paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2

Kingman Spyder MR2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR2
[ View Photos (68) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first military style, electronic paintball marker released by Kingman.

Features removable stock, scope mount and double trigger.

Built to withstand the toughest scenario play.

Comes with anti chop bolt, a rechargeable 9.6v battery and a range of firing modes.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
                            
thefireinme Wednesday, March 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP8, A5
Strengths: Cost, Stock, ACS
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I own an MR2. First I love the package it came in, very well packed. I enjoyed how the stock is an option, and how it comes with it. The way it functions is pretty neat. Yes it is a spyder, and it acts like a spyder. I have a Ric AK hopper for it, and it works fine.
Conclusion: I'm not sure for the 25 BPS that they claim, but for the cost, I'm very impressed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mahlachi Monday, February 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electric, Spyder Mech(no electric), Piranha GSX Eforce, Smart Parts Ion, Tippman 98custom, Tippman custom pro (with ramp)
Marker Setup: Currently I use A Piranha GsX with E-Force Frame Upgrades- Hpa 72ci 3k psi, Emipre Reloader II, 32 degree Barrel, and a Shocktech Delrin Bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
For the spyder MR2: J&J ceramic barrel (fits perfect even with the marker have about 2 in of the barrel in the frame of the marker) HPA tank (but that is for any marker) Electric Hopper with feed rate of atleast 20 bps (halo with victory board would work) if using hpa change springs to higher tightness and last but not least maybe a remote line leading to a 4+1 pod pack.
Strengths: trigger , bolt, High ROF, apperance, off-set feed, lazer sight and scope mounts, accurate
Weaknesses: Confusing to strip and clean, bolt cock has fragile springs, not field stripable,.
Review: I used this gun after my brother bought it and it is accuare upto about 40 feet with a sight when sighted in. My brother has been having problems with this marker since his first use on the field, Breaking balls, bolt jamming, possible double feeding. The only way i got the gun to shoot straight and w'o choppin balls is to fire at about 1bps "LOL" but hey it is only the first issue of the marker and must have bugs to work out or since its gettin good reviews maybe this one has a factory error.It does look cool and is comfortable to shoot.
Conclusion: I would go with a higher quality marker like the Smart Parts SP-8. But if you don't have the Cash to blow try the MR2 yourself, borrow one from a friend or See if your local pb store will allow you to try one out if you supply the paint or something.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
28 Comments - Add Comment

Burger.Pballer Saturday, February 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
NON LIKE IT!
Marker Setup: MR2, Blitz Spyder Ultra Light Sniper II Barrel , JAVA - 200 Round Hopper, 12oz Co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote ( for Woods/Scenario) Non For speed.
J&J Ceramic Barrel
HALO B Loaders (with Rip Drive) 25+ BPS!
Kingman - Rocking Trigger Frame
Scope/Laser(High on rail so you view from STOCK!
Strengths: Very Durable. Stock as a marker is great. Has an army feal. Never CHOPS!
Weaknesses: (MR2 Shroud)(PAint Scratch)(ShoudlerStock)
Review: VEry nice Scenario marker. The trigger isnt all the best which is why im going to upgrade it with a duel responce trigger. Very easy to Clean. With a new barrel, not the stock one ball will break very easy, depending on bore size, NOT the bolt THE BARREL!
This marker with mods can be used for any trype of play EVEN SPEED BALL! This gun is very HEavy compared to other tho. BUt during game you dont notice that much. With scenario/woods ball NEED a Remote your life depends on it! Also First 3 upgrade i recomend, New Hopper.Scope/Lazer. BArrel, ANd a Trigger What the heck 4 upgrades :)
Conclusion: VEry nice amrker for any play. With Co2 about 30-60 yards Accuratly MAX!!!!(STOCK) Gun scratches, And have to mod the hell out of it to even use properly. (Stock, And barrels! Jsut get Some ups shown above and own everyone EVEN Boblong punks!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

