paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1

Kingman Spyder MR1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR1
[ View Photos (93) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The MR1 will take a beating and keep on firing! The slide out pull pin, field strippable bolt, and full-length stock (optional) make the MR1 an easily operated and highly accurate scenario marker with military resilience and stability. This semi-auto marker won't rust even when you're trekking through the wettest terrain, and you?ll never need to worry about batteries because there aren?t any electronic parts!
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
brandena29 Wednesday, December 15th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Proto Primo Hopper
Clamping Feedneck
Adjustable Stock
Remote w/QD & Cover
Ninja 62ci 3000psi HPA Tank w/Magna Cap
2+1 Paintball Harness
Tippmann Gun Sling
Spyder MR1 Terminus Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feedneck
HPA N2 Source
Adjustable Stock
Strengths: Strong
Durable
Reliable
Easy Disassembly
Water-Proof (Rain, no Fear!)
BLACK
Weaknesses: Heavy (Weaklings!)
Bolt didn't re-cock (only once)
Review: Pros:

I have had this gun for one year now, and it has never let me down! In all my months of paintballing, this is the one gun rely on. This is the kind of gun you don't need to worry abut breaking, rusting, cracking, ect... because it won't.
The best part, is that it's all black, and I can disassemble this entire gun in under a minute, clean it out with a squeegee, and put it back together, no problem!
Accuracy: Very Accurate, however the barrel must be somewhat clean, or it will swerve. Also, CO2 will ruin whatever shred of accuracy you will hope for, no matter what the gun or barrel. Upgrade to HPA Consistency=Accuracy
Noise: Loud, but I've heard louder. Any aftermarket barrel will quiet this thing.
Mods: This gun can be modded very well, however only with mr-series specific things.
Chops: Only chopped once, but I shoot 11bps max, anyways.
Did I mention It's BLACK?!

Cons:

Get a new bolt, a Spyder MR1 Terminus ACP bolt will do.
Conclusion: I love it, you will, too. Virtually Indestructible and Filed-Strippable. Don't worry about rain, sleet, snow hail, rocks, breaking it... because it won't.
Like with every gun in the world, it will be improved with a new bolt and N2 HPA system.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballit Tuesday, November 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c (which fails)
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
Guerilla 68ci 300psi
Galaxy V 14 inch
Stryker super mini drop forward
Evlution 3 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Macro line
Smaller drop forward
delrin bolt
14" CP barrel
Clamping feedneck
Strengths: Rugged
Easy to clean
Quiet
REMOVEABLE stock
Long stock barrel
Comfortable grips
Weaknesses: Bad steel line
Cant put hpa on drop forward
Review: The MR1 is definately better than the Tippmann 98c. You can use aftermarket parts, like macro lines, barrels, bolts, and i definately recommend a clamping feedneck. (get one for 15 bucks) the stock is what won me over. the Tippmann stock was put on bu removing the parts from the gun. this one, its just a small screw. The Tippmann has a side cocking bolt, the MR1 has a top cocking bolt. A bad thing about the MR1 is that you cant put HPA directly on the gun. i purchased a stryker mini drop forward. works awesome.
Conclusion: Get this, a barrel, a drop forward and a macro line, and you are good. 9 of 10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FireRoastedFire Thursday, October 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom,
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder MR1
Terminator 16" Sniper Barrel
20oz. Pure Energy CO2
View Loader 200 round gravity hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Whatever fits. Stock barrel is decent, but can definitly use upgrading.
Stock (if your not a fan of Skeletal stocks)
I hear a Stiffi barrel makes this thing deady
Strengths: Durable
Accurate
Good-looking
Portable
Fast
Loud
Weaknesses: A bit heavy with 20oz
Top-side bolt annoying
Loud
Review: Let me explain loud being good and bad:

GOOD: When playing back, it draws attention from your fronts, making their job easier.
BAD: In woodsball, I "snipe". With my barrel, it's quieter, but this thing with stock barrel woke up my neighbors.

As for everything else, never have I turned so many heads when I walked onto a field as with this thing. I find this as my soul-gun. It's entry level like me, it's versitile based on what kit you buy for it, and it's fun to shoot.

