paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2

Kingman Spyder MR2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR2
[ View Photos (68) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first military style, electronic paintball marker released by Kingman.

Features removable stock, scope mount and double trigger.

Built to withstand the toughest scenario play.

Comes with anti chop bolt, a rechargeable 9.6v battery and a range of firing modes.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
fartface Wednesday, April 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder e99
spyder imagine
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2, 14inch Teardrop, remote line, red dot, Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
halo or egg something capable of atleast 17bps
Strengths: Fast as an ion (tried it)
Weaknesses: Chopped a couple times but only at high rates of fire
Review: This gun is amazing good for woodsball and speedball(take stock off for speedball) after touching the trigger on this thing the imagine and e99 are mechs in comparison, used it in speedball and it held up the compitition of ions and high end electros. Since its an offset feed you have an advantage in speedball cause on the left side of bunkers your hopper isnt exposed makeing you a smaller targret, this also makes it possible to have sights which work good in woodsball. Oh and for the barrels people say it wont take fat ended barrels such as the teardrop because of the barrel shroud, this is very wrong all you have to do is take out a screw and take the shroud off and bam it will take any spyder threaded barrel. Oh and by the way this gun freggen rips if you know how to hit the trigger right (try moving your index finger up against the trigger in a up and down motion rubbing the trigger ) if you do it right you will wittness speeds that well exceed the programed speed for full auto!!!
Conclusion: Anyways i recomend putting a new barrel on it and a good hopper such as the Halo B like what i am useing and this is for sure the toughest spyder yet!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chapman88 Thursday, April 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra. SP-8, Sim-4
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra wth upgrades, Stock MR-2
Recommended
Upgrades:
J&J ceramic, electric hopper
Strengths: Look, stock, can mount scope
Weaknesses: Ball detent need replacement on sum of them
Review: Well i just got this gun, and well it is crazy. The gun looks great and shoots fast, get this gun if u like the a5 look and ion speed. This gun is way faster then my friends SP-8. Don't worry about the ball detent, if yours is bad, email kingman and they will send u a replacement one for free,
Update
The trigger pull on hte mr2 was a little long and u could pull past he point of fire but with a quick adjustment u could even do in game and it now kick ass even more. Just adjust the screw in the middle of the trigger so the trigger stops at the point of fire and place the small black key that comes with the gun in the hole above the trigger to adjust the trigger pull.
Conclusion: This gun is great, no problems, good price for a5 looks ion performance only faster
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 23rd, 2006 at 9:51 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

brandon69hbot Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
i have used no products that stand up to this, this gun is teh ownage
Marker Setup: kingman spyder Mr2, 20 oz Co2 tank, and remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
remote, and get rid of that bottom line, sight, electronic hopper for no misfires, and if u have any crappy gun like a zap or some crap like that get this gun
Strengths: -Automatic
-Semi, burst, full auto
-Stock stock
-Doesn't chop balls, at all
Weaknesses: -everything is held together by allen bolts
-automatic can be hard on Co2
Review: my first gun i got for christmas, it was a zapp =' ^( it chopped balls every second shot, and it will lock up on the drop of a hat, i got my Mr2 2 days ago and i llo ve it shot my friend, it hurt him, he shot me with a spyder imagine
Conclusion: iIlove this gun 20/10 if i could, but this is perfect for a hard core woodsballer, or a begginner
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

martyparty Friday, March 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Have a Ric AK
Recommended
Upgrades:
Faster hopper
Longer Barrel
Strengths: Awsome Look
Fast performance
Reliability
Anti Chop Bolt
Weaknesses: Barrel shroud limits barrels that can fit
Goes through balls like crazy
Review: When i saw this gun in a magazine i went crazy and bought one maybe a week later. Right out of the box this gun gave me no problems it was clean and fast and worked like a charm. Maybe a week later i went on the field and it was cool out but we still played thats when i realized how awsome this gun is. I was tagin everybody sometimes with all three shots from the burst. If there one of my friends was hiding around a tree i would just keep firing and circle around and eliminate. This gun is amazing i went through maybe 2500 balls and only had one chop( the acs bolt works well considering the whole time i was firing frantic just gettin used to the gun) The only bad thing is my friends wont call me anymore to play because they know i got a paintball machine gun (basically)
Conclusion: i highly recommend this gun to anyone, simple to use, reliable, and fun. Dispite what others have reported my gun works flawless the ball dent is fine and bolt works perfect. If you want to win i recomend this gun period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

