paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom
[ View Photos (35) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 182
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $288

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Same features as the stock class with the quick change CO2 in the verticle position.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
Greg Gaia Monday, November 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Talon
Marker Setup: Black VSC Phantom, 3 oz CO2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing, it's awesome right out of the box
Strengths: Accurate, quiet, LIGHT, good range, can run off 12 grams or small tank
Weaknesses: Slightly hard to put back together after cleaning
Review: This gun is good out of the box. After playing for 3 years with an Autococker, I decided to get one of these to save money on paint. Now instead of shooting 200 rounds in a game, I shoot 200 in a day. Don't get me wrong, the Cocker was great, but I needed money for my car and couldn't afford that much paint. It is different playing with this pump, because you have to line up your shots instead of just spraying a lot of paint. this gun is very accurate, and also quiet. It is the same amount of noise as a Cocker with an All-American barrel running nitro, and the same accuracy. Very good gun, I don't think I would trade it for anything.
Conclusion: If you are thinking about buying a pump, get this one. It is a little on the pricey side, but well worth it, and you don't have to spend $500 on upgrades.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chainlink Tuesday, November 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SL-68, Hammer, Hornet, Maverick,, PGP, Splatmaster- none quite as good
Marker Setup: Just a vertical stock class phantom
15 round feed
hardline
14" stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Umm... you really have no need of any upgrades if your going to play stock class.
The screws that hold the rubber on the grip frame came out on one side. This lets me keep 3 paintballs in the grip. Thats the only upgrade I have.
Strengths: Very accurate. Effiicient. Smooth pump stoke. Not many parts.
Weaknesses: No vertical feed, not a weakness if your used to it and play stock.
Review: The phantom is an excellent gun. Its accurate and reliable, and very efficient. Its my favorite stock class gun, and I have either played with or against most of them.

The phantom has very few parts and is easy to assemble and disassemble.

The phantom can even keep up with semis if it is used right. There is no feeling like shooting a guy with a fast semi with a phantom.

When I first got my phantom, it had a very tough pump stroke. However, after I played with it for a day, it broke in and now is very easy.
Conclusion: Excellent pump marker. It takes getting used to, but it is well worth it. Perfect out of the box.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Xcentric Tuesday, November 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Sniper 2
Marker Setup: 15 -Round Tube Feed
4oz CO2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
4oz CO2 tank, just so you dont have to reload 12g's every 40 shots (Just for Tourny Play against those Timmys n Matrix's)
Strengths: -Easily Stripped
-Simple Workings
-Easy Velocity Adjustments
-GREAT Customer Service
-Will last
Weaknesses: -Thumbscrews come loose
-Velocity adjustment is hard if you only have a screwdriver
Review: This is one of the best guns I've used. I have gotten to shoot my friends Lasoya Timmy's, B2k3's, And Custom Cockers. I still prefer my Phantom over any gun. Although Im waiting to test out the AM-P Illusion Pro tho. It looks like a good gun but I still LOVE CCI. I actually got a reply from an email I set them asking about the difference in efficency of VSC and SC phantoms. Mike Cassidy is a really good guy he'll treat you right.

