paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1

Kingman Spyder MR1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR1
[ View Photos (93) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The MR1 will take a beating and keep on firing! The slide out pull pin, field strippable bolt, and full-length stock (optional) make the MR1 an easily operated and highly accurate scenario marker with military resilience and stability. This semi-auto marker won't rust even when you're trekking through the wettest terrain, and you?ll never need to worry about batteries because there aren?t any electronic parts!
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  Last
        Next Page
Mr.pb-nerd Sunday, November 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder X-tra Spyder Tl-x
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 16" linear 12 volt View-Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you play woodsball might consider a new barrel
Strengths: Very practical on the field, easy to clean, accurate, CHEAP!!!
Weaknesses: Speed
Review: This is my first gun, and it just makes me love Kingman even more, this gun ROCKS. I was goin to get an Electra but then i remembered that I was pretty much broke and my friend had been bothering me to get an MR1, so i looked it up. The first thing i noticed was that it was a really simple, affordable blow-back style marker (by my favorite....SPYDER) so i went around going to a whole buncha' stores comparing prices (and i got it at Walmart for $100) dont laugh. I tryed it out in my backyard everything stock with a standard hopper, and i noticed that the barrel was pretty accurate, and the gun is very comfortable since rubber grips come standard with it. The gun is pretty much metal all the way around, BUT its not all that heavy, and since im pretty much a moron i put it on a chair and it slipped off..........sniff sniff NOT MY BABY!!. Fortunatly Kingman did a good job with a full metal body, and all i got was a tiny scratch on my barrel and velocity adjuster. I have only played three games with it (which pretty much adds up to my paintball experience) and had NO chops at all, i played two games in a woods field (kicked butty), and one in a lego field (got my butty kicked). I freaked out in one of the woodsball games because it just jammed, i thought i had chopped, but i realized that my hopper was feeding fine (by then i had a view loader that fed 12 bps) so i thought something must have been wrong with my bolt, i realized that it looked cocked but it wasn't so i pulled it back and things went smooth from there. (I figured that since i was playing rough in a woods field it must have gotten dirt in it.) Another thing is that it is super simple to clean, if you pull the cocking pin (er whatever its called) the bolt easily slides out, and if you chop (which i haven't HA HA) you just take off the feedneck and wipe it clean, I LOVE IT. The only thing i "dislike" it doesn't really bother me that much but, if you wan't to shoot more than 5 bps, you can't adjust the trigger, and even though you can change it, im just too broke for that, but whatever, i put it in the weaknesses but......eh whatever thats not really true.
Conclusion: Well i am extremely happy with "Maggie" that's what i named "HER" and with a few tiny upgrades, i think you can bust someone with an "ion", well if you're a new paintball-er, or experienced i highly recommend this gun, but its more tuned towards the woodsballer and recreational player, but like i said if yo upgrade it a bit, you'll fit in with the other speedballers, but not me (im too broke i cant fit in) I would love to give this a 10/10 but only God is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DokWatson Friday, November 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Blade02's
Good beginning marker
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
200round gravity hopper
9oz tank
Smart Parts 16 inch linear rifled barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel
Big c02 tank
Strengths: Seems unbreakable
Easy to field strip and clean
Reliable in all weather conditions
Weaknesses: Trigger travel
Stock barrel


Review: I bought this as my first decent paintball marker. I play woods-ball with a few ROTC friends here in Alaska, and its held up in the worst conditions you could play in. The stock barrels size seemed gigantic, I couldn't find paint big enough to fit it. I bought a new Smart Parts barrel to put on it, and the bore size is actually noticeable when you look through them. The trigger has a very long travel, so popping off shots rapid fire style, isn't actually all that rapid. The finish on the metal is very good, after all the trouble my marker has been through it still works and looks as good as new. Ive heard of people shearing their detents off, I don't understand how they did this, because the bolt has a large groove that allows it to pass harmlessly past the detent, maybe they 'dry fired' without any Co2 or paint with the bolt in upside down, who knows. If you take care of this marker, im pretty sure it will last close to forever.
Conclusion: Great gun for a starter, wont break on you any time soon, doesn't cost a whole lot.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NinjaDragon23 Friday, November 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder X-Tra
Spyder Shutter
WGP Autococker Trilogy Sport
WGP Worr Machine
Spyder Compact
Spyder Victor II
Spyder Rodeo
Marker Setup: WGP Autococker Trilogy Sport
3A KO 16" Barrel
VL 200
12oz CO2
Trigger Frame upgrade(eventually) :)

