paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / RPS Premium Paintballs / RPS Premium Paintballs / RPS Premium Paintballs

RPS Premium Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount RPS

Buy RPS Premium Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


RPS Premium Paintballs
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Manufactured by RPS exclusively for PMI, Premium has set the standard for field level paintballs. Premium exhibits qualities you would expect to find in many other tournament grade paintballs. The Premiums are consistently very round, offer a wide variety of bright shells and thick fill colors, and offer excellent accuracy. Premium paintballs work well in any style of marker.
Product Availability 
The RPS Premium Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Thanatos2288 Thursday, February 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stinger
Midnight
xball gold
evil
Draxxus WHitebox
Marker Setup: 2006 Dark Ego, Angel G7, Dm6, Dynasty Shocker
Recommended
Barrels:
A kit. I use a Stiffi or Freak.
Strengths: -Breaks on everything it hits
Weaknesses: -Breaks in pods, hoppers, barrels, and breaches
-Not very round...
Review: We purchased 60 cases of RPS Premium for our NCPA team. We've used it for six weeks and the vast majority of the team refuses to play until we get new stuff. This paint is really bad. I think I can say that after going through 60 cases. And so you know, we bought all 60, in bulk, from firstcall and have used them for the next six weeks, so they are not old.

As far as accuracy they are not too bad. They seem to be really small bore, but are at least all pretty consistent in their actual size. They shoot about as well as Xball bronze and are fine for recball or team practice.

The big problem with these balls is the brittleness, though. I've used this stuff for six weeks now, and probably get 4 to 5 breaks a game. Granted I'm shooting my hopper and 2-3 pods every game, but still that is unacceptable. I also want to note that when shooting stinger or Evil or midnight, or even Draxxus whitebox I never get more then one break a day. Rutinely we have to throw out pods b/c of a break, and our entire team carries at least two squeegees on the field for every game b/c of all the breaks. It almost hasan't been worth praciticing because all that we ahve been able to practice is what to do without a usable marker.
Conclusion: I really cannot reccomend this paint at all. After going through 60 cases with my team in both indoor and outdoor conditions, I have very little good to say about this paint. I would only purchase this as a last resort as I have spent day after day cleaning break after break becuase of this paint.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

da-bollar Wednesday, January 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Heat
Marker Setup: tippmann 98, 12" j&j s2, 200 round hopper, 9 oz. tank
Recommended
Barrels:
j&j s2 or pepper stickz
Strengths: Don't pop inside marker. Long lasting.
Weaknesses: Don't always pop on impact, curve a little, not completely round.
Review: Well, I bought a 1000 for $29.99 at Sports Authority . I flew to Honduras with them and not one popped. A month later, I put them in action. All I Heard from my friends was Are those marbles? So, they are vry hard, but some curved. But still better than field paint.(which costs 150 bucks in Honduras for 2000 recreational quality ones).
Conclusion: Over all good, but nothing is perfect!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fruktflugan Thursday, September 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: REX model-R
Recommended
Barrels:
.689 smartparts aa worked for me.
Strengths: Pretty Ok paint
Weaknesses: Inconsistency
Review: I don't know what to think of these paintballs.
When I opened the bag I dropped one from 90 centimetres height and it broke. Then I threw one from my second story window and it bounced.

Checked them for roundness and some are totally round while others are egg-shaped. No dimples as far as I could see.

Shooting them:
Reasonable accuracy shooting through my .689 All american back. Some early dips, but mostly straight and spot-on.
No breaks in barrel or in breech.
Broke on target every time (that I know of).

They smell horrible! The 50/50 design yellow and metal smells of... hmmm... corrugated steel or something. Wouldn't serve these paintballs as a thanksgiving dinner.
No problems with my bounce-beam eye either...
Conclusion: A good paintball... Not good enough for the price and all the hype around RPS, but a reasonable middle-grade marking pellet.
Won't buy them again since there are better deals available out there.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jlausen Tuesday, August 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
This is the only paint I've used
Marker Setup: Spyder ACS '05
Stiffi
Egg 2
Dye Stickies
Profiler with Gold Mirror Lens
Recommended
Barrels:
Larger bore, from my expirience.

