paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1

Kingman Spyder MR1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR1
[ View Photos (93) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The MR1 will take a beating and keep on firing! The slide out pull pin, field strippable bolt, and full-length stock (optional) make the MR1 an easily operated and highly accurate scenario marker with military resilience and stability. This semi-auto marker won't rust even when you're trekking through the wettest terrain, and you?ll never need to worry about batteries because there aren?t any electronic parts!
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  Last
        Next Page
fedel91 Monday, December 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
If you want to say that they are similar than Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Primary: Spyder MR1 with rocking trigger, 12 inch smart parts progressive barrel, and Halo Loader

Secondary: Tippmann 98 custom with 16 inch smart parts progressive barrel, BB gun scope, and stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
*Rocking trigger Frame 2.0
* Just put on the stock that comes with the gun it gets the job done if you are on full auto you usually aren't aiming anyway
* 12 or 14 inch smart parts progressive barrel ( i could swear by that barrel)
*No problems confronted with chopping yet but possibly a Derlin Bolt
Strengths: *Hard Hitting
*Accuracy
*Easy Stripping
*Good Price
*Simplicity
*Long Range
Weaknesses: *Stock Barrel
*No compatible acs bolt
(No need for bolt but it would be nice)
Review: I was Reluctant when I first got it out but that all went away when i shot it, I was about 30-45 yards away, I hit a metal dumpster 10 - 15 times in a row in pretty good wind, I loved it ! then i shot some more at a road sign about 75 yards away i lobbed it completely but never the less it hit! it can shoot without lobbing for about 30 yards accurately it is the most accurate marker ive ever shot! The Velocity adjuster isn't too bad either if you bring it too far out though it will lower the accuracy.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker too anybody who plays woodsball or backwoods speedball, you NEEEED to upgrade the trigger frame and barrel though, if you do you will DOMINATE all competition. The only thing i dislike about this marker is that it double feeds every 2 shots out of maybe 500.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

longshot1 Sunday, December 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
patriot, tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: stock mr1
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel 1st. then who knows.
Strengths: looks good. stock is good/bad - price-100 Very Durable. Comes w/ double triggers
Weaknesses: Stock accuracy have to buy mask tank hopper separate
Review: Play woodsball only- First time out all kills where with 15 yards. Anything else was about 1 of 5 around my target and had a couple hit and not break. Was owned by guys w/ tippman flatlines. Could not get in range and they were a whole lot more accurate. Not near as many upgrades as the tippmann a-5 or custom. Accuracy is equal to the patriot I used prior to buying. I spray about 5 shots everytime I want to shoot 1 and hope one hits. With no pressure and firing at posts/ cans/ whatever about the same as the tippmann 98 and the patriot (w/ stock stuff) but seemed to die maybe 3 or 4 yards sooner so had to put a little arc into it. At about 15 yds was sending about 1 of 4 balls through a doorway- great for cover fire- not for sniping. Pretty much have to wait till someone is out in the open before opening fire for a sure kill, otherwise you pretty much are just providing cover since there is not much accuarcy. Sounds exactly the same as the patriot and 98c which I was hoping for something different.

The Stock is a love/hate- play woodsball do a lot of running and can rest/carry it easier w/ it. Also when bunkered up can rest w/out arms wearing out. while waiting to ambush You can not use the sites w/ a mask on. It's about 2 inches short also which means you sit the back corner of the stock on top of my shoulder blade to get close to the site line which pretty much means you use it to spray and nothing else.

Not paint ball specific- Shot cheap balls(monster/wild) no breaks through 1000rds only missed shots twice and that was because of a bottle neck in my hopper- not gun. Definately a plus.
Conclusion: I give this a 7- I wanted something different than all the 98c on the field and it looks way better than anything else that was on the field and the envy of the competiton. It is just as durable as the tippmann and I am pretty hard on gear. Will keep the stock on because carrying it and waiting/ambush time is easier on the arms and outweighs the shortness/no sight issue. You can always hold it out in front as you would do w/ a no stock marker but I don't know if that is necessary since you don't know if the ball is going there or not. Was hoping it would sound different but no such luck. First upgrade will be a barrel- looking into Apex which is suppose to be like a flatline and sense most of firefights are 30yds plus. If you are woodsballer I would recommend it because of durability and something different that what is running around. You would have to upgrade the 98c also and the cost for a 98 package or buying all your spyder stuff seprately is the same. I think it comes down to if you want to be different or not and if you are happy w/ the upgrades you can get. Will edit when I get a barrel upgrade to see if equal to the flatline upgrade..
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