Backup:
Spyder MR1
Stock
VL 200
14" PMI Razzor Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel-(Althought the stock one is pretty decent)
Possible Expansion Chamber
Strengths: Matte Black
Cheap
Accurate
Weaknesses: Heavy
Lacks Expansion Chamber
Kind of a gas hog
Review: When i was just beginning to get into paintball, i began looking for a gun. I looked at the Spyder MR1 and at first glance just thought it looked sick, (as in real cool) especially with the stock on. I took it out in my backyard to fire some shots at a board up on the fence. I was shooting from about 50ft, and this thing was extraordinarily accurate, even with the tock barrel. I upgraded to a 14' the next day though(got a good price). Also, just holding this gun can tell you that it is solid and durable. Although it is heavy, i still recommend it to beginners because it can take alot of thrashing around. I only use mine for woodsballing though.
Conclusion: Great gun for beginners, it is perfect for noobs that woodsball. All in all this is a great beginner gun and backup gun. I highly recommend this gun especially for the price(i got it for $100 at bass pro shops). I'm giving this a nine because i dont use it primarily( i use my WGP)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyder_Owner11 Monday, November 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder T-LX
Spyder XTRA

Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
Ricochet G2K hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Remote Coil
Delrin ACS Bolt
Strengths: A light alternative to most woodsball guns.
Weaknesses: Chops, but very rarely.
The ball detent is rather cheap.
Review: I just purchased my mr1 for a $140 CDN and i am very pleased with my purchased. When i first shot the gun i was satisfied with the performance of the marker. My last gun was a Spyder TLX, it is a rather flashy gun and didn't do me any good when i played rec. woodsball. I stuck out like a sore thumb, even though it performed well i wanted something more. With my MR1 on the other hand is a rather stealthy gun. I out performs my TLX and the other guns that my friends use. The accuracy with the stock barrel is pretty decent. The ball stays on target until about 70 - 75 feet then it will waver to the right or the left and then drop, but that can be expected with most stock barrels.The only problem that arose with this gun is when the gun chops. the only reason it chopped for me becasue a egg shaped ball broke in the chamber and the paint filled the feedneck and the balls would just trickle into the chamber. I have no other problems with the marker it is a very good marker.
Conclusion: I do not regret the purchase of this marker and reccommend you buy this gun for the very low price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spion182 Friday, November 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder imagine
Jt excellorator 5.0
Tl-x
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
2 Pure Energy 72 ci 3000 psi tanks
Viewloader Evlution3
Virtue Board
Virtue QEV
Break Beam eyes
Warrior Lowrise Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
a good bolt
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Chop balls ALOT!
Heavy
Review: The mr1 is not as nice as the mr2 or mr3 and certainly not as good as a 98 custom. This gun is basically Kingman's version of a 98 custom only with a double trigger. Now i know alot of people criticize eachother for hating Kingman, but really, this gun is not that good. I used Impact, Recon, and X-ball in this, and it still chopped about 10 balls. This is good for newbies cuz it has a side feed and stock, but for anyone looking to get someone out, then you should buy a real quality gun.

Also, this thing is a gas hog, buy nitrous!

The price is only $120, so that is basically the only good side.

It is very heavy and has an uncomfortable stock. now please dont complain to me that I'm wrong and the mr1 is good. because this is really not good at all. heavy, chops balls, uncomfortable, and is not walkable.

If you really do want to get this gun, then buy a new barrel, a good hopper, a new bolt, a board is they make one for the mr series, and nitrous.
Conclusion: Newbies, go with a 98, it is much better

To be fair, i have seen alot worse, and it is ok, but i don't recomend it. i'll give it a 7
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

keeba29 Wednesday, November 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spider Pilot anti chop system , Spider Imagine,Spider Sonics
Marker Setup: Spider Pilot anti chop system & Spider MR1 . gravity fed hopper 20oz. co2 view loader Harness, V force Vantage Goggles
Recommended
Upgrades:
Raise sight rail, Sight rail offset Remote New barrel
Strengths: The Stock, Looks, Sight rail,
Weaknesses: Sight rail is too small, cant see through your scope because of stock,
Review: when i first saw this gun i was excited because it came with a stock(that's 50-70 dollars you don't have to spend) and the sight rail was a major plus, the looks intrigued me as well. now on to the pros and cons

Pros.- stock,sight rail stock barrel isn't too shabby,

Cons.- grips were out kinda fast. the trigger wobbles, cant see through your sight because stock placement is too high, sight rail is too small, and no expansion chamber could hurt co2 users.

