paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Linear Barrels / Smart Parts Linear Barrels / Smart Parts Linear Barrels

Smart Parts Linear Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Linear Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Linear Barrels
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 92
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A straight ported barrel from Smart Parts.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Linear Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
PattyPaTatty Wednesday, May 18th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts All-American
Smart Parts Progressive
Smart Parts Tear Drop
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Expansion Chamber
Collapsible Stock
E-Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Very Accurate
Not very loud
Light
Durable
Weaknesses: Barrel is still decent but not as good if there's a ball break
Review: If ur looking for a good accurate barrel this is probably the one for you.....i tend to use 12 to 14 inch barrels but i went with a 16 with the linear so i could get a bit more distance with it....the first time i used it i was using old paint that was prolly over a year old so it didnt do as well as i hoped but when i used it with newer better paint it worked like a gem.....i feel like with this one you velocity doesn't have to be crazy high but if you have it at the right velocity you'll be hitting the same spot everytime...i have an e-trigger on my a-5 and was worried if i went full auto with it the barrel couldn't keep up and it would just chop balls but it doesn't....out of 2000 shots ive probably broken 2-5 balls....it just depends on what kind of player you are if your going crazy shooting automatic i dont care what barrel you use ur gonna break some balls.
Conclusion: I thought this barrel was awesome...ive used other smart parts barrels and honestly are the only barrels i use because they are so dependable....id probably go with an all-american but with the linear i got it at a longer size for distance and its perfect for my setup....this is a good barrel and didnt have many problems with it...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 18th, 2011 at 5:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

player1.0 Monday, January 31st, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts vibe stock barrel
dye ultralite
custom products classic one peice
Marker Setup: smart parts vibe
linear barrel
compressed air tank
Strengths: VERY accurate
light
looks nice
quiet
Weaknesses: None
Review: Okay. I know that there are these retarded kids that say "oh, this barrel is a good as the dye ultralite." they say that when they want to explain that the barrel is good. Me and my brother have done multiple tests to prove that this barrel is as accurate as the dye ultralite. the first test we did was a target test. we each shot one paintball at 10 multiple sized targets. the results were that each of us hit all ten target. the next test was in the heat of battle. we played two 10 v 10 rounds at high velocity in the map "trenches." when my brother used the dye ultralite, he got three people out. when he used the linear barrel, he got an astonishing 8 people out. now, my barrel is enchanted with part of the eight poor souls who he shot that day.
Conclusion: Both me and my brother came to the conclusion that he like my barrel as much as his dye ultralite and went out to buy it the next day.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Konraden Monday, July 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 Flatline
Tippman A-5 stock 8" Barrel
Lapco Bigshot 14"
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
X7 LP Hopper
RAP4 Aluminum Power Tube + Bolt
Liberty Collapsible Stock
Upz 3000psi Remote coil
NXe 4+1 Harness
Recommended
Paintballs:
Fired with Fireball "premium" paint (from Draxxus, Exotic Sportz, used at Hell Survivors playing field)
Strengths: Accurate, light, sturdy, easy to clean barrel, inexpensive
Weaknesses: Porting not easy to clean, longer than average barrel
Review: I played at Hell Survivor's infamous Monster Game over the weekend (a grueling 12 hours of playtime), and was genuinly shocked at the Smartparts 14" Linear barrel's performance. I paid a scant $12 for the barrel, and "you get what you pay for" did not apply. Normally $35, eBay was able to save me almost three times the cost of this barrel.

During the course of the two days, I made several confirmed kills with laser point accuracy. The stock barrel is simply too inconsistent in its shots, leading to many dips and curves of the balls over range. The Flatline, although handy for getting that extra range, suffers the same dip-and-curve problem over range as the stock barrel. I was slightly more pleased with the Lapco 14" barrel I have, but again, over range, I was placing shots in a 6'x'6' square--great for an aftermarket barrel. When I screwed in my Linear this year, I was blown away. At 100', I was putting 90% of balls in a 3'x3' square. The accuracy was phenomenal. I lose the range advantage of the Flatline, but the accuracy more than makes up for it. I don't tend to long-ball the opponents, and prefer to be a little more up close where I can guarantee ball breaks.

The laser-accuracy of the barrel undermined by the incosistency of CO2. My next upgrades will be to an HPA system. Hopefully, it'll keep my velocity more consistent and result in fewer dropped balls.

