paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1 / Kingman Spyder MR1

Kingman Spyder MR1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder MR1

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder MR1
[ View Photos (93) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 261
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The MR1 will take a beating and keep on firing! The slide out pull pin, field strippable bolt, and full-length stock (optional) make the MR1 an easily operated and highly accurate scenario marker with military resilience and stability. This semi-auto marker won't rust even when you're trekking through the wettest terrain, and you?ll never need to worry about batteries because there aren?t any electronic parts!
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder MR1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Fwabaa Friday, March 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann G_A_Y-5 (woops?)
Patriot
Pirhannas ( only tested but various markers )
Marker Setup: Spyder Mr1 (getting a vs2)
quantum VL hopper
Pure energy 20 oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is a must because its loud as ****. (i would recommend a spyder J&J ceramic barrel or a smart parts teardrop would both be good and cheap)
W/E you do dont get a boomstick please they suck holy balls.
Stock needs to be sawed off would very much help
Other junk you guys would want on there
Strengths: Accurate
Decent rate of fire
Durable
Good all around
Price
Weaknesses: Loud (can and needs to be fixed)
Bolt
Nothing else


Review: This gun is the absolute best beginner to amature gun out there because it has all the basic things a gun needs. It is a good colored woodsball gun (olive) and has good range for woodsball to. Its a good tactical marker because it has the rate of fire needed for a tactical marker, and it has great range for a tactical marker. Its a mechanical gun which i would recommend to have your first marker be. Imagin starting with an electric marker being confused with stuff that you dont know like 3 round but and 6 round burst when you could have an easy gun that you can just screw on a co2 tank and put a hopper on this sucker and cock your bolt and fire accurately as if it were a real gun.
Heres my part by part review:

Barrel- Its one of the best spyder stock barrels i have ever had. The sad thing is the all spyder stock barrel suck. This one looked like finally spyder had made a stock barrel cheap and good. Looks can be deciving my friend as sounds can very much give off your position on any field. This barrel is so loud its like all the people at spyder and there testers for this gun are deaf. LOUD AS HELL!

Stock- This stock is like something spyder made a little cheap to add on to the already good looks of a spyder MR1. Something ive never saw in a paintball gun is why stocks make your gun better. This stock is does nothing ,and is only a tad bit of a distraction. The top of the stock is where you want to saw off. Before you saw off this stock you won't be able to aim worth ****. After you do it trust me your gun looks cooler and the way you will be able to aim will make you cooler.

Trigger- This trigger is nothing special only another regular metal double trigger. I don't know if this happens to all of you guys MR1s but mine has a pain in the *** sqeeking noise when i pull it back.

The Two grips- Really nothing different then any other of the MR series grips accept maybe the placement of the spyder logo, but thats because the MR2 and the MR3 have an e-grip frame so it has to have the logo somewhere other than in the middle.

Bolt- Now this is something that bothers me a whole lot. Spyder finally makes a gun without the feedneck smack dab in the middle and the bolt is right there in the middle too. Right when you acually have a chance to aim your freaking gun the stick the bolt in there. Other than that there are no cocking issues with the bolt.

Markers guts- This is something you cant really talk much about with a mechanicle marker because theres no grips or frames or boards to talk about with the gun. You can make this gun go alot faster by taking the springs out of the gun and replacing them with sponges, works like a charm.

