paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2 / Kingman Spyder MR2

Kingman Spyder MR2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR2

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR2
[ View Photos (68) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 149
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The first military style, electronic paintball marker released by Kingman.

Features removable stock, scope mount and double trigger.

Built to withstand the toughest scenario play.

Comes with anti chop bolt, a rechargeable 9.6v battery and a range of firing modes.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
JeEzY Monday, June 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2, J & J 16'' barrel, adco hot shot red dot sight, Trinity expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, feedneck
Strengths: Speed, good looking, three firing modes to choose from
Weaknesses: Cant fit many barrels in its body style
Review: This gun is great for anyone that plays wreckball. It is easy to take care of and is fun to use. you can empty a hopper as quick as you can pull the trigger. I think this is also the best looking gun i have seen since i started playing paintball. People say this gun is heavy but i dont notice it at all when i play on the field.
Conclusion: Anyone who just wants to have some fun playing paintball I recommend this gun to.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thaBESTthereIZ Saturday, May 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98, they are lighter than MR-2's.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-2
18v Fasta LCD Hopper
16" J&J Performance Ceramic Barrel
24 and 9 oz. CO2 tanks
Recommended
Upgrades:
18v Fasta LCD Hopper
16" J&J Performance Ceramic Barrel
Grips
New Stock
Strengths: Good looking and cheap
Weaknesses: Stock barrel isn't accurate.
Review: This gun is amazing. I would tell anyone to get this gun. It has good options with the Semi, 3 Shot Burst, and auto. It can do 25 BPS (balls per second) which is fun to use and it has a ACS (anti-chop system) I have only had 1 break in the gun so far and it wasn't a bad one. Like i said get it cuz it's a good gun for a good price. it's overall AMAZING!!!
Conclusion: Get it!!! it is well worth the price and i think that you will enjoy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brongarago Sunday, April 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder victor 2, more durable but not as accurate
Marker Setup: VL hopper 18 BPS
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hopper
Strengths: Accurate.
Easy to change mode.
Durrable.
Weaknesses: The stock.
Hard to find a barrel.
Review: The main thing I noticed about the gun is the fact that you can't get a different barrel.The easy solution to htis problem is the take the barrel shroud. The next thing I don't like is the stock. there is no cap you can put in place of it. The last bad thing is the board broke. a little red conector came off so i could only go single. it is an easy fix if you have the part.

The gun is very accurate. It can take a lot of abuse. Very simple to take apart. great price, I got mine on sale for $100.great looks. The offset hopper makes it really easy to aim. great for woodsball and speedball
Conclusion: A nice gun. Can use a little tweaking. Gett if it is on sale.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RotZorn Sunday, April 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
MR1, E-MR1
Marker Setup: BSA red dot, "MR2 stock mod", "16 Areo Twist barrel, 32 degrees spring, Fasta 9v.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, rail handle with side mountsand a fast hopper.
Strengths: Price, comes with Egrip, good looking marker if you are into scenario/ milsims.
Weaknesses: It is a bit heavy, cheesy grips, hard to aim with mask hitting the stock
Review: I've had my MR2 for a few months now and have been through about 6 cases of paint and overall I'm very pleased. It chops very little and usually "jams" before it will chop- but it's alot easier to just recock the T knob, than to acually break a ball and have the clean everything. With the stock barrel accuracy was decent and and the gun overall was good with no mods.

The factory butt stock looks cool and feels comfortable to hold but all that chages once you have your mask on. there are a couple of ways to fix this- The MR2 stock mod- in which you remove the entire top portion of the stock, so you can lean your head behind the sights better with out your mask hitting it. Or you can buy a red dot and a side mount as not to have to lean your head as much. That's really my only complaint. Oh, and the stock plastic grips are kinda cheesy, but at least that's an easy fix.

The egrip is great in my opinion, it does not have any ramping or adjustability, but unlike other egrips I have seen, there is no LCD (or dot matrix) with a menu to go through to make on the fly changes, none of that "hold this button for five seconds then press and release the other buttton" nonsesne. It simply has a switch with an LED indicator to let you know what mode of fire you're in. Green= Semi, Yellow= 3 rd burst, Red= Full auto. Simple but effective.
Conclusion: I love my MR2. It shoots great and is extremely dependable. I would recommend it to anyone who is into milsims or scenario play, because it feels really good to put to your shoulder and fire like a true rifle. It is heavy, but so are real guns, so to me it adds to the realism. I would definately recommend a barrrel though, the stock barrel seems above average, but let's face it- it's a stock barrel. The grips are the absolute worst part of the gun's fit and finish but everything else is great quality. Check one out, you'll like it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