The Linear barrel was also quite durable. I routinely threw the barrel down onto cover, using the cover as a hardpoint mount for the barrel. I didn't see any chips or cracks in the barrel after 12 hours of playing and beating up my barrel. The only time I had a ball break in my gun was when I slipped in mud, shoved the barrel into the ground, and came up with an inch of mud caked into the barrel. I fired a couple of times to clear the crap out (never do that with a real gun, eh), and noticed I had a ball break in the barrel. Nothing a little wiping didn't clean out.

The greatest downside of this barrel was that I kept pushing into objects (on accident). I'm used to the rather short 8" stock barrel and Flatline, so running around from cover to cover left me poking my gun into plywood, trees, and other hard objects. A testament to the durability of the A5 and Smartparts barrel, to be sure.
Conclusion: I'm a cheap guy, and I wouldn't have bought this barrel at $35. Getting it at so low cost genuinely surprised me. If you see $35 lying around and you don't have an excellent barrel, this is definitely a great one to pick up (they come in 14 and 16 inch flavors). For its low cost, the performance advantage is huge over stock parts.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sameagol26 Tuesday, July 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini stock barrel
BT Delta stock barrel
98 Custom 8.5 inch barrel
BT AK47 barrel
Marker Setup:
Empire Events maskBlue Invert Mini
Halo BV35 with Rip Drive
62/3000 psi Tank (Basic)
PMI Squeegee

Tippmann 98 Custom
14" linear barrel
4 Position car stock
Rail Mount
Airsoft Acog scope
BT Bipod and adapter
Tippmann double trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
It can use any from low grade to high end paint but I suggest something in the middle like Premium. I use Xball paint as my primary but its bore is too small for the barrel so I dont always get consistent accuracy. I have used Cryptic paint and it shot well
Strengths: Its cool shape and looks
Nice Porting- keeps it quiet
Length
Price
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Large bore size
Accuracy can be inconsistent
Review: I got this barrel probably almost a year and a half ago and I have to say it is definitely a step up from the stock 98 custom barrel. It fires straight and true ONCE you find the right paint. I have used many different types, from JT paintballs (Really cheap paintballs) to Xball (Mid- grade walmart paintballs) or cryptic. they have all had different results but generally end up doing almost the same performance. I prefer the Xball paintballs because they usually have the best accuracy with the barrel.

The barrel is very durable, and easy to clean. All you need is a good squegee and then a good old rinse of water and you're all set. I have many times smashed this barrel off of rocks and concrete and I haven't seen any difference in performance. It has the odd chips, and scratches but none that effect accuracy whatsoever. The inside of the barrel is polished to a nice smooth shiny texture and is ver consistent. I have usually gotten a pretty decent spread with the balls I use. I just recently tested the barrel with low quality field paint and the paintballs averaged in a 12" spread which isn't that bad. I have only ever once chopped a ball and that was with Recon paintballs from wal mart which are garbage. It is also fairly quiet, quieter then the stock barrel.

Now by no means is this barrel perfect. Obviously it has its flaws. The main flaw which I have briefly mentioned is its inconsistency with paint. It will have different results depending on what paint you use. basically when you go to choose paint, buy stuff that is at least mid grade for good results. Now obviously you can use low grade paint but it will chop paint and it won`t be the most accurate out there. Also if you are into milsim guns then this barrel wont look the best because of the odd shape it has.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a barrel that is cheap and will get you good accurate shots on your gun, look no further because this barrel is it. It will send your paintballs straight and true. I recommend this to anyone who is looking to step up their game.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jake is killer Monday, June 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock tippmann barrel
Marker Setup: tippman 98c platnium
smart parts linear 14 inch barrel
Strengths: Length
Accuracy
Price
Weaknesses: Hard to clean
Paint can stick to it
Review: I bought this used it around 3 times 1 ball broke inside and i had to sit out a game to clean it. The price is good the length of the gun is good and the bore size I think is alittle to big. overall great accuracy i like it
Conclusion: Awsome barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lord_Sidious Tuesday, January 12th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel (do I really need to answer this one?)
Apex barrel & Tip (more range, less accurate)
RAP4 M-16 barrel (about the same quality)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98
Cyclone Feed
Invert Halo Too Loader
Response trigger
Apex barrel & Tip
Smart Parts Linear Barrel
collapsible stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Most .688-.689 paintballs should work. Stay away from "el cheapo" brand paintballs.
Strengths: Cheap
Lightweight
Decent accuracy
Looks
Weaknesses: The SP logos do not align perfectly, but that is no biggie
Review: This barrel is worth every penny. If you're on a budget, and want something to upgrade from the stock barrel, this is one you should definitely look at.

