paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro / Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro

Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 84
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $120

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Sonix Pro is only available as a prepacked retail kit in major sporting goods stores like Dick's. It is not listed on Kingman's websites and is not the same marker as the Sonix, Sonix Value, or "Sonix 05". The Kingman Sonix Pro paintball marker is designed for the intermediate player and is the only mechanical marker made by Kingman which features a vertical (90-degree) trigger frame. The Sonix Pro marker is a top-cocking marker with a vertical ball feed and a large expansion chamber. It is only available in a black/red paint scheme, packed as a kit which also features V-type goggles with flexible face protection and anti-fog treatment, a 12-oz aluminum CO2 tank with a safety valve, and a 200-round hopper.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Sonix Pro is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
th3g0v3nat0r Sunday, April 2nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: stock spyder sonix pro
dye ultralite 16"barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
give this gun an upgrade to a trash can
Strengths: Looks ok, and doesnt suck within the first few games.
Weaknesses: Sucks after the 20th game, cheap plastic parts, screws loosen, not fast
Review: OK so... i am a so called "n00b". the reason is because i bought this crappy gun. Here is a good tip. NEVER buy a gun in a package from sports authority that is made in china and is under $150. I bought this gun, put it together, went out back, shot a few shots, and thouhgt "hey... not too shabby." at least the gun also looked nice. well, today, it is a few months later and im wishing i hadnt wasted my time and money buying this gun. the trigger pull is WAY to hard/big, my whole entire bottomline system leaks, and basically, this gun sux. I am now going to go buy an angel.
Conclusion: NEVER buy this gun EVEN if you think it looks good


&
REMEMBER >>>> LOOKS CAN BE DECIEVING!!
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

agog Saturday, March 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 c
Tippmann 98 m
Marker Setup: Kingman Sonix Pro stock everything
12 oz. co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
larger barrel
better mask, I got nailed first time I used it and it cracked
spring kit
new bolt
macroline hose
Strengths: Good for the price
Everything included
Good starter marker
Weaknesses: Mask sucks
I played for 3 hrs. and It choped a couple balls
Leaks
Review: OK, I am editing my review because I have gotten to play with it a little bit longer. Ok first of all this is a very good begginer marker. You get everything you need to play besides paintballs. 12 oz. Co2 (most kits are 9 oz). I did have a few problems with it tho. First of all the mask is crap. Second, the 2nd time I used this marker it started to leak, O-rings were fine it just leaked. I fixed it with some teflon tape, but I reccomend a new nylon hose, not metal. A new bolt is also in order. I have chopped many balls. It is fairly easy to fix/clean. The stock barrel is aight, but a new one would be dandy.
Conclusion: Great begginner marker, great price, easily upgradable. :)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 31st, 2006 at 8:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShiGGy Saturday, February 25th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder TLX
Marker Setup: spyder sonix stock if u want to see my set up go to jushig.piczo.com
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recomend getting a new hopper.
Strengths: Accurate,and the fastest mechanical Spyder I have try ed,looks nice.
Weaknesses: Nothing is wrong with the gun but the hopper is very very slow
Review: PROS-nice looking gun, accurate, fast and looks nice. The mask is nice I like it alot it's nice and small.
CONS-but the hopper you get with the packege is very slow I have to shake the hopper alot or else you only shoot co2. could use a new barrel.
Conclusion: Nice gun for first timers
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 25th, 2006 at 8:23 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

outofstep39 Monday, February 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder e99 avant
spyder xtra
heavily modified older spyder
Marker Setup: soon to be
spyder sonix pro
14in 32* night stick barrel
shockotech superfly bolt, red
drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
more efficiant bolt
drop forward, if thats your style
Strengths: Reliability
Light
Small
Pretty accurate
Looks real fly
Weaknesses: Feedneck is right on top
The mask in the package blows
Review: This is overall a very good gun for a begginer like myself. Ive tried many differant guns and liked this one the most. I have shot around 2500 rnds through it so far and i have chopped once, and that was in 26* weather. I like the fact that the bak end of the bolt doesnt have a plug (yes there are lots of guns that do) so you can get a rear cocking bolt,like i am, if you want. Aso the stock barrel is somewhat accurate but i would reccomend getting a new one.

