paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom
[ View Photos (35) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 182
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $288

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Same features as the stock class with the quick change CO2 in the verticle position.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
andrewisinsane Wednesday, February 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster - A lot easier to use then my little Splatmaster
PGP - The difference is pretty much only in the motion of the load.
Marker Setup: VM-68, 12ounce, basic hopper
Splatmaster
Recommended
Upgrades:
NONE! this baby is perfect from the box
Strengths: Accuracy, addjustable pump stroke, very easy to use
Weaknesses: NONE
Review: I got my Phantom for trade for my Autococker. When I first got it, my impression was that of awe. It has a look of grace, and sheer agression all rolled into one attractive marker. I didnt actually take it out to a field for a few months after I got it, but the first thing I did was take it out back. I fired a couple rounds off into the woods, and was struck by the fact it has very little sound, and the accuracy was amazing. After that quick roundabout I sat down and looked over the manuel. I found it to be an amazingly easy to follow guide. I took it out the field (Sr. Gooneys.) and played some there. That was a blast, with this puppy I could point to where I wanted the shot to go, and it would go. So, this is an amazing gun.
Conclusion: I'd say, if you want to start Stock class, or if you just want to find a good stock class gun to upgrade to, This is the gun for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

darkjonin59 Tuesday, February 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Phantom VSC, 16" Dye Boomstick, 30mm E-dot sight, 3 oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing is really needed for this marker to function with precision. I like the boomstick because it is more accurate than the stock barrel and it has a little more range, but the biggest bonus is the decrease in noise...it is really quiet...the name does not match the barrel! The only problem is that sometimes my stock barrel can shoot certain paint better than the Dye barrel...so I hold on to both. To get a mounted sight/scope or not...I think it is much easier to play speedball without a mounted sight/scope, because most times you have very little time to actually set up a shot. Electronic sights are much more accurate than the stock v-sight thingy; they really work well in woodlands because you can have quite some time to set up shots. Both sides have pros and cons, but in the end it is on preference and nothing else.
Strengths: Dead on accuracy, very consistent shots, light-weight, low profile, smooth stroking pump,
Weaknesses: low rate of fire; more skill needed than a semi-auto
Review: The Phantom is THE most accurate marker I have ever used in paintball...I love to use it because it befits the battlefield doctrine of "one shot, one kill". This marker makes it so easy to reach out and "tag" someone right from the shadows. It uses CO2 very efficiently, and it is very easy on the wallet. A bag of 500 rounds could last me a very, very long time. Very cost efficient.

A low rate of fire doesn't hinder this marker at all...one well placed shot is all you need to either take someone out, or put their head down for a loooong time (if someone almost shot you in the head, I am sure you wouldn't stick out for a while).
The only major problem is it has a steep learning curve...you have make time for yourself in order to reload paint, and if you are playing stock class you have to change your gas cartridges. Also it takes marksmanship to really see this marker put to use.

On the plus side, due to the time saving nature and careful mindset attached to the marker, you become a smarter, stealthier, deadlier paintballer. You will learn how to hide, when to avoid detection, when to fire, and most importantly you will have much more accurate shots. It is scary to use sometimes, but as long as you stick with the marker, you will improve greatly. You will be working on improving your skill and you will be on your way to becoming a ghost in the darkness, instead of spending money on your marker.
Conclusion: This is a great marker for people who want a challenge and go on a quest to further improve their skills. Snipes are small, easily alerted birds. These birds could only be taken out by a well placed, single shot from a long distance. The hunters who could do so were termed as "snipers". Sniper-a skilled marksman. If you want to learn some of the basics of sniping, and have a marker that puts the round where you truly aim...then search no more. If you buy this marker, and stick with it...you will see that your overall skill is much more than before, especially if you go back to a semi-auto. You can't get a better deal for the price either.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Qweezle Sunday, February 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Trracer, PGP, both not nearly in the league of the Phantom
Marker Setup: VSC Phantom with 45 grip, 14" stock barrel, and clear parts kit(main gun)
Spyder SE with 16" Dye Ironman Stainless Boomstick
Spyder TL+ Java Edition that uses the 16" Boomstick
"The Nemo Talon", Talon painted blue from the inside (just for fun, pump loaner)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Great out of the box, perhaps a 3.5oz CO2 tank if you don't want to mess with 12 grams, you may also wish to get direct feed for those times when you don't want to play stock class, you also will definitely need some 10rd tubes.
Strengths: Durable, reliable, accurate, good looking, well built
Weaknesses: Really none—autotrigger not stock class legal, but usually acceptable, lack of aftermarket upgrades
Review: The Phantom is a venerable gun, a truly respectable piece of machinery.

