paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom / Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom

Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Component Concepts Inc.

Buy Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom
[ View Photos (35) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 182
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $288

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Same features as the stock class with the quick change CO2 in the verticle position.
Product Availability 
The Component Concepts Inc. Vertical Stock Class Phantom is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
King05 Saturday, June 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann SL-68;Doesn't even compare
Marker Setup: 2005 CCI VSC Phantom: 14" barrel, 11" barrel, 15 rd. horizontal feed tube, trigger shoe, 45 grip w/ Smart Parts stickies, 12 gram quick changer, and 4 oz. tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
The marker straight out of the box is perfect. Everything else is just personal preference.
Strengths: Accuracy
Consistent
Durable
Compact
Customizable
Awesome customer service from Mike Cassidy
Weaknesses: Slow rate of fire-Well duh!!!
Kind of Expensive-but worth it
Review: I first bought this gun hoping to save some money on paint and air. Just playing once a month wasn't cutting it. So I sold my cocker and bought a Phantom. Upon ordering my phantom I spoke with quite possibly the nicest guy ever, Mike Cassidy. Anyways I ordered my gun and received it a few weeks later. Straight out of the box, it was awesome.
STRENGTHS
-This marker is very accurate. It's not just the marker though, a combination of good paint and player skill is required too.
- Very consistent using 12 grams. You can get about 30 shots from one.
-Not quite a Tippmann but made of high grade aluminum.
-This marker is incredibly light and compact. It won't wear you out to carry it all day.
-There is a great number of upgrades ranging from cosmetic to performance available.
-Customer service rocks! Mike Cassidy has all the answers.
WEAKNESSES
It's a pump and has a slow rate of fire. Duh.
Definitely a little more expensive than most entry level semis but it's worth it!
Conclusion: In conclusion I most definitely recommend this marker. Whether you're a seasoned veteran or a newbie, give it a try! You won't be dissappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

the real south Friday, June 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ACI Hornet
WGP Sniper2
Sl-68
Marker Setup: -Phantom VSC
L-stock
CCI detent rings
CCI 16" sniper barrel
3.5 ounce tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
The CCI detent rings(to prevent rollouts)
A stock (depending on which type of grip you buy) for stablity
And if you dont like 12 grams, then get a 3.5 ounce CA tank.
Strengths: Ultimate accuracy!!!
Very well ballanced and
Very comfortable
Weaknesses: I cant find any weakness so far at all!!
Review: I love my phantom. If your into pump play, and you want a great gun, than look no futher. The stock barrel, is insanly accurate and very quite. It has great effeniency on both 12 grams and CA tanks. The VSC(verticle stock class) is my personal choice. to me, it is the most comfortable configuration you can get! Get this gun, Gets this gun, Get this gun!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: if you like playing pump, get this gun. You will love it!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aka1241 Sunday, June 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other pump markers that compare.
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom vertical stock class
Dye Stickies
Detent rings
Clear Parts
Recommended
Upgrades:
detent rings
new grips (not needed, but wanted)
Strengths: accurate, lightweight,use less paint, intimidating (I'm not sure why)
Weaknesses: none I've found.
Review: I first chose to get a pump marker because I was burned out from the semi, "spray and pay" games. I decided on a phantom because it looks awesome, and they are reliable.

First impressions: Wow, this marker is amazing! I couldn't believe how light it was, great for making runs to the snake. The annodizing is amazing too, mine is acid blue.

First use: Holy, that's accurate, and easy to pump.

First game: Took out 4 guys in speedball, and later in the day, 2 timmies, and one angel, I know the marker doesn't make the player, but it was nice to know that I was able to play to that level.