redsky Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra
Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 with Halo B and 4500 psi air system
Recommended
Upgrades:
Metal feedneck elbow, remote and a new barrel
Strengths: Durable, Looks and shoots great out of the box
Weaknesses: Elbow is plastic and gun needs good paint
Review: I wanted a gun that was fun and fast for woods play. This gun is it. Having used a spyder electra I knew that a faster hopper was going to be needed by this gun so I tried to anticipate and plan for any possible problems. What I discovered was on my first game and first attempted shot my gun starting chopping paint I broke down the gun and discovered that the left over paint I had used before on my electra was jamming in the feed of the MR2. I measure the feed diameter and discovered the paintball was too large. I changed to smaller diameter paint and the problem went away. I shot 2500 rounds with no further problems. The gun is a little on the heavy side but a remote should solve that.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone since I have not run into the issues others have noted. This gun is easy to clean and is built solid. You get excellent performance at a reasonable price.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 23rd, 2006 at 7:57 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Gordocordon Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine led 05
VL Triad
Marker Setup: spyder mr2
Thru Fligth ``16
20 oz tank with remote
halo TSA
JJ ceramic ``16
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Great looking gun, Tougth
Weaknesses: Weak ball detent, hard to aim with the mask on
Review: I had a lot of problems, first to got mine mr2 because spyder was out of stock, when it arrived out of the box i love it, shoot nice and its very fast, so fast that my halo TSA didn`t feed even on 3 burst. I only had a chop on 3 burst ,but that wasn`t the problem. That nigth i connected it to charge and i noted a plastic burned smell in the grips, i thougth ``that's it, im done`` but i talked to a friend who buy the same day and had the same problem, and it was nothing bad.
Last saturday i went to a Field and there`s were the problems appear. When i was shooting fast on semi in the first round the marker chops bad, and put some paint in the hopper, that was a disaster and i lost 10 min. cleaning it and keep ed chopping all day long. A user of this page INTERCEPTOR88 advised me of this problems and he told me about the weak ball detent and he was rigth. Well io had to wait 3 weeks to get the intimidator BD and fix the problem.
Bad mistake from Kingman Spyder, because its a factory problem.

Update 03/05/06
I finally replace the BD, spyder send me one that made not any difference, so i had to buy an tymmy BD ( Bob Long),
now the chop stops, but i had lost 2 month.

Tube muchos problemas con mi mr2 el primer dia, si bien sabia que el Ball Detent era una falla de fabrica de la partida, jamas pense que me complicaria tanto la tarde. Ahora tengo que esperar 3 semanas para que lleguen los Intimidator BD /de bob long/ para poder darle un buen uso a la marcadora. Por lo demas pareceria ser muy fuerte ademas de extremadamente rapida, tanto, que se termina convirtiendo en un problema para conseguir un hopper que alimente mas de 20bps.
Bueno espero que le sea util a alguien esta recomendacion como lo fue para mi.
SAludos desde Argentina

Update 03/05/06
Me llego la solucion al problema, al reemplazar el ball detent o ball stoper por los tymmy de bob long dejo de romper pellets dentro del bolt hacia el codo, lastima que la solucion tardo 2 meses.

Conclusion: I would recommend this gun if u know the risk of a factory defect, i think when i solve this problem i`ll be happy with spyder again. BUY A NEW BALL DETENT
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006 at 5:53 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

saf001 Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original Kingman Spyder, Spyder E99, and now a Spyder MR2
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2, Tasco RedDot sight, Q-Loader hopper system
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tasco RedDot sight...just remove the M-16 style sight rail
Strengths: Fast shooting, very durable, Spyder internals
Weaknesses: Chops paint with force-feed hopper, can't use any Spyder barell.
Review: I can't use any of my other barells because of the shroud that Kingman put around the barell threads, but found that the performance of the stock barell is just fine. The marker is dead-on accurate at 35 feet.

The marker is heavy, but I like heavy guns.

I find the flimsy rubber grips horrendous. I would have preferred the hard plastic grips that the E99 has on it. These grips actually flex as you hold the marker. It feels like I'm going to break them just holding it.

I like the option to use the stock, but found that I don't use it at all. You can't aim down the marker with the stock properly shouldered...your mask hits the top cross beam of the stock. I would have preferred it not to have this cross beam or at least have it moved.

The fore grip handle is slightly angled forward at the bottom and is a little wide. It kind of made things harder for me when I mounted my Q-Loader onto it. I had to fashion a custom piece of metal strapping to go around the handle. To me, the handle is too big and unnecessarily angled. Guess they wanted that sleek design.