For 4 years I used semi-automatic markers, then I decided not long ago that I was getting fed up with the Rate-of-Fire race and the Balls-per-second crap, and so I placed an order for a Phantom. I got mine from White Wolf Airsmithing for $250, that included the installed Clear Parts Kit.

I've played with it both in the backyard and two Saturdays in a row at the field, I can draw several conclusions thus far:

1. The Phantom never breaks balls. If a ball is broken, it is your fault. You either cut the ball in the breech by pumping incorrectly, had the velocity up, or had a terrible paint-to-barrel match. The Phantom will treat you well if you treat it well.

2. The Phantom turns heads at the field. You will always have a few people who are like "Dude is that a Phantom!", and then the majority will wonder what it is. They usually think it's pretty cool once you show them how you can pick off that small sign 30 yards away with one shot, and you can't deny that it just looks cool.

3. It is an extremely light gun. Even carrying 3 or 4 CO2 cartridges in one pocket and 5 or 6 10rd tubes in another, the Phantom will make you a faster player. Not only is it light, but also very low-profile. On speedball I have found I can have the Phantom sticking halfway out of the bunker and have little chance of being hit. In this way I can snapshoot much more effectively, since I just have to turn quickly around the side of the bunker.

4. IT WILL MAKE YOU A BETTER PLAYER. I have yet to pick up a semi since exclusively using the Phantom for just about 3 weeks, but I have gotten good with the Phantom, good enough to keep up with the semi players in most respects, and I am sure that once I pick up a semi again I will be a better, more conservative player. I'll update this review once I do play with a semi again.


I've heard people complain about the pump, it really isn't that bad, if you think it is bad perhaps you ought to lift some weights? Over time the pump gets smoother.

If you really have a problem with the pump, you can remove the return spring, although now you have nothing to spring the pump back forward once you have pumped it back. I left it on there, and I prefer it. The pump has gotten smoother and I like it very much.
Conclusion: I bought the Phantom initially as a way to improve my game and conserve paintballs...I have come to love it for what it is. It is the best built marker I have ever handled, it is rugged as a Pro-Carbine, while keeping the weight to a minimum. It is the most accurate marker I've ever used, I can literally pick off a gas pipe warning sign from 40 yards away, with one or two shots.

Don't have any qualms if you can afford it. The Phantom is the best marker value in the world, pump or semi.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

magsrule Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP
Marker Setup: CCI micro phantom "make it any color you want as long as that color's black"
Recommended
Upgrades:
under barrel pump kit, clear accesories (for cosmetics)
remove spring on pump rod (for performance)
Strengths: sexy
small
sexy
light
sexy
accurate (even for pump)
sexy
Weaknesses: too sexy
Review: well as stated before, the gun is sexy. And my biggest turnon is the absolutely precise workmanship. I got a microphantom, which has a 6" barrel and 10 ball holder instead of 15, but that jst adds to the beauty of the thing. beautiful lines, stylish hardline, smooth body, and its comfy too, the foregrip is good to hold, as well as the pump arm. the hogue wraparounds feel nice, and give me slight moments of flashbacks to 99 where hogues were the thing, along with 114 ci tanks, huge drops, sockhats and 20" barrels. But i digress..

next thing that grabbed me was its awsome accuracy. even for a pump gun where you naturally take aim before shooting, I was finding myself way more suited for those "sniper" hits to that squeegee tip poking out half an inch than with the pgps and mavericks and such i've used in the past.

