paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1

Kingman Spyder MR1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR1
[ View Photos (93) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The MR1 will take a beating and keep on firing! The slide out pull pin, field strippable bolt, and full-length stock (optional) make the MR1 an easily operated and highly accurate scenario marker with military resilience and stability. This semi-auto marker won't rust even when you're trekking through the wettest terrain, and you?ll never need to worry about batteries because there aren?t any electronic parts!
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Grayf0x Wednesday, March 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c A.C.T; model 98; Triton 1,2,3 ; Spyder Compact delux java; spyder flash
Marker Setup: Mr1-18in barrel; ak-47 expansion chamber: t-lock for hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
bigger barrel get a trinity t-lock to replace stock elbow best decision you can make
Strengths: Great barrel comes with stock.
Weaknesses: Not much, claning is a chore though.
Review: The entire mr-1 is a solid marker for a new player. Its very easy to handle, has a good rate of fire and fair accuracy. Claning this marker is a little difficult, and can give you some head aches. It mil-slim looks make it a great buy for senario players. Spyders are easy to upgrade. Eats almost any paint except RPS Super Swirl!!!!
Conclusion: Overall the Mr-1 is a great marker for any new player looking for cool looking gun. Im giving it a 9 because cleaning it is a *&^%&*%%$&^%$!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BloodShotRed Monday, March 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I replaced this with my MR2.
Marker Setup: Top Sawed off Stock
Substitute Stock Screw
14" JT Barrel
Bob Long Intimidator Ball Detent
Maddog Clamping Feedneck MR
Recommended
Upgrades:
GET BL Timmy Ball Detents
Better Barrel
Strengths: Good Accuracy
Comfortable Rubber Grip
Good Weight Distribution
Excellent Durability
Weaknesses: Heavy Metal Construction
Chops the Stock Ball Detent
Difficult to Aim Down Barrel with Stock
Review: This is a good starter gun for those interested in Mil-Sim, and can be upgraded to an electric model. It does have a heavy weight, but once you start using it, your arms will only be sore at the end of the day if that bothers you, but it is something you quickly overcome. The stock grip is actually quite good, and i had a little wear down but discovered quickly that is was nothing to worry about, just breaking it in. The stock requires a good modification because Kingman forgot the fact that people wear masks and they can be quite blocky sometimes.
Conclusion: I honestly think this gun will serve you well, considering its fairly cheap price and solid construction. One or two parts may be added, but the one is a new ball detent.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

luvswoodsball Monday, March 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot acs
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
flatline barrel
6 position M16 stock
M16 magizene
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock
red dot site
egrip
better barrel
Strengths: Accurate!!!!!!!!!!
Weaknesses: Ummmmm........ none
Review: AMAZING GUN!!!!!!!!! my frined got this gun and he called me over to test it and I think that this is one of the most accurate guns i have ever used. this thing neve curvs never dive bombs it is amazing. I would recomend a scope on this thing. It also is light weight it feeles like your shooting a fether. I would recomend this gun to any player regardless of their skill level. Also if you get a better barrel on this you will own the field with accuracy. This gun also has amazing range. Me and my friend were shooting from a tower down at some freak on the field from about 80 yards and my pilot acs just could not do the job. My friend took maby 2 shots and hit him both times. So not only is this gun one shot one kill it is long range kills. It also woorks fine in the cold. I would know this because i live in Maine and i go paintballing all the time no matter what the season. So when i go looking for a paintball gun i need one that will opperate in the cold. This gun will get the job done in the rain, sleet, hail, snow, and the cold. Get this gun. It is amainzg great for tactical play and just for the back yard shooting the nerd from school. Oh good times good times. But on a more serious not YOU NEED THIS GUN. IT IS AMAZING!!! IF YOU DONT GET THIS GUN THAN YOU ARE LETTING YOURSELF DOWN. YOU WONT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE MISSING OUT ON!! Oh did i mention that you need this gun?
Conclusion: Get this gun
Thats all i have to say
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pblover19 Thursday, February 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder tl-r spyder victor and others
Marker Setup: stock spyder mr1 with 12oz.co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL!!!!!!!!!! others still in review.
Strengths: shoots farily hard, slick look and A.C.S decent price.
Weaknesses: Accuracy(with stock barrel), loud others still in review.
Review: All my friends say that its the gunman who determines how the gun works sometimes but i think this guns stock barre is terrible. used my other freinds tl-r and his accuracy is amazing and he has a stock barrel. If you are going to buy this gun you better get a new barrel. Other than that I LOVE!!!! my Mr1.
Conclusion: I would get his gun but i would definetly get a new barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

