paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1

Kingman Spyder MR1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR1
[ View Photos (93) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The MR1 will take a beating and keep on firing! The slide out pull pin, field strippable bolt, and full-length stock (optional) make the MR1 an easily operated and highly accurate scenario marker with military resilience and stability. This semi-auto marker won't rust even when you're trekking through the wettest terrain, and you?ll never need to worry about batteries because there aren?t any electronic parts!
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27
        Next Page
ALam3503@aol.co Tuesday, May 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Java Edition Compact with 14" Barrel
-Ok gun to use for beginners just bought the MR1
Marker Setup: All stock of MR1
20oz tank
Gravity hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
ceramic and teflon coated barrel- less sound and more accurate
Strengths: Effective, Durrable, Balanced
Weaknesses: Loud, Heavy
Review: This gun is great. I love it. I played 2 days with it, around 5 hours and it woulded great. After 10,000 balls I have only broke 1. A new barrel would be great to cut down on the sound and be more accurate. Found the marker at wal-mart for $98.99 and had to buy it. The gun is heavy and balanced, so with a remote line you can make it lighter and it will not feel weird to hold. Easy to use and disassemble, except for the bolt. LIttle upgrades are avaible for this gun right now.
Conclusion: Great buy if you can great it for a right price, for a low end marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Woogums Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha R6
Marker Setup: Staock gun
Vforce feild vantage mask i think is field]
catalina C02 soon to be pmi N2
Recommended
Upgrades:
bolt
nitro/Hpa
esp frame
Strengths: Speed, air consistancy, no chop, realiable,somple yet effective, very accurate
Weaknesses: Um kinda hard to conect the bolt to the hammer at first
Review: Okay well i got the gun off ebay! yes. This gun is so realiable , super easy to clean. I was playing speedball and woods with ease this gun isnt what you think of a speedball gun but it is low profile ,medium wieght ,loud (fun cause ppl are like holy shizzit whats that!) fun to play with super gas effficient.
Conclusion: Must buy especially new players who want a cheap really good marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lil' C Thursday, April 13th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month63 of 72 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Diablo Mongoose II
Marker Setup: Secondary Marker:
Kingman Spyder MR1 with accessory stock
Spyder ESP electronic frame (semi-automatic, 3-shot burst, and full-automatic modes)Fireball Mountain Delrin double trigger
Scenario Dreams 25g light trigger switch
Dye Sticky grips
Lapco drop forward, gas-thru foregrip (2-stage EC), and grip frame adapter
Custom macroline air setup with Lapco vertical adapter
Custom Products on-off ASA with de-gas
Alamo City Paintball ringless Delrin bolt
Alamo City Paintball ringless composite Delrin/steel striker (lightened)
Armson 8" rifled barrel
Halo Backman TSA LCD hopper (230-round capacity) with Extreme Rage elbow

Primary Marker:
Tippmann A-5 with E-Grip
Dead On Products Delrin front bolt and power tube
BT Paintball rear velocity adjuster
Empire 7-pc barrel kit
Opsgear Fast On Target post sight
Ricochet R-5 hopper
Dye Throttle 70CI 4500PSI HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Basic Upgrades:
Empire 7-pc barrel kit for Spyder
Alamo City Paintball ringless Delrin bolt
Alamo City Paintball ringless composite Delrin/steel striker (lightened)
Dye Sticky grips

Advanced Upgrades:
Spyder ESP electronic frame (semi-automatic, 3-shot burst, and full-automatic modes
Fireball Mountain Delrin double trigger
Scenario Dreams 25g light trigger switch
Scenario Dreams T-Board with T-Chip upgrade
Strengths: Excellent value
Complete right out of the box
Good-looking
TOUGH!!
Light
Dependable
Upgradable
Weaknesses: Loud as @#%$!
Difficult to mount a usable sight
Accuracy improves with aftermarket barrel
Review: I bought my first MR1 for my stepson right after they came out. I wanted to get him a reliable dedicated woodsball gun that cost less than a Tippmann A-5 and didn't require any batteries. There was no alternative that even came close to the MR1, which I got from Paintball Outlet for $109.