I also notice how light it was, maybe it was im just used to 200 balls on a 68 ci tank with 14" stainless steel back barrel and stacked tube huge bulky electropnuematic paint monsters. I found myself hitting their 40 off the break time and again (only to be outgunned with a bps ratio of 2:13) and t was exhilerating.
Conclusion: awsome gun. awsome pump gun. awsome stock class gun. I highly reccomend those getting into stock class, trying to find their "roots" or just looking for a little change from the usual 4 pod, 15 bps mayhem.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nahthan Saturday, January 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
'94-'96 Sniper 2 with CCM Pump kit and ANS Internal- nice, but not as light.
PGP- rougher, not as nice, but smaller.
2K Sniper with Stock internals, DYE Slider, Stickies, and Bob Long Torpedo
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix (secondary)
ESP Trigger Frame
Empire Reloader
14 inch 32* Whisper
12 inch VL Custom

VSC Phantom (primary)
Recommended
Upgrades:
detent rings(if not a barrel kit), telescopic stock(if you prefer), barrel kit.
Strengths: Um... see review.
Weaknesses: Please refer to the review.
Review: This marker has many good features.
1) The stock barrel, considering it is a stock barrel, is pretty decent, yet a big bore.
2) The weight of the marker is very low, especially if one runs twelve grams and a "Micro" setup.
3) Quality- the parts are all stainless steel and covered in I believe nickel Cadium?
4) Quiet- Once one break in the pump, one will not believe how quiet this marker is with such little porting on the stock barrel.
5) Money Saver- The reason why I bought this is to save money... and boy does it do that- I went from shooting 1/2 a case and upwards a day to maybe 200-220 rounds a day so at my old local field where it is FPO and $100 for a case of Blaze. At my new field, I can buy a bag and bring it back the next weekend and still have a wee bit left over.
6) Efficiency- On 12 grams I get around 45 shots without auto triggering much on a cold day in New England.
7) Auto Trigger- When one needs the 3-4 bps that may save one from getting bunkered or shot out by other means then all one has to do is hold down the trigger and keep pumping or if someone is playing a fair distance behind a bunker, one can auto trigger and hopefully when the ball dips it dips on them. (Because the valve design leaves for a bit of drop-off)
8) customer service- If one has a question then Mike @ CCI will ansewer it for you
9) Colors- Take a look at the acid washes and camo patterns at only $30
from Mike!
10) versatility - 4 different feed types (center feed right feed left feed stock class) and 3 different air positions
11) Size- In the vertical stock class format it looks very very small in person and is nice for snap shots.
12) Consistancy in velocity- until one is almost out of air this thing is very consistant
13) Under estimation- everyone underestimates you... until you get all the kills and then they sweet spot you every game :)
14) Skill Building: instead of muscling through every thing you learn the angles and become a better player
15) fun factor- you almost always have fun with this because you get those shots you cant with the 40 pound 30 shot per second autococker / mag / spyder / tippmann / angel / other semi and your constantly getting more action (do to less paint and air)
16) Durability- this thing feels like you could run it over without the hardline, drop it from a roof, and submerge it in water and it would shoot as long as you put the hardline back on and you dont mind scratches in the anno
17) Pump stroke is nice, small and light once you break it in- i can push it back with two fingers
18) Field strip ability- very easy to field strip
19) simplicity- other than valve system and pump arm there is only 4 parts: A/K hammer assembly, trigger frame, spring, and the TPC
20) 19 other strengths.

Con's
1) slow ROF compared to "higher-end" markers
2) Mine has a little bit of chiping on the back of the anti kink hammer assembly
3) easy to strip screws :(
4) Down the barrel velocity
5) Pump stroke is "rough and stiff" when compared to snipers and other sheridan based markers.
6) Not stock class legal
Conclusion: All in all, I recommend you get this product if you want to play pump or more rather modified stock. This marker is incredibly light and has a nice stock barrel. Not to mention that it is quite efficient stock and is also quite consistant.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 25th, 2005 at 11:26 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

PB_FREAK6 Saturday, January 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares
Marker Setup: Black Phantom VSC
dye stickie
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe some detent rings.
The stock barrel rules.
Strengths: very accurate, small, light
Weaknesses: If you pump it twice without shooting and then shoot you'll chop!
Review: I played my first game with it and it will take a while to get used to. I love this gun. At first everyone will laugh or something (especially the newbs). When you play a few games you'll love it. In the long run this gun will make you a better player and save you a ton of money on buying paint. Playing stock class is a BLAST!
Conclusion: Get detent rings so you can use the small bore sizes of paint.
Stock class harness helps too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yockey Tuesday, January 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used multiple semis but no pumps
Marker Setup: CCi VSC Phantom with M16 grip, 4 oz., and stock 14 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
adjustable T stock, breech sizers, 45 grip frame (none necessary)
Strengths: accurate, dependable, rugged, light
Weaknesses: not much read below
Review: Brillaint gun. It can shoot ball on top of ball at thirty feet, and close to that at sixty.
Easy to feild strip, requires no tools to do it, and easy to reassemble
Quiet, and good to go out of the box. Stock barrel isn't that bad at all.
Light weight, of course with only a 4 oz. and 15 ball horizontal feed.