The double trigger is nice, but is a long pull. There is a set screw to allow tension to be put on the trigger, thereby making the pull shorter. HOWEVER...Kingman decided that the Receiver should have a hole drilled into it right where the trigger set screw will hit. So instead of the set screw pressing against the receiver and pushing the trigger back, it recesses into this hole. Completely and utterly mind-baffling. I had to put several strips of electrical tape over this hole so the set screw now has something to hit, and now the trigger sits further back.

Now for the two most important elements of the gun that causes it to fail right out of the box. First is the flimsy rubber nubbin ball detent. Kingman tech support actually told me that I should not be able to push a ball forward past this detent with another ball in the feed neck. They couldn't be more wrong. It is actually quite easy. So I fashioned one myself that works superbly.

The second thing is the ACS bolt. I have a Q-Loader hopper, if you don't know what this is, it is a spring loaded tube that can dump all 100 rounds in around 3 seconds. It constantly puts pressure on the paint so there is always a ball ready to go into the breach. Because my modified detent will not allow the balls to go forward easily (obviously it allows the ball to travel past it when the bolt goes forward), the maker now double feeds when the bolt cycles. It does this because the ACS bolt actually allows the first ball into the breach to follow it back as it is recocked (the Q-Loader is pushing paint constantly) and a second ball follows the first into the breach. I know this, because after jury rigging the bolt so the ACS spring is disabled, I have not chopped or double-fed a ball yet. Kingman's response to this when I asked if they could send me a non-ACS bolt for the MR2 being that it actually is hindering the use of a force-feed hopper is "We do not offer a non-ACS bolt for the MR2"

The advertised "up to 25 balls per second" is in single fire mode only. The full auto and burst fire mode only deliver 13 balls per second. I have tested it and know this for a fact. I've posted the methods and results of the test on the Spyder.TV forums. You can only get up to 25 balls per second if you can walk the trigger fast enough in single fire mode. The problem is, that would require a fast hopper, most likely a force feed system...which out-of-the-box will cause the marker to double feed and chop.
Conclusion: I've always liked Spyders. I have only used Spyders. I am however disappointed in the R & D for this new marker. The hole where the set screw goes? What's with that? It completely negates the set screw's purpose. If you've got a standard agitated hopper, you will probably really enjoy this marker. If you've got something that can seriously dump paint, then you might want to rethink your purchase. The 25 bps is misleading, and the factory defaults will only lead to double feeding with a real work-horse hopper.

I'm still using mine being that I made all the necessary adjustments to get it to work with my hopper system.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

babustos Saturday, March 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
DOP Blade Trigger
72/3000 PMI

Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast Hopper
HPA
New barrel as for any gun
Strengths: Very fast
Pretty accurate
Looks nice
Made by Kingman so you know its reliable
Weaknesses: Heavy
Expansion chamber a little different
Offset feedneck
Review: I went paintballing and one of my friend's friend had this gun. He let me shoot it and it was really great. This thing is very fast, I can say faster than an Ion. I was able to shoot an Ion more consistantly, but at my highest ROF, the MR2 blew the Ion pretty good. For the MR2, you will need at least an Egg. The MR2 is just a little bit on the heavy side, but its not a big deal. The offset feedneck is sort of annoying, throws the gun a little off balanced, but that is preference. The accuracy isn't the best, but the stock barrel will be alright. The price is a little iffy, about $250, not nonetheless it is still a good gun.
Conclusion: The MR2 is basically an A-5 and an Ion. It is fast and has a little scenario look to it. I would recommend it to anybody who doesn't want to buy an Ion, have good speed, and be a little different. Buy it under those conditions.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Interceptor88 Wednesday, March 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month39 of 44 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Others Spyders, Piranhas, Mags, Cockers, assorted pump guns.
Marker Setup: SS-25, autococker, Super Stocker, Piranha LB, MR-2 with Armson 8" Pro Series barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, HP tank, motorized loader
Strengths: Great looking gun, 3 fire modes, nice stock barrel, nice flat black finish.
Weaknesses: Weak stock ball detent, it was chopping every third ball out of the box
Review: I've owned Spyders on and off since they first came out. I had one of the first Compact As. I have always loved the reliabilty of them and the ease of maintenance. I bought the MR-2 because I loved the looks of it, and I wanted a fun gun for scenario play besides my custom autococker.

