paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1

Kingman Spyder MR1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR1
[ View Photos (93) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The MR1 will take a beating and keep on firing! The slide out pull pin, field strippable bolt, and full-length stock (optional) make the MR1 an easily operated and highly accurate scenario marker with military resilience and stability. This semi-auto marker won't rust even when you're trekking through the wettest terrain, and you?ll never need to worry about batteries because there aren?t any electronic parts!
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  Last
        Next Page
funkypaintball Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98 Spyder Imagine Zap Amp Brass Eagle Raider(Don't ask)
Marker Setup: Stock Setup
Recommended
Upgrades:
Probably a better barrel feedneck stock one is cheap, better stock, the one it comes with isn't good for sighting, its mainly for snapshooting or accurate pointing, raised right rail incase you want to use a sigh/scope because rail is pretty small, good common sense (explained in the review)
Strengths: Upgradable, inexpensive, awesome performance, pretty light, dosen't chop unless your whipping out paint
Weaknesses: Cocking bolt is in the way, cheap feedneck, take extra care when reinserting bolt
Review: Ok right off the bat, if you read my last review, sorry. It sucked. I'm gonna make it better now (hopefully). ok i'll break it down into strenghts and weaknessess and upgrades.

-Recommended Upgrades

Well for this you would probably want a new barrel because the stock barrel as good as it looks isn't that accurate but its way better than any stock barrel ive seen before. A better feedneck would defenitaley be needed because the stock one is really cheap and jiggles pretty bad. For those of you that don't know where to get one or one isn't available, i recommend using a flat head screwdriver to tighten it really really tight but not too tight or u might break it. Another thing you should want to look into is getting a new stock or making an endcap out of the stock buttstock by chopping off the stock except for the part that goes in the gun. Me, personally would want to get a new stock looks pretty good and gives more accuracy to your shots. Also a raised sight will do wonders because you will be able to aim better with your mask on and you won;t have to crouch your head all the way down. Oh and yeah a good common sense when your reinserting your bolt into the gun so you don't put the bolt upside down and shear the detent off (which of course happened to me) make sure you put it back on the side where the groove is.

-Strengths

It is very upgradable with many spyder barrels out there that have really good performance. It is also very inexpensive which makes it good for beginners or people short on cash looking to buy a quality marker for less. You don't realy need to upgrade it out of the box because it comes with above decent accuracy but i havent really tested its distance yet im sure it will get worse with range as most barrels do. It's paintjob is pretty cool taking it out from my gear bag makes me remember those christmas eve nights when i was younger. As far as weight goes it isnt that heavy but it isnt evenly distributed when you have a stock on, it makes it lean heavily to the back like there is no tomorrow!

-Weaknesses
This is where it might get mildly harsh, but interesting! One thign that really angered me out of the box was the way the cocking knob gets in the way of your standard sights on the gun, and those sights are really good if the nob wasnt there, i tested the sights with out the knob on it (No i did not fire it) and it looked pretty accurate and easy to use. One thing that just get me upset is that cheap feedneck. The first time i used this gun the stupid neck kept on moving i felt liek just throwing it away how much it sucked. I would recomend getting a ccm feedneck for the MR1 (this feedneck is also compatible with the MR2) Which allows u to use a trinity short feedneck which are really good and sturdy with no tools required! One thing that cause me days of heartache and headaches and countless hours of examination of the inside out and otuside of the marker is the reinsertion of the bolt back to the body. The reason why is becasue if you put it upside down your going to chop the detent and its going to double, triple, quadriple, darn it did a 7 shot feed when i test fired it. After hours of research i found a review here on paintball review that talked about the problems i was having with my gun so then i took it to my local paintball store told them that the detent got chopped off, and bam! In three minutes flat i got out of there with the fixing fee of $1.37. Talk about being inexpensive! I currently tested it today playing with some friends it worked awsome never double fed or anything fed any more but it chopped one ball which was like after shooting almost 567 shots which was dream to just clean.
Conclusion: Well i really like this gun, its pretty good for your moeny, and won't have you spending all your money on repairs and fixings. Yeah the only thing i really hate about this gun is the cheap feedneck. While the gun could use a different design due to the bolt and small rail, it is still really good and works like a dream for me(like a nightmare for the team i'm against). I rated this product an 8 because of it's issue due to the cocking knob being on top the short rail, and the fact that you might overlook your bolt installation and chop your detent off and you'll have yourself an MRshotgun. All and all, I'll be keeping this gun for some time. Im gonna upgrade soon and pimp this gun out!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 3rd, 2007 at 7:48 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