l1ryan1l Thursday, February 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder imagine 04
Tippmann 98 custom
Tippmann A-5
a random old school spyder idk wat it is
Bushmaster 2000
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagin 04, Razzor barrel, Dagger Trigger CO2 gas :(,
Spyder MR-1, barrel grip, MP-5 front sight, home-modified grip, home-modified skeleton stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
new grip and/or trigger frame, new sights, maybe a new barrell if you want (stock barrel is pretty good)
Strengths: -Accurate
-Durable/tough
-Nice looks
-Rediculously customable
-Accurate stock barrell
-Good in speedball too!
Weaknesses: -Grip
-TriggerFrame
-Doesnt shoot fast
-Sights
-Cocking Pin
Review: Pros:
well when i first got it i didnt expect it to be as good as it was with all the stock parts, the stock barrel is amazingly accurate for a stock barrel, also i have it just laying around my room on the ground behind/under the bed (i got not place for it :(. ) but when i pick it up it shoots like new. also ive added scopes, and red dot sights to it, and barrel grips

Cons:
The cocking pin gets in the way of the sights and some upgrades
the trigger grip/gaurd dug into my finger but i taped almost all of the trigger frame with medical tape and its a million times more comfortable
its loud and heavy, but it was meant to be that way
doesnt shoot fast (wasnt made to shoot fast)
the stock is unusable with a mask on, so i sawed the top bar off of the stock and it's suddenly better
Conclusion: A great scenario and pretty good in speedball, an accurate marker well-worth buying that needs very little upgrades and maybe a few home modifacations
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

woods_ball_guy Sunday, February 10th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sonix, tlr, xtra.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1, Proto 14" Chrome barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
feedneck
Strengths: Tough
Reliable
Matte finish
Weaknesses: Stock barrel insn't that accurate
Feedneck
Review: I just played with it for the first time today. With my barrel it was very accurate and pretty consitant. People say its super heavey but it isn't that bad if your used to spyder markers. I shot about 500 paintballs and didn't chop one ball. Over all its a great gun to me and will probably last awhile.
Conclusion: good beginner gun or back up gun, not that bad of a price, GET IT!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

HawkEye003 Sunday, February 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5 Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Mr1, Dovetail 7/8 inch rails, Adco Sureshot Sight, Apex Barrel, Remote coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, new Elbo
Strengths: Very Reliable, Durable, Not Gas Guzzling, Excellent weight distribution
Weaknesses: Slow to Load not good for Speed ball
Review: Intro: Well First of all i don't have much experience and I'm sorry about that but i own this gun and it is AMAZING, my older brother and Dad got the A5 and My gun just owns theirs. First of all it is much cheaper which alone is surprising.
Weight Distribution: Now we all have the Remote lines so tank weight isn't a problem but where the weight of the gun is. The A5's are very front-heavy where as the Mr1 is just barely back heavy which is excellent because of it's Stock/Butt.
Reliability: Believe it or not the Mr1 is more reliable than the A5, My Dad and Brother chop or break balls every game. The Mr1, I couldn't give you an accurate estimate but wont even chop or break with dirt shoved down the barrel. However when it does rarely chop every ball after that is inaccurate or another chop. However just changing the FPS is unreliable it bounces around a lot from 305 to 294 Etc. This hasn't messed me up but I'm not a sniper.
Recommended Upgrades: As with most Paint ball guns you should change the stock barrel, I got the Apex which is incredible (see my Apex review( I'm one of those people that believe the barrel makes the gun)). It is annoying however that if you are going to get a sight you must get new rails( I don't suggest modifying the gun by shearing the bolt off but that also works) The gun is very easy to customize.
Where it works: it is an excellent gun for rec ball and Woodsball but it just doesn't load fast enough to be able to get lots of shots off Fast for Speed ball.
Gas Consumption: The Mr1 will get off about double what the A5 will on a single tank, This is because The A5 has a cyclone feeder which is prone to problems and uses tons of gas. Now for efficiency the A5 is better the Mr1's Barrel will get frost on it.
Pricing: the Mr1 ( in my opinion a better gun) costs anywhere from 80-125 U.S. Dollars with Butt/Stock that comes with it. The A5 with nothing but the cyclone feeder is from 200- 300 U.S. dollars.
Other: Spyder does not give you a great instruction manual but it is useful.
Sorry I always say gun instead of Marker I'm just used to it.
Conclusion: Granted there is room for improvement but for the low price and easy-to-clean Marker with it's reliability and customizability (if it is a word) That is better the the A5 at most things so I would give it a 12 if I could.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Speedy16 Thursday, February 7th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: 14in J&J
Evlution hopper II hopper with X bord
Dye Drop
20 oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Hpa
Drop foward(if u do not use the stock)
Some kind of hopper other than a Vl 200
Strengths: Dependable
accurate
cheep
good looks
Weaknesses: heavy and unbalenced
Co2 hog
Review: Well i got this gun in june(first one) and i shot a case through it in my back yard all stock and it did well. But then on the second case it started to chop, well my hopper could not keep up with my shooting. This is where to got wird my friend got the same gun but a diffrent type of gravid feed hopper and it worked fine. So i got an Eggy for my bday and that sloved my problem.(this if before I have even taken it out to the field) I got the J&J barrel for my bday to. When I did take it out to the field it worked Perfectly. I have been out 3 times since and had no problems. It does still chop paint but only like 5 balls out of 4000 rounds. It is a some what of a Co2 hog. It is especially bad when it is cold out side. The lack of an expantion chamber doesn help eather. But the is what Hpa is for any ways(will be getting that soon). The J&J barrel is a great up grade much better over stock, and the Dye Drop has balenced out the gun.
Conclusion: Over all i Love this gun and once u get it set up it will be your best friend.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 7th, 2008 at 3:21 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