One problem i have with it is the vertical feedneck so there are no places for sights
also the top cocking is a little weird and there arent any/many top cocking replacement/upgrade aftermarket bolts
Conclusion: If you want a cheap reliable gun def. go with this one. it looks real good and its a good feeling when you eliminate some kid with an expensive electro marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb-backman Friday, February 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo, TL-X, Xtra
Marker Setup: 2006 Spyder Sonix
12oz CO2
11 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
HPA
Regulator
Bolt
Strengths: Fast (for a mechanical semi)
Light Weight
Very Compact
Weaknesses: None So Far
Review: I tested the gun for a weekend and it shot surprisingly well for a stock gun. It is very accurate out to 80-90 feet with the stock barrel. With an aftermarket barrel you can reach out to about 120 -130 feet with pretty good accuracy. The gun can cycle at approximately 10bps with no upgrades. Very good gun for new player or novice player.
Conclusion: Go out and buy one its a steal at $99
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

freeballer02 Friday, February 10th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
the spyder xtra is the exact same gun except for the top cocking.
and everyone nose the xtra is a pretty reliable gun.
Marker Setup: spyder sonix
spyder ESP trigger
dye proto barrel
low pressure chamber
and a Halo TSA frontman hopper/smoke-this is an awsome hopper
dye sticky 3s
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would definetly get barrel for less barrel breaks
acs bolt
electric trigger
halo tsa hopper
Strengths: the strength of this marker is plain and simple,
ITS CHEAP
Weaknesses: Chops alot of balls-buy a spring kit
Stock barrel is junk
Review: iv been usin this gun for about a year now and ive put a couple hundred dollars into it. im not sayin that in a bad way though. This is a awsome gun if you can figure the bolt and spring crap out. when i first got it, it was shooting really hott and just breakin the balls because of that. so i just bought a mad man spring kit and that took care of that. next on my list wus a new trigger. wen i first got it i wasnt to thrilled about the look of the 90 degree trig. so i just traded my dumb friend for his imagin trigger. it was the best trade ever. next i got dye stickys.nice. once i got the trig i had to get a hopper cuz the stock one just wasnt worken out for me. i was shooten at about 13bps so i just scrounded up about 50 bucks for a halo tsa.nice buy.
well thats all she wrote
Conclusion: If you have been playin this game for longer than a year i wouldnt recomend this gun to experients players unless you plan to mod it.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 17th, 2006 at 9:08 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

DragonRockStar Monday, February 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II, Piranha R6
Marker Setup: Extreme Rage auto-feed hopper, 21 inch sniper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, if you want to get sick enough electronic trigger, though the standard one if plenty fast
Strengths: Lightweight, quick firing, fairly accurate with barrel upgrade, durable
Weaknesses: Field stripping (still haven't figured out how to remove bolt)
Review: Well, wanted something a bit on the easy to weild end and a basic marker after making upgrades to my Victor II to conform it to a sniping rifle...had made the mistake of buying the VL Lynx hearing it was an upgrade on the Orion (convinced to never buy VL ever again), and went to return in exchange for something a bit more reliable. In comes the Sonix Pro.

This gun is surprisingly good for it's price, being that it's a complete kit with mask AND 12 oz CO2 tank (most kits carry 9 oz). Went and took it to the back yard and thought I'd pop off a few rounds. Not too bad on accuracy with the first twenty shots given I was using the stock barrel. Swapped on the sniper barrel from my Victor and saw the cluster reduce to around 5 inches from 30+ feet. Once I determined it's accuracy I wanted to see how well I could lay paint. One word comes to mind for this type of gun....wow. I'm fairly fast with my fingers and have had almost every gun I've ever tried chop paint due to it. Not the Sonix Pro...I sped through a full hopper and not one ball chopped. Took it back inside to see how well she field strips, and that's where I encountered my only problem. If anyone has info on how to safely remove the bolt on this gun please let me know, cause I'm stuck on trying to remove the pull pin on it. Other than that this gun is simply amazing for an entry level player and considering the kit is almost always on sale for 99.99, it's most definitely worth the price.
Conclusion: All in all a great buy for entry and mid level players who are a little hesitant at putting in the big bucks to advance to high end stuff, or a guy like me who occasionally wants a gun to rely on when the sniper gun and pistol combo gets dull.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sonixball1023 Monday, February 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none this is my first gun
Marker Setup: stock sonix pro package
12 oz CO2
upgrading the barrel to J&J 14" ceramic
upgrading the bolt to supafly or acs
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
bolt maybe
Strengths: FAST(light trigger pull)
CHEAP
looks
light
pretty accurate
compact w/ 90' frame
durable
Weaknesses: Bolt scratches up
Vague instructions (both minor probs)
Review: i got this marker as a birthday gift and used it at several times since then. first day out using it with little experience it was spectacular, and for 120 bucks for everything (CO2, mask, marker) i was satisfied. in terms of the accuracy i wasnt the best but it was ok, good for me. the best thing about this marker is the speed. this thing gets 11-12 bps and the trigger is fast to pull. i was shooting strings of paint like crazy. the only problems with the marker that i have had so far have been that the bolt is scratching (i hope the internals arent affected), and that i busted a ball shooting fast and i couldnt remove the bolt (still dont know how, any knowledge on this plz plz let me know there is a screw on the end of the bolt but it doesnt budge. this is minor problems ppl and you should know that anyone getting a first gun BUY THIS GUN, it is the best beginner gun ever.
Conclusion: This marker is a great great gun you cant beat it. it shoots fast, reliably, and will not let you down. buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