Conclusion: At the beginning of the day, no one wanted me on their team, by the end, I was feared on the field. If you're sick of shooting cases-a-day, and you want a challenge, get a pump, and more importantly, a phantom.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 14th, 2005 at 9:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ptle Wednesday, May 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
2001 Sherida PGP (only because it is pump)
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom with 8" Barrel
In-Yo-Face T-Stock
Dye Stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
T-Stock to help steady while your pumping/aiming
Detent Kit always helps since the stock bore is .691"
Trigger Shoe, makes the pull easier thus steadying your shots making you more accurate

Thats about it
Strengths: Accuracy
Quietness
Consistancy
Efficiency
Lightness
Weaknesses: Pump Action
.691 Bore Barrel
Sometimes velocity goes up...
Review: I've very impressed about this gun.
- It is very consistant the velocity varies only +- 5FPS, but sometimes during the day it will steadily climb up for some reason
- The stock barrel is amazingly accurate. The 11" barrels are dead on accurate even at 300FPS. The 8" barrels are accurate, but around 300FPS some shots may not be off a little (I usually aim for 285FPS)
- The stock barrel is also pretty quiet for you :woodsballers"
- I averaged around 27 shots per 12g with my phantom. If you do some custom work you may be able to get even more shots, I've heard of some phantoms getting 40+ shots per 12g.
- Unlike the Dye Carter Buzzard the Phantom is lighter. This allows more mobility and steadier aim. Also your not tired of of holding your gun at the end of day.
Overall a great gun, only flaw is that the barrel has a .691 bore, I would prefer a .689 bore barrel but that just helps a little bit more. I've also heard of the telfon washer or something inside the bolt getting messed up which will cause the Phantom's FPS to rise up as the day progresses.
Conclusion: If your looking for a pump, you should consider the Phantom. It is very accurate even stock. You don't have to get the upgrades I mentioned, they only a bit. Overall a great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bananaboy Friday, May 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
SideKick Stock thats it
Marker Setup: Black/White ACID WASH VSC Phantom
45 Grip frame
matching trigger shoe
Matching FRANTOM 1 barrel with all 8 inserts
stock 11 inch barrel
SC Body
Right Feed Body
BE 40 round hopper
some other stuff i forgot
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really. T-Stock would help
Strengths: Quiet with Frantom and Sexy, small, light rest in review
Weaknesses: Nothing is needed
Review: ok i baught my gun in August of 2004, i ended up selling it very soon. just this month i traded back for it. man it felt so good back in my hands.

ok the gun its self is very special because there not mass produced. Mike makes them all by hand for what i am told.

The Frantom 1 Barrel i believe is the best thing you can buy for your frantom(unless you have one of those nice CF barrels) you can choose the insert and not have to worry about detents.

The Gun is super easy to take care of and maintain. You can switch the bodys with a little practice in like 2 minutes. You can change it from a super Scinario(sp?) set up with the 14 inch barrel. bottem line, and RF body to the smallest gun on the speedball field with the MICRO phantom set-up.

The gun it self seems to be the most accurate because of the paint to barrel match and the frantom barrel.

overall i think you would not be dissapointed if you chose this gun.

11/10
Conclusion: Overall i think you would not be dissapointed if you chose this gun, because its just the best(besides carters).