This is an superb basic mechanical marker right out of the box. The feel and finish are excellent. It is light in the hand yet solid, and once you screw on the barrel and stock and attach a cheap gravity hopper, you are ready to air it up and shoot. The MR1 carries nicely and rolls to the shoulder with ease for efficient woodsball-style snapshots. The quality and fieldworthiness of the gun are immediately evident. Because it's a Spyder, its simple construction is intuitive and user-friendly. A complete novice can field-strip and rebuild this gun in a minute -- and actually understand how it works.

Side by side with an A-5, the benchmark for woodsball guns, the MR1 looks and feels every bit as rugged. They both look like you could use 'em to drive nails. The flat black finish is sufficiently hard to stand up to rough play and dragging through rocks, mud, and tree trunks, and there are no superfluous holes or milled openings to collect grime or invite dirt into the internals.

The MR1 did its job for my stepson. It worked reliably with minimal care or maintenance, and it let him save his tournament gun (and its expensive, trouble-prone hopper) for the airball field.

I was so impressed with the MR1, when I needed to replace our "guest gun" I immediately bought another MR1, this time for $99 from Action Villiage. It has become my backup marker when I don't use my trusty A-5 -- and it definitely holds its own!

I got a cheap ESP 3-mode electronic trigger frame for the new MR1, along with a Delrin blade-style two-finger trigger and an ultralight 25-gram switch. With Dye Sticky grips (the stock grips have a great look and feel, but they look worn way too quickly), the upgraded electronic trigger frame took cost me a just a little more than the marker itself, and I now have a real hair trigger with 3-shot burst and full auto modes. The gun shoots perfectly on full auto with a Halo TSA e-loader. I added a gas-through foregrip and an on-off ASA, and now my buddy uses it for suppression fire in the Broadsword position on our woodsball squad when we go out to play most weekends. It also allows a nice, fast two-finger walk for high ROF in semi-auto mode. The gun handles particularly nicely on remote.

If you upgrade your MR1 with an e-frame, upgrading the internals helps the gun actually keep up with the trigger trips it is receiving. I installed a ringless Delrin bolt and a lightened striker from Alamo City Paintball to help increase the cyclic rate on the cheap. The electronic and internal upgrades to the MR1 are less than the difference between the MR1 and the MR2 MSRPs, and the MR1 allows you to use the full range of Sypder-threaded barrels out there, unlike the MR2.

On the occasional chop under sustained full-automatic fire, the MR1 is easy to shoot through. I have yet to get the bolt stuck for any reason, either before or after I installed the aftermarket bolt. I had heard some complaints about the stock bolt shearing off the stock ball detent, so I replaced mine with a black rubber detent from a Bob Long Intimidator as a preventive measure.

The standard 12" muzzle brake barrel is serviceable, but I recommend an aftermarket barrel for improved accuracy. I use an 8" Armson rifled barrel that I got on the Pro-Team Products website; it's great for most paint, although for small-bore paintballs I switch to a .687 or .684 back with a 10" front from my Empire kit.

My only real design beef with the MR1 is that it ought to come with a raised sight rail like its big brother, the MR2. The line of the butt stock is such that it exits high on the receiver and provides no goggle clearance, and options for raising and/or offsetting a sight rail are difficult to find and nearly as expensive as the gun itself -- which is a shame on a marker designed with an offest feed neck and a clear sight picture.

Like all open-bolt blowback markers, this Spyder is LOUD! Full auto fire is VERY LOUD!! Full auto with a really short barrel (8" or less) is EXTREMELY LOUD!!! But I play Dagger, so I don't need no stinkin' quiet paintball gun. If you are looking for a sniper rifle for under $100, keep looking...
Conclusion: The Spyder MR1 is a truly value-laden paintball marker right out of the box, a joy to shoot in stock configuration the day you get it. Even better, it is an exquisite platform for some affordable upgrades that will make it extremely playable for a range of woodsballers without breaking the bank. I don't know of a better marker for under $100.