They're a little big for my .689
Strengths: Good Fill, Thick Shell
Weaknesses: Thick Shell, Horrible Seams, some shots were almost horizontal
Review: I've only used my field's paint, and this is what they use. It's not a bad paint from my expirience, but it's definatley a mixed bag. My field sometimes buys there paint from another place, that has good paint, but they also buy there paint from the local Outdoors store, and I can imagine that it always wouldn't be the best.

I've shot this paint through a .689 barrel the entire time I've used it, and it's never been that bad. Just a little tight, but I can blow it through the barrel with little effort. I can tell if I had a .691, it would be a perfect match.

But, this paint is such a mixed expirience, I can only say I tolerate it. I opend a box of Marbs in the store, and they looked so much better then these, and they were the same price.
Conclusion: You can get these, but make sure they are overall a good paint. But you can get Marbs for the same price in stores, so why not get those? And online, you can get Xball and such even cheaper.

It's not worth it to buy this paint, unless it's all you have acess to. It's below average, but it works well. I have to give it a 4, because 5 is the median.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ionhotshot Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Too many brands to name
Marker Setup: Stock Ion, Revvy, Freak, Pure Energy
Recommended
Barrels:
Freak
Strengths: Nice fill. The balls that didn't chop went decently straight
Weaknesses: Lots and lots of chops
Review: I bought this paint for last weekend, and boy am I dissapointed. I got the blue/orange filled ones, and I would not stop chopping. Out of the 2000 rds I used, I chopped at least 20 of them, it was horrible. Not only did they break in my barrel, but I had 2 of them break when they fell into the breach of my ion.
It was quite funny actually, cause I would shoot 10 shots, all of which would go perfectly straight, and then chop, which would cause my next 10 shots to drop about 40 ft in front of me.
I might have had a bad batch, but seeing as how they were brand new in the shop, I'm not so sure.
Conclusion: The paintballs that didn't break in my gun would be dead on accurate. However, I chopped WAY too much to truly enjoy using these paintballs.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

fishballer06 Sunday, July 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
All the RPS brands
All of Draxxus and diablo
Empire Fuel
Marker Setup: 03 Black BKO
AA barrel with freak front

Eforce EXT Pro Piranha with ups too

Also used it in upped imps and shockers
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything with a medium size bore between .687-.690
Strengths: Bright fill
Minimal seam
Accurate
Breaks like it should
Cheaper
Many colors
Round
Weaknesses: Not the thickest fill but still good enough
Review: I really like this paint and I think it's some great stuff, I've shot probably 12+ cases of this paint, and my team shot 15 cases of this at a skirmish tourney once and had no problems, the fill is nice, not as thick as all stars or marblelizers but its still very nice, its bright and fairly thick, not water like some cheaper paints, it is cheap though comared to most paints. Premiums are also very accurate and have a near perfect roundness, mainly due to the small seam, the shells also come in a variety of colors which is nice for different situations, the fill also comes in many colors. this paint also break on target and not in your gun like some cheap paintballs, I've used it in many different markers and I know other people who have used it, I've even seen it used in lower end markers and it still performed well
Conclusion: A great paint for the price but isn't as nice as my favorites which is all stars, but a great buy and I would recommend it for anything from field paint, to tourneys to even woodsball
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kinnell Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All XO, Menace, Evil, Recsport, Heat, Whack, Tork, Stingers...
Marker Setup: Tested with '05 speed w/ Freak
Recommended
Barrels:
Freak Kit for any paint - if you don't have a barrel kit you need to invest in one
Strengths: Break on contact, good fill, round w/ minimal diameter variation
Weaknesses: For the price, none
Review: $40ish+ for a case is great, check out firstcallpaintball.com
Evil is the top dog that is used for comparison:
-Fair seam, a little flat
-Round with not a lot of diameter variation - Super Key
-Fill is thick it could be a little thicker, but it works well against wipes & is very visible
-I have not had one break in my marker, but almost all broke on contact with the target
-At a big game is was supposed to be fresh, but I had more dimples than expected...but from firstcall the dimple issue was reduced.