theguru1991 Friday, February 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
SP-8
Marker Setup: MR2, ricochet apache LED, Red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
You need to get a very fast hopper like a halo b or empire b because without a fast hopper the gun Chops. The gun needs a new barrel, but it is not completely necesary.
Strengths: Never chops (with a fast hopper), shoots accurately, and is very fast.
Weaknesses: The gun is not compatible with many spyder barrels.
Review: Basically this Gun is great for senario players, and even speedball players. The only thing I should say is that the gun should always be used with the stock because the lack of o rings on the Delrin bolt. The stock has o-rings on it which keep air from escaping out the back ou the gun, making shots more accurate. The gun is a little heavy, but with the stock, you won't mind the weight. The fact that the gun has teh mode switch on the back on the grip makes it easy for senario players.
Conclusion: The MR2 is Cheap, great quality, and is a fun gun for paintball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

blackpaint Tuesday, January 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all models of spyder(semi-auto blowbacks) electronic and not
same design and flaws in blowback design
Marker Setup: 1 dm3 w/tadao board,sidewinder, stock shocktech bolt kit 3a 68/4500, empire b
1 shocktech dm3 w/ vaporworks board, sidewinder and evolve kit ,pmi 68/4500, empire b
j&j edge kit
cp 14"
j& 16" ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
as with any marker i recommend going to compressed air it is better for the marker in the long run not always the cheapest but definitely better and if that is the case as always i recommend a sidewinder, now i noticed in some of the reviews before that people made a comment about not being able to add a reg onto it, that is not true a cp reg will fit perfect or with a little help from a dremel in about 15 min you can have a sidewinder in there
Strengths: Fast easy to walk trigger, good appealing solid design of the body
Weaknesses: Some barrels wont fit (cp,empire twister)
Review: The electronics in the gun seemed faster than most i have tested, and for the woods player the select fire could come in handy no remembering dip settings or led colors, the trigger was easy to walk with a little adjustment, gun setup seemed very flexible to style obviously kingman had one in mind when this gun left the design table but everything is removeable stock, front foregrip so this gun might see a speedball feild with a little help but as a milsim gun it serves its purpose it is very solid well built gun put up next to the sp8 and the mx8 i choose the mr2 without looking at the tags and it is the cheapest out of all three i have seen quite a few guns roll off the assembly line at kingman over the years and this has to be one of there best
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any beginners or anybody who is just looking to add some looks in there game i would definitely hand them a mr2 and for that i will give it a 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Insolence Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder Flash
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2
Halo hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Apex Barrel System (hehe yeah let the good times roll!)
Electronic hopper capable of 25+ balls per second
I have a Halo hopper on mine and its not fast enough. The one that costs 120$
Strengths: Fun gun. Lots of people intrested in the gun when i went to the field.
Weaknesses: Great gun although it goes through balls like mad.
Review: Great paintball gun! Got the gun last week. Went to the field today. Only problem was I kept having to cock it back since it was skipping balls (But this is only a guess.) Going to have the gun checked out. But once i got the gun going it kept on going so i didn't have to keep cocking it. Full auto works fine, semi-auto works almost fine, three shot bursts does not work so well (Trigger happy not one shot then another shot.) If your having the same problem i would recommend getting a faster hopper.
Conclusion: Good buy! Great gun! Even more fun than the last time!
Only problem i have is I keep having to cock it since its not feeding balls fast enough even with my halo hopper. I reccomend getting upgrades for the halo hopper.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 29th, 2006 at 6:38 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SlaughterHouser Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month48 of 58 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none i thought spyders were made bad
Marker Setup: spyder MR2 with adco Hot Shot red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel to shoot more paint when using automatic or 3rnd burst
Halo B or better hopper that can keep up with the 25bps
Strengths: Sick fast i emptied my halo b in about 5 seconds.
Weaknesses: Barrels cant be fat based and is really hard to find a barrel to fit.
Review: This gun is awesome i bought some marbillizer paintballs went out in my backyard and was shooting pop cans off my fence from about 30yrds away with semi auto.
the 3rnd burst is awesome cause u can shoot fully auto with it on cause the trigger is sick fast i shot from about 20 yrds away and the shots group about the size of the bottom of a pop can.
Fullauto is sickness i dont need to say anything more.
Conclusion: Get one if you play woodsball and scenario games a lot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