I'm giving it an 8, but that's a VERY strong 8, with potential to be a super-fun gun and a respectable force on any woodsball field.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006 at 1:24 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Sly23x Friday, April 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every other spyder
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 stock right out of the box
Power hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
A hopper that will keep paint in the gun 8- 12 BPS
Strengths: The price and Look great for anyone.
Anti-chop
Weaknesses: The grips, They where messed up.
Review: Well if you want to take a marker out of the box and take it on the field, hit what you want not have to do much more than pull the triger, get it cheap. This is the marker you want. You don't need a uped barrel or anything just go out and kick some a** . I got a 16" Thunder Pig barrel for the marker but after one round I went back to the stock barrel.
I will say this is the first Spyder that you can't get upgrade parts for, but you don't need them so it is ok.
If you are the kind of player that likes a flashy marker this is not for you. If you just want a marker you can get the job done with buy a MR1.
Conclusion: If you want a great marker for a great price this is it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 7th, 2006 at 10:46 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ppppoway Sunday, April 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month85 of 92 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pretty much every spyder there is.. they are all alike in performance exept for the higher end ones such as the elctra or fenix
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with all the fancy crap on it such as a remote stock, e grip and all the other stuff other tippmann owners have
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion chamber
Better barrel of course
Elbow
drop forward
Bolt, perhaps an anti chop
remote










Strengths: Cool looking
very durable
something diiferent for noobs with 98 customs
really sick grip panels
Weaknesses: No way to put a volumizer on it
elbow (cheap fix)
not too many upgrades
Review: I ordered this gun for 120 and Im very satisfied with my purchase. I just started playing woodsball and this gun really lives up to its expectations. The first thing I did was look at the ball detent because some said it could be easily chopped off. I looks pretty durable so I think maybe if i put a new bolt in, it will not chop it off. i put the stock on and it has a really nice feel to it. the gun with a new barrel should be an ok sniper so to say gun. The gas through fore grip is kinda fat but is very grippy.

Alright, now to shoot this beast. I loaded this baby with air and paint and went in my back yard to lay some cheepo paint on my fence. this gun is not as heavy as a tippmann so that is a total plus. I stood, I'm guessing mayby 50 to 60 feet and this gun was making probly 5 square inches of paint. This accuracy test probly didn't turn ou the way I thought it would because i was using year old brass eagle wild streak wet paintballs.I'm sure with maybey a sight this gun could shoot more acuratly but its almaost imposible to do because of the very short accessoriy rail.

I took this gun to the rec ball ball field and I pretty much owned. Even the guys with good gear respected me for not buying a victor or an tl series gun. I havent seen anyone else with this gun and I thi it should stay that way before kingman turns back into the company were all the gun have no individuallity. This gun is fast and very easy to use. Just remember your buying a spyder.
Conclusion: this kicks bootey and for the price I reccomend it to a scenario or a rec ball player. Most people think this gun is heavy but its as light as most mechanicles out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 4th, 2006 at 5:05 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

QuiGonKen Thursday, March 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
my old ZXS 400
Tippy 98
Marker Setup: MR1
14' Progressive
VL Revy
48/3000
podpack
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe new barrel, 12v Hopper,
Strengths: good Scen/milsim/woodsball
really good price
easy to clean/strip on and off field
Weaknesses: Difficult to find parts for upgrading
7/8inch rail
heard of detent problems- easily replaced..
Review: Ok well ive bought my MR1 and i love it, i had the option of the Tippmann or the MR1, i was on a budget and i lean more towards rec/milsim/woods - type paintball: so i was faced with the Highly upgradeable Tippman 98 or the MR1: but the parts for a Tippy was nearly $200 (CDN) to get a good stock and maybe barrel to make it look like i wanted. so i said well the MR1 looks pretty good straight out of the box and i got it instead.

Although the MR1 is difficult to make it LOOK more like a milsim it is a pretty good gun, i used it a couple of times, once in a game and there were no problems ...

[edit]
been using this gun for a while, very good so far, only real pains/probs ive had were the detents but once i got the black detents i havent had a seared problem since....
Conclusion: the only problem i see with this gun is that it is difficult to find parts to up it, and even though ive heard problems with the Detent it could easily be replaced, and if you go to the spyder.tv site and go to the forums and talk to a rep there and they will allow you to get a free detent from kingman- also different companies detents, ive heard, could also fit it. so ill give it a 9 outta 10.. only because of the lack of parts to upgrade...so yea....
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 8th, 2006 at 5:27 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