purelycanadian Tuesday, December 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom -- Better
Tippmann A-5 -- Much Better
Smart Parts Ion -- Much Better
Kingman Spyder Imagine -- Better
Kingman Spyder Pilot -- Better
Kingman Spyder X-tra -- About the Same
32 Degrees Icon E -- About the Same
Marker Setup: -- Tippmann 98 Custom

-- BE Folding Stock
-- BT Adjustable Rail
-- BSA 30mm Red-Dot
-- PMI Remote Coil
-- Smart Parts 14" Progressive Barrel
-- Tippmann Double Trigger
-- Tippmann Camouflage Graphic Kit (98 Custom)
-- Pure Energy Co2 Tanks x3
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: See review.
Review: I borrowed this off of a friend and used this marker for two rounds of paintball, so I'm not going to go heavily into the review acting as if I've playing many games with it. My review consists of how I felt the marker performed during the time I used it.

Strengths

1. Seems sturdy and well built.
2. Had no chopping or jams while I playing with it.
3. It was pretty accurate on CO2, which I was not really expecting.
4. I watched my friend strip it, and it didn't look too complicated.

Weaknesses

1. Heavy. No I'm not weak, no I don't need to lift weights. For a stock marker compared to others, it feels pretty heavy once the tank is on.
2. Personally, I don't like the looks. I won't detract points for this, because it's a personal opinion.
3. Was not extraordinary on the speed of the shots.
Conclusion: As far I could gather from playing with it a bit, it's an average marker. It isn't horrible, but it isn't extraordinary. It will perform when you ask it to, and it won't let you down on accuracy either. It is a little on the heavy side, and I didn't find the rate of fire too fast, but other than that it was pretty good.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Warchild71 Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, Splatmatic XJ40, old pump guns from the ealry 90's
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
PMI Pure Energy N2 72ci/3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Compressed air tank
Barrel
Electronic hopper Empire Reloader or VL Revy
Strengths: Accurate
Tough construction
Removable stock
Simple construction
Good looks
Offset feedneck
No chops
Loud

Weaknesses: Hard to aim with stock attached- mask gets in the way
Loud
Review: I just bought this gun and took it out for the first time today. I am very pleased with it. The gun is very accurate. I chrono'd it them fired a few rounds on the target range. with the stock 12 in barrel is was able to hit the same spot in succession over and over. I did notice a little curve to the left or right on longer distance shots but I guess that's why people replace their stock barrels. On the field, I was able to take out several people with it at long distance. This gun is very loud. To some that is a negative, but I found it to be useful. Of course, the noise is an easy fix with a different barrel. I fired 1000 rounds of PMI paint through it and maybe had 4 chops. I would avoid using cheap department store paintballs I also ran 200 rounds of VL Heavy metal through it and it broke almost every ball in the barrel. When I switched back to the PMI paint, it was fine even with the barrel gunked up. This is definitely a woodsball gun in stock form but it can hold its own on the speedball field (to some degree). For anyone looking for a good reliable accurate marker at a cheap price, this is a guaranteed good choice.


