paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Warped Sportz Dark EGO / Warped Sportz Dark EGO / Warped Sportz Dark EGO / Warped Sportz Dark EGO

Warped Sportz Dark EGO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Warped Sportz

Buy Warped Sportz Dark EGO

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Warped Sportz Dark EGO
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 10.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1695

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The DARK EGO is a customized Planet Eclipse 2006 EGO featuring:
# .691 CMT Thread Lucky 15 [first 25 Dark Egos come with FULL CMT Lucky 15 kits]
# Custom-sculpted body
# Numbered with certificate of authenticity
# Lifetime free service agreement
# "Star" Gripframe including a special Warped bottle opener for that trip to the victory tent
# Free Warped Sportz T-shirt with every order

EGO Features:
# Open bolt electro pneumatic marker
# Break Beam low profile breech Sensor System (BBSS)
# Menu-Driven operating system, BBSS indicator, clip-in 9 volt battery operated
# Ego 6 Trigger with choice of magnetic or spring return, or both! 4-point trigger adjustment
# Improved breech sensor logic
# Peak ROF indicator as well as Average ROF indicator
# Integrated adjustable LPR with dedicated HP inlet
# Ego 6 High-Flow Inline Regulator
# Integrated Eclipse QEVs for the fastest possible cycle times
# Clamping low-rise feed tube
# Low pressure, high flow Supercharger valve system
# Ego 6 open faced, high flow Delrin bolt
# Larger trigger guard for improved comfort and increased space for finger movement
# Integrated slide rail on base of frame
# Eclipse On/Off System and Hose
# Integrated "snatch" grip
# Ego 6 Duo-Tech rubber grips
# Unlimited ROF with BBSS enabled
Product Availability 
The Warped Sportz Dark EGO is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
redbullandpaint Tuesday, December 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nasty shocker
Evil Pimp
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Warped Sports 06 Dark Ego with a Pulse hopper and 91ci 4500 psi Dye Hyper tank
Nasty Shocker with a Halo hopper and a 68ci 4500 psi Crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on ur style maybe some new grips and barrel if u want but honestlly the stock barrel shots great
Strengths: Fast
Light as a feather
Small
Looks hot
super accurate
Weaknesses: Very expensive but other then that its great
Review: Well when i first tock this gun outta the box i felt how light it was and went shottin out back wit it and it worked great so honestlly all i got to say is if u want a gun that shots great is accurate light good lookin and all around the best marker ive ever had then this is the gun for u
Conclusion: Buy this gun if your sick of all the dissipointment all your other guns are giving you auctally just buy this gun anyway cause its great
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ego59 Friday, September 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Ego, DMC,DM5,DM4, Angel 03/04 Speed,Shocker NXT, Karnivor
Marker Setup: 06 Warped Sportz Dark Ego LE Dust White
Tadao M7 Board-Blue LEDs, 05 Eclipse Blue Ego Grips, 06 Polished Blue CCU Kit, Polished Blue 06 STAR Reg, Dust Blue Critical Trigger, Bump Paintball LPR&HPR Pistons,DART Bolt, Custom Aluminum Blue Bolt Pin,Cure Bolt, Orange Bolt, Warped Sportz Titanium Rammer,05 Style Dust Silver OOPS, Dust Blue .692 back Dust Blue .688 Back, Dust Blue 14inch&16inch Front Dye UL Barrel
Stainless Steel Freak Back,14inch Polished Blue 06 Freak Front
When we get them Redz Pepperstick Barrel Kit
Blue Vlocity
Dust Blue CP 68 4500 LP Tank
Blue Egg2
ACI Bulldog 3 68 4500 LP
both tanks in 05 Blue Dye Covers soon to be: Redz do to sponsorship