PBOverlord Monday, February 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years71 of 78 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: *Primary*

06 Ego
M7 Board
Ultralite

*Secondary*

Nerve
Virtue Board
Kila Detents
Hybrid Lady Grips
Ton Ton Grip Frame
NDZ Equalizer Bolt
NDZ Roller Blade Trigger
SST Ported Manifold
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you plan to keep this marker and use it for a while, not upgrading to a better gun, the Barrel is a definite to change.
Strengths: 'Pro' Grip (Helps Accuracy)
Cheap, especially with extras.
Looks VERY cool.
Reliable
Weaknesses: Can only be found in some stores
Accuracy
Review: Okay, I am going to make this vitally clear - this gun is not for advanced players. Advanced players will pick this up and feel comfortable, but once they get into a game they will feel limited (this has happened to me because I just tried this marker again after a few years). However, if you are just starting paintball or have been playing for a minimal amount of time, this is where to go. Paintball Guns are like alcohol. The first time you drink alcohol, you don't drink a huge amount until you die of alcohol poisoning. You take a little, and then begin building up an immunity to it, enabling you to get higher and higher in the portions you take. Just like that, paintball guns should start small and go big. I'm tired of these little rich kids going up to their parents and saying:

"Daddy! Daddy! I wanna play paintball! Get me a gun!"
"Well alright son, what gun do you want?"
"Ummmmmmmmmmm...how about the most expensive one we can find?"
"That's the spirit, son!"

All these players start so big they don't understand that paintball skill isn't about the gun. For the most part, out on that field, it's 5% gun and 95% player. Just to prove this point, I actually tried it one day at a course I was visiting. There was a little boy there with what I still believe to be a Bob Long or something similar. I took out the Spyder Sonix Pro, this gun. We decided to play a game of 1 vs. 1 on a nicely set up speed-ball course. The kid starts right off, firing 20 bps towards me. He was relying on this gun to dish out enough paintballs that one would hit me. I took my time, waited for a pause, and looked out after a silence on his end. I saw him hiding behind one of the blow-ups, and he, once again, started shooting. What happened? I took the skill I had obtained over the years, took aim, and fired one single shot, watching it go all the way and exploding on his mask. He immediately called out and the game was over.

Now, if I had been against a pro with a high-end marker like that then I would have been toast. However, once again, that would be because of his skill.

That said, this is my point. If you're a starter, this is a perfect gun to use. While the stock barrel, like any stock barrel by spyder, is disappointing, the more accurate ones for spyder tend to be cheap, so it's not too difficult to upgrade. Also, they make a nice attempt to help you on this path, adding a 'pro' grip onto the gun (Hence Spyder Sonix PRO...yes the grip is about the only difference), which enables for better steadying of the marker (and also features quite a nice grip on it). Velocity, as always, is easy to adjust, you only need one allen wrench that is already included in the package. Another thing I liked was the clamp they included for the feedneck, enabling your hopper/loader to securely stay in place while you run from bunker to bunker, tree to tree.

Air is distributed nicely, and anytime I use this marker with even a 9oz CO2 (I use Compressed Air/Nitrogen on my other markers) I out-last every other player on the course. If you've operated anything from low-end mechanical before this, you know the basic set-up of the marker, so I'm not going to go into great detail over it. One more thing about this - it's fairly lightweight and easy to run with, so now you have no excuse for not being a front-man. Get ready to run, kid.
Conclusion: Yes, reviewing this marker is a bit of a walk down memory lane because I've now moved on and am playing in Tourneys and such, but I'd say that this marker was a huge stepping stone in my ability meter, and if you're just starting out, it's the perfect marker to have. Put in the added bonus that you don't have to pay for side things like masks and CO2 because they're already in this incredibly cheap Package, and you've got yourself a real winner here. It's receiving an 9 because it's not the best of markers, and it's hard for me to rate it when I'm using such great markers now, but for it's price-range and department, it's a great deal.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 17th, 2007 at 10:30 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

LikeLinus Saturday, February 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Imagine, A-5, Angel
Marker Setup: Promaster
Marco Line set up
Trinity On/off Asa
72ci/3000psi PMI tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Speed loader
Strengths: Looks
Performance
price
Weaknesses: Being what it is none
Review: For the price this gun is a must. Specially if you are just getting into the sport this gun is perfect. It handles really good and is nice looking. Just buy a new barrel, i would prefer a CP classics 14'' barrel but anything is good. Its an enty level gus so adding major upgrades isn't worth it, buy a better gun.
Conclusion: Overall this gun is a must have for begginners...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 21st, 2006 at 4:32 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media