Plastic Feed Neck- Why the hell do people complain and complain over this little plastic feed neck you get with your MR1. Hey i mean atleast spyder gave you a plastic feed neck. Also its plastic what do you acspect it to be like titanium power strong no its not going to be the best thing in they world, but it sure the hell helps. You know how i was mad over the bolt situation, well i would have been a whole lot more mad if it wasn't for this feed neck because it gave my hopper the extra boost up to get me some sight.
Conclusion: Well its come to the end of the review has it not? This is like i said a GREAT gun for beginners to amature level players and even rec players to can get a real kick out of shooting this gun. I give it a 9 out of 10 because its not the best gone around but for $90 dollars this is the best thing youll ever get! BUY IT NOW, or ill rape your mom AGAIN
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MR1kingman Friday, February 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Image S
Spyder Victor
Tippman 98 Custom
JT Tac 5
Marker Setup: Madmann Spring Kit
BT AK47 Spyder Barrel
Upgraded expansion Chamber
New Designs Spyder Performance Valve
Metal Feed Neck
Delrin Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgraded Barrel
Air Valve
Hopper
Strengths: Durable
Keeps on goin
Accurate
Intimidating
Offset Feed Neck
Easy to Maintain
Cheap
Weaknesses: Can't mount scopes very well unless you have an offset mount
Plastic elbow
Review: This is probably my fourth gun. I have had it about a year and it still takes a beating and keeps on going. This is a great gun for the begginer and any skill level and would recomend it to anybody. It is espically great for woodsball It is also one of the best guns that you can buy for the money. The stock barrel is suple but a sniper barrel greatly enhances the range and acuracy. The gun also rarely chops. There are also a few upgrades that can enhance the looks and shooting of the gun. I would give this gun a 10 out of 10 because of the quality and performance and realiabilty you get for the price.
Conclusion: Great for any player on any skill level
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 20th, 2009 at 1:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballman446 Thursday, February 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stryker Cybrid (First Gun), Tac-5 Recon
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 - Stock
Tac-5 as a backup
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel, perhaps a new hopper if you fire quickly
Strengths: Fast Shooter, Doesn't chop balls...1200 rounds, 1 chop, pretty durn good!
Weaknesses: Screws come loose out of the Box;
Review: This gun was bought for 99.00. I did my research, and found that virtually no one had anything significant that bothered them. I snagged this gun for 3 reasons: The look, the reputation, and the name. The gun is very light in your hand, and with a 20 oz CO2 cartridge on, it is well balanced. Velocity was set pretty good right out of the box. I don't use electronic hoppers; I only use gravity feed...I'm not a fast shooter. Playing woodsball with my buddies in sub-freezing temps, this gun held its own against Tippman 98s, other Spyders, and a few Tac-5s. I did not chop one ball until my 3rd hopper, which didn't cause any problems like it can in other guns. It fired smooth and consistent. If i wanted to spout off a few real quick, I could do it without worry or flinch. The only downfall: out of the box, remove the screws holding the stock together, and put some threadlock compound on them. Mine came loose during play, as I have seen others comment. Thread lock fixed this right up. Field stripping was a breeze. Pull out the pin, and you're on your way to a clean gun. The bolt can go in upside down. Just look on the bolt and line up the groove with the ball detent. It can only go in 2 ways. I made a small mark on mine so I can see the correct way without looking too closely.
Conclusion: The gun is tough too. It is easy on CO2, fires great, is pretty quiet, and is dependable. It is well balanced and relatively light for a military style marker. Also very compatible with almost any type of ball. I use Alpha, but all balls have worked fine. If you are willing to spend the hundred or so bucks, this gun is one of your best choices! I don't regret the buy! 8 out of 10. Some upgrades are good if you are picky, and nothing is perfect.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MR1-113 Monday, February 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: My MR1
-everything stock right now
-VL quantam loader
-PMI 20 oz. tank
-going to get a on/off valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock barrel is good
elbow that comes with is good and sturdy
Strengths: Never chops a ball
i shot 1000 rds with it and it only chopped one
Weaknesses: None whatsoever
Review: this is just a very good beginner gun it is easy to take apart and clean, the quick disconnect pin is just awesome. very good and just looks like an awesome gun because it is.and talk about accuarcy, this thing could hit a soda can 50 yds away!
and power! this thing has so much power i shot a plastic bucket from about 15 yds and it broke the bucket! i wasnt using monster balls either iwas using visible impacts
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON A 98 CUSTOM JUST GET THIS GUN
WAY TO GO SPYDER!
Conclusion: This is the best beginner gun you can get for less than 110$
just look for packages online and your all set
this gun is beastly
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ree_ree Wednesday, February 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: I have a REDZ pepper stick single barrel for spyder products on my MR1.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend the REDZ barrel it is 16 inches and makes your MR1 way more accurate.
Strengths: Accurate, Fun to Shoot, Great for backyard play and playing in the woods.
Weaknesses: Always tighten the screws.
Review: Overall a great gun extremely nice style and very comfortable use. As I said TIGHTEN Tighten The Screws Regularly. Also buy the upgrades and just have fun with the gun! I would recommend this gun for playing in any situation and I would recommend this gun to any beginner in the sport of Paintball.
Conclusion: Buy this product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ravenx Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Custom and Spyder Xtra.
The MR1 exceeds in performance over both.
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-1
Ricochet AK Loader
14 inch J&J Ceramic Barrel
APEX Barrel Tip
MR Adjustable Stock
Spyder Remote Line

Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Electronic Hopper
Clamping Feedneck
Spring Kit
Strengths: Durability
Easy to Maintain
Reliability
Price
Weaknesses: Plastic feedneck
Stock Spring
Review: Bought the MR1 about a year ago so I figure I have enough use to provide some feedback. I really like the design of the MR1 to begin with. It's not too bulky and doesn't weigh too much as long as you use a remote line. When I first got the MR1 I started to experience a problem with the gun jamming as well as chopping on a fairly regular basis. I thought I might have gotten a lemon or something. I got on several forums to figure out what the problem may be. Basically what it boiled down to was the hopper. I was using a regular gravity hopper. I went and got an agitating electronic hopper that feeds about 12bps and haven't had a problem since. A chop here and there but nothing major. Here are some other inputs:
Stock Barrel: I can't really make an honest comment on this because I started to use my J&J right away so I can't comment on the stock barrel. I can tell you that it shoots pretty darn good with the J&J. I have recently added an Apex tip to my J&J and I am extremely happy the way the MR1 is performing with those additions. Very accurate.

Stock: If you don't have a remote line the stock included with the MR1 can be a problem. With a remote line it works pretty good. I went and bought the adjustable MR stock that you see on the MR3 and that works real well. It gives you that mask clearance that you may not get with the original stock.

Feedneck: The plastic feedneck is really my only major complaint. Wish they could of charged a little extra and included a clamping feedneck.

Stock Spring: Was shooting hot even with the velocity all the way down. Heard this was a problem before I bought the MR1 so luckily I bought an extra spring kit with my order. Switched out the spring and it works fine.

Maintenance: Like all Spyders the MR1 is very easy to maintain and clean. Just pop out the pin and you can strip the whole thing down in about 2 minutes.

Reliability: Very reliable. Once I got a new hopper, I haven't had any major problems. Might have the occasional ball break but that's probably more of a paint problem. Never fails, during breaks in between games I see people with A5s, Ions, and other high end markers tinkering with their markers because this broke or this is leaking or this isn't firing right whereas I am kicking back with no problems with my MR1.
Conclusion: Overall I think the MR1 is a tough as nails, reliable marker. Once you upgrade the barrel and add an electronic hopper you will have a really nice marker that in my opinion can rival any of the other "high end" mechanical markers out there. I find that it shoots just as accurate (if not more accurate) than most markers out there. Sure it doesn't have a super high rate of speed but it gets the job done. I don't prefer to throw down 100 rounds just to eliminate one person, so in that case the MR1 suits me just fine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jschmidtty12 Tuesday, January 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rex R2
Tippmann 98 Custom
Evil Omen 2.0
Diablo Mongoose
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Spyder MR1 W/Stock
Rocking Trigger Frame
3000 PSI Compressed Air Tank
Viewloader V-Force Hopper
16" Custom Product Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Rocking Trigger Frame
Clamping Feedneck
Strengths: Very Accurate
Very Reliable
Great Marker
Weaknesses: The feedneck but besides that nothing
Review: I have been using this gun for about 6 months now and love it. It is very accurate, never had it break on me either. It is very reliable on the field, and you never have to worry about your marker breaking on you during that important game. When you add a rocking trigger frame to this gun it makes it a very accurate, insainly fast marker. I like how it comes with a stock. This allows you to take more accurate shots and it fits nice and snug to your shoulder. I highly erge you to buy one of these!!!
Conclusion: I think for the price of this gun and the reliability of it make it a excellent choice to purchase. I got mine for like $110 and they are $90-$100 now. Yeah, they may not be fast stock, but if u get a Rocking Trigger Frame for it it becomes a very fast and accurate marker that you know will get the job done, and good too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bakedziti Wednesday, December 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Stock Spyder MR1

