths: good looks, fast, ACS (once broken in).
Weaknesses: Lack of compatibility with barrels, once a ball breaks...
Review: as i first opend the box i was excited as anyone is when the get a new toy. first thing i did was broke in the ACS. (after reading the reveiws on how much of a pain it would be if i didnt) i hooked everything up and started shooting. i noticed that with my normal hopper that the 3 burst and full auto modes would skip every 3rd ball. and through the first 180 rounds i chopped about 6 balls. i took the gun apart cleaned it, put it all back together and havent chopped a ball since!!! I was verry skeptical of this gun after reading the somewhat negative reveiws, but the looks of this gun sold me at first sight! Much to my suprise it has been working awesome for me. i recomend it to anyone looking for a good solid paintball gun. this thing is like a tank.
Conclusion: All in all, this gun was a great buy, I would look around on ebay for some good prices.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

breakxeggs Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL Maxis R/G, Tippmann 98 Custom, Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Standard with a Tasco Red Dot Scope

I plan on getting HPA and a Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel; Hopper wouldn't hurt so your not shaking your gun; HPA Tank
Strengths: Looks, powers through a chopped ball, pretty darn accurate with the stock barrel
Weaknesses: bolts on the rail/handle strip WAY to easily, hard to disassemble
Review: I ordered this gun from Action Village for $190 something brand new acouple of days ago. I got it today pulled it out of the box and started to fiddle around with it to see whats what with it. I found that it was heavier then most guns but I do like a heavier gun (the MR 1 is MUCH heavier). Went out bought a red dot sight for it only to discover later that it doesn't fit on the handle so I left it off for the fives games we played.

First Game:: Put the battery in and it was charged (rarity from Kingman they don't like packaging charged batteries). Load it up with 200 rounds shoot like 10 balls before we all head out into the field. Once we start the battle not even 3 shots in the battle my third ball breaks and my shots start hooking. I take a hit and walk out only to find that I did break a ball. clean out the barrel and the feed tube on the hopper and left the bolt and chamber full of paint. Go out for the second game and it starts to shoot straight as an arrow. for the rest of the day it didn't broken another ball.

As compared to my friends Ion, it doesn't shoot as fast and cleanly but with a stock barrel on both guns it is much more accurate (although that claim can be disputed). The bolt isn't as good at preventing breaks as the Ion's eye is. But for the money if you want to go out in random fields and woods get the MR2 it is much better suited for the woods and field rather then the fast as hell Ion

For the ppl that are complaining about the ball detent:: You must have a first gen gun or something because they shipped mine with a spare ball detent. So they must know that it is a trouble area with the gun.

Likes: I really enjoy the weight of the gun because it just feels right in my hands. This is the easiest Kingman trigger that is stock on any gun. Its really adjustable and you can get the pull down to about acouple of millimeters. The stock is great for holding the gun against your body. As I said before I love the looks. And the stock barrel is accurate for about 30-50 yds. I happened to pick my brother off from about 30 yds from behind a door while he was behind some bushes with one shot. The trigger is beautifly easy, it reminded me of my friends Ion trigger pull but his is still easier. I think that this is the only stock trigger rame that can be walked.

Dislikes: PLASTIC STOCK, even though it is solid plastic and darn lightweight its not something that I would want to dive to the ground with. The tactical rail/handle is barely screwed on I stripped the back bolt in two minutes of fiddling around with the gun but I found and put in a longer screw. Also the rail/handle doesn't fit standard scopes like that Tasco scope I bought but I found a better place to put it on the gun (forward of the hopper). The entire front of the gun is one solid metal shroud that blocks many many barrels, I haven't tried my 16" Progressive Barrel but I don't think that will fit. As with any Kingman electric gun the Battery SUCKS and is never fully charged, I was lucky enough to play five games. You have to take the Feed Neck off of the gun in order to help push out the bolt when cleaning your gun.

UPDATE:: I played today against 8 kids today and got five of them out. When you pare this gun with a high end hopper like a Viewloader VLocity hopper there is always a ball in the chamber and it will not double feed. It easily out shot all of the competion Tippmans, the Spdyer Pilot, and the Spyder Sonix, and outlasted the Smart Parts Ion. I am still a firm believer that the Ion and Spyder are equals but they are guns that should be used in two totaly different types of play. The MR2 a more tactical form of play and the Ion when you feel like walking the trigger easily, even though the MR2 can be walked (the trigger is just alittle heavier).
Conclusion: All in all its one of the best woods ball/scenario guns around for the price. If you want to shell out the extra 10 bucks for the Smart Parts Ion and play speed ball then do it. But you really love to plan out attacks and use tactics you see in Tom Clancy games get this gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 27th, 2006 at 12:07 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Jodo_Kast Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I've used a Tippmann Custom, I've also used a coupld diffrent cheap Wal-Mart Spyders.
Marker Setup: The MR-2, 20 OZ C02 tank, cheapy cheap hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
It deffintly needs an electronic hopper, perhaps a compressed airtank as well.
Strengths: Sturdy, has a Stock, 12' Barrel, Electronic.
Weaknesses: Loud, and heavy with a 20 OZ C02 tank
Review: I used this just practicing for around 30 mins., and it would jam perhaps evry 15 balls when I was firing it rapidly with my $5 loader. It could be overcome with an electronic loader very easily.