rjref52 Monday, February 12th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 06 Ego
Cp barrel
Empire hopper
45 68
Recommended
Upgrades:
A different marker
Strengths: Ummm... I dont think there is any
Weaknesses: Inaccurate
Heavy
Slow(that'ss not saying much b/c its not electronic)
Gas Hog
Review: If you make a paintball gun that is not electronic, and has at least a 7 pound trigger pull, why would you put a double trigger on it? answer me that, and I'll pay you $50. This is a sad excuse for a paintball gun, I'd be more accurate if I spit the paintballs at people. I hooked my 4500 68 tank to it, and I only played about 3 rounds until it ran out of air.
Conclusion: Dont buy this gun, buy a 98 custom, ion, or mr2 or 3, the mr1 is not a paintball gun, its crap
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment

the11thnickel Thursday, February 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Tippman rentals... (yeah, I know...)
Marker Setup: Black stock ION
eVLution II loader
Compressed air...
Recommended
Upgrades:
different feed neck (cheap plastic one comes stock)
new barrel (like any gun deserves)
low-end electric loader (10 BPS speed?)
Strengths: - Durability
- Price
- Good feel
Weaknesses: - Heavy (but it is an all-metal MilSim marker, so...)
- Bad grip
Review: In my opinion, this is one of the best low-budget markers out there for the recreational player. It's rugged, difficult to break, comes with a stock (better than buying one for an extra $50) and to me, it is quite easy to shoot at a decent rate. (for a sem-auto) This is why I recommended some kind of electric loader, because if you have fast fingers, this gun will keep up. The only real problem I found besides the weight was the grips. After a couple hours of play, they were kinda shredded. The rubber wore away quite fast. Besides that, I think this gun is very appropriate for a beginning woodsball player.
Conclusion: In the end, I recommend this marker to beginning recreational players. It won't break on you and it's extremely easy to open up and fix if there are any problems. Get it if you're beginnning and don't want to spend a lot of money, or if you need an extremely rugged, tough gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Icaboe Smhit Wednesday, January 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I've used a spyder extra (completely stock), this one is built so much better and the way it looks is awesome.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-1
Custom Products Classic 16" Barrel
Gravity Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definetly A barrel
not much else but if your trigger happy an electronic trigger frame with a hopper to keep up
Strengths: Durable
Easy to disassemble
Cheap
Weaknesses: Elbow
Not too many marker specific upgrades if any
Grip
Review: I have been using this gun for about 5 months and it was definetly worth the 100! i used other spyder guns before but this one is just so damn awesome. i have played scenario but the balls went everywhere so i bouth a 16" cp classic barrel and ill write later if it was worth it, in speedball you'll probably want a faster gun but this one works just fine stock. the grips waste away too quickly and i have yet to find an acs bolt so im waiting for that ya but this is an awesome gun and its cheap too
Conclusion: Its reliable and cheap but it needs some more marker specific upgrades but definetly worth 100 bucks
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rewdboy Tuesday, January 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann A-5, sweet gun but too pricey with the upgrades
tippmann 98
various brass eagle guns.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1, 20 in smart parts tactical barrel, 16 oz CO2, brass eagle pocket hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
the 20 in smart parts barrel is great on this thing. i got the gun and the barrel together from Xtremez.com and paid only $130, this saved me $65.
Strengths: Real gun feel/cheap/good balance/comes complete out of the box
Weaknesses: Not many upgrades on the market, just barrels and stuff.
Review: Ok so I couldnt have been happier when i got this thing in the mail. I got a great semi-auto with a stock and 20 in barrel for under $150. I'm used to shooting rifles (M-16) and this thing has that rifle feel to it, the balance is great (it even came with a drop forward!) and it holds up to my brothers A-5. Granted it doesn't shoot quite as quick, but i plan on sniping and don't feel like spending $50 in paint every time i play. Also, i havent chopped one ball in this thing yet. the black paint job helps for woods ball concealment.
The fact that i cant put a sight on this thing like everyone complains about doesnt bother me. If you cant hit what you want by looking down the barrel on this thing then you just suck. its that simple. i was hitting a 4" pipe at 60+ feet atleast 8/10.
Conclusion: If you dont have $300 dollars to spend and want a great gun right out of the box, this one is the way to go. simple, not many upgrades but you dont really need them with this thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 30th, 2007 at 6:56 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