Update: Playted several times with it so far and its been flawless


Conclusion: This is a well built marker and it is a bargain
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 6th, 2007 at 6:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xbroken.angelx Tuesday, December 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a5, VL orion, VL triad, tippmann C98, spyder sonix
Marker Setup: j&j 16 inch ceramic barrel, remote line, VL evolution 2, stock trigger, stock and anti ball chop, 3000 psi hpa
Recommended
Upgrades:
mainly a new barrel and remote line
Strengths: Strong, Doesn't chop balls much, Nice bps, Cheap priced
Weaknesses: Loud with stock barrel, heavy with tank, sight {read review about this}
Review: Okay so the Mr-1 is a decent gun out of the box, but it has a problem with the weight of it, mostly when you have a HPA tank or a 20 oz CO2 on it, but that problem is easly cleared up with a remote line, this marker is great in woods ball and speed ball. Of course in speed you wouldn't want the stock on, some of the reviews say that upgrades are hard to obtain, yes they are but that's what the internet is always good for. The stock barrel of this gun is semi accurate in mid range, any further, well, spray an' pray my friend. you most defiently want a new barrel, i've put a j&j 16 inch ceramic barrel on mine, and i dont seem to have a problem to hit from mid-long range in speed or woods ball. now about the sight. if you are to look at this gun you'll see it has iron sights, but they're too low when your using the stock, and what bugs me the most is the weaver rail meant for scopes or red dot sights is way too thick to put them on, now i'm not sure if this is 100% true, but out of all my red dots i try to put on, the rail is just a bit too thick, maybe there is one out there fits perfectly{ i see the pictures with the custom sights there, boggles me why i cant put my relex on =[ }. otherwise without the stock, the sights work very nice. from aprox 5000 balls i chopped 1, that's very good, and this gun as a incredible bps {thank god my fingers are in the perfect length for it's trigger} my vl evolution feed 19bps and i can keep pullin that trigger, i can go almost faster than my damn hopper with a stock trigger! o.O insane!!

****EDIT!!!***
okay so about the weaver rail being too big
so i go to my local paintball areana, they just so happened to get sights in. and it seems the weaver rail fits good with military grade stuff! XD
Conclusion: I would most defiently recommend this gun, it's a good out of the box gun and it's cheap too, perfect for those on a tight budget, i picked up mine new for 140 cad {aprox 110 us}
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 6th, 2006 at 10:41 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

FallenAngelWolf Thursday, November 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none, this is my first review
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-1
JJ performance 14" ceramic barrel
red/green dot sight
ricochet hopper
modified butt stock
20oz. co2 tank
Jt Tactical gun sling
Recommended
Upgrades:
aftermarket barrel
red dot sight
Gun sling
Modify the butt stock
Strengths: Reliable, has only chopped one ball so far.
Field strippable
Weaknesses: Bit heavy
Stock is pretty much useless without being modified
Review: I have been using the Mr-1 for a few months now. The marker is relieable and has only chopped one ball in the whole time I have been using it. I upgraded the stock 12" barrel, to a JJ performance 14" ceramic barrel, and was amazed at how much quieter the marker fired, and the accuracy of my shots. The stock barrel is fairly accurate, but an aftermarket barrel makes it even more so. A red dot sight, although not necessarily needed, is a must for those wanting to act the sniper. Finding a sight was a bit of a problem, because the sight must be raised above where the cocking pin is located. I had to modify the butt stock to be able to look down the top of the marker with my helmet on. Nothing too major, I just had to eliminate the top piece of the butt stock, so it allowed me to still rest it on my shoulder, but allowed me to looked down the marker with my helmet on. I bought a gun sling to more easily carry the marker, as the marker is a bit heavy with all the upgrades, a full hopper, and a co2 tank on it. Although the marker may be a bit heavy, the marker is balanced, and fits comfortably when on the shoulder, or even when not.
Conclusion: A great mil sim marker, I would recommened this marker to new and experienced players alike. I'm giving this marker an eight out of ten, because it is a bit heavy, and the stock must be modified to work properly when resting on your shoulder. The marker is reliable, so it deserved a better than average score.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Boson Saturday, November 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT Tac 05, View loader Maxis (both only tested) Tippman 98 used for 3 months.
Marker Setup: 200 shot hopper, CO2 20" Bottle Then changed to 48 Cu Air.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new Barrel the stock isn't very good like most paintball markers. You can get a electronic trigger from http://www.zephyrpaintball.com/product/PB-KING-ROCK?META=PBR
PTB
Though this trigger is believed to be easy to dent and not very hard-waring, the trigger does come with a board inside and advertised to get 30 balls per second with it.
Strengths: Quick firing for a mechanical marker. stock.
Weaknesses: The marker is heavy, with stock even heavier.
Review: a great starter marker, extremely good for woods ball you don't need a good hopper for it. Very strong build. And reliable gun, never miss fired. i have never had any problems with the gun except from its weight, i personally don't use the detachable stock as it adds to much weight to the marker, But i do recommend using the stock for extra mobility and accuracy. Also the stock makes the gun look more like a scenario gun instead of a tournament gun marker.
Conclusion: I would recommend this Marker to any one who is coming into paintball, it is a cheap and hard waring marker, and i believe is one of the best low end mechanical markers. This gun can be turned into a electronic marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JChan819 Friday, November 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT Excellerator 5.0 - Electronic, can't compare it.
Marker Setup: Stock Kingman Spyder MR1
Viewloader 12v Revolution CLEAR
20oz. CO2 Pure Energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Probably a barrel, but who doesn't get a new one?
Modify the stock so you can see down the barrel with a mask on.
Maybe a scope? Rail's small though, so head's up on that one.
HPA is always better, but CO2 works fine, too.
I'd get an E-trigger, but I'm fine with Semi-auto.
Strengths: Good out of the box
Looks/sounds intimidating
Good FPS
Accurate
Comes with stock
Weaknesses: Long trigger pull
The elbow
Review: Barrel - 12" Stock barrel works great. I've tested my MR1 with a 14" J&J Ceramic, and I must say that the J&J is much more effective, making the gun quieter, lighter, and even more accurate.