03/04 Silver Dust Angel Speed with Predator Eye Upgrade (Blue Eyes installed)
SS Back Full Freak Barrel Kit
Check-it Blue Dust Clamping Feedneck, Kapp Blue Polished Breech Knob, Warped Sports Silver Back Plate, Warped Sports Silver Dust Iron Cross Detents, Blue Grips, Silver Cobra Flat Blade Trigger, JAM Bolt, Silver Dust DYE Volumiser or Silver and Blue Polishes Twister Volumizers, Silver Dust CP Direct Mount On/Off and Dust Silver CP Shorty Reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Critical Trigger, Tadao Board, Titanium Rammer, 05 style ego grips if you can find them
Strengths: Fast,Light,Accurate,Good Looking, Holds resale value
Weaknesses: IMHO None if set up right
Review: This is my current marker and i must say one of my favorites of all time. It is a good looking fast shooting accurate marker. Very reliable never any major problems with it. never feel outgunned on the field and always feel like i have one of the best looking markers out there. Air Efficiency is great: around 8 to 9 pods and a hopper on a full 68 4500 lp fill. Love it if you can find a good used one get it.
Conclusion: Great Gun. Highly Recommend.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 19th, 2007 at 2:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

esplodingseal Saturday, September 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Dark Ego Black/Red
68/30 pure energy
Reloader B
Recommended
Upgrades:
N/A
Strengths: FAST
Accurate
LIGHT
efficient
SEXY and RARE!!!
Weaknesses: None
Review: i got my Dark Ego in a Trade on PBN and i was sceptical on wether or not it was in that great shape so i got it ...and im in love this thing is so light so accurate and OH SO FAST you start firing and you just cant stop! i dont know wether i can use a lesser gun ever again haha i love this thing too much!
Conclusion: egos are nice, but the dark has too more things going for it over the 06 stock... the name and the looks ...which make all the difference! WARPED SPORTZ FTW!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

devastator07007 Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
o6 and 05 ego
Marker Setup: DM4
Reloader B
70/4500 stubby lp
ultralight 14"
Recommended
Upgrades:
none that i can find
Strengths: LIGHT
Fast...but what gun isn't these days
Weaknesses: None
Review: this gun is the best that I have ever shot. it is very balances and comfortable to hold. very light...especialy compared to my DM4. not a whole lot to say but did anyone find it weird that the picture planet eclipse chose to use on their sight to show this gun shows someoe using an angel in the background??? weird

I plan to get an sl66 ego soon... just so you know
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you want the absolute best no matter what the cost.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dyepaintballr11 Friday, May 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just an ion w/ some upgrades, that does not compare at al with the dark ego
Marker Setup: Stock Dark Ego red w/ black
4500 pure enrgy tank w/ nxe tank cover
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
None whatsoever, this marker is completely amazing and definately cannot think of any.
Strengths: Fast, light, easy to use, simple, doesnt chop... u no the good stuff
Weaknesses: None
Review: I think that the dark ego is an amzing marker, maybe a little expensive but great.
I would recomend this to people who have a lot of paintball experience. It is very light, very fast, and an all around amazing marker. The rof cap doesnt go that high but it is definitely fast enough. The moment i shot that gun i was like wholy cow, i have never been able shoot that fast, but i had an ion so that wasnt much competition. Anyone who has this gun will tell u the same thing i am. This gun is superior and if u get it, take care of it and dont let anybody use it.
Conclusion: Get it and love it. It is very precious and will improve your game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

r51460 Thursday, April 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year26 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Nexus Ego, DM5, DMC, DM6, Angel G7, G7 Fly, Vision Shocker, Dark Shocker, Nerve
Marker Setup: 06 Nexus Ego w/ MaxFlo Micro

06 Dark Ego w/ MaxFlo Micro

Dark Shocker/ 04 Vision Shocker (Backup)
Virture board
Predator board
Lucky 15 Kit
Hammerhead barrel kit
Freak Barrel kit
All American Barrel
Twist tight feedneck
HE bolt
ND firing can
Hybrid bolt guide
Q-Loader
Halo B w/ Victory Board and rip drive
Empire Reloader B and rip drive w/ Hybrid suicide shell
92, 88, 45 CI Crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit of your choice
For personal preference:
Board?
Grips?
Strengths: Accurate, Fast, Light, Small Profile, Reliable, Consistent, Easy to maintain, has quick lock feedneck
Weaknesses: Expensive, single bore size
Review: For a more comprehensive review, please visit my right up on the Nexus Ego. It's fairly long but I tried to make it as objective as possible for those of you who are considering this marker. I will compare the Dark with other Egos and markers I've shot without trying to be too redundant with my Nexus review. My goal is to try to be as helpful as possible to anyone reading because this is quite a large purchase and I would be pissed if I got something I wasn't expecting.

