paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1

Kingman Spyder MR1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR1
[ View Photos (93) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The MR1 will take a beating and keep on firing! The slide out pull pin, field strippable bolt, and full-length stock (optional) make the MR1 an easily operated and highly accurate scenario marker with military resilience and stability. This semi-auto marker won't rust even when you're trekking through the wettest terrain, and you?ll never need to worry about batteries because there aren?t any electronic parts!
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Travis Kinch Sunday, February 21st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Genesis Surge 2
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 Sniper with standard MR series Stock. No Upgrades.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A scope would probably benefit players wearing oversized masks.
Strengths: It's Powerful, accurate, easy to use.
Weaknesses: Confusing Bolt assembly, a little long to shoot around corners with.
Review: Overall I think that it is an awesome gun. I own the Sniper Kit meaning that it comes with a 16" sniper barrel with a muzzle break on the end of it which improves the range but also makes the report louder. Not that I don't like that about it, in fact I love that about it. The bolt assembly if put together wrongly can break off your ball detent and ruin the gun but it shouldn't be hard to figure out by looking down the barrel. It's got long range and improved accuracy unlike the MR1 military kit. Like I said though the MR1 Sniper is an awesome gun.
Conclusion: I'd recommend the MR1 Sniper kit to anyone into scenario or bushball as long as they intend to be a sniper otherwise I'd recommend the MR1 military kit.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gmaddux3132 Friday, January 29th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, GT 2000
Marker Setup: MR1, 14 inch progressive barrel, Kingman Spyder Rocking Trigger Frame and Fasta Hopper - 18v LCD
Recommended
Upgrades:
Kingman Spyder Rocking Trigger Frame! I would get a 16 inch barrel and you'll need a nice fast hopper
Strengths: Durable, easy to maintain, light weight, accurate, overall a great gun
Weaknesses: Can not seem to find a anti-chop bolt that fits with this gun.
Review: Light, simple to use and very easy to clean this gun. This gun is a very basic model and can endure pretty much anything you want to throw at it! I have played in rain, I have fallen and smashed the gun on the ground and nothing seems to faze it. The body is about the same size as a GT2000 but lighter, nice off set feeding system I recommend upgrading the plastic feed to a metal one right off the bat but other than that I love the gun
Conclusion: I own a Bushmaster B2K, Impulse, tippman 98 custom and this MR1 and I prefer the MR1 over all of them! Nice and basic gun that will handle pretty much anyone if you have the right upgrades. Some say it is loud but if you shooting in the woods at someone else I think the sound of the gun should be the least of your worries.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SwiftWind Sunday, January 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Metal Stock. Plastic one that comes with gun is ok but I can see it breaking.
Strengths: Very accurate right out of the box.
Side feed hopper.
Durable
Weaknesses: Plastic stock
Review: I bought my gun refurbished and was impressed by the good condition it was in. (Paint was scratched in a few places.) The gun was very accurate. What impressed me most was that playing for 2 hrs I didn't break a single ball. I put 270 rounds through it just to give you an idea. What I should have been instructed on was that the spring to adjust the velocity needed to be broken in. I was firing 325 fps all the way turned down. This was easily fixed once i was told how. Turn the gun all the way up (Max velocity) fire 10 rounds then adjust all the way down. Repeat until you are firing at desired velocity most places only let you fire at 250 fps.
Conclusion: Overall excellent gun. Only thing that could be improved on is plastic stock and instructions to adjust velocity spring.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

oliver_rules Sunday, January 17th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TS
Marker Setup: Main:

Angel LED
evelotuion 2 electronic hpper
68CI Hpa tank

Back up:

Spyder MR1
12 OZ co2
gravity feed hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, it works great stock
Strengths: Accurate
Powerful
Reliable
Easy to use
Weaknesses: None whatsoever
Review: I bought 2 mr1s new and they have been nothing but fun. it doesnt need maintenance and has been a pleasure to own.


I could always rely on it as it is good.

These are as good as some of the top level guns.