I'm a woods baller on a budget so i bought this because its the closest thing to a scenario marker i could get without spending to much money on ups. if i had the money i would have got me a tippy 98c package.
Conclusion: Good marker for peeps on a budget but if you can afford a tippy then go for it
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

DylanOwnage Wednesday, November 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom(rental)
pmi black maxx
many types of brass eagles
Marker Setup: spyder mr1 with 16" smart parts progressive barrel
200 round viewloader rev
16oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
I reccamed that you shoud get a better elbow for the mr1. That is the only thing that you should change... but if you want to make it better you can buy a new barrel or a scope or sight to increase accuracy.
Strengths: Very accurate
Very comfortable
Cheap
Shoots good tight when you buy it
Weaknesses: A bit heavy at times(depends what equipment you have on it)
Review: I overall think that the mr1 is good for the new paintballer and also good enough for the extream woodsballer. Anybody can get one because they are cheap and relieable. There is only one weakness and it is that you cant upgrade the gun as uch as other guns such as the tippman 98.
Conclusion: I recommend that you should get this gun because it is cheap,reliable,accurate and very comfortable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

meek Sunday, October 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
JT Tac 5, spider t-lr, and more spyders
Marker Setup: 12 in spin barrel off spyder pilot acs, 200 view loader, JT facemask, 20 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock easier to put in on gun during battle
Strengths: Accuracy, Power, Consistency
Weaknesses: Stock hard to put on during battle.
Review: I just tried this gun and it rocked!. I juiced it up a little and made it fast and accurate. While all my other friends guns were losing co2 and chopping balls mine just kept on going. It also worked really well with my scenerio, woods. It is rugged and tough and I really like what kingman did.
Conclusion: It is awesome for its price, i got it for 100 and it is my best gun ever. I wish all guns were like this, it really worked good for me.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JMahieu Saturday, October 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: MR1 with a 200rd hopper and a 9oz. tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
q-loader and rocking trigger
Strengths: Reliable and Durable
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have had my MR1 for about 6 months and i love it.I havent had any problems with it and I can shred my friends 98 with a 14in. barrel no problem.This barrel on this gun is very accurate stock and i can hit someone a 70yds no problem.The only thing ive had a problem with is the feedneck but im replacing that soon with the q-loader anyway so i dont really care.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for any beginner or advanced player.I enjoy walking onto the field and people already getting scared of it.The upgradebility of this gun is amazing and at $100 you cant beat it.And if you throw $300 into it u can go against a Angel with no fear.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

senses-fail Sunday, October 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98. the mr1 has its idvantages and so does the 98, its a matter of personal preference
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
Recommended
Upgrades:
new stock, custom built or one attaching under the grip.
remote line
sight
offset sight rail
Strengths: Affordable marker
12" Stock barrel
Looks and feels good in your hands
Double trigger
Weaknesses: stock
top cocking device makes accessory rail nearly useless. Only fits a laser
Review: The Very Basics of this Gun:

Look/Feel: very nice military style marker. the forgrip looks like a magazine. the double trigger is nice too. the marker itself is good for players who like both speedball and scenerio/woodsball.

Barrel: the stock barrel is 12" and ported. it doesnt need replaced right away like the 98c barrel wich is 9".

Stock:makes siting the rifle impossible with a mask. i recomend cutting the top bar of of it. i havent done it but i read that it doesnt weaken the stock much and it helps greatly. i plan on welding my own stock. if you dont have access to a welder i recomend buying an new one. try specialopspaintball.com

Paint Job: durable paint job, hard to scratch, ive smacked it quite a bit on varios things and not a single nick in the paint.

Conclusion: great first gun to buy. If your a more experienced player i recommend buying the mr2 or 3. I put about 200 balls through it so far and none have broken. My marker came with an air leak, its my first gun so i didn't know what the problem was for sure. I took it to my local shop and had him fix it and as i suspected it was just an o ring the manufacturers scratched or ripped while assembling the gun. Easy fix. Im giving the gun ten out of ten because its durable and i have not had any problems with it, aside from the blown o ring.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media