Looks
The MR-2 has very similar styling to the H&K UMP, very blocky in a M41 pulse rifle sort of way.

Design
Same basic internals as every other Spyder, stacked tube design

Weight
i don't think its to heavy at all, it actually is well balanced with a 45 4500 tank.

Function
Here is were I had a problem. First thing mine started to do was chop balls, and shoot paint up the feed neck and into the hopper. After cleaning everything out a couple times, I took it back to the shop were I bought it and had them look at it. It did the same for them. Keep in mind, I was firing slowly on semi auto, using a Revy. After some research online, I found out that many other people were having the same problem. I replaced the detent with one from a timmy. The stock one is too weak. Don't use a force feed hopper with the stock detent, it will force it to double feed and chop even worse. The shop guy also put a stiffer spring in the anti-chop bolt. They fired 400 rds in the shop with no breaks, I shot 200 through it at the shop when I picked it up, and put 300 more through it at home. Only thing I had was a barrel break. Thats not the same as chopping, so I don't hold it against the gun. I wasn't having to take apart my hopper the clean it, so I'm happy. I shot half of those rounds on 3 shot burst with no problems. I think Kingman will correct this slight flaw on the next batches. I will play with it this weekend and report my findings here on the review. For now, I love the gun.

Update 3/18/06
Used the gun for the first time in a game day. The MR2 functioned flawlessly since I replaced the stock detent. I have shot over 2000 rds both in the back yard and over the course of the day. No more chops. I was using Draxxus Recball paint fed from a 12 volt Revy, and shot with my Armson 8" barrel. Alot of the paint was shot on 3 shot burst with no problems at all. I am very satisfied with the performance of the gun, and I was starting to get used to it toward the end of the day (I could never just pick up a gun and hit anything until I had used it for a while). Also, a friend of mine who also has one said that he got a notice from Kingman stating that they were aware of the problem and that they would be sending him a replacement. I imagine that the next batch of MR2 will have the new detent, and anyone with the old one can get it replaced if they haven't already done so. Good for them for taking care of the problem and attempting to make it right.

Update 5/2/06
Used the gun several times now and had zero problems with it. Functions perfectly!

Update 6/11/06
I am now upping the rating to a 9. I've used the gun almost exclusively for the last couple months and its worked flawlessly. I've tried several different hoppers to feed it, first my old Revy, the a Richochet AK, then a Q-Loader, and now a Halo B. The Halo works the best feeding the gun fast and smoothly. The Q-Loader system was interesting, but caused the gun to jam alot. I only run compressed air through the gun, and keep it cleaned and oiled after every game. I've added a Sure Shot red dot sight and the 8" Armson barrel shoots arrow straight. I absolutely love this little gun.
Conclusion: Slight problems at first, but those seem to be corrected easy enough. I have always like Spyders, and this one is no different. In a sport full of candy colored markers, its nice to see a flat black, all business looking marker that doesn't look like a M4 rip off. Its a scenario gun for those who don't want any rediculous crap like fake magazines hanging off of it. I am very pleased with the way this gun performs with the upgraded detent.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 12th, 2006 at 6:37 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

NextoN Sunday, March 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman A5..
Marker Setup: 06 Spyder MR2 STOCK
Evo II
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hopper capable of 13bps or faster.
New barrel?
REMOTE(Heavy)
Scope/Lazer
Strengths: 13bps, Accuracy, FAST



Weaknesses: Fast hopper, barrel does not like cold weather
Review: Almost perfect. It's the first military marker from kingman and they have done a good job. It's a solid marker only the grip and the stock is not metal. But it's not cheap plastic tho(tough plastic).. My marker does'nt chop paint with my 9bps hopper. But I use my egg.

The marker is great, it comes with a stock. The elbow is kinda cheap. The ACS is not in aluminum but in plastic I don't think it makes any differences.
When you get the marker change the detent right away the following detent is cheap.
I like the bladetrigger on this marker! I can fire about 15bps MAX, but I have to pull the trigger really fast to do it tho..
What I like most with the marker is that it is really easy to clean. It would take me about 1 minute.
Fast hopper required(not a big deal), barrel is not good in under 8degrees then you just get ballbreak. I have chopped once.
Conclusion: I could recommend this to beginner or pro. It is heavy without the remote but that just tells us it's quality. It has all I could ask for :) I give it 10 out of 10 because it's so great. Kingman does not disappoint me!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 26th, 2006 at 1:17 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media