It is very accurate up to 80-90 feet using medium quality paint. Should perform better with higher quality paint, but I haven't had a chance to try that.

My backyard is about 100 feet across and I am able to hit consistently a 2 gallon bucket from that distance, using Draxxus Basic Training paintballs.

Noise reduction is noticeable.

Some people report an increase in range, I didn't see that, but, on the last hyperball game I played a few weeks ago I was able to pick off players right from the break. I had to arc my shots, of course. From one end of the hyperball field to the other is about 175 feet.

I paid $29.00 for mine.
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel to those who are on a budget and are looking for an economic alternative to the stock barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 12th, 2010 at 3:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Specialist101 Tuesday, October 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7 (stock), except 16" linear barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any quality woods balls as I've never really played Xball but marbelizers & draxus are always good.
Strengths: Pretty accurate.
Quite.
Doesnt break many balls.
Weaknesses: Inaccurate after ball breaks.
Ten shots to clean out without taking off the barrel
Review: This is a quality barrel all in all, although it does have its flaws. I will focus on its good points. I will start with fact that the cost is very inexpensive which kinda threw me but I couldnt resist. The first time I used this on a field I knew it was a good investment even though I didnt invest all that much, which is always a bonus. My game was alot better in the aspect that my shots were going where I wanted them to, which meant I was hitting more often then not and not wasting so much ammo. This also comes in handy when your sitting in a bush an trying not to give your possition away.
I would recommend this barrel to someone who is looking to save a bit of cash but get a little more out of your gun. This will help save money for an equipment upgrade later down the road but still allow you to, again, get more out of their gun
Conclusion: Good barrel. Its dirt cheap. You really cant lose, even if you expected more, look at how much you paid.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 14th, 2009 at 7:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

downedmedic Sunday, September 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak jr.
Marker Setup: alpha black tactical, 14" linear
Strengths: Quiet, accurate, affordable, light
Weaknesses: Haven't found any yet
Review: I picked up a used linear barrel for the extremely high price of $5 from a vendor at the field i go to, and it was the best $5 i ever spent. The stock alpha black barrel was alright for a while but i knew it was time to upgrade. This barrel is so accurate that i was picking off people 3/4 of the way across the field, i only dreamed that my stock barrel could be this accurate.
Conclusion: This barrel is an good choice if you want more accuracy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Landerpurex Friday, September 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels, CP 12" barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder VS2
universal spyder virtue board
infiniti trigger
12" CP barrel
new designz feed neck
HALO B w/ rip and v35 board
48ci 3000 psi NO2 tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
All paintballs should be fine, watch out for cheaper ones as they tend to veer off in weird ways.
Strengths: Accurate
Price
Assorted lengths
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought one of these things about 3 years ago from my local paintball store for 50 bucks. It was the 20" one so the extra price was no surprise. I slapped this thing on my good old victor and I was baffled by the accuracy. My friend has a hammerhead ported barrel, he paid 180 bucks for it, and this barrel was just as accurate. It is also relatively cheap, especially for the level of accuracy gained. This was what gave me the edge on the field as a kid before I could afford a high-end marker and other stuff. This barrel was available from 10" to 20" (if I remember correctly) which is a great range for one barrel type. This barrel handles the max velocity of my victor well and can easily shoot 150-200 feet.
Conclusion: This is a fantastic barrel, I've used the same one on my victor for years and I wouldn't trade it for anything.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

00classic Wednesday, March 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Only the stock barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder MR-1
Smart parts linear barrel
Guerrilla hpa tank
Extreme Rage Overdrive dB
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint thats $40 or more for a case
Strengths: Great price and so much better than a stock barrel.
Weaknesses: None for a $30 barrel.
Review: I started playing woodsball with my spyder MR-1 with the stock barrel and it was bad. After the first game i went to the pro shop and got the linear barrel. The difference was night and day. The balls went further and curved less. I was really surpised since the barrel was only $30. I'am happy i bought it.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a great barrel at a good price this is the one to get. It is better than stock but not better than those really expensive barrels.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media