Now the bad, which sounds bad, but really isn't that bad.
Velocity adjustment is harder than most with a down the barrel screwdriver which is an uncommon tool (so don't leave it at home).
Don't pump twice because it will double feed (no ball detent, which helps accuracy).
Extreme learning curve if your not use to pump, but you will improve your game, and a good stock player should be feared in both speedball and rec ball.
Not very many aftermarket barrel available, but don't get discouraged, the ones you find are excellent and the stock barrels are quiet nice. Lapco makes them, and White Wolf Airsmithing make a really nice one piece that fits freak slides.
Pump is a little on the rough side, but after a while it breaks in and becomes much easier to pump.
Trigger is heavy to boot, but also becomes lighter. And who cares, it's a pump, meant to put one ball exactly where it needs to be, which is what this does.
Conclusion: Mike Cassidy made an incredible gun. Period. I'm selling both mt other semis because I just don't play with them any more. I'm a hard rater, but this is as close to a ten as you can get these days, and for the MSRP of 258,
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CO_Paintballer Sunday, December 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster is the only other pump.
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom Acid Green VSC w/45, red dot sight, Trigger shoe, detents
2003 Orracle Atococker
ICD Alley Cat
Recommended
Upgrades:
Red Dot Sight, Trigger Shoe, Ball Detents
Strengths: Stock Accuracy, Value, Durrability, Simplicity, Ease Of Use, Low Maintence
Weaknesses: none
Review: I think this is the best stock class marker made. I have not had a problum with it, and I do doubt I ever will. I have spoken with people who have used the dye carter buzzard, and from what I hear it would be better to get two phantoms rather than one buzzard! This marker rocks! If your looking to get in to stockc lass play, definately go with the CCI Phantom!
Conclusion: Great Gun, worth every penny, It says I got to put more words in this catagory, so there, this gun is totally worth it, excellent accuracy, efficient! Recommended to antone!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PartySquirrel Saturday, December 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other pump guns, rest I've used are semi's
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ball detents definately, you'll want the hopper body too for non-stockclass games, definately the 45 grip the m16 grip is just way too uncomfortable
Strengths: Very accurate within 15 yards - Extremely light and compact - Looks cool
Weaknesses: Bad on smaller paints if you dont have ball detents
Review: Overall one of the best pump-stock class guns out there at a nice price too. Luckily if you set it up right the only upgrades you will be doing is changing the kind of ball detent you're gonna use. Make sure if you dont have ball detents to not use small paint, ive had problems with smaller paint rolling out of my barrel mid-game. Also in hectic noisy games be sure you pumped the gun completely, sometimes you dont go all the way and you just wasted your one shot at the guy. Otherwise it runs great of CO2 extremely simple design, easy to clean and oil, stock barrel is perfect no need for change.
Conclusion: All around solid pump, just make sure you got ball detents or you'll be kickin yourself if you dont.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neo42 Friday, December 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Maverick
Marker Setup: Micro Phantom VSC/RF
Carbon Fiber Barrel
Clear Parts
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgardes? What upgrades? Well, I new barrel if you shoot small bore paint. If you shoot large bore, don't worry about a new barrel
Strengths: Light Weight
Extremly Efficient
Looks Cool
Shoots straight (with large bore paint)
Weaknesses: I can't think of any
Review: The Phantom VSC is a great gun. It is light weight, which means you can move alot more. It's the most effcient gun I've ever saw, I can get 40 shots off a 12 gram. It looks really cool, especially when you get a cusotm shop to do stuff to it (undercocking, milled trigger frame, 1 piece feed tube, new ano) And it shoots better than any other gun I've shot. It's precision is off the charts. I'm yet to see anything wrong with it, except when you shoot small bore paint, which really doesn't matter because my field uses large bore paint. If you have to use small bore, get a J&J Ceramic barrel or a Lapco Microshot. Both are great barrels.
Conclusion: This is the best pump and the bets marker I've ever shot. I suggest you get one now, if you want to play pump or stock
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 19th, 2003 at 10:06 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media