Accuracy- Always the first factor I consider in a marker. Similar to other egos, it's ball on ball. It's accuracy is even more noticable in a game when you rack up eliminations. I'm a big believer on barrel kits to size paint with your barrel. I test and chrono at home and I've noticed huge differences in consistency, accuracy, and efficiency with a proper sizing and consistent ball size with better quality paint. I personally like the Lucky 15 kit but also carry a freak. The ultralite is also a good choice as long as you get multiple backs. I'm considering a sly kit once more reviews are put out on it.

Consistency- Also up there because it affects your accuracy at high rates of fire. Very consistent. I added a SP maxflo micro to reduce weight, reduce a couple of inches and add a more consistent flow rate. I've been able to get consistency of 284, 284, 284, 284, 285, 286 with some tweaking but it's pretty consistent straight out of the box. About as good as you can get with good paint and a good barrel match.

Profile- Very small and tight, perfect for snap shooting. It inspires alot of confidence going one on one. Very important to me

Weight- Light just like all egos but my Nexus feels lighter because there is more milled off of the body. I do prefer the dark ego's bolt. It's a nexus bolt with a delrin pin. It seems to help with cycle speed, weight, and reducing bounce.

Rate of fire- not that important to me anymore but is one of the fastest guns I've ever shot on straight semi w/o bounce. If you want to shoot faster, you have the option of using one of the two ramping modes but it's capped at 15 bps or bouncing on unlimited semi. Another option is to get a new board. I prefer the virtue but have not switched any of my ego boards because I like the LCD screen and have no desire to shoot faster than 15 bps because it's never tournament legal, its a waste of paint, and no field around me lets you ramp anyways.

Reliability- Neither of my egos have failed me yet. I may sale one of them since I have not had to use a back up gun since shooting egos. Much easier to maintain than a shocker or DM. On par with an Angel without having the occassional problem of having to get it shipped off. This was important to me.

Maintenance- Just wipe it down after a game and run a battle swab through the barrel and breach. That's it. Occassional oil the ram beneath the bolt and it's good to go for next game. It takes about 1 minute no lie. You can break down the star reg and lpr to oil those as well but you don't have to do that very often. I've yet to do it on mine. The eyses are much easier to clean than a shocker or DM and if you set the lpr and reg up right, you shouldn't have any breaks anyways.

Looks- This is important to many people, not so much for me but as with all egos, it is built first class. The milling and anno is sharp, the day mine came in the shop, everyone wanted to look at it and hold it. One guy who has shot every ego made except the SL 66 which hadn't been released yet, said it was the nicest ego he has ever seen. I got the black with red accents. The trigger frame is bigger than my nexus which is nice and has a bigger, longer trigger. Although, I prefer the feel of the star trigger on the 06 egos and nexus. The milling seems much more muscular and aggressive in person than the other egos, which may not be as noticible from online pictures. For those who know on the fields, they always admire and respect the dark because they are so exclusive, 25 made per month. I see other egos but rarely a private label one like a Nexus or XSV and I've never seen another dark ego. Personally, I prefer the look of a DM6 or hybrid shocker but different people will have different opinions so that's neither a positive or negative, just my opinion. But the black/ red does look better than the online pictures, quite a head turner. I love the red demon power botton on the back. I bought some black/ red 06 hybrid bad guy grips because they looked cool but didn't like the way they didn't seal up the grip frame as well to protect it from dust/ dirt during play so I switched back. As far as feel, I prefer the older planet eclipse grips (black and red) with the big e on them because they are thinner and feel better eventhough they don't look as nice as the newer grips. I have them both. Just another personal preference.
Conclusion: A great gun if you're willing to pay the price. Terrific performance with great looks and exclusivity. Personally I prefer the Nexus so I swapped out the red accents with my all black nexus and swapped the all delrin bolt pin onto my Nexus. The delrin pin does seem to make a difference in cycle rates, less bounce, and weight. It shoots great like all of the other egos with a touch of class and rarity. I know just like any other gun, it's not perfect but It's closer to a 10 than a 9. I hope this review helps, don't forget to check out my Nexus review. Please post whether you found this helpful because I add occassional updates and pride myself on helping others in the paintball community.