On a Semi-Negative note, I was at SC Village and my trigger wasnt responding, and when I pumped it it wouldnt come back forward so I pulled it hard, and it came in TWO peices. I went back tothe car and sat down for 20 minutes before fixing it. I had no prior knowlage to how this gun even was made. The stripping of this is MUCH easier than any gun Ive see. You can do everything with about 2 Allen's. I suggest if you get it just take it apart, Look at how it works. The Velocity adjuster is the simplest and yet most EFFECTIVE I've ever seen I shot off 10 balls at the Chrono and the readings were as follows: 280 279 279 280 280 280 282 280 280 280. Refs love my gun. They chrono me once a day instead of once a game because they know it wont fluxuate 10-15 FPS.
Conclusion: I dont think I need to say anything else. Everything else was stated and I think EVERYONE should at least try a few games with one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nyx3d Saturday, October 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None like this, Only Semi
Marker Setup: Acid Blue VSC phantom with clear parts, dye stickies and sure shot red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dye stickies, red dot sight not needed.
Strengths: Accuracy, Weight, Accuracy despite shorter barrel size. Hard to double feed
Weaknesses: Fragility of 12 gram co2 , Co2 efficiency, Thin Trigger
Review: Terrific Marker! Although i have yet to feel the glory of knocking out a high end electro / semi, and feel their pain as they shot hundreds of rounds in a game, while i shot what, 10? 20? I love the weight on this thing. It balances right in the palm of my hand. I have an 11 inch barrel but am thinking about getting a longer barrel for rec ball in the massive woods. I have only double fed once, and learned my lesson from there. What i found is after a while your arm gets tired of the pump, and just like a runner it hits its second wind and you don't feel anything. Even better is that the stock barrel shoots great, it matches the lousy field paint forced upon everyone at my field paint only field. Which reminds me how paint efficient it is to play stock. Better yet at Strategy Plus Paintball in Connecticut, They have stock only games once a month. Now for the con's. I have a tendency to hold this gun like my other marker, By holding my left hand on the front grip, which on this gun is the QC 12 gram changer. Sometimes it twists loose and empties the whole cartridge wasting everything.. Feels very solid in my hands.
It's a good price, especially since it keeps up with those 650$ dye guns , which are the exact same thing except heavier. The phantom colors are a bit more subtle than the stainless steel bright material the Carters/Buzzard's are made of. One last thing, It is not as co2 efficient as everyone says, I get about 18 good shots before it begins to run out.
Conclusion: Great gun, It is as effective as the high end stock guns such as carter's or buzzard's but for much less money. The only thing that bothers me is the co2 efficiency. It's not perfect but pretty darn close.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 25th, 2003 at 9:22 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LedZep582 Monday, October 13th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sheridan PGP
Marker Setup: Phantom VSC with m16 grip, L-stock, trigger shoe, and soon to be Lapco Bigshot and Armson Prodot
Recommended
Upgrades:
L-stock, a kickass stock and im not sure why more people have it, dedents or maybe a new barrel
Strengths: Tough, Durable, Easy to assemble and clean, Light and i mean light
Weaknesses: just roll outs and the trigger is kind of thin
Review: I love this gun, i simply love it, except the roll outs there is nothing wrong with this gun if your gonna play pump go with the phantom it will perform flawlessly, you can take apart the bolt with one thumb screw and the valve with one other at the back. the stock barrel is great just gets roll outs sometime which can be fixed with dedent rings for $5 i would suggest a trigger shoe since the stock is kinda thin
Conclusion: My final reccomendation is if you wanna play pump buy this gun, it is the best around save maybe for the Carter guns but theyre for like $600 which im not gonna spend ona pump.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 13th, 2003 at 12:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Terran423 Monday, October 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year97 of 98 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Spyder Compact: it doesn't really compare with the phantom in accuracy or range.
Marker Setup: Vertical Stock Class Phantom, CCI trigger shoe, Carbon Fiber Barrel, 45 grip frame, 10 round tube setup.
Recommended
Upgrades:
CCI ball detents if you look to use really small bore paint like Evil Paintballs. I use Marbs and they shoot perfect without detents. You don't need a new barrel for this gun. I recomend marbs as they shoot perfect no matter which barrel you use on this gun. The CCI nickel is a slightly tighter bore than the stock barrel and you might consider it if you want that little bit of extra. The CCI trigger shoe is a great upgrade and is really cheap. It makes the pressure applied to the trigger more even (can result in less gun movement in the event you jerk the trigger instead of squeeze) and generally more comfortable. The carbon fiber barrel is such a cool upgrade if you can find it because it makes the gun better balanced and the pump stroke smoother than if you had the Nickel barrel because the nickel has a rrougher finish. The Carbon Fiber barrel is also the quietest barrel that CCI makes. Good luck finding a CCI carbon fiber barrel. 45 grip frame because it makes the gun look more professional and feels more comfortable.
Strengths: light weight, accurate, smooth pump stroke, perfect out of the box, Velocity consistency, Reliable, Perfect
Weaknesses: The gun has no weaknesses in design and function.
Review: The technical aspects of the gun.