hippieman08 Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Orion, Brass Eagle Maruader, Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Stock Spyder MR, VL 200 count hopper, 20 Oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Good Range And Accuracy
Weaknesses: Loud (If ur worried about that stuff), and has a weird defect
Review: Ok, I would like to start out saying that this gun is a good gun and is definatley worth the price, it is very solidly built and while I would not try it I'm sure u could bang it on a rock good and hard and only scratch it pretty bad, now about that weird defect - - - I read that I'm am not the only one with this problem, the internal ball stop (or ball detent for whoever calls it that) is made of rubber and is severed off by the bolt on the first couple of shots, but I can tell u how to fix it - - all u have to do is, take off the side mounted ball feed, DO NOT STRIP THE BOLTS, then u'll be real messed up, remove the little yellow piece that is what is left of the ball stop, then get a little clicker pen that doesn't work anymore or that u dont care about and take the pen spring out - get some wire clippers and cut the spring about 2 and 1/2 to 3 spirals up, then unbend the spring a little bit but not all the way, Ur gonna need a coiled part left, then insert then unbent part into the hole where the rubber thing was, u'll have to mess with it to get it right but u should be able to figure out how to get it to hold the ball, that is the only problem with this gun, and while annoying, not hard to fix and the gun works no problem now.
Conclusion: If u want a cool tactical looking woodsball semi-auto gun, this is the one for u, if u want fully auto, go with the MR 2, these are just awesome looking well preforming guns, minus the one little flaw they have, also great bigginers gun if they have a little extra cash to throw around
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 29th, 2006 at 7:58 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

CHCKilgore Friday, March 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year187 of 193 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom - more upgradeable, but more expensive with necessary upgrades
Marker Setup: Main: Tiberius Arms T-9 Covert
PMI remote line
OPSGEAR FoT sight

Backup: Spyder MR1
16" Custom Products One-Piece Classic barrel
PMI remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote Line
New elbow
New barrel
E-Grip & Electronic Loader - if you are trigger happy
Strengths: Stock included
Nice mil-sim look
Rugged design
Price is right
Weaknesses: Brittle elbow - $5 fix
Weaver rail is too short to be useful
Review: I recently bought an MR1 for a backup/girlfriend marker and I was very impressed. The marker has a very solid aluminum frame and a nice mil-sim look. Out of the box, the MR1 comes with a solid stock, a decent barrel, a clear elbow, a barrel plug and a few small replacement parts.

The paint job on the gun is flat black which is great for staying concealed in the woods. The feed is offset on the right hand side which makes sighting smooth and natural. You will need to invest in a more rugged elbow because the one included with the marker is very brittle and breaks easily. The stock barrel is fairly accurate, but if you have the money, a BT Apex or a 14" J&J would be a worthwhile upgrade.

Unfortunately if you enjoy using the sights on your markers, the stock sights are nonexistant because the top cocking bolt blocks your view. Another downer for mil-sim/woodsballers is the lack of a decent weaver rail. The rail that is provided is just too short to be useful. It might be possible to find a short-based weaver rail that is raised to avoid the bolt or if you are crafty you can make a custom rail to solve this problem.

I have put about 500 rounds through the MR1 so far and haven't had one chop yet. Luckily if I do have a break, the MR1 is easy to disassemble for cleaning. Aside from a few minor issues, the Spyder MR1 is a great marker for any woodsballer on a budget or anyone looking for a nice reliable backup marker. To upgrade a Tippmann 98 Custom to match the MR-1 would cost nearly $100 more than the MR1. Color me impressed!

UPDATE: I have played 5 games and put around 4-5,000 rounds through the marker with only 5 breaks. The ball detent is still in great shape although I ordered a new one from Kingman just in case. The MR1 has proven to be a reliable and rugged marker. Hopefully we'll see some marker specific upgrades in the near future like a raised sight rail that actually fits and clears the bolt.

UPDATE: I recently ditched my A-5 for the Spyder MR1. I added a 16" inch Custom Products One-Piece Classic barrel and my MR1 shoots like a dream. I have less problems with cleaning (Cyclone feed and flatline barrel are beasts to clean) with no loss in performance. A decent electronic loader is definitely a worthwhile upgrade for consistent feeding. After about 20 games and thousands of rounds fired, my ball detent is still in excellent shape with no noticeable wear.