Update: I've been using this marker and my nexus ego all year now and they still rock with absolutely no maintenance issues or requirements. No chops either, unless you use old ultra evil that is irregularly shaped and sized. That's the last time I'll ever try that.

Update:11/26/06- I've been playing with my egos for a full season now and they still perform as well today as when I first got them and best of all, no maintenance issues, a major plus. The only bad thing is I've got 2 PL egos but neither of them go down, so one of them never gets used. I may trade one for one of the new 07's after I get some feedback and am able to try one for myself.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 26th, 2006 at 7:46 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

woo Saturday, January 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Nexus Ego, Angel 05 Speed, 05 Ripper Intimidator, PM6, DM6.
Marker Setup: Black/Red Dark Ego.
Completely Stock.
Smoke Red Halo B w/ Rip Drive
Crossfire 1.1L w/ HP Reg
Lucky 15 Kit / Stock .693 2 Piece Shaft
Recommended
Upgrades:
None whatsoever.
Strengths: Very Rare.
Extremely light.
Fast
Low maintenance.
Ridiculously efficient.
Accurate.
Reliable.
Lifetime Warped Service Agreement.
Weaknesses: Pretty expensive, especially as i had to pay the $1700 + UK VAT.
Review: Il try and not bore you guys so il keep this short and sweet. My Dark ego arrived earlier this month perfectly packaged with the free Lucky 15 Barrel Kit and Warped Sportz t-shirt. I opened the frankly sexual alluminium tin to reveal the drop dead gorgeous black dust annoed with gloss metallic red parts Dark Ego. I Aired it up and proceeded putting paint through it. It shot like a dream, the trigger was so easy to rip without even being adjusted to suit me. Accuracy was very good and efficiency, as with all egos, was extremely good. Maintaning this baby is very imple, again as with all egos. The STAR reg was very consistent out of the box shooting a nice 270, 270, 269, 271, 270. I tried putting some poor quality house paint through it last weekend, and she didnt particularly like it. But then again, house paint, in freezing british winter weather isnt something id like to be doing with my $2000 gun. I usually only shoot expensive paint and NEVER barrel break never mind chop balls. I guess if you had a ferrari you wouldnt put cheap fuel and oil in it would you?
Conclusion: To me this is by far the best and most original ego out there. if you simply want the best open bolt style gat out there with a pinch of extra style this is the one for you. I dare one of you to find a gat that is overall as good looking and performing as my Dark Ego.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

HInkel Friday, January 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k1 Dark Auctocoker
2k1 Dark Angel
Rocky Cagnoni Dark Angel
2k3 Shocker "Tagged out"
Diablo Wrath "ACP"
2k5 Ego
Marker Setup: 2006 Warped Sportz Dark Ego Red w/mixed black parts from another Dark Ego
Barrels: lucky 15 kit that came with the marker, red/black 2 piece barrel, and red mamba stiffi kit.
VLocity Viewloader
Stock board & T-board w/ Tag chip
Crossfire 45/4500 hp
Planet Eclipse red grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well let me think.....if i spent $1695 on a paintball gun and had to do upgrades on it I would not buy it, this thing is great so you don't need anything. But if ya want it to look better get different grips, i hate the way the stock ones look.
Strengths: lighter,
lucky 15 barrel kit
lifetime warranty from Warped Sportz.
Weaknesses: Price
Gun shoots to fast haha!
Review: Well lets see, I came to swat-paintball field one sunday morning and was ready to practice. The field owner showed me the Dark Ego he had Black w/ red mixed parts on it, I can say it looks 100% better in person than on Warped Sportz web site. So right then at the field I sold my 2005 Ego for a nice price and went in the pb store asked the owner for the red Dark Ego he had mixed his black one with and i fell in love with it. With no problems i aired it up and went right to the field and it shot great all day. I was very impressed the way it shot without a trigger job but after my teammate "The Ego God" JP put a trigger job on it it out shoots all the competition and let me tell ya, this gun is so rare it will turn heads.
Conclusion: Well as you can see from my markers I am a big Warped Sportz fan and i support my local shop. I love the gun if you can afford it get one, i don't regret it. but if you can't afford it get a regular 2005 or 2006 ego they are the best paintball guns i have ever shot and with a few upgrades they will shoot as fast and if not faster then my dark ego. but mine will still look better hehe.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media