Sights - The stock sights are pretty much useless, being that they're too low, the top-cocking bolt gets in the way, and that the stock won't allow you to see because it pushes up on your mask when you try to look down the top. And the accessory rail is pretty short. Just look around for a sight that'll fit.

Stock - Yeah, this isn't the best, but it works. I mean, just cause it pushes up on the mask doesn't mean you have to whine and dine about it. It's very sturdy and reliable, but I'm planning to modify it as seen in one of the pics so I can acutally look down the top of my gun.

Detent - It's a very large rubbery finger. It works nice, and I believe that there has been a claim that someone sheared off their's, but I haven't had any problems through upwards of 7,000 rounds. If you plan to change the bolt, I'd suggest putting it in slowly and see if the slit for the detent is in the bottom right corner when you are facing the way it is supposed to be placed in from the rear opening.

This is pretty much all that's necessary. Also, the grips wear out pretty quick, but that's no biggie. Overall, a great buy.

\Edit////// 12-9-06

So I took it out today, and she had a pretty good day. Picking them off in the woods, and having a blast in the speedball pits. The only problem I had was that she froze over, which is my fault for using CO2, and it chopped because I was using my Viewloader Revolution, which couldn't keep up in speedball, so it chopped a big one and blew my day, but luckily, it was the last game.

Part of the problem was that I was using some Zap DBX's, don't buy them. The have oily residue on it, and it stays in your pods/tubes, hoppers, and barrels. The best budget paint that I know works is Gameface Scorch or Visible Impact (Walmart). They both worked really well in my hopper and barrel today.

The gun works well, but I'm looking for more range. Its not performing at what I want it to, but it will suffice. I couldn't hit people more than 200ft.(?), I can't explain it, but I would like some more range. I really need to save for my J&J Ceramic or SmartParts Linear, I don't know which one to get...

I plan to modify the stock because it isn't very effective if you can't look down the top of your gun. People have said that they've modified it through cutting the top piece off, but I'm not 100%, yet.

So far, very niceee (in Borat's voice). I'll write more eventually.

\\EDIT////
I put another maybe 1,500 rounds through LaFawnduhh, and she's still going superbly strong.

Ok, so I was running towards a bunker, and somehow, this tree sticks it's roots in my foots way. And at full speed, I fall face-first in to the ground, with my gun at my chest. I was like, oh my gosh, I just effed up my gun, yo. I take a quick look, and everything is intact! Nothing broke! Not even that cheap feed elbow!