The stock on this gun is wonderful. They say stocks on PB guns are useless, but in PB you don't use it to reduce recoil, its used to stabilize your marker, which this does well.

The grips are fantastic-ky. You won't lose your grip unless you drop it on purpose. as far as chops/breaks, one out of ~2500 rounds. I lose more paintballs while loading this thing than it breaks. No gun is perfect, and this is no exception, but it is a great gun.

I already have some amazing accuracy stories with this gun, so I have to give it points on accuracy. Fire rate is great, even if semi-auto. Went through 250 rounds 5 minutes into a game without chopping a ball. Yes, even while in cover, I shot 1.2 balls per second.

Conclusion: For a beginner, I love this thing. I have compared it to a Tippmann 98 Custom and would take an MR-series over a Tippman any day. May not have been in the past, but now it's very upgradable.

All in all, great for speedball, woodsball, and scenario. Enjoy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

diskid22 Monday, October 18th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: mr1 stock( the one it comes with)
14 in barrel
original hopper
Warrior Spyder Electric Roller Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Take off the stock it gets in the way.
Get a Warrior Spyder Electric Roller Trigger for only $10 so the trigger pull is adjustable and much lighter
Strengths: Accuracy
Shoots generally fast
Durable
Reliable
Weaknesses: Stock trigger pull
Review: I play woodsball for the most part and it works well for that because it is accurate, not too loud and lasts me a ton of games on a 9-ounce tank.
After years of use(and i bought it used from a friend) the spyder MR1 has rarely chops and has never broken yet has barely even scratched.
My only recommendation is to get a new trigger because it is hard to shoot quickly with it.
The last thing is the stock you don't really need it take it off because it gets in the way when you run and aim. if you really need a stock just prop the co2 tank on your shoulder.
Conclusion: I love this gun! i recommend buying it along with a new trigger and remove the stock
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Invertible Tuesday, September 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder Mr1, Reds Pepperstickz Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Mil-Sim, light, Coolish looking, good on Co2, Accurate to an extent, rarely chops
Weaknesses: stock barrel sucks, LOUD, worthless aim over 50-100 ft EDIT: Breaks easily in game
Review: I got this gun as my first owned gun, after borrowing and renting guns, and it is an okay marker. Its really good for its price. The accuracy with the stock barrel is awful, so get a new barrel with some good paint. This gun is LOUD. So loud, that once I was in a game, walked up next to a teammate shooting over a hill, shot, and I actually startled him, he looked over to my gun after jumping a little bit. Pretty good on Co2 consumption, a full tank can last me a day with this gun, (But I don't shoot much, which is why I LOVE pumps.)

EDIT: Well, after less than a year, the gun has broken. All of the bolts came undone in game, falling onto the ground, never to be found again. After that game, I was unscrewing the CO2 tank, when the gun when crazy full auto, unloading 20 or so sounds into my barrel sock. Considering this mechanical marker went full auto, I would say that is bad. The trigger frame came undone twice in one day, which is what caused the full auto shooting.
Conclusion: Great starter gun. Buy a new barrel and maybe a new hopper and you can get a half-decent gun for about $130.

EDIT: Good if, and ONLY IF, you need a gun that can shoot. and that is it.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 13th, 2011 at 11:39 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hawkeye20 Friday, September 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom with all standard accessories, Spyder Sonix Pro
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 with:
--Standard MR1 Stock
--Remote Coil
--20 oz Co2 Tank
--14 inch JJ performance barrel
--Tactical Sling 1-point sling (mounted to the stock where it attaches to the gun)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (test it out first to make sure you really want one... Mine came with the original and the 14 inch). A spare elbow tube.
Strengths: Awesome looks. Solid build. Not too heavy. Realistic milsim paintball gun.
Weaknesses: Nothing so far, and I've had it for six months.
Review: I got this marker off of craigslist, took it home and put everything together. Woohoo! My first paintball gun was ready to play! Two weeks later I took it out and it performed OUTSTANDING. So much better than the greasy little air hogs people have come to know as "98 customs" that I was forced to rent in the past. Great accuracy, and not a single chop for the 4+ hours I was playing! And it didn't use much air either. The guy that was refilling the tanks told me I still had 18 out of 20 ounces left in my tank. But, I didn't shoot too much. 600-800 rounds maximum (which is good for me... the last time I played I shot my first hopper completely through in the first two-on-two game!). A couple weeks later I took it out again and played some more. FLAWLESSLY. I borrowed a kid's A-5 (first time shooting one) just to try it out and sprayed the wall with paint. Then, I walked away, discusted at the poor accuracy compared to my MR1. Booyah.
Conclusion: All in all, this is, without doubt, THE BEST paintball marker I have ever shot (compared to: Tippmann A-5, Tippmann 98 custom, JT Stealth, Spyder Sonix Pro, unknown pump gun, and Spyder Extra). Accuracy: 9/10 (nobody's perfect). Chop ratio: 0/5000+ shots. Realisticness: 10/10. Total score: 10 out of friggin' 10!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