The gun's consistency using 12 grams is astounding as it doesn't waiver more than 5 fps at most in any direction. If you are having problems with consistency as I was, it is due to user error. In my case I was over lubbing the internals which made a sludge that slowed and sped up the hammer depending on where the sludge was in the breech. Since it is a pump it is a close bolt design meaning more accuracy. The gun is low pressure due to the bolt which probably helps in accuracy. FYI autocockers are only pump guns made so that they pump themselves. The gun is extremely accurate with marbs and many other paintballs. I personally love marbs due to the fill and consistency of the balls. Marbs don't role out of the gun and seem to be specially made for the phantom. The pump stroke is very smooth. I have taken off the pump return spring so that the pump stroke is even easier and smoother but remember you must worry about double loading so adjust your game accordingly. The gun is very well made using high quality aluminum which means it doesn't rust and is very light. The gun regardless of it's weight (3 pounds) is very well made and the aluminum itself is put through a bunch of processes to insure longetivity. The internals are really simple and is part of why the gun is so reliable. The internals are stainless steel (strength). It is extremely easy to get at the internals since there are only two thumbscrews holding the gun together. Also the entire gun, except for the hardline since it doesn't have any screws. can be adjusted using two allen wrenches! Though they are thumbscrews and thus should be able to be unscrewed and screwed on with your thumbs, I don't recomend it since your finger can't generate enought torque to tighten them so that your gun doesn't get loose during the game. I recomend you use an allen wrench to tighten the thumb screws. This gun won't break balls as long as you know how to pump. In other words don't double feed the gun and make sure to pump slow enough that the ball is gven enough time to completely fall into the breech before sliding the bolt in the closed position. I found that you can actually pinch the paintball and it will actually still go into the breech and will look as if there is nothing wrong. The problem is that any compressing of the paintballs even if they don't break weakens them and may weaken them enough so that when you fire the gun the air busts the ball. Becareful and don't pump too fast like I did. Also I noticed something really good about the way it feeds balls. There is a grove basically that hold the second ball in place directly over the breech opening. This is useful becuase you can load a paintball into the breech and have a paintball right above it that stays there so that you don't need to rock and cock your second shot. In other words you can shoot your first shoot then autotrigger your second one in the case you want to show that you have some firepower. This is more useful than you might think.. The gun is very sleek in design and is more slender than any other rifle style pump on the market. This amounts to a smaller chance of someone shooting your gun which is almost a guaranteed break which results in a kill. Compared to Palmers, Action markers Illusion, WGP Sniper, and ACI MAverick, the phantom is the lightest and most slender gun. The pump stroke on this gun is better than the sniper and maverick but is slightly less smooth than the Illusion and Palmer gun. Ohh becareful when changing 12 grams because if you do it when the 12 gram is still charged the O ring that acts as a seal and stops leaking may be blown out. Just unscrew the CO2 cylinder about 1 turn to release the pressure adn when the pressure is gone screw the changer thing back on so that the 12 grams tip pushes the O ring back on to the 12 gram changer. Due to the fact that the gun has the paintballs in a straight line they don't jump around and make noise like a hopper. It's just a very quiet gun in operation .

Handling and Performance

The handling in either stock form (back bottle setup) or vertical stock class is really good being that the gun is balanced. The vertical stock class has a significant difference in feeling than the stock form which feels a little too much weight in the back. The stock class feels better because the weight is more balance between the pump and the grip. Another boon to the stock class form is that the gun is now more compact which allows you to use the gun tighter with your body. I prefer vertical stock class since it is better balanced in my hands. Due to the weight of the gun you can play with it all day and not get arm fatigue. In addition light wieght allows you to aim and manuever faster than your opposition who are burdened with CO2 tanks which weigh more than the gun. I don't recomend buying a red dot sight since it will make you lazy and slower at shooting. Take the harder approach and start leaning to bring the gun up quickly shoot and hit your target. Given about a months practice you should be scary since you will be faster and more accurate than your opposition. In addition bringing up the gun and firing quickly allows you to be able to compete quite easily in speedball because you would be surprised at how your opponents will take so many balls to shoot you since they spray and pray while you precise. The only problem with stock class in speedball is that you can be supressed and it's difficult to cover your buddies because you can't supress people. A pump player on a speedball field should just be faster and beat his opponents to the punch in taking the other guy out.

The accuracy on this gun is way above average and in my opinion the best of any gun out there. It can put balls on top of balls easily and consistently at 75 ft. At 150 feet the balls go straight and only fall down with range; they don't go curve in the air. I have actually hit someone head at 150 ft. I can actually aim and aprox. range to hit people at 150 ft. I don't go around engaging at that range because they can dodge my paintballs and the paintballs aren't guaranteed to break. I engage at about 70 ft.

Other benefits of this gun

The customer service at CCI is outstanding. You actually took to the maker of the gun, Mike Cassidy, who is very helpful and doesn't mind going out of his way to help you out. I had a problem with my gun and he fixed it and sent it back the same day. Total time that my gun was away from me was 5 days because I used priority mail and he used ground shipping. Now that's fast service. If you are missing something small for your gun for whatever reason he'll actually send you some; he sent me some nylon drift screws which I stripped the one in the gun. I had a problem with my gun and talked with him on the phone for 20 min to try and figure out what the problem was. Just plain great customer service. You can't lose with Mike Cassidy backing you up.

The knowledge of how to play that you gain from being disadvantaged against semi players teaches you how to read the terrain so that you are never in a situation where you are pinned down , and you also learn to stalk your opponent so that he/she never has a chance since if you hit them with the first shot all that firepower is useless. Learning to read the terrain is difficult at first but you'll learn to be so scary and spontaneous that your opponents will be in awe. You'll be blazed many times. Just don't give up. Just think about what happened and realize what you could have done.