UPDATE: I have finally found a decent fix for the gimpy sight rail on the MR1. Using a set of 1" Weaver Quad Lock scope rings and a set of Weaver Marlin 336 scope bases, I have created an offset (mounted at roughly 45 degrees to the left) scope mount that clears the bolt and the stock (with the help of a raised weaver rail). This solution cost me roughly $15 and it works beautifully. I have about 2 inches of clearance between my mask and my stock. In order for this setup to work properly, you will also need a raised sight rail or see-thru scope mounts to ensure mask clearance. Once you have your sight rail attached, you can mount your favorite scope or sight system!
Conclusion: The Spyder MR1 great marker for any woodsballer looking for something a little different. The MR1 is ready to rock right out of the box and with a few minor upgrades, the MR1 becomes a highly accurate marker. I give this marker a solid 9 out of 10.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 21st, 2007 at 9:02 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

electronmaster Sunday, March 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing, last gun was a Talon
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-1
J&J 2 Piece Ceramis 14" Barrel
Upgraded Springs
Viewloader Gravity Feed 200 Round Hopper
Remote Coil
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remote coil is nice
Strengths: Very Reliale, easy to disasemble and reasemble. Looks cool.
Weaknesses: Hard to find parts right now to upgrade without improvising. Loud.
Review: Lets start off by saying I am relatively new to this sport, which made this gun appealing to me. My previous gun was a Talon pump gun, so even this is a big jump up. And I have had it for more than one month, but not quite 3 months, but there is no option for that. I have played 4 seprate days of at least a few hours a game each day with this gun.

I was recommended by my friends to pick out a spyder because they are easy to use and very upgradeable. I went down to my local paintball shop and saw it on the wall. I paid $119 for it, with the stock, so if you paid more and didn't get the stock, you paid too much. My first game I played with it completely stock, except for a medium spring upgrade. It performed very well, or, well enough for me. I thought it was very accurate, so I let my friends shoot it a few times, and they agreed with me on the accuracy. Over a longer distance, the balls seem to curve, but I believe this is just because of wind.

It seems to be very reliable, and low maintenance. I have only chopped one ball, which was earlier today, when I was just seeing how many shots I could get off in a second. Other than that I have been through about 2000 balls, 1300 or so on stock barrel, and 700 or so on upgraded 2 piece J&J performance ceramic barrel I tried today. with the stock barrel, it really is pretty loud. With the upgraded barrel, it quiets down quite a bit.

Upgrading this gun does not look as though it will be as simple as my friends suggested. This is because with this gun, they made a number of changes. It is a top cocker, and the pin that attaches the bolt to the striker is remove-able, none of my friends spyders has a bolt like this. I am having trouble finding a replacement bolt, which I really am in no need for now, but it would be comforting to know they are out there, just in case.

I have another upgrade problem as well. The semi- auto frame that came with it does not have standard mounts for the drop forward that came with it. they are inline, instead of offset, like every other spyder I have seen. So, I am assuming I cannot upgrade the trigger frame unless I change the drop forward, which a new one seems to come with expansion chamber kits anyway, but, the appearance of the gun will be completely different when all this is done.

Those are my only gripes with the gun. When I look at reviews, I usually just want to know the bad stuff, and figure the good out myself. I am happy about not chopping a ball when it counts. I have never needed to rip off the barrel under fire and run a squeege through it, like my friends are always doing.

O yeah, the sight rail sucks. You have about 2 inches of usable rail, but unless a scope or laser is mounted up high, it will do you no good, because the screw to fasten the elbow to the hopper from the gun is clearly in the way, so it wasn't designed well if you are looking for it to be a real senario gun by adding a scope.

In the cold, like today (33 degrees before a reasonable wind that made your fingers turn white) was the first time I got to check the fps. I hear CO2 (remember I'm a noob) does not perform as well in the cold. The first shot was 252, the second 251, and the third, which was the only one this low, was 232. I didn't notice any problems on the feild though.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this one to really anyone who is looking for a great gun that will be dependable for either starters or really anyone. Great gun to learn on. It is damn good looking you know.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

TheLastBrunnenG Friday, January 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested101 of 145 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, TL-R, and Rodeo, JT Excellerator 3.5e and TAC-5, Tippmann 98 and A5, more...
Marker Setup: * Spyder TL-R with a new Phat feedneck and PMI Razzor 14" barrel.
* Spyder Sonix Pro with a new ACPball feedneck and a 12" J&J Precision barrel
* Game Face Vexor Eye with a custom ACPball delrin bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. Feedneck / elbow.
2. Barrel, but not necessary.
3. Red dot dight and other decorative junk.
Strengths: Slick styling, simple yet effective design
Weaknesses: Cheap plastic feedneck elbow. Lack of volumizer or expansion chamber may hurt CO2 users.
Review: 11 FEB 2006 - Added a comment under the Detent section, changed rating from 8 to 7.