I have shot 10,000 (yeah 10,000) bullets throught it and i have had 0 breaks. thats right 0. i am very hapy with it and there fore the good rating.

This is an awesome gun, especially for woodsball.
Conclusion: Buy it. it is a problem free gun and works great
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wolf1066 Monday, November 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rental Tippmann 98s - they varied in condition.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
Trinity MR series clamping feed neck
Cut down stock
Reshaped trigger and rear trigger stop
HPA
14" J&J ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trinity MR series clamping feed neck first and foremost. Everything else is optional/personal preference.
Strengths: Solid
Easy to strip and reassemble
Value for money
Weaknesses: Nothing that cannot be readily fixed
Review: After reading the reviews here, I decided to get a Spyder MR1 as I determined that its strengths suited my style of play and its reported “weaknesses” were either irrelevant or easily fixed. The only thing I could see being a major issue was the notoriously flimsy feed neck, which would have to be replaced at the earliest opportunity.

I got a second hand MR1 by online auction and the seller, for a few more dollars, included a basic gravity-fed loader, 12oz CO2 tank and a Trinity clamping feed neck. Before it even arrived, I won another auction for a remote to use as an expansion chamber. This gave me marker, tank, loader, upgraded feed neck and remote for less than the cost of a brand new “naked” MR1.

The marker duly arrived and I was not in the least disappointed. It was certainly solidly constructed – I’ve owned shotguns that don’t feel as solid – and it was fairly weighty but not excessive, IMO. Using a remote would drop the weight significantly. Oh, lucky me, I just happen to have one...

The Trinity feed neck was very solid and firmly locked the loader in perfect alignment with the body of the marker. I’d heartily recommend this upgrade over any number of spare plastic elbows.

A look down the business end with the barrel removed gave a clear view of the end of the bolt and the groove to accommodate the ball detent. It was evident that turning the bolt upside down would turn the bolt into a ruthlessly efficient detent-shearing guillotine – no wonder mechanically-inept people have complained about the detent being chopped off. I cocked the marker and felt the detent – it seemed in good condition.

I field-stripped and reassembled it and it is as easy as others have attested – and I made sure I put the bolt in the right way up! With a bit of practice, stripping, cleaning and reassembling the marker would not take long at all.

Many people have complained about the trigger, claiming it’s too hard and has an excessively long draw – and I’ve got to wonder: “Compared with what? An e-trigger?”

I found the trigger pull fairly light compared with real, bullet-firin’, firearms and the draw length was not excessive – it had no slack travel at all, just a short pull against moderate resistance before a sudden break. The after-travel was not far either but could be a little shorter – a stop would fix that and is easy enough to install.

I must admit there is quite a bit of side-play on the trigger but, again, that’s easy enough to fix with a couple of thin washers or metal shims.

I’m not joking when I say I have used real firearms with worse triggers – miles of slack play followed by a long heavy pull and an awful break.

The only thing I would change about the trigger – and this is purely “personal preference” – is to cut off the lower part of the trigger to make it more like a rifle trigger. As I said: personal preference – I prefer to use only the index finger on the trigger and the long trigger interferes with my ability to wrap my middle finger around the grip.

The stock: As others have said: cut the top bar off. Using the unmodified stock, I couldn’t sight the marker without a mask on, let alone with. It was fine after I cut the top bar off – around half an hour’s work by the time I smoothed it up with a file to get rid of rough edges and make it look like it was designed that way.

Using the marker:
First time I took it out (stock barrel) I had absolutely no chops and it performed faultlessly. I'm not a pray-'n'-spray shooter, I prefer to stalk, shoot a few times and relocate. I have no need for ultra-fast rates of fire so the MR1 fires fast enough to suit my needs.
I had a lot of barrel breaks but the PMI Premium paint I’d bought was heavily dimpled and many of the balls did not look spherical – even to something as imprecise as a human eye.
I later set up a target and fired off a number of balls of Elixir without a single break. So let’s just put the barrel breaks down to a bad batch of paint. The Elixir is not a good match for the stock bore (too small, rolls out unimpeded) so its accuracy wasn’t very consistent – three off the target entirely and the rest in a 30cm (1 foot) group at approx 15 metres. The PMI premium is a closer match for the stock bore but the only ones I have are dimpled and/or not spherical.