NickkciN Monday, January 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
tac performance hopper
20 oz CO2 tank
12' stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel for sure
Strengths: Very durable
Somewhat accurate (not a very good barrel)
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: I just got this gun about 2 weeks ago. It is my first paintball gun. I have taken it paintballing three times so far. It has chopped 1 out of 2000+ paintballs. It is very strong and sturdy and the stock is well made and helps you stabalise the gun. It is a little loud but ot really.
Conclusion: get it if you like woodsball and dont want to spend alot on a gun. all i reccomend is a new barrel. I gave it a 9 (not 10 bc of barrel)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 29th, 2007 at 7:38 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

KRABS Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: MR1 with Ricochet apache hopper and 20 oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
electric hopper
Strengths: Price and accuracy
Weaknesses: Need electric hopper
Review: I bought the gun because of the price and for the looks, I wanted a flat black gun because I like to play woods ball. First time out I was worried about the ball detent being a small rubber piece, but after several shots was amazed at the accuracy of this gun. After I was done shooting, cleaned up the gun, double checked the little rubber piece and it was good as new. The first time I went out to play with this gun I had only one problem. when someone ran across the field I went to shot 3 or 4 shots back to back and it chopped the 2nd or 3rd ball ruining the accuracy and blowing paint into my hopper, gumming up all the paint. If you shoot slowly its a perfect gun, but if you are like me and you get excited and shoot a few shots, then I strongly recommend an electric hopper that will feed 13 balls per second. I got an apache ricochet and have not chopped a ball since.
Conclusion: Great gun out of the box 7.5 out of 10
excellent gun with an electric hopper 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 28th, 2007 at 9:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

firekillex Saturday, January 13th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass eagle blade
Any brass eagle
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom

Bt 16 Barrel
Car stock
getting sight with rail and remote coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything its crap
Strengths: Comes with stock
Weaknesses: breaks easy, NO ACT technology, stock is cheap, heavy, loud, ball breakage
Review: this marker is not recommend because it breaks easy, NO ACT technology, stock is cheap, heavy, loud, ball breakage and has really no key strengths, if you do get this marker a ACT, barrel is very recommend if you want a high quality marker i suggest the tippmann 98 custom. also you can throw it farther than you can shot it. and its suks did i all ready mention that.
Conclusion: Dont get it it suks. I do not recommend this product it is to cheap and when I say cheap im not talking about price
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

M1lkman Friday, January 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
20 oz CO2
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe 16" J&J
Strengths: Very accurate
Great feel
Very durable
Price
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: I bought this gun the day after Christmas. I had planned on getting this gun a while back because I have always been a Spyder fan. This gun was perfect for its class. I couldn't think of a better gun to get I would suggest this over a Tippman any day. After I bought this gun I couldn't wait till I got it out of it cheap Chinese casing. (You know the crappy casing that you have to cut with scissors when you but it because they like sundered it closed and you can't open it no matter how friggin like try to) Well anyway I got home and finally got it opened. After putting the stock on I tightened my Halo B and put in a 20 oz CO2 tank. I started shooting anything I could see my fence, my house, the cat walking around, and of course my neighbor's kid. But I finally I went out playing woods ball with my friend's and they all had there Tippman's and even though they criticized my gun they soon stopped after seeing the performance. The accuracy is great it is mostly within 1 foot if I am shooting with it turned all the way up. But I love this gun mostly the grips they are wonderful.
Conclusion: This gun is great. I think this is the best Low-End Mechanical gun I have ever used. When I used it for woods ball with my friends they all loved it over there Tippman's and now 3 of them also are getting MR1's. I would highly recommend this gun to anyone starting out or wants a good woods ball gun. I have a Smart parts Epiphany and this is no comparison but I love this gun. Great gun for its class best one I have ever seen or used.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MRPAINTBALLER2 Wednesday, December 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used alot of guns,none of them are realy similar.
Marker Setup: stock spyder MR1
Recommended
Upgrades:
New elbow
electronic hopper
the rocking trigger if you realy want a full auto
Strengths: An all round solid gun.
Weaknesses: Did not find any yet.
Review: I just got this a few days ago and started shooting it right away.i shot around 1000 paintballs off and i have to say,the accuracy of this gun is amazing! through all the 1000 shots i dident have one chop,or double feed!the only bad thing i can come up with is the gun is a bit of a co2 hog,but other than that it is awsome right out of the box! i reccomend this gun to anyone who wants to have a great time from experienced,to new players. i would give this a 9/10 stock,and a 10/10 with the listed upgrades (excluding the trigger,i like semi-auto)
Conclusion: Above
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media