liquidroyl Sunday, September 19th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom (rental) - Better than this product for a new player experience.
Marker Setup: Stock Spyder MR1
CP 14" One-Piece Barrel
Generic Hopper
Generic 20oz CO2
Brown-Box Cheap Paint

Strengths: Inexpensive
Weaknesses: Does not play well out of box
Chops paint
Review: I am a very new paintball player (2 days of paintball played, 2000 rounds and counting!), but I made my purchases based on reviews from pbreview and value the community here a lot already. Because of that, I felt compelled to post my first day experience with the Spyder MR1, because it was very different than most posted here. Hopefully I am an anomaly, so take my review with others' when making your decision. If you want the short version, skip to my conclusion.

After a day of playing at Camp Pendleton, several friends and I decided to take the plunge and purchase guns. Fast forward about a month and a lot of reading later, and I am the proud owner of a new MR1 and CP 14" barrel. I live in an apartment complex without much in the way of woods or private areas, so getting air and testing it before going to the field was not really an option. Instead, I read the manual, and disassembled and re-assembled the rear internals once in case I needed to field strip the gun for whatever reason. Everything seemed to work fine at this point.

The first day with my new gun started out poorly. When I tried to shoot , the ball sputtered about 10 feet before dropping to the ground. After a couple more rounds, it was obvious that something was wrong, so the ref asked me to go back to the shop to get it checked out. At the shop, the technician took out the rear assembly, and pulled the o-rings off of the Venturi bolt. Only then did we notice that one of the o-rings had a huge divet in it, which was allowing air to escape when shooting. I am fairly certain this was not due to my re-assembly, since I was very careful with the process and the bolt re-assembly was a breeze. With a new o-ring in place, I chrono'd at the range to 260 fps before heading out to the field. At this point, I had already missed the first two games.

I played in the next two games, where my gun would consistently fail to blow-back the bolt completely, and paintballs would get stuck in the nook of the feeder elbow. While these things were not awesome, I was just happy to be playing at this point. After the two games I asked the ref about the blowback and he suggested I chrono the gun again, which I did - the gun was now shooting at 230, so I re-adjusted back up past 250, which seemed to help the blow-back issue a bit. Hot day is hot.

Fast forward again to the last field of the day .As I started to take the barrel cover off my gun for the game, it fired. This was fairly terrifying because the safety was on, but it seemed to fire fine, so I continued to play. Halfway through the game, the gun stopped firing at all - I would cock the bolt back, and when I pulled the trigger the bolt would go forward about halfway; no loud air release, no paintball firing, and I noticed the grip on the gun was loose. I surrendered myself out of the game and trudged back to the pro-shop. At the shop, the technician pointed out that the rear grip screw had fallen out, which made the entire trigger mechanism lose functionality, and made the gun's safety not function at all. We quickly put a spare screw back in and I made it back to play in the last games of the day.