UPDATE: Took it back out on the field using the Elixir paint and loosed off well over a hundred rounds with no barrel-breaks or chops at all. The accuracy was very consistent even using CO2 and paint that's a bit small for the bore. It was a faster paced game and I had to lay down cover fire and suppressive fire a couple of times - it fired fast enough for the task at hand.

UPDATE 2: Finally made up a rear stop for the trigger - basically a short length of metal down inside the trigger spring to prevent the spring from being compressed all the way. I cut the head off a four-inch nail then cut off a short length of the shaft to make the stop. I didn't measure - just patiently filed it down until the trigger would travel back far enough to release the bolt and a little further. It wound up about 2/3 the length of the uncompressed trigger spring.

While I had the trigger out, I cut off the bottom of the trigger to make it a single finger trigger then smoothed it with the file - as mentioned above, this is a purely "personal preference" sort of mod.

Sadly I did not have a thin-enough washer to fix up the side play.of the trigger so left that for another time.

Once the marker was reassembled with the rear stop in place, I tried a quick rapid fire - the shorter travel made for some really quick shooting comparable with letting rip as fast as possible (forget accuracy) with a .22 semi-automatic rifle.
Conclusion: Ultimately, it’s all about what you want in a marker – which is dependent on how you play. The MR1 suits me fine in a fairly unmodified state, others may want faster rates of fire that warrant e-triggers and electric loaders.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 21st, 2009 at 2:11 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Assassin_Corps Tuesday, September 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Victor 2, Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1, 6 position sniper stock, Rap4 22" Super Sniper Barrel, Powerline scope
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel i guess (definently not neccessary)
cut the top off the stock.
Strengths: Accurate
Very Durable
Gas efficient
battle ready straight out of the box
Weaknesses: Uh... i've heard the elbow is weak, never had that problem.
Review: Let's see... This gun is my best friend. EXTREMELY durable, i tripped and fell on it last game and it worked just like new. i've never had a ball break, this gun is CRAZY accurate even with the stock barrel. i put an aftermarket barrel on it and ended up putting the stock one back on. (eventually i got a barrel off Rap4, which is better.) my first game with using this gun i was named Most Valuable player (out of 250 people) by the general at a scenario game and there were SPONSORED players there decked out with all the best and most expensive setups. one game the bolts on the trigger came loose but i tightened them and haven't had the problem since.
Conclusion: This gun is amazing and with the price tag ($100) you absolutely WILL NOT find a better deal. get this gun now. i'd say it was a 9 because there are better guns out there. but to make up for moron tippmann fanboys posting on here giving it a 1. i'm gonna give it a 10. peace.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 8th, 2009 at 6:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheWikidFool Thursday, July 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Nothing new, but I'm getting my 20" barrel shipped right now, when I get a chance to test it, I'll post an update/
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel, Turn the power up (mine came out of the box at 100 fps), maybe a new stock, and you will almost certinaly want a better sight.
Strengths: Looks good, acuracte, feels good, stock out of the box, never chops, Original look.
Weaknesses: Distance, Power, Screw come undone to easily.
Review: I love this gun. I have been using around twice a month and normally put about a thousand rounds throught it every day I play and I have never had one break even though I use the cheapest paint available. It has a stock right out of the box which I think is awesome, because I haven't seen any other guns there aren't some sort of special package. It's one of the cheapest non-off brand guns on the market.
The Spyder MR1 is widely known as the Tippman 98 Customs biggest competetor. Well, I've used both and I can tell you that the MR1 is not on the same level as the Tippman 98 Custom, it is on a much higher level. The Tippman has a very crappy barrel out of the box, no stock, and is used by EVERYONE... Not to mention it just doesn't shoot as well. The only place the 98 Custom beats the MR1 is distance.
Conclusion: The MR1 is a great woodsball or speedball gun. It looks awesome, shoots awesome and cleans easily. But I do have to take a point off for distance and the screws coming undone to easily. But still gets a really good review from me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tracker7 Saturday, July 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This gun is universal, and can be upgraded to fit other catagories.
In other word, its its own gun.
Marker Setup: Primary:
Tippmann US Army Alpha Black Tactical w/
Archon's NEW Revolutionary 200 Round Gravity fed hopper,
20oz remote line CO2 NXe 4+1
Secondary:
Overlord Rx Pistol w/ laser sight
Second Primary:
Custom made P90 prototype
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on your position
Sniper= short range scope, longer barrel, suitable stock
Infantry= the handle that fits MR1's w/ sight rail, red dot scope, remote line.
Speed ball= Auto hopper, drop foward
Strengths: Durable
Accurate
Feel
Reliable
Good for a cheap gun
Weaknesses: Needs some sort of upgrade to suit you
Cheap elbow
A Little loud
Review: First Looks and Feel
Right out of the box it seams to be a durable gun for the price.
It fits nice in ones hand.
For an average player or a starter gun this is a very good buy.