Worth the few dollars more than the cheap sporting good paint. I just played rec with Whack purchased at Dicks, with my freak kit I can shoot about anything with accuracy, but it is the last time I use whack or other paint not from a paintball store or online paintball store. For less money than whack at fistcall I could have purchased stingers and stingers is twice as good as whack.
Conclusion: For rec or local/field tourney this is great, if you move into regional league you may want to set up a notch since the competition also steps up.
For the price it can't be beat I would recommend it. You are getting better than average paint for a little more than cheap junk at sporting good stores.
Buy Premium support the industry get good paint that breaks on target not in your marker, flys straight (for a round ball) and covers the target with a good thick coating of paint.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hmmmm Sunday, June 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
All RPS Piant (except Big Ball, that crap sucks)
Marker Setup: Ion
Halo Backman LED
48/3000
Recommended
Barrels:
Medium Bore
Strengths: -All the same size
-Price (not tournament price though)
-accurate
-Thick Fill
-Break on contact
Weaknesses: -Tournament price
Review: I went to my first tourney yesterday and got a case of Premium for $60, not cheap, but worth the extra money. I got it and figured it would be good because most RPS paint is and i was right it was awesome. I filled up my hopper and my locklids and went onto the course and within the first 2 minutes i had shot maybe 50 shots with my Ion and had gotten 2 guys out already and i played backman the whole day and that's how our tourney went pretty much the whole day and our team had never evenplayed speedball ever and well it was a good day. i even had a few extra to bring home so that was a bonus.
Conclusion: I love this paint and i'm defiantley gonna get some more, i give it a 9 because of the tourney price but that's how all tourny paint is.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Freedom_35 Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
RPS Stingers
RPS Polar Ice
Zap (not sure what kind)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatline
Collapsible Car Stock
2x 12oz C02 tanks
Recommended
Barrels:
I use a flatline...havent used them with the stock barrel.
Strengths: -accurate
-affordable
-don't break with Flatline
Weaknesses: -can't think of a weakness, best paint I've ever used.
Review: I usually purchase a box of 2000 Zap balls from Walmart for $40CAN because of the quantity, sometimes a bag of RPS Stingers and RPS Polar Ice during the winter time from the local dealer.

We play at an old army barracks from WWII, with a 4 storey tower included. I purchased a bag of Premiums one weekend and was impressed with them, they fired very accuratley and far out of my barrel compared to the other paint I use. The next weekend, with the Stingers, I could fire to the top of the building with the flatline, but they curved, swayed and took sharp turns to the right or left and sometimes wouldnt fire near the top at all. I emptied out the hopper and put in some of the left over Premiums. They hit the top every time within about 2-3 metres of each other, enough said.
Conclusion: Even though Im spending more on paint now, its well worth it. I would recommend it to anyone with a flatline on their 98, since I havent fired it through anything else. I hear a lot about flatline breaking balls and requiring high-end paint, but mine never broke one ball even the Zap from Walmart, so...the balls dont break inside the barrel, at least inside of mine they dont.

I know there is better paint out there, but Im giving it a 10 because its the best Ive used in the 8 months or so Ive been playing. Accuarate and affordable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ionpballer05 Saturday, May 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Origin Calssic- by far better and cheaper
Draxxus midnight- about the same
Jt elite- about the smae
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Planet Eclipse QEV
Psychoballistics drop forward
Psychoballitsics on/off
Empire Reloader
Recommended
Barrels:
I just used my stock barrel and i had about a pie pan sized spread from across the field...so any standard size bore of .689 im sure will be ok
Strengths: THICK Fill
Seems are really good
Weaknesses: Shell is kinda hard and not too brittle...
Review: Ok i bought 2 boxes of this at my local shop for $55 a box. I've used this brand before but a while back. Packaging was great, no dimples or breaks. I filled up my hopper and shot at a cardboard box to see how accurate they were...they did ok. I did the drop test, wasnt too good, they bounced. I took one and and threw it at the ground, and it bounced. The paint inside is thick and it stains somewhat. My pants are kinda stained from them. I went out today and played with them. It was really humid and hot, but the paint still held up and i had no breaks what so ever. My accuracy was amazing, balls were right on top of eachother. When i started to rip, at about 13 BPS accuracy tends to spread out a little bit, but not enough to drammatically decrease your performance. I had 3 balls bounce that i knew of off of some guys elbow hanging out the side of a dorito. On mask and gun shots the paint worked like a charm.
Conclusion: These are good for the weekend arrior kind of paintballer. If your into tourneys then i would reccomend different paint. But great for beginners or weekend warriors.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 27th, 2006 at 4:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media