And that was that. Comparing my first time playing paintball with a rental Tippmann and my second time with my own MR1 is pretty laughable; if the days were switched, I am pretty sure I would never have made it to a second day of paintball. Here is the breakdown of the entirety of my paintball experiences:

Rental Tippmann Custom 98
- Shot ~1200 rounds of field paint
- Missed half of one game in 6 hours of play
- No chopped balls
- No hopper problems
- Poor accuracy past ~25 feet, with balls veering to the left or right depending on their mood

New Spyder MR1
- Shot ~800 rounds of cheap paint
- Missed four games in 5 hours of play
- 1 chopped ball
- Lots of misfires from balls getting stuck in feeder elbow and failed blowback
- Poor accuracy past ~25 feet before chop even with new barrel, terrible accuracy after chop despite field-cleaning
- Shot a round out of game because of one missing screw

I would like to think I had realistic expectations of my MR1 after reading the reviews on this site. I expected a better-than-rental experience. Instead, it was the opposite. I also think the process I followed for preparing to play is pretty typical for a new player. Because of this, I am rating this gun extremely low (I would rate my experience with the Tippmann rental at about a 7, acknowledging the fact that I have only ever shot two guns)






Conclusion: Obviously since I own this gun now, I will continue to play with it and will update my review accordingly. However, I simply cannot recommend this gun to a new player based on my experience. Out of box with an upgraded barrel, it had game-stopping malfunctions in 2 of 12 games played in a day, and the fixes for those malfunctions took me out of at least 2 additional games. Yes, with more experience I could easily have fixed at least one of those malfunctions in the field, but I would not expect a new player to be able to. Missing 1/3 games due to your new marker malfunctioning is unacceptable in my opinion, as is a engineering design that makes your gun's safety fail if one screw falls out.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 19th, 2010 at 8:06 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mazta energy Saturday, August 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98
Marker Setup: none at the moment
Recommended
Upgrades:
do not i repeat do not bother
Strengths: Its a spyder what do u expect
Weaknesses: The iron sights fail worse then a blind robber. Plastic elbow.... =( disaster.
Review: 98 98 98 Remember that number kids ok seriously the model 98 is so much better. Weighs less,better iron sights, customizable. mr1 SUCKS if you dont know what tippmann even is you must live under a rock or play too much modern nerdfare for only 20 dollaz more you get he ak 47 of paintball durability yes the mr1 is durable too but if you didnt read right i said the iron sights suck they are obstructed by the bolt to be more clear. so just buy a tippmann. now i know u may question why i even own a mr1 well admit i got it becuase i didnt have the cash mr1=100$ model 98=120$ yeah i know i gotta follow my own advice save now buy a better gun later.
Conclusion: I dont use my mr1 for a reason a model 98 which is the most common rental marker out there thats becuase its affordable durable.... Its tippmann and very soon i may purchase such a marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Skunkpig1808 Thursday, August 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman98 Tippman A-5 Spyder Piolet the tippman A-5 is better but i think the MR1 is better then the 98 and Piolet
Marker Setup: Shorter barral, Halo Hopper, New grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Shorter barral or the 12" they give u if u play speed ball, Longer barral if u play woodsball
Strengths: Full metal so where i live in Flordia it dosnt rust, long lasting,
Weaknesses: Kinda Heavy
Review: I love this gun i use it in Speedball and Woodsball I think every beginner should get some kind of spyder and i suggest this one, Its is really easy to take apart so u can Oil the O-rings, When i frist got the gun i didnt put the stock on because of speedball so the gun didnt get in my way when i was running to the snake or Bunckers, When i played Woodball i put the stock, so i think this gun is Speed//Wood Ball gun the stock changes it
Conclusion: Awsome love it and long lasting
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dye32796 Wednesday, August 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: spyder pilot 09, 14inch 1 piece cp barrel.,vl eye force,48 3000 psi hpa guerrilla air myth tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
16'' or 14' barrel.or sniper barrel.
Strengths: Reliable,Durable,Easy maintenance,Very affordable,Mechanical (no batteries needed),Consistent,
Weaknesses: Inaccurate,Heavy
Review: The stock barrel on the gun can and likely will cause inaccuracy,i would reccomend a 14" 16" inch barrel or a sniper barrel.I guarantee that if you do such as to upgrade the barrel the accuracy problem will be easily solved.It is also likely to chop some paint if your shooting really fast,but then again every mechanical gun that uses gravity fed hoppers chops paint and its unavoidable not to.Also some players may find this gun to be somewhat heavy but i lift weights so to me its not a problem at all.
Conclusion: This product is easily affordable and easy to maintain,upgrading the barrel on this gun is the best thing you could do for it.Overall this is a great gun and i would recommend it,especially if your a beginner.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 4th, 2010 at 6:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media