TheLastBrunnenG Friday, January 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested61 of 65 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, TL-R, and Rodeo, JT Excellerator 3.5e and TAC-5, Tippmann 98 and A5, more...
Marker Setup: * Spyder TL-R with a new Phat feedneck and PMI Razzor 14" barrel.
* Spyder Sonix Pro with a new ACPball feedneck and a 12" J&J Precision barrel
* Game Face Vexor Eye with a custom ACPball delrin bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. Feedneck / elbow.
2. Barrel, but not necessary.
3. Red dot dight and other decorative junk.
Strengths: Unique styling and great stock features. Tough as nails.
Weaknesses: Weighs more than a herd of buffalo. Cheap plastic feedneck elbow.
Review: The MR2 looks like it'll live up to its hype. It has the stock features to outperform mechanical scenario markers like the JT TAC-5 and low-end electronic mil-sim markers like the US-5. No eyes, but the construction and fire rate put it on par with (if not beyond) the Smart Parts SP-8. The overview:

BARREL - 12" ported barrel with no muzzle break. Matte black so there's no glare to give away your position. Not the quietest, but that's Kingman for you. Good internal finish, and better accuracy than average for a stock barrel. Replacement barrels will be difficult to use - the back 2 inches of the barrel fit tightly into the shroud that takes the place of a volumizer, so barrels like the CMI / Thunder Pig Tru-Flight will work but barrels that "fatten" at the base won't, such as the Smart Parts Progressive.

FOREGRIP / EXPANSION CHAMBER - Foregrip is very tough plastic, probably the only large non-metal piece of the marker. It acts as a mini expansion chamber, so it's not just a gas-through foregrip. No way to add a reg on this end. Grip is angled 15 degrees forward. Grip material is matte-finish black plastic but isn't slick or hard to hold. Foregrip is as thick and wide as the trigger frame.

VOLUMIZER - Volumizer is replaced by a volumizer housing extending 2" from the front of the body. Essentially, everything forward of the body and under the foregrip is the volumizer. Interesting design!

TRIGGER / FRAME - The switch is a paddle switch, not a micro-button; should still be replaceable easily. Trigger pull is a hair under 1/2" (the first 1/4" is slack) but is adjustable externally via set screw on the blade trigger. Frame is all metal with flexible but slick grips. Uses a standard 9.6v JAVA rechargeable battery. A switch on the rear of the grip flips between single, 3-burst, and auto, indicated with a single 3-color LED - no way to adjust auto fire rate. Tournament semi-only lock is accomplished with a jumper on the board. There is no safety. The only hopper I have is a 12BPS Ricochet AK, so I'll have to be careful.

DROP / ASA - ASA works well enough and has an internal filter. Drop is short but angled. BIG HOORAY: The MR series uses IN-LINE SCREWS ON THE DROP FORWARD!!! No more offset Kingman-only holes! The line is black-coated stainless braided line.

DETENT - Integrated under the angled feed port's braces. Not a standard Kingman left-side ball-bearing.

BODY - Minimal milling. Feedneck is an angled 45-degree stub with a cheap plastic adapter/elbow. Field stripping is a standard Kingman pull pin (held by a ball bearing, not a cotter pin). Body is all metal, so this thing weighs several tons. The top of the marker comes with built-in 7/8" Weaver rails, while the carry handle (removeable) is topped with a 3/8" dovetail mount. Carry handle is too short to be used for carrying. Most rails and the exterior shrouds can be removed. Body is uniformly matte black with a tough finish.

STOCK - Shared with the MR1. Stock is open-frame skeletal design but is very stable and tough. Makes the already heavy MR2 even more of a pig, but it's worth it. The stock insertion is o-ringed so the marker may perform even better with it than without.