The feeling you get when you take out people who think that paintball is only about money and how many paintballs you can fling at an opponent is something I can't really describe. It's jus great. Stock class keeps the game interesting and pure without the random clumsiness of one out of barage of 30 hiting you and taking you out.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you are interested in the overall best pump paintball gun you can buy. Only consider the Illusion if you want to play with a hopper and tank because the pump stroke is smoother. Consider the Palmer if you want a gun that is more heavy so that you can steady your aim easier if you like that sort of thing. Buy a Dye Carter if you own a Mercedez Benz and want to show off. The phantom is the best in my opinion for stock class play.2nd going to the palmer super stocker. Buy this gun!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

Orcc Monday, September 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other pumps but mid to high end semis
Marker Setup: http://www.hunt101.com/showphoto.php?photo=56243&size=bi
g&password=&sort=1&thecat=500

orange black splash VSC phantom, only 2 made
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel ONLY if you cant get a good paintball to barrel match, otherwise its perfect
Strengths: accurate
light
looks awsome
FUN!
Weaknesses: you may not want to go back to a semi
Review: I played with a heavily upgraded cocker for a long time, but i shot too much paint and i felt i wasnt using any skill to get eliminations when i just dump 100 rounds for one elimination. So i sold it and bought a phantom and i love it. Its about as accurate as you can get for a paintball marker, its very light, and i love the way it looks. Some people were curious about it because they had never seen a pump before, and some newb renters are like 'haha a pump'. they dont laugh when theyre walking off the field with a paintball mark no their mask. If your tired of shooting lots of paint of if you want to add to the fun and excitement of playing, then pick up a phantom and you may never go back! Its so much fun you can know until you play with one.
Conclusion: really accurate, really light, REALLY fun. this review may sound cheesy but youll think the same thing if you pick one up. I love my phantom and ill never use a semi again.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Interceptor911 Friday, September 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP, Traccer, SL-68 I &II
Marker Setup: Piranha LB, Phantom VSC
Recommended
Upgrades:
30mm red dot sight, stock
Strengths: superior quaility, light weight, super accurate
Weaknesses: none
Review: The quality of the Phantom VSC is what I have come to expect from a company like CCI. The annodiser had scratched the ineer barrel on mine. I called CCI, and told them about it, and in two days, I had a replacement barrel, no charge at all. Service like this is hard to come by, and some other companies (Palmers) could stand to learn a few things from them.

The performance of the gun is great. It is super accurate, light weight, and looks great. To really take full advantage of the accuaracy, I suggest adding a sight of some kind.I also picked up 4oz tank so I don't have to spend a fortune on 12 grams.

The stock barrel is better than some after market barrels. Mirror smooth and shoots straight.

I got mine in urban anno, and it looks great.

Check out www.seigecraftpaintball.com to order
Conclusion: Anyone who is looking for a really nice high end pump with tons of up grade options should check these out. There are lots of set up options and colors available.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

StickyNote Friday, August 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Talon (only similarity is that its a pump....) Sl-68 ii (it could hold its own in durability but smoked in accuracy)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ball detents are a must, 45 is alot more comfortable than the M16
Strengths: Accurate, durable, excellent bang for your buck, one of the best pumps ever
Weaknesses: Bad with small paint / pump could be smoother
Review: This is one of those few guns that can be placed in the no upgrades required, although i strongly recommend ball detents you really dont need them (especially if you always use a larger bore paint) The stock barrel is second to none. The efficiency is amazing. Although i said it was bad with small paint if you buy some ball detents (am i stressing this enough) you can basically use any bore you like. asides from the the owner of CCI is extremely customer friendly and will respond to questions extremely fast. Also the warranty is excellent and you can send it in and itll come back good as new. Thats all i really have to say... it takes alot to beat a phantom, alot.
Conclusion: Excellent pump no matter what anyone says. I highly recommend you get one, you wont be dissapointed. But before you do go out and dish 200 for a pretty phantom make sure you are willing to put in a few games of getting use to pump style.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nick hitman Monday, August 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
talon (phantom blows every other pump away)
blade
other cheap pumps
Marker Setup: 2003 outkast cocker with hinge frame and blue flame trigger and blue delrin bolt with drop forward and on/off
Phantom vertical air stock class with a custom ano job and t-stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
absolutely none
well actually you MIGHT want a 4 ounce tank if you play scenarios like me but if you are playing rec-ball and a 4 ounce looks like a good idea it isnt you only need a 4 ounce if you play scenarios
Strengths: VERY VERY VERY ACCURATE
awesome looking with my custom ano job
smooth pump
Weaknesses: none whatsoever
Review: man i just took this bad boy out to my field this past weekend and it totally rocks
first of all this thing is soooooooo accurate i cant believe it
then this is so light that i was making it to the 50 and the other teams 40 and sometimes 30 when usually i only get to my 30 or 40 with my cocker
another thing is that i was getting 35 good shots off of one 12 gram i was amazed at that
umm....there is so much about this gun i dont want to go into eminse detail but the main things are
1 really accurate
2 really light
3 great co2 usage
4 awesom ano job
5 better than my cocker
and if you are thinking about getting into pump or just save money definately go for this gun
Conclusion: get it because it will never break or let you down and even though it is expensive you definately get what you pay for
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media