paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro

Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 84
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Sonix Pro is only available as a prepacked retail kit in major sporting goods stores like Dick's. It is not listed on Kingman's websites and is not the same marker as the Sonix, Sonix Value, or "Sonix 05". The Kingman Sonix Pro paintball marker is designed for the intermediate player and is the only mechanical marker made by Kingman which features a vertical (90-degree) trigger frame. The Sonix Pro marker is a top-cocking marker with a vertical ball feed and a large expansion chamber. It is only available in a black/red paint scheme, packed as a kit which also features V-type goggles with flexible face protection and anti-fog treatment, a 12-oz aluminum CO2 tank with a safety valve, and a 200-round hopper.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
                            
TXTeague Thursday, January 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix Pro
Halo B (will be ready for up's)
14" Smart Parts Progressive
32 Degrees On/Off
PsychoBallistics drop forward
Trinity mini T-lock feedneck
Strengths: Price, Reliability
Weaknesses: Accuracy due to the stock barrel.
Review: This is my first marker but I have been very pleased with it. I've put about 6,000 rounds through it and yet to have a jam or crush. Very affordable and reliable. My set up has only included the stock 9" barrel so far. That is where the only weakness is exposed in this marker. Most stock barrels, on the lower end markers, are weak in this area.

A new barrel makes a huge difference. Much more accurate.

I have conitnued to play with this same marker and have yet to have it fail me. There are people I play with that have managed to have just about every problem in the book in the amount of time I've been playing (batteries, solanoid, cup seal, etc.). One of the reasons I continue to love my mech. marker.

One thing to let other Sonix owners know is that if you bought the kit that has the black/red marker and would prefer the black/silver, it's quite easy to do. Use rubbing alcohol and elbow grease and the red wipes right off. Found this out by accident when cleaning the body with alcohol after a day of play.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this marker for a "noob" to intermediate player.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 13th, 2006 at 10:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dan man Friday, January 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha R6 (it lasted about 3 months)
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix Pro with a J&J 14'' Ceramic barrel and a Delrin ACS Bolt
Pure energy 20oz tank
V-Force Armor mask
Java 200rd Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a new barrel. It dosen't shoot straight
Strengths: The power. It shoots 11 balls per second, rarely chops, cheap
Weaknesses: Inaccurate at long range, long trigger pull, loud
Review: I got this gun for Christmas. It is my first gun. my mom payed $120 for the kit which comes with the gun, 200rd hopper, 12oz tank and mask. I couldn't wait to try it out. I first shot it at a old T.V at my friends house. It shot balls straight at close range, but at long range the balls turned and twisted. I brought it to Santa Clara Paintball about a week later and it performed wonderfully. Even thought it was hard to hit other people.
Conclusion: Over all it is a great beginner gun and I recommend it to anyone who is just getting started
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 at 5:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gijoe92 Thursday, December 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month49 of 56 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor/victor 2
imagine
compacts
BE striker


BE striker
3- 12oz co2
2- VL 200
2- barrel sock
1- kit mask
1- nVader mask
1- red paintball case for my sonix
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel(as all markers)
Strengths: light
dark for wood play
FAST
doesn't chop
x chamber
Weaknesses: Loud
Gets really cold after shooting for long periods of fast firing
Review: I got this gun for an early Christmas present this year. I went into my back yard and took a few shots at a sheet of plywood. to my surprise, they all hit on top of each other. I tried speed shooting and i figure i got up to 11 bps! This gun came in a kit which was good. my dad told me it was very cheap at my local paintball store.
Conclusion: Overall good gun for beginning or intermediate players.
BUY IT!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 23rd, 2007 at 6:57 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

TheLastBrunnenG Wednesday, December 21st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months22 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, TL-R, and Rodeo, JT Excellerator 3.5e and TAC-5, Tippmann 98 and A5, more...
Marker Setup: * Spyder TL-R with a new Phat feedneck and PMI Razzor 14" barrel.
* Spyder Sonix Pro with a new ACPball feedneck and a 12" J&J Precision barrel
* Game Face Vexor Eye with a custom ACPball delrin bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. Feedneck / elbow.
2. Barrel or bolt, but neither is necessary.
3. Add a drop forward if you need one.
Strengths: Unique grip and styling makes for a comfortable and lightweight marker.
Weaknesses: Plastic (composite) frame may be a turn-off to some.
Review: The Sonix Pro is only available as a prepacked retail kit in major sporting goods stores like Dick's. It is not listed on Kingman's websites and is not the same marker as the Sonix, Sonix Value, or "Sonix 05". It is only available in a black/red paint scheme, (the Sonix Value / 05 comes in silver/black as well) packed as a kit which also features goggles, 12-oz CO2 tank , and 200-round hopper.

Bought this as a present for my wife. She's just starting out and needed a smaller, lightweight marker. She also loves the Georgia Bulldogs, so a red and black marker was perfect for her. Here's the overview:

BARREL - Standard Kingman 9" ported barrel with muzzle break. Black and very glossy, but it matches the marker. Replacement barrels will help, though the stock barrel is acceptable for starters.

FOREGRIP / EXPANSION CHAMBER - Shares the same foregrip as the Pilot; it's an expansion chamber, not just a gas-through foregrip. Front block is non-standard, so replacing the foregrip with a reg will require replacing the front block as well.

VOLUMIZER - Standard Kingman issue, same as the TL-R and Rodeo. Works.

TRIGGER / FRAME - It's the only mechanical marker made by Kingman which features a vertical (90-degree) trigger frame. The frame is plastic, yes, but it's a poly composite that's very tough. No instability at all. Trigger pull is surprisingly short, and a good puller can get 10+ BPS from this mechanical frame. Grips are functional. Looks like an Angel from afar.

DROP / ASA - ASA works well enough; there is no drop forward. I haven't tried adding a drop on the composite frame, not sure I'd want to try.

DETENT - Normal Kingman ball-bearing detent. Has never broken or failed on me.

BODY - Smooth milling, same as the Sonix Value. Only available in glossy black and red finish. Feedneck is a standard Kingman stub with a cheap plastic adapter/elbow. Field stripping is a standard Kingman pull pin.

INTERNALS - Top-cocking marker (stacked-tube blowback) with an open rear end. No room for a sight or other attachments. Internals are normal Kingman parts, nothing fancy. Bolt is the standard Kingman aluminum venturi bolt. Internals are shared with the TLX, TL-R, and Sonix Value.

OVERALL - Fun, light gun. Feels tiny by Spyder standards but shoots very well. The 90-degree frame feels good in the hand and takes almost no getting used to for those more familiar with 45-style frames.
Conclusion: Should be an 8.5 because of the feedneck (not the feedneck, really, just the elbow), but I'll round up. A very well-designed marker, and I wish it were more widely available. I bought it as a kit and sold everything but the marker, making this an extremely cost-effective purchase. Recommended for players wanting a vertical-frame Spyder (it's the only one) or those needing a lighter, smaller marker. Remember, this is rated a 9 when compared against others in its price class (ie., a full kit retailing for $120, always on sale for $99). Compare it against others like it (low-cost mechanicals), not against electrics or electro-pneumatics, and it's a contender.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 5th, 2006 at 10:29 pm PST
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media