INTERNALS - Top-cocking marker (stacked-tube blowback) with an open rear end (unless the stock is attached). The snap-back cocking system eliminates the exposed cocking knob, so effectively it's a flush-cocker. Internals may be shared with the TLX, TL-R, and Sonix Value / Sonix Pro, but I'm not 100% certain yet. BONUS: the MR2 comes stock with a top-cocking version of the Kingman Delrin ACS bolt! Works very well. Interior finish is excellent. Velocity is adjusted via a rear set screw, not by the old Kingman thumbwheel.
Conclusion: Bull-heavy but extremely fun and well-equipped marker. Great for the price if you want SP8 performance but don't care about low pressure operation or eyes. I knew Kingman could do this better than its competitors at the same price range, and they didn't let me down. 10, minus 1 for weight and cheap feedneck: 9 out of 10!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

PandaTruenoGTS Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month226 of 238 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Spyder Original
Marker Setup: 2006 MR2 Spyder E-Marker Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket barrel and hopper capable of 20+bps.
Strengths: Very Durable, Affordable, Versitile, Efficient. Side Feed, ACS
Weaknesses: Requires expensive hopper to utilize max bps, Limits barrels due to odd attatchment
Review: This gun is awesome. It was everything I was looking for. I have always thought highly of the Spyder but I wanted a side feed gun that I could mount a site/scope and see straight down the barrel of the gun. I fell in love with it the first time I saw it on the spyder website. There wasn't very much info available so I stepped out on a limb and bought one.

This is my first e-marker and for the price it surpassed my expectations. I ordered it off ebay for $275 shipped w/24 hour shipping. I received the gun today and ran about 500 rounds through it. At first I thought I could use a regular hopper for a while until I get a better one. I thought wrong. Using a standard hopper shooting low grade diablo paint it chopped about 3 balls out of 100. After reading the manual it said to use an e-hopper capable of at least 13bps or even the ACS wouldnt stop it from chopping paint. So later today my friend let me borrow his VL Revolution. It quit chopping paint, but the hopper still cant keep up with the gun. On full auto even with the VL Rev. it dry fired every 8 balls or so. So I would recomend a Halo B for this gun to meet the full potential. One thing that suprised me is full auto mode, most guns shoot thier max bps in semi, but this one is capable of the full 25bps in full auto as well as semi.

My friend shoots an angel lcd, comparing them side by side we both agreed that the way this gun fires and handles itself is just a step down from the angel performance wise. We took out his back-up gun, an 05 Pirrana (the one right below the evo) with a lightened bot and all and dry fired them and the pirrana couldnt hold a stick to the MR2 in full auto mode.

At a range of about 15 yards using 3 round burst mode, it was shooting a pattern about the size of the bottom of a coke can which isnt bad at all. It fires the 3 round so fast you might could say its effective as a shotgun.

Its also alot more efficiant than I expected, using a 14oz co2 i still managed to get a lil over 600 shots off.

I'd also like to make a special note of the ACS. It really is as sensative as they say. Just to test it, i stuck my finger in the feed and put on full auto, everytime the bolt went foward the spring sensed my finger was there and pulled back before smashing it. (dont try this at home, just take my word for it)

Some of the key features on this gun that i really like are the on the fly switchable rate of fire built into the back of the grip. No dipswitches inside the grip like other spyders i have seen. The stock comes with the gun, no need to pay 50 plus dollars for a good stock for scenario players, and the stock can be removed by unscrewing one scew allowing the gun to be used for speeedball as well. Then theres the raised sight rail which is also removeable allowing you to add a scope or anything else you want to mount to it. Suprisingly enough even with a 20oz Co2 tank it still doesnt get in the way while using the stock either. The last and one of my favorite is the M-16 style cocking mechanisim. You pull the T-bar behind the sight rail to cock the gun and it never moves during fire. So there are no moving parts outside of the gun leaving it sealed from debris, dust, and gun hits.
Conclusion: This is an awesome marker for anyone begginer or pro. Its designed for the tactical shooter but is VERY versitil dont let the looks fool you it is capable of holding its own on the speedball field. I think its under priced at $275 and is easily compareable with $500+ guns. Most of all though, if your looking for the best tactical shooter on the market with the potential to be the ultimate back position sniper gun, this is the gun for you. I hope this review answers some of your questions. I'm giving it a 10 for being the ultimate underdog and doing what I have never seen done for its price range.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
52 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media