I decided on this, mainly because of the stock, and I also like how it is a flat black, instead of bright blue, red,etc. The trigger pulls back very nicly, I barly touched it, and it went off, so you should be carefull with it.

It was the envy on the feild when I went and played it, and for a Spyder, that astonishing, to me anyway. I got picked first on the first team, and played heavy gunner with it, I never took it out of semi-auto, and still dominated the feild with it. Evryone wanted to see it, and shoot it, some even wanted to play with it, but I wouldn't let them. It did jam twice in a row when I came under fire and was trying to take out the last man on the feild. I was of corse, on my side, last one standing as well, but I got bunkered in the end when my loader came open and lost al my PB's.

I do recommend it though, and for $200, its a great deal, enspecialy with a stock.
Conclusion: Buy it. For $200, its a good deal
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Adius08 Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98
Marker Setup: MR2
-adco red dot sight
-halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
-halo b or velocity 2
-sight
Strengths: -Fast!
-Trigger response
-Style and feel
Weaknesses: - U NEED A GOOD HOPPER!!! ... otherwise gun will chop on auto
Review: The MR2 is a cheap gun that shoots very fast. It has three firing mode; semi automatic(, burst and automatic.
I've read that some people seem to find the construction of the gun to be difficult to figure out, if you can not understand how to strip down this gun... you are an idiot. Just follow the manual!
This is a perfect gun for begginers or intermidiate players. It has a great trigger response. The gun is somewhat heavy, but you will get use to it. Think of it as a good work out for you arm ;)
Conclusion: It's a great gun. Buy it. Even if you dont add any upgrades to it, then just set it on semi-automatic and burst. Also, if you like military type guns, then this gun would be great for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dark_Spartan Thursday, May 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, Ion but heavyer and slower...
Marker Setup: Ion
Halo B
Virue board
Roller trigger
Q-lock
Recommended
Upgrades:
a ricochet AK or better...
Strengths: --Read review--
Weaknesses: --Read review--
Review: PROS
-Shoots fast
-Looks great
-built in stock
-very durable
-Takes HPA and CO2
-Comes with a battery and a charger
CONS
-My ball detent puked out after first game
-Its a little bit heavyer then most
-Can get hard to clean
-elbow isnt that good
-shroud stops barrels from fitting
Conclusion: all in all if u want an electric marker and u dont want the A-5 or 98 get this, u might like it....
Hope this review helps...
But then again the ion is like 50 bucks cheaper and much better... why not just get that? im selling my mr2 dont really like it....
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 12th, 2006 at 8:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rope shooter Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: MR2, and halo b

ion, l6, micro max flow, ap q-lock feed neck, teardrop, and empire b2
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote cord
Strengths: Rof, anti-chop(sometimes), and kind of durable
Weaknesses: VERY HEAVY, plastic feedneck, expensive hopper required, and not very upgradeable
Review: I took my brand spankin new mr2 out to my local feild and two seconds after the round started my "anti-chop bolt" started chopping. Then 3 paintballs were jammed into my firing chamber. But afterwards I unclogged the paintballs and it shot alright. I had to dish out some more cash and buy a halo b
Conclusion: This gun is a fine shooter, but there is just about no upgrades. You need to get used to this gun to have it work well for you, and feel comfortable. So buy this gun if you are willing to get an expensive hopper and not many other ups.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1Lt_Teddy_Tex Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom, Pmi E-Force
Marker Setup: Mr2, Laser Sight, Empire Revo loader 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo, neck feed?
Strengths: Looks are killer
OK Accuracy
Very Very Fast
Weaknesses: Chops Paint (about 14 out of 100)
Dont even bother taking it apart
Review: Ive used this gun at 3 games so far, i took it too a Big Day And Out Game (about 1,200 people were there). This gun was great for the first game which was about an hour and a half, second game it was chopping way too much for me to use so i went in the shop and bought a Halo, it still chopped but not as much. 3rd Game it didnt even work the damn balls were rolling out of the barrel so i replaced the battery, changed the o ring, changed the o ring on the Co2 tank, cleaned it..Still didnt work at this point i took the gun apart..horrible idea leave the gun together it has more allen bolts then there were allen holes that needed them way to confusing to take it apart while it was working it was a great gun, heavy as hell tho. 2 weeks later i try it again same problem
Conclusion: Maybe i just have bad luck, i still havint got the gun checked out but maybe i just got a bad one off the shelf but when it was working it was awesom, i recomend this gun just me 100% sure it works before you take it anywhere.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media