paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1

Kingman Spyder MR1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR1
[ View Photos (93) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The MR1 will take a beating and keep on firing! The slide out pull pin, field strippable bolt, and full-length stock (optional) make the MR1 an easily operated and highly accurate scenario marker with military resilience and stability. This semi-auto marker won't rust even when you're trekking through the wettest terrain, and you?ll never need to worry about batteries because there aren?t any electronic parts!
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  Last
        Next Page
Sniperfiend Tuesday, April 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month33 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C, Rap4 T68 Gen 1/2, BT-4 Combat
Marker Setup: Primary:

Spyder MR1 - Stock
20 oz Pure Energy CO2 tank
Archon Gravity fed hopper (dual feed ramps, up to 11.6bps)
Oregon Scientific ATC-2K Video cam (barrel attached)

Secondary:

Rap4 T68 Gen1/2 M4/M16 Marker with M203 air conversion kit.
Extreme Rage agitated Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
BT Apex Barrel
Reflex Site
Remote Line
Strengths: Rugged and Durable
Aesthetics
Accurate
Consistent
Easy field maintenance
Weaknesses: Relative lack of accessories in comparison to other markers
A bit heavy
Review: This marker was initially purchased as my secondary/backup marker, with the T68 mentioned above as my primary. After the number of issues I've had with the T68 (air issues, weight, e-grip/battery issues, lack of "acceptance" at some fields, etc.), I've switched over to the MR1 for my primary.

First Impressions

This marker is well packaged and comes with a standard tool kit and replacement parts and an ok manual. The fit and finish of the materials are top notch. The marker is easy to put together out of the box, even for relative newcomers to paintball.

Performance

This marker easily outperforms any rental marker and most store bought markers (in the same price range/genre) that I've come across. Shots are consistent and on target up to 75 ft with stock barrel. Shots will travel further than 75ft, but I've found with the stock barrel that those shots were rarely effective (read: ball breaks) or on target at greater than 100ft.

I did note some drop off in velocity during rapid fire, but I suppose you get that on most markers without an expansion chamber. From my testing, the hopper that came with the marker package only allowed a fire rate of 3 or 4 bps. The Archon hopper noted above allowed a much higher RoF (around 7 bps consistent, I'd say). Only chopped one ball out of about 1000 fired, and at the time it wasn't me firing the marker (a friend borrowed it for a round of play) so I didn't observe the conditions that led to the misfire. I did note that the adjustable feed neck was a bit skewed when the marker was returned to me, so that may have contributed to the problem.

Maintenance and Repair

Initial takedown of the marker is pretty straightforward. One pin for the velocity adjuster/spring assembly and another for the bolt. Clearing a chop/jam is a bit more involved, though. Especially if the ball is caught between the feed neck and the bolt, as was the case with the above referenced issue. Still, I had the marker back up and running within 5 minutes of recieving it, including cleaning the post-chop paint residue both inside and out. Did not have to refer to the manual for any of this (not that that's any great achievement, just a testament on how easy the marker is to work on).

Value

Purchased this maker in a package that included a 20oz pure energy CO2 tank, Vforce armor goggles, Java 200 rd hopper, and Spyder butt pack with 4 smoke colored 140rd tubes. Total cost of package was $144. From what I understand you can pick up the marker alone for less than $90 at many online retailers. For what you get, I think this marker is an excellent value. If you play paintball three times, you'll have recouped what you would have laid out in rental fees and had a better paintball experience for it.

Upgradeability

This is the only category that I've seen where this marker may be lacking. While I have noted a number of upgrades (barrels, hoppers, feed necks, etc), the sheer amount of upgrades available for other markers in this class (think Tippmann 98C's) far outpace what is available for the MR series.

Conclusion: I really like this marker. I think that the price is right for what you get, you can hold your own on fields during walk-on woodsball/recball and scenario games (probably wouldn't play tournaments with it, though). The marker is rugged, easily maintained, aesthetically pleasing, and comfortable to use. A bonus is that the marker comes with its own stock, which is quite useful. From my perspective, the only thing I see that detracts from this marker is the upgradability issue, which may improve over time. For that I'd rate the marker a 9.5, but since the numbers don't go into decimal placement for ratings, I'll give it a solid 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pntbllslayer89 Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months17 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ariakon Sim-4 ( havent owned but have compared)
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1, J&J Ceramic Barrel, Viewloader Evlution II with Y-Board. for refrences i also use a 12 and 20 oz. CO2 tanks.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel. preferably a J&J Ceramic or other high end if u got the money.
Strengths: -Can take a beating.
-Accurate as heck.
-Looks Awesome.
-DOESN'T CHOP PAINT
-Cheap.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is a little loud, its a pain in the butt to strip.
Review: When I first saw this gun I saw the price and thought "oh great another cheap Spyder on the market." Well a few weeks later a friend of mine bought one. With the butt stock on (comes with the gun) it looked pretty sharp. When we went out and played I was amazed that the gun was shooting darts!!! The only problem i saw was that it was a little loud. After playing and seeing its performance, i asked my friend to let me take it home and do some tests on it. I went home and ran the cheap Scorch paint through it and it was still shooting relativly straight. I put the J&J on it though and WHAM. I was shootin cheap paint straight as an arow. AMAZING. Needless to say i bought it off my friend for a reasonable price. He went out and even bought another!