11/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

SWAT2291 Sunday, May 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
Angel Force 14" Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much maybe a better barrel because its kinda loud.
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Looks cool
Weaknesses: Loud with stock barrel
Nothin much else
Review: I love this gun its almost perfect I have used it today and for my first time a pump. Its soooooo fun I conserved so much ammo and got a couple of guys in woods. I am gonna buy one of these for my own later on. I could rn really fast on the count of the weight and its small profile I could get sround and squeeze in real tight. THe harness was a bit of a hassle but its was fun.
Conclusion: You new to pumps and want one? Get IT NOW!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nick0391 Thursday, April 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Cockers
Marker Setup: 2k4 ProStock, Freak 12' & 14', Halo, CrossFire 92ci, Dye Drop/ASA.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None at all.
Strengths: Accurate, Consistent, Light Wieght.
Weaknesses: Low Bps ( When you need it ), Recoil.
Review: My brother wanted a new gun and i was thinking what would suit him best. I didnt want him biting my style by getting a cocker, So i thought...Why dont you just get a Phantom. He thought about it and said okay, The next day we looked at some and went to the mall and saw one...Bought it right off the shelf, Took it home, Shot some stuff. The first thing we noticed was the Recoil. The Phantom vs. my Cocker, The phantom had some monster recoil, and it was kind of hard to aim with it because of the way i aimed with my cocker. In the end, we got the hang of it.
Conclusion: Get one. It builds skill. and you wont have to be carrying bulky equipment all the time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CommissarGaunt Wednesday, April 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker Outkast is almost as accurate...
Marker Setup: Phantom Vertical Stock Class
Hardline Kit
18 inch sniper barrel
12 inch barrel
15 round loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't need any...But a T-Stock might help...and a Dye Izon helps you shoot more accurately
Strengths: Really accurate, Can get 40 shots out of one 12 gram, Light weight.
Weaknesses: There are none
Review: I said light weight in the key strengths now let me add on to that, with the 15 paintballs in and the 12 gram it weighs less than a hopper with 200 rounds in it does, I mean it is just incredibely light weight and i couldn't believe it when i first tried it. Also this is the most accurate gun I have ever used...I had been playing semi for a year and decided to try my friends out and got multiple kills from across a field, through windows, while they were at a full sprint. It is just unfairly and insanely accurate...So after testing it i bought one and it was only $240 (not including upgrades). If you practice with it and can shoot it accurately you can hit a finger sticking out from a bunker with one well placed shot.
Conclusion: With this gun you can go a day without using more than 200 rounds. Unless you use the autotrigger excessively, which you shouldn't. It is accurate, really light weight, and i personally have never chopped a ball using it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 30th, 2005 at 2:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

S/C Splinter Thursday, April 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
4 years31 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
My '02 right feed pump-cocker (nice and all but it is direct feed)
My PGP2's
Trracer
Tagmaster
Line S.I
Marker Setup: Freak Factory Impulse#99 (hasent been used since the Phantom)
Evo,ultralite,vert MaxFlo,stock cricket w/vision(cheaters suck)
*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*-*
Custom VSC Mini Phantom
8" carbon fiber / 11" aluminum barrel's
Various feed tubes
12gram / 4oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
As stated, the only thing you REALLY need is detent rings or a barrel that matches your paint.
But...since there are so many different ways to set it up, why not try everything?
What I mean is, you could go crazy on it and still only end up with $500 into it.
Strengths: Custom-a-bility (danged 15 word limit)
Weaknesses: 1. Velocity adjustment is in the barrel, this is not a big deal.
Review: *I decided to wait until I had used this marker enough to give it a honest review.*

Honesty.

Honesty is a funny thing, we all say we appreciate it, but then we twist and skew it to fit our needs. Case in point is "hype", and there is no shortage of that around here. Hype in paintball products comes from many different places, advertisements, things we hear, things we see. Perception is reality, sad but true.
So WTF does all of this have to do with a pump action marker designed before many of you were born? HONESTY. The Phantom is just that, a honest marker. Most every review involves the accurate barrel, you know "it is so accurate I can hit a bla bla bla from bla bla feet". The funny part is that almost every barrel out there can do the same thing, you just never noticed before because you believed otherwise. The fact that the phantom is so accurate has more to do with the design of the marker as a whole, and less to do with the tube sticking out of the front. The efficiency (who cares, right?) is the backbone of the legendary one ball one fall shot.
I have heard people recently calling Phantoms "trendy" and "over hyped". That makes me laugh considering that none of the so called hype came from the manufacturer. Has no one noticed that in all the years CCI has built the Phantom, they have NEVER made a "special edition", an '04 or '05, or any of the other tricks played out by damn near every other paint-gun manufacturer out there.
All the reviews here should be enough to make you want to try one, but don't expect anything but a honest gun, that will give a honest satisfaction.

[12-05-05]
Now with over one year under my belt the Phantom is still tops.
I have not picked up a semi or felt outgunned for so long that I cant really remember how it felt before. The phantom has introduced me to some of the coolest people, events and games I have ever been a part of. DO NOT buy this gun to gain anything but enlightenment, for you will be forever changed by the exposure. Never again will ask yourself if it was luck or skill...