Firing the gun
It shoots fairly accurate if you use decent paint.
It doesnt chop balls (w/ decent paint)
It's pretty good on CO2 it's the the air hog others make it out to be
On the other hand it is a little loud like others make it out to be.

On the field
The gun itself is reliable
It may not be the fastest gun, but it isn't the slowest either.
If one has a remote line this gun can be decent in maneuvering on the field

Cleaning and maintenance
This gun is a good gun to learn on.
Easy and quick to clean
Conclusion: With upgrades avaible this gun can be a great gun for the average or starter player.
Like any gun its a good idea to go to a local sporting good store and hold it, get a feel for it, and see if it fits you.
Overall it is a good gun for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sparkzz Wednesday, July 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1
Detachable stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Elbow
-Stock
Strengths: VERY TANK!
reliable
very good accuaracy
Weaknesses: Pretty loud
CRAP elbow
Not very upgradable
Review: I have not even owned this gun a week now and i LOVE it. I reccomend it over a tippman anyday. Tippman is all i used for 5 years now im all for the spyder! It is cheaper and so much better in MANY ways! The accuarcy is amazing. It is VERY WELL built. Strong as a steel block and just plain feels good while holding it. NOW THATS A TRU PAINTBALL GUN!
Conclusion: If you are looking for a solid, reliable and accurate marker without breaking your bank, look no further. This marker has everything you need, with easy maintenance and plenty of options. This bad boy can easily keep up with the Tippman's and is a viable alternative if you are looking for a tough woodsball marker. Just make sure to UPGRADE THAT ELBOW.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tkteddie Thursday, June 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
TIPMANN 98, SPYDER VICTOR, SPYDER TL-X, TIPMANN A5,TAC 5 RECON,
Marker Setup: SPYDER MR1, WITH SIGH RAIL, ALSO LASER SIGHT!
Recommended
Upgrades:
ELBOW FEED BREAKS EASILY, AND THE BARREL NOT THAT ACCURATE!
Strengths: Really though, and looks really cool. works in all weather and all terrain..
Weaknesses: Marker is kind of heavy, and the cocking bolt replace it!
Review: This marker is really though and accurate. if you need a really good woodsball marker then you know what marker to get with a lot of upgrades and the new anti chop technology this marker is really great and does your needs!! specially if you want a woodsball marker then you know that this is gonna be the one you want. When ever me and my friend go paintballing i always win because i have the good marker the spyder mr1! with eyes and ACT. ANTI CHOP TECHNOLOGY!!!
Conclusion: So know you know if you want a really good and reliable paintball maker then you know what to get the spyder mr1! with the anti chop technology it beats the cra* out of the tippman 98! so you know which marker to get!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media