Another friend of mine bought an Ariakon Sim-4. If you're into woodsball, you know that those are top quality woodsball guns. After playing a few games in the snow i noticed that my friends gun had NO problems playing in this extreme weather. Well, Just a few days ago I played some games in 30 degree weather and my gun had no problems. (note: my friend with the sim payed $350. I payed $80 for mine.) Also, a lot of other guys at the field who had A-5's were complaining about their guns choppin paint and screwin up. not me.
Conclusion: For the money, this is the best gun you can buy for woodsball. I have shot the all amazing Sim-4's and there isnt much difference accuarcy wise. I recommend it to anyone in the woodsball field either begginner or expert. Go buy one now and see for yourself.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

benthehunter Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year35 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98c, viewloader brawler, brass eagle marauder, paradox
Marker Setup: Kingman mr1, pmi razor barrel, viewloader hopper, brass eagle 20 oz co2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic hopper
new grip
new barrel
Strengths: Accuracy
Comfortable
Looks cool
Weaknesses: Heavy
The mount is short
Grip wears out quickly
Review: This gun is the best gun I have shot so for. it easily beat the tippman 98c in accuracy.
I shot at a tree from 70 ft away and it shot within a 6 in circle. but no gun is perfect, the grip wears out quickly and its a little loud with the stock barrel(About the same as the tippman 98c). if you shoot to fast without an electronic hopper balls will chop easy. I havn't had any pops with balls while I was shooting about 2bps. This is why I want a faster hopper.
Conclusion: I reccomend this to anybody that doesnt want to spend too much money and wants an accurate paintball gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 25th, 2007 at 11:32 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

trooper67 Friday, April 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months37 of 45 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra
Marker Setup: MR1, 20oz, 14'in barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, feed neck
Strengths: Strong, cheep, easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: Nothing really
Review: This gun is good for people who are just starting, or if you are looking to up grade.
The MR1, MR2(only tested), MR3(only tested) are awsome guns for woodsball.I have tryed other guns and nothing compares to spyders. The only reason i'm giving this gun
a 10 because it will chop one paintball out of 200, sometimes not even.....other than that there is nothing wrong with it
Conclusion: This is the gun to get if you are a woodsball player
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 28th, 2007 at 11:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

daly Sunday, April 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Sypder Victor
Spyder Xtra
Spyder Sonix
98c
Marker Setup: MR1 with 14" J&J ceramic barrel running on CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New bolt at alamocitypaintball.com
Better feedneck (I use and old Spyder non-adjustable one)
Strengths: Stealth
Accurate
Intimidating
Weaknesses: Loud as F**k before new barrel now vey quiet
the d@mn cocking bolt
Review: SHOOTING-
better as any stock 98c
as good and any 98c with upgrades
as good as any upgraded Spyder

LOOKS-
anti-scratch finish (you can rub away most scratches)
scares the s**t out of noobs and some better players

ASSEMBLY AND DISASSEMBLY-
the cocking bolt connects the bolt and the striker, so you have to line them up perfectly, so it takes like forever to put back together

OTHER-
the cocking bolt gets in the way of the sights, so you cant really use the sights, but you get used to it
with the stock on, and a mask on, your eye is like 3 inches above the barrel, so its hard to aim anf your neck is at a 90 degree angle (that hurts)



Conclusion: Amazing compared 98's and other Spyders ad other guns in its price range
The cocking bolt and the loudness are the only bad things
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 29th, 2007 at 11:17 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Matias Saturday, April 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmenn 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
12oz co2 tank
sometimes stock if needed
cheap loader
12'' mussel berral
Recommended
Upgrades:
Rased sight or scope
differant berral and stock
Strengths: light
acurate
STRONG!
FAST!
Weaknesses: None sofar......
Review: This is a great marker. It's fast, strong, light and accurate. You could throw it in a mud puddle and it ill keep shooting.If you are a beginner or a experienced player it's the gun for you! If you want the gun but still want an eclectic marker slap a e-trigger on it and a e-loader. Its extremely customize able. BUY THIS MARKER!
Conclusion: This is a great marker if you are a beginner or a experienced player. HAVE FUN
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jon eats alot Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: my gun is completly stock and works great
Recommended
Upgrades:
sight
Strengths: -Durible
-Looks sweet
-Pretty good accuracy