This gun is beast. I averaged about 3 kills per game, yo. It was a massacre.
Conclusion: I love this gun. Like, alot. And you probably will, too.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 25th, 2006 at 11:21 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyda_Man 711 Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, Spyder X-Tra, VL Orion
Marker Setup: Right now my marker is stock. But I am hoping to get a bigger barrel like 14-16". Maybe a folding stock. I used to have a PMI Razor barrel 14" and it was great.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I think getting a longer barrel helps a lot. Also if you might use this gun for speed ball a foldable stock is really good to have. But otherwise I think that this gun is a great gun to even start with.
Strengths: This gun is built for woodsball. It is matt black (no reflections)
Weaknesses: It is kind of heavy and sucks a little gas.
Review: Ok I got this gun from a nearby Dick's Sporting Goods for only 100$. How can you go wrong with 100$ right? Yeah I have used this twice in actual games and it was great. No jammed balls no leaks no nothing. The one thing is that my body started to unscrew from the trigger frame and it chopped a few balls (to solve that just make sure your shots count). This was not major just make sure to tighten your screws!! All in all this gun is inexpensive and is very good quality. I think that this gun evens off with a Tippmann 98 any day. The only thing is im having a really hard time finding upgrades!
Conclusion: This product is great it is my first owned spyder. It is also Spyder's first woodsball gun. IF YOU GET THIS GUN GET A NEW BARREL. This is because it always helps with accuracy and how much noise it makes
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

silentbob831 Thursday, November 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Highly up'd Victor (about the same, but much faster)
98 Custom (better than this before ups but other Spyders are better than that)
'03 Imagine with some ups
most Spyders
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
14" J&J Ceramic
T-board
Check-it products sweetspot trigger
SwiX 50g microswitch

Spyder MR-1 set-up
Customized Regulator / Drop forward set-up
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
.45 Grips
Remote line that I don't use
Recommended
Upgrades:
The same for all Spyders:

(basic upgrades all Spyders require IMO)
14" J&J Ceramic
Expansion chamber

(Advanced upgrades)
low pressure set-up
E-frame and E-hopper
Strengths: Very sturdy and strong
Tough black paintjob - won't scratch easy
Weaknesses: No V/A
Needs ups to work efficiently (mine did)
Review: I got this gun a couple of weeks ago, with the upgrades listed. I tested it in stock form, and can tell you that this gun needs at least a new barrel. Stock I'd give this gun probably a 7, but I'll review it based on stock and with upgrades.

Stock performance was, I would have to say, less than Spyder's standard. The gun is extremely loud, and balls were curving everywhere at around 50 ft. no matter how we set the velocity. It double and even triple-fed. The stock barrel is large-bore and the paint we use (Tactical Performance) would sometimes roll right out of it. I don't know why it did that, it suddenly stopped when my friend bought the upgrades. The gun was lubed before testing. So, anyway, after that my friend bought some cheap upgrades: the J&J Ceramic 14" barrel and the regulator which was custom-fit by his dad and works great.

Upgraded performance is great, typical of a lightly upgraded Spyder. The J&J Ceramic coupled with the regulator brought pretty consistent shots and much tighter groups. It drastically quieted the gun down too. The J&J Ceramic barrel seems to be the closest you can come to a "perfect bore" barrel, it handles pretty much any paint with no problems at all, shoots through chops, is very accurate and quiet. I don't know what the reason was for the double and triple-feeding, but it seemed to stop.

A problem I've heard of is that you can't put an ACS or Superfly bolt in an MR-1. I'm buying an older X-tra frame for $50 to drop these free upgrades in so that I can upgrade the bolt and other internals. Also I plan on going electronic in the future and would prefer a vertical feed.
Conclusion: If you plan on buying a J&J Ceramic barrel and an expansion chamber or regulator then I would have to recommend this to you, expect what you would get from any other Spyder with those basic upgrades: good consistency, accuracy, and quiet shots. decent performance from just those upgrades, you'll have to custom fit an expansion chamber or regulator. I'd recommend you just get a remote line, it will double as an expansion chamber and help with the weight.

This gun isn't meant for speedball, it does a mediocre job in woodsball. I hope my review helps somebody :). A 6 for stock and an 8 for upgraded balance the MR-1 to an 7 because for its class it could have been better.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 21st, 2007 at 7:21 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media