protofreak123 Sunday, April 27th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
proto slg, pmr, ion
Marker Setup: mr2 halo B 14in smartparts barel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barel, hopper new feed neck compressed air or nitro
Strengths: Look, easy change modes recharagble battery
Weaknesses: Really heavy inacurate jam alot
Review: The gun is alright, my bro has one. i woudlnt get one there 200$ they jam alot. For 200 get an ion proto slg or even save up an nother 115$ and buy an invert. If ur going for looks ye its good but if ur competing u dont want a heavy gun, a gun that jams. It doesnt shoot 25 bps thats a load of bs. On auto its maybey 17. My freinds ion and my slg can get up in the 20s and mine can go to 30. So buy a better gun and not the mr2
Conclusion: Its al right not the best i dont persolly love spyders at all. go proto smartparts invert and of them
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Syrax Sunday, April 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Recommended
Upgrades:
A red laser dot, but if you do this remove the stock.
An electric hopper to maximize bps.
Strengths: Decent accuracy
Nice rate of fire
Weaknesses: No durability at all
Review: The Spyder mr2 is a thoroughly an enjoyable gun. It is lean, has very nice accuracy, it also has a BPS that i would not have expected on a gun in its price range.
However a downside is that its not very durable, i being the clutz that i am fell and broke it. The barrel snapped clean in half. This is a problem because i cant find another spyder mr2 barrel singularly, they all come with the gun. Another downfall is, that it has a barrel shroud. This makes it very hard to customize it with other barrels.
Conclusion: In short a very sleak, sexy gun. Very enjoyable. But i would recomend it for new players.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

etrain Thursday, March 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bt-4 combat , Tippmann 98 custom , Tippmann a-5
Marker Setup: Bone stock MR2
Viewloader Revultion hopper with XBoard
PMI 68ci 4500psi Carbon Fibre wrapped HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitro tank - to take some weight off
barrel - apex is good
new stock if using a scope or any other sights
Fast hopper
Strengths: Fast, durrible, perfect out of box
Weaknesses: The guns pretty heavy and loud but i like loud :)
Review: This is a very very great gun. Its perfect for new players as well as experianced players. you could do alot with this gun. i like it because once i pull it out i look vert intimadating. its very fast up to 25bps if u can get it that fast. just need a fast hopper. ive heard lots of cases of chopping and such and i havent had any i think only 3 have broken and that was because the balls were old. To be honest i think the cheap balls are the way to go i only sue those and i havent had any problems. Gun is quite heavy so try to get a sling.
Conclusion: I tihnk this is a very good gun for a very great price it has some flaws but what gun doesnt i would deffintly recommand picking up one of these bad boys
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShadowSpyder Wednesday, March 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: New MR2 with eye. Everything else standard.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Well made (mostly metal) not like many other markers which are made of plastic.
Weaknesses: Trigger frame and side panels expose electronics.
Review: Overall the gun is well made and functions really well, hasn't chopped a ball yet. Before purchasing this gun I read many reviews and looked through numerous forums. When I pulled it out of the box I was very impressed by the quality, and it wasn't nearly as heavy as everyone claimed (Its actually lighter than most guns of the same price). But something I notice right away was the grip. The plastic grip panels dont seal up really well to the trigger frame. When the battery is installed the panels bulge out even more. This can't be good for the trigger's electronic board. This is very disappointing, I thought I was getting a very durable and tough gun. It looks like you could sneeze and the electronics could short circuit.
Conclusion: I'm currently thinking of ways to solve this problem. A wrap around grip would probably help a little, but not enough. There will still be many ways for paint or water or moisture to get inside the grip. I have yet to find anyone that mentions having this type of problem. I think this is an obvious and potentially serious problem. I've never let snow nor rain nor water crossings, stop me from playing paintball. But this marker is definitely going to limit me to dry weather [unacceptable] until I can solve the problem.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer61 Saturday, March 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
vIEWLOADER TRITON 2
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder mr2
Evolution 3 hopper
20 oz pure energy co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel
Fast hopper
Strengths: Easy to use
Pretty accurate for stock barrel
co2 or hpa
Fast
Weaknesses: Needs better barrel
Sometimes it doesn't recock itself.
Review: This is the greatest gun i have ever used. As soon as i got it i tried it out , and it was great. I got it shot through a chronograph the second day i got it and shot 18 bps easy.
When you first get it, it has a tendency to shoot very fast. The barrel isn't bad for a stock barrel. You have to get a fast hopper or it will chop. The one time mine chopped it chopped every shot after it chopped the first time. I would reccomend an evolution 3 it will keep up with this gun, and it is $50 cheapers than the others. I wouldn't say it is better than a higher end gun but if you are looking for great gun that won't break you get this gun.
Conclusion: This is a great gun get it if you are a beginner or a novice. The bare minimum you will need is a faster hopper. Very accurate with stock barrel but would be better with a better barrel. You won't be let down.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Scias Monday, March 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor, PMI Pirahna
Marker Setup: Spyder MR2 w/ metal clamping feedneck, red dot scope, new detent, 9V Fasta Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New detents, metal clamping feedneck
Strengths: Rate of fire
Spyder Ease of Maintenance
Looks
Weight
Weaknesses: Detents
Weight
Not AS easy to break down as other spyders
Battery problems
Review: When a use a specific kind of product for the first time and it treats me well, I usually stay loyal to the brand name. This occured with Kingman's Spyder guns. I owned a Spyder Victor for my first gun. It was great and I never had a major problem, and it was very easy to break down and modify. That same quality I saw in the Victor I still see in the MR2.