-Feels cool in your hands
Weaknesses: - Little bit louder then most
- Not to many upgrades
Review: I think this gun is a great gun for people who just want a have a good time paintballing but don't want to spend a whole lot of money. it is a great gun because when you want a big tactical milsin gun you have it and when you want a quick light speed ball gun you have it. this gun is very versitile and can be used for almost every postion on your team
Conclusion: This gun is amazing and i recommend it becaues it is very versitile and does not cost very much.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MyPaintInUrFace Monday, April 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
i dont know of a gun this amazing
Marker Setup: mr1, n2 tank, stock, 20 INCH BARREL
Recommended
Upgrades:
U NEED A 20 INCH BARREL its good to have a n2 tank with a remote
Strengths: Accurate,
capable of 360 fps.{amazingly power full} ,
intimadation,
easy to use and many more.
Weaknesses: There are none besides that its semi auto
Review: This gun is worth $699 BUT ITS ONLY $120 this gun is GODLY AND AMAZING I could get the fps. 360 witch is neer the max. This gun is $120 but is better than the$1400 guns, honestly this gun is amazing. Its so accurate that on my first match I got two headshots from extremely far away easily.
Conclusion: BUY THIS GUN OR YOUR A SUCKER because its GODLY BUT AMAZINGLY INEXPENSIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! what are u waiting for BUY THIS AMAZING GUN NOW U WONT REGRET IT!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007 at 7:15 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

el_whale Saturday, March 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Speedball: Semi auto pirahna gti w/new expansion chamber,drop forward. a 20 ounce co2 8.5" barrel.
Woodsball:MR1 all stock and a veiwloader quantum hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
most likely a longer barrel smart parts linear mabey

sight and bi-podif you are a sniper
Strengths: Accurate, durable, looks good! Black matte finish (no reflection)
easy maintenance
Weaknesses: HEAVY rails are way to short to mount anything
Review: I got this gun as my first woods ball gun and loved it and i still do. One thing that was funky with it was when i got it out of the box i took it out to shoot it first thing. and balls just started rolling out the barrel so i took it apart and found that the ball detent was missing! Hmmm ya, strait out of the box! Luckily it comes with a tool/replacement kit. It contians allen wrenchs, and spare parts. Any how i fixed that and it shoots perfectly now. As i mentioned above i have not purchased any after-market parts due to financial problems. But i am soon to get a 21" sniper barrel and a bi-pod. The stockbarrel is moderately accurate. The ruggedness of this gun is amazing! The first time i went with it i tripped and sort of drop/throwed it on the ground and not a scratch on the thing.

And when kingman says any conditions they mean it!! I went balling in the snow with it and go it all over it along with some water but still perfect functionality. The trigger is kinda hard to walk on but no big deal for a sniper. The rails suck as i said they are to small to mount anything directly on but a raised sight rail would work well i think. perfect for mil-sim and woods ball, but in speed ball w/out the stock its open ended not really a plus. I compared this to my friend's A-5 and thought it performed alot better plus its not as expensive (compare 140$ to 250$) o and did i mention he had a flat line barrel on his A-5! But then i never really liked tippys so i might be kinda bias there?

Runs great on a 20 ounce and a vl Quantum (20$) cheap. Im hopping to buy a MR2 or 3 just because of the high performance of this marker.

one more thing the elbow to the hopper is cheap plastic
Conclusion: If you are a begin-er or intermediate player that doesn't want to spend a fortune on a woods-ball gun this is for you. In my opinion this gun is under priced at 130$-140$
GET IT! Nine because of the hard trigger the weight and the @#$%y rails.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alexsharpe Sunday, March 25th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor I
Spyder VIctor II
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, 20oz CO2, 200 Round Hopper, 4x20 Scope, 10in. Fluted Barrel, MP5 Stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel.
Strengths: Quiet, doesn't eat gas, offset feed, looks great!
Weaknesses: Ball breaks.
Review: My buddy just bought one a few weeks ago and we just went out with it yesterday for a few matches. He's got a 20in. barrel on it, a custom G46 kit, so it looks pretty cool. Beside the looks, it preformed well. It jammed a few times and broke aball or two, thats not too good. but at least it wasnt like my old Victor, break after break. Also, the was a fairly simple clean. It comes apart easily and it easy to clean. All around I was impressed with the preformance.
Conclusion: Get a longer barrel, and don't fire too fast.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media