-20 oz. CO2
-VL Gravity Feed Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
I plan to do the following first...
- 16" J&J ceramic barrel $30
- Aluminum clamping feedneck $25
- Remote $25-$30

Eventually...
- A force feed loader
- Compressed Air Tank
Strengths: - Durable
- Comes with Lightweight Stock
- Overall Design
- Price $90... can't beat that
Weaknesses: - Plastic Elbow
- Weighs ~4.5 lbs.
- Pull Trigger back about 7/8"
Review: The gun has a solid feel to it and fits comfortably to the hand. The Fore grip is an awsome advantage to have. Unfortunately the bolt is in the way of the sight. The stock barrel is fairly accurate (about a 7 out of 10 for the accuracy) and the stock fits comfortably against the shoulder. If I would have to guesstimate how many BPS it was capable of, I would say easily 7 but might be capable of 10. It is very easy to take apart and clean. Overall the gun has a very natural feel to it and is a great Woodsball/ Tactical gun.

***I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS GUN TO ANY PERSON WANTING TO GET INTO THE PAINTBALL SCENE ON A BUDGET.***
Conclusion: I might be a newb to Paintball, but I would definitley say that it is an awesome gun to start out with, if not the best gun to start out with, and for a reasonalbe price. I am a big fan of Keeping it Simple and I beileve this gun does just that. And if you happen to be one of those guys that likes things complex there are many upgrades for this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DaManZach17 Sunday, December 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder, one tippmann.
Marker Setup: -Marker
-Elbow (feedneck)
-Stock
-Manuel, instructions allen keys and other stuff!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel the stock barrel is not really that bad.
Trigger maybe.
Strengths: Co2 efficient. Big plus if you use co2.
noise is not that loud.
accuracy.
Weaknesses: Elbow (feedneck)
that is pretty much it.
Review: Yo, its December 28th 2008, when i am writing this review. I bought this marker today. I got it for $99.97 not to bad. I used to play woods ball. It shot really good i had to turn the velocity down a little but other than that it was really nice. It only skipped may 2 or 3 shots the entire day. I went threw about 1000 and only 2 or 3 skipped which really was not that bad.
Conclusion: Get this if you like to play woods ball. Speed ball i do not know but i am going to be playing speed ball with this gun soon so i will let you know how it does. I will make a video and post it on youtube so people can see how it shoots stock.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kusalagoopagoop Saturday, December 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
A-5
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-1
20 inch Smart Parts Barrel
Custom Stock
Dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel...That's it!
Strengths: ***ACCURACY***
Power
Range
Doesn't Chop Paint
Durable
Very easy to strip and clean

Weaknesses: The Cocking bolt is is in the way of sight
Review: I got My MR-1 for christmas. It doesn't cost much and is BETTER than a 98 Custom. This gun shots perfect right out of the box. It's accurate and powerful. Slap a new barrel on it and this gun competes with the A-5 and other high end markers. The only problem I have had with the mr-1 is the cocking bolt which blocks the shooters line of sight. There are many ways to get past this problem just youtube it. Most markers don't even come with rails on it so be thankful it has one. With my 20" sniper barrel I can hit targets 200 yards away with a few shots. I am now going to rip on the Tippmann 98 custom and tell you why the MR-1 is better.

It's lighter
More compact
Looks cooler
Easier to clean and strip
JUST AS DURABLE
Shoots more accurate and more powerful
Uses less air
Cheaper
Strong for a spyder
** The only reason the 98 c could ever be better than the MR1 is if someone modded it so much, the mods they did cost more than the actual marker.

If your trying to decide between the 98 c and the MR1, GO WITH THE SPYDER!!!!
Conclusion: This is the PERFECT woods ball gun and is more durable and accurate than most high end markers out there.
Get this gun if you play woodsball, if you play in friggn tournaments and try to use this gun it's a waist of money

GET THE SPYDER MR-1
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media