lumberdog Wednesday, February 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, 98S
PMI'S
SPYDER MR2, SONIX
A BUNCH OF GUNS
Marker Setup: A-5 with flatline, E-girp, car colapsable stock, red dot
backup gun is a custom pro with a Apex barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
may a new barrel , jj ceramic
Strengths: Tough
Cheap
Value, great performance for the price
Weaknesses: Lack of mods
Small rail
Review: I live in a small remote town, and have started a paintball club with a buddy. I have a A-5 with about 800 into it and a 98c pro a MR2 a couple of view loaders. I use lend these guns and have been getting guys hooked on paintball. Recently I went to a Paintball store out of town and they had Mr1s on sale, so I bought one. Buying that gun is probably the best move i have made concerning paintball, well built and easy to maintain it performed flawless and accurate right out of the box. Since then I have purchased 2 more and have sold them to buddies who love the price and performance. I love my A5 and my 98cp also, but bang for the buck, this is the gun. I have my own co2 tanks and thinking of starting rental bussiness. I was going to get custom 98s because I know these guns well but I have changed my mind and going with the MR1s
Conclusion: If you play woodsball and want a inexpensive reliable good looking good performing gun, you would be a fool to pass up The MR1, best bang for the buck in woodsball hands down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

deano 177 Monday, February 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VS3
Tippmann Pro Lite
Marker Setup: VS3 with vs2 trigger
Empire Vents Avatar with dark thermals
Halo Frontman
88 and 68/4500 Pure Energy with DYE covers
Invert 3+2 Loaders
Invert Digi Woodland Outfit
Spyder MR 1 with rear cocking mod
14" j&j barrel
Spyder E-trigger
Palmer's Stablizer
Pure Energy 16oz tank
Pure Energy 20oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Regulator
Feedneck
Strengths: Toughness
Pocket friendly
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Limited scope attatchment for milsim
Stock may need to be modified
Stock chrono >300+
Review: This was my first marker since my hiatus. It was a good entry(re-entry?) level marker and is easy to take care of. This marker is pretty simple to work on. I have had a few problems:

1. Bad cup seal in first marker. Exchanged it the same day and have not had any issues since

2. Chronographing. This thing was shooting super hot right out of the box. 340+ was the minimum I could get it down to with out clipping and finally replacing the spring.

I had pretty good experiance with the elbow that came with the marker. It lasted for a while. Maybe 2 months? You can get by with a gravity hopper on this marker but upgrade to some sort of power hopper soon. The first thing that I did was to put the j&j on it. That helped with the loudness of the marker.

Total addons: $254
j&j - $40
Palmers reg - $75
etrigger - $40
marker - $99


Conclusion: A good entry level marker to see if you will like paintball. This marker can become a great backup with a little money.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media