[06-22-07]
I still love my Phantom, though I tend to only break it out once or twice a year. Not that I play less or semi...I just happened to get hooked on Brass a couple of years ago.
Though I love my KP, PGP's & Palmers to death, every now and again I pull out the old Phantom. I enjoy the way it brings back the feeling of simplicity, how I am still amazed at its accuracy and feel.
Even though I use a KP or Pug 99% of the time that I play, Even though I prefer rock back feeds...Still I feel that the CCI Phantom is THE BEST pump marker out there, it molds itself to you...Not the other way around.

[08-07-08]
Well here we are again, another year has past and my old trusty Phantom has not skipped a beat. Throughout this past season I have had my KP trigger group break, my Pug's internals fail and require rebuild & my PGP's shot count just cant hold a candle.
I messed around with a Sniper, wondering how a pump the size of a cocker ever caught my eye...
What was there on the bottom of the gearbag each and every time?
That old Phantom!
Rock solid, always in tune & problem free.
Each and every time I take it out I am blown away with its frugal C02 use, ultra light weight & steadt predictable flight pattern. Its like the girl that got away, why did I dump you again?
Oh yeah, I was looking for the green grass, on the other side of the hill.
It may be too little too late for me, I may never call my Phantom my primary.
But IMO it is STILL the best value in the whole relm of pump guns & it delivers quality year after year.
Conclusion: What do you have to lose? $250?
Since you can sell it for an EASY $220 I don't see how you can loose.
While I have never believed that ANY product deserves a perfect 10, in this case it does.
It does what it says, no more no less.

Long live Mike & CCI!
HONEST.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 7th, 2008 at 12:02 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

yuik Sunday, April 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
other phantoms, wgp sniper II & III, pgp, kingman hammer, smart parts ghost, andall of the be pumps.
Marker Setup: WGP Nightkast
evil 68/4500
karner kit
SUPAFLY bolt
oracle ram 3way and back block
apache
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing if your going to be playing stock class. If its just for rec ball i suggest a gravity feed hopper and a 3.5 oz tank. **** The most important would be to mod/ make a spring loaded feed tube(As seen on many pistols like the pt extreme and delta). Im not sure if someone already makes them but this would be very good upgrade.
Strengths: Accuracy, consistency , & weight.
Weaknesses: 15 Round tube, velocity
Review: I have shot many phantoms before but i never played more than a game or two with them. Yesterday my nightkast went down, so my friend let me use his phantom for the day. Playing stock is different in many ways. The gun is so light. I was taking bunkers at the 50 off break all day and im not that fast. I would suggest not using the stock because its harder to snap shoot, makes the gun stick out further, and adds more weight. If you cant aim without the stock that is somehwat sad. This gun is very consistency over the chrono there was only +/- 2 fps. However, we couldn't ghet this gun to go below 300 fps(and our field requires 280fpsand below). The guy just let me go because i was using a pump but i guess this will become a problem for my friend in the future. The gun is very accurate. I know everyone says accuracy is all about paint to barrel match, however I still believe this is untrue. During the day my friend using my spyder flash with a freak kit(and he just checked the bore size two games ago), and myself using his phantom with the stock barrel were at the same bunker. There was a guy at the snake about 75 feet away. My friend tried to shoot him and he couldnt even hit the snake. I tried using the spyder also and the paint had a very large grouping only 5 shots hit the snake out of a full hopper (egg). Then i tried the phantom. (we both were using eveil paint) The first shot went right were i aimed. Then the second shot hit the guy in the mask. I didnt aim any differently its just that the phantom was more accurate. The one thing i didnt like about the gun was the 15 round tube. It was spring loaded so that meant that i had to tilt the gun forward to get a ball to roll down into the chamber. This was annoying because some times two balls would go into the chamber. But i got used to it after a few games. This gun performed very well.
Conclusion: This is a great pump. If you are going to play stock this is one of the best guns out there. If you just want an accurate pump for rec ball then i would suggest gravity feed, or a spring loaded 15 round feed tube. The velocity problem we had were probally just user error on out part.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media