I debated between the MR1 and MR2, but the ACS bolt and the forgrip on the MR2 sold me, even though I was leary about having to rely on batteries to be able to shoot my gun.

The first thing that attracted me to the gun were the looks. I play recreational woodsball, and everyone out there owns a Tippman. I wanted something different, but that still had that military style. The MR2 definitely has that.

BODY: The body is mostly metal, which gives it a good sturdy feeling. It also weighs quite a bit compared to other guns. Personally, I like heavy guns. It gives it that realistic feel. I listed that under a weakness as well because some people don't like their guns heavy. It also just looks really cool. I feel like I'm ready for some heavy firefights just holding it in the field, and having something somewhat unique is something I strive for. I like the Tippman A5 look, but I liked the MR2 looks better (except the crappy hard plastic grips on the handle, which you can buy better ones).

BARREL: It's a standard 14" barrel. Looks good with the gun and has pretty good accuracy. Personally, I think the gun actually looks better WITHOUT any barrel, but it's not much use to anyone like that. Might look good with a little CQC barrel.

RATE OF FIRE: It's fast. The three round burst and full auto are a novelty, they're just not practical in a firefight unless you have a very good hopper. Using them is like playing the random ball chop game. Semi auto is nice. The trigger is so light that you can let loose a crazy barrage of paint just flying at the enemy. Maybe it feels so fast because I only have experience with the victor, but still, when I let 10 balls loose, and my opponent only sends 5 at me in the same period, I feel pretty good.

EASE OF MAINTENANCE: While my friends spend forever it seems messing with their tippmans, I pull the pin out of my spyder and everything comes out. That and most everything is held together with a minimal amount of screws.

NOT AS EASY AS OTHER SPYDERS TO BREAK DOWN: The only thing about the MR2 is that, to remove the bolt etc. you have to remove the screw for the cocking lever, which is under the raised sight rail, so you have to remove the raised sight rail. THis does get annoying after a bit.

BALL DETENT: Yes it is true. The detents are very weak little nipple things that double feed like crazy. Getting some Bob Long Intimidator detents will fix the double feeding. Easy fix, $3. They are a very tight fit, I had to trim a little off the edge to get it to fit.

BATTERY PROBLEMS: The battery that came with my MR2 was bad. It held about 200 balls worth of charge and that's it. Took me forever to figure out what the problem was because I didn't expect it to be bad. I hate battery operated things. These batteries are about 15 bucks a piece for the spyder brand ones, which is absurd personally. They're supposed to last 5000 -10000 shots I think I read. So I modded (and at the same time voided my warranty) the gun to use a 9.6V RC Car battery, which holds about 6-7x the charge. Lasted me all day the other day, and it probably would have lasted the entire weekend had I played everyday.

ACS BOLT: It works. Not every time, but nothing's perfect. It's good, but you have to break it in. Just take it out and compress the spring a bunch, otherwise don't expect it to prevent chopping worth a flip.

RECOMMENDED UPGRADES: An all metal, clamping feedneck is expensive, but it's a good investment. Even though it held up, I wouldn't expect the plastic feedneck to keep going for extended periods. Definitely get new detents. An electronic hopper is essential for keeping up with it's true potential. A high end hopper is recommended for use with auto and 3 round burst modes. My 9V fasta keeps up well with my semi auto, and that's all I ask for.
Conclusion: For recreational play, especially woodsball, I highly recommend this very stylish, functional gun. It's heavy, and loud, but it just feels right to me. Will, like any new gun, require a break in period, especially for the ACS bolt.

I give it a 9 because of it's minor flaws and the experience I had with the battery, even though it was an isolated incident. Would have been a 10 otherwise.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (15):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media