The MR1 is the electronic MR2's little brother, but it's an odd design. It's not as scenario-heavy as the JT TAC-5 but it's not as easy to use or as well-equipped as lower-cost mechanical markers like the Xtra or TLX. The rundown:

BARREL - 12" ported barrel with no muzzle break. Matte black so there's no glare to give away your position. Not very quietest, but that's normal for Spyders. Good internal finish, and better accuracy than average for a stock barrel. There is no volumizer shroud like on the MR2, so replacement barrels will be easy to add. Looks like a 2-piece but isn't.

FOREGRIP / EXPANSION CHAMBER - Foregrip is metal and vertical, shaped off the old AMG molds. It's just a gas-through foregrip, so there's no expansion chamber. No way to add a regulator since there's no front block to replace - the foregrip bolts directly into the body of the gun. Grip is a hair loose even with the bolts tightened.

VOLUMIZER - None. The body is capped where a volumizer would go.

TRIGGER / FRAME - Standard mechanical metal Kingman trigger frame. Trigger pull is 3/4" and not adjustable. Frame is all metal with very nice rubber grips. Safety is standard crossbolt for mechanical markers. Trigger has a little side play and is squeaky.

DROP / ASA - ASA works well enough and has an internal filter. Drop is short but angled. BIG HOORAY: The MR series uses IN-LINE SCREWS ON THE DROP FORWARD!!! No more offset Kingman-only holes! The line is black-coated stainless braided line.

DETENT - Integrated under the angled feed port's braces. Not a standard Kingman left-side ball-bearing. *** EDIT 11 FEB 2006 - This will cost the MR-1 a rating point. I played with the MR1 today, and through 4 games it successfully fired maybe 20 balls out of 500. The problem was the detent - the bolt sheared it clean off! The MRs use a tiny rubber finger as a detent and the MR1's aluminum bolt cut it right in half. It began double and triple feeding, which any marker with no detent could be expected to do. I didn't discover this until much later, when I got home to disassemble the marker (the detent is installed underneath the feedport plate). Why, oh why, did Kingman stop using their standard left-side ball-bearing detent??? ***

BODY - Minimal milling. Feedneck is an angled 45-degree stub with a cheap plastic adapter/elbow. Field stripping is a standard Kingman pull pin (held by a ball bearing, not a cotter pin). Body is all metal, but the marker is no heavier than a TL-R. The top of the marker comes with built-in 7/8" Weaver rails, interrupted by the feedneck and cocking knob. There are no bottom or side rails. Body is uniformly matte black with a tough finish; the cocking knob is also black.

STOCK - Shared with the MR2. Stock is open-frame skeletal design but is very stable and tough. Makes the already heavy MR1 even heavier, but it's worth it. The stock insertion is o-ringed so the marker may perform even better with it than without.

INTERNALS - Top-cocking marker (stacked-tube blowback) with an open rear end (unless the stock is attached). Internals may be shared with the TLX, TL-R, and Sonix Value / Sonix Pro, but I'm not 100% certain yet. Bolt is a standard Kingman aluminum venturi bolt. Interior finish is excellent. Velocity is adjusted via a rear set screw, not by the old Kingman thumbwheel.
Conclusion: Marker feels good but it's not as well-equipped as lower-end markers - it's basically a dressed-up Victor or a stripped Sonix Value. The finish is good but the short rail (the main attraction for scenario / milsim buffs) is barely useful. CO2 users may be hurt by the lack of expansion chamber and volumizer. It's a good, solid marker, but only if you're dead-set on a mechanical or really need a blasted-black paint job. Maybe if someone added the e-frame from a $60 refurb Imagine then this would be a contender. Otherwise it's an 8 out of 10, and I'm generous because I'm a Kingman geek.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 11th, 2006 at 8